Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3-0 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

114 AWS reviews

1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    d8vjork

As all people said, zero control

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No control, no clear and updated documentation, painful to configure, need to check a lot of things... Better Docker + Wordpress, Plesk + multiple Wordpress sites or even LAMP with Wordpress


    Online Expert

Terrible Not user Friendly at all

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Terrible Not user Friendly at all, can not setup anything of make any use of this at all... Pointless to even download it


    Ahoy

Easier to do it yourself than configure this

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wanting to use this as a quick way to spin up a varnish cached instance but this is defiantly not the solution.

Between outdated, incorrect or just non-existent documentation it's faster to just do it manually. Then you get the added benefit of knowing just what is going on with your stack.


    Jim

Zero control of anything

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I already have an EC2 instance I wanted to install this on but the setup process restricts installation to a new instance and no control over which directory or even type of server such as Ubuntu. This software is only for newbies with close to zero knowledge of the server side. You'll get what they give you.


    John D

Bitnami fails at Canned App 101

  • March 21, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Okay, Wordpress should be the #1 easiest LAMP app to show off how great your cloud platform is, and this is garbage. Stick to something modern and well-done with containers. Bitnami dropped the ball, and can't recover from poor execution. If you can't even get Wordpress right, you've failed as a company, and this should be their best foot forward. You'd be much better off to either go fully-hosted with a site like Wordpress itself, Bluehost, etc., or rolling your own on an ec2 instance. I'd like to think that there's something in between, but probably not. Digital Ocean's WP instances might be somewhere in the middle - e.g. the sweet spot that Bitnami is totally missing. I think they spend too much time with builds for 50,000 platforms, and not enough making this stuff usable.


    Sweet Cornnuts

Not quite easy as it seems, once you dig in

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The install is straight forward, and as easy as can be.

That's when the dream stops and the nightmares begin. For example, if you need to find the password, there is an easy way to do it, as in every case -
once you know how! - the password is logged once, and needs to be gotten to at first install. If for any other reason, you reboot the instance before getting the password - the pw is literally lost forever(in AWS). Again, there is an another way, but that means diggin in, and rolling in the mud when it's snowing out, and freezing. In other words - not pretty!

Another example - if you need to change the WP site URL, which is a matter of 10 seconds in every other install, it's a fairly complicated rigmarole here. I mean the wp-config.php file can only gotten to after being proficient in linux..or shooting commands suggested by strangers..so you are literally hitting 'enter' not knowing if this is going to destroy your instance or fix it like they said.

As I said, It's a fair bit of work, after the install. Be prepared. 1 star all the way - Bitnami does not keep it's promise. If the wp-config file is accessible, maybe I'll change my mind coming back - this is part of a normal install and every living human being trying their hand at WP needs to change URL. Or your Wordpress site WILL GO DOWN AFTER A FEW DAYS - because AWS feels like they need to swap IPs...and the circle jerk continues! I'm out, screw BItnami


    Andiamo

Annoying

  • January 07, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could already access the instance from the IP, I had to generate the elastic IP but I do not know why the instance does not show IPv4 Public DNS, besides I do not know why I can not install an Elastic Load Balancer


    Pete

Password doesn't work

  • March 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Followed Amazon's instructions on setting this up, twice. Each time the generated password (in system log) failed when trying to login.


    NO PASSWORD!

WASTE OF TIME

  • September 14, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Spent a good 1.5 hours trying to find the password. Turns out it never generated. Went with another wordpress install. SUPER ANNOYING!


    Oleg Aleksandrov

file permission wordpress plugin problem

  • April 30, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css). Google's PageSpeed module for apache is installed and turned on, that can be unexpected and unwilling.