Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 6.4.3-7-r07 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

134 AWS reviews

External reviews

2 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Alberto

Wasted an entire day

  • January 11, 2023
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wasted an entire day trying to get this to work. Countless issues. Tired and annoyed. I will now proceed to install Wordpress manually.


    Dave

This is for a SINGLE WordPress instance ONLY - you cannot install a second site

  • December 26, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Along with the many other reviews that give this a 1 or 2 stars because you cannot upgrade your PHP version, another major downfall is the inability to install multiple WordPress sites (*NOT* Multisite.)

bitnami has 'discontinued' the ability to install more than one WordPress instance on THEIR stack.

From searching their support site, and finding: "Install multiple WordPress modules" - https://docs.bitnami.com/installer/apps/wordpress-pro/configuration/install-several-wordpress-modules/
-- 404 - "The Page You Were Looking For Doesn't Exist. You may have mistyped the address or the page may have moved."

From their support from May 2019:
"Thanks for using Bitnami. I think it is easier (and safer too) if you install a fresh new Bitnami WordPress module on your current Bitnami installation as mentioned in this guide - https://docs.bitnami.com/installer/apps/wordpress/configuration/install-several-wordpress-modules/154"
-- note that the page now redirects to "Learn About Bitnami PHP Application Modules Deprecation"


    Dev

PHP Version Update

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am using Wordpress lightsail instance but here phpversion 7.3.18 is being used when will you upgrade to php 7.4 ?


    Asi

It's working like they say, but you can't update your PHP version.

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only way to update your PHP version is by export your site, launch new instance, restore backup...

It was fun when we had 2 wordpress sites, but now we have above 10 wordpress sites on Bitnami and it's time consuming, hopefully Bitnami will provide a way to update PHP.

Wordpress shows in health check the PHP version and say it's outdated, customers ask us to update PHP more often...


    Sahil

No support for t2 micro

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

They don't support t2 micro instance which comes under free tier. I went with a different wordpress AMI available on AWS marketplace.


    genuine user

worst expercience

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

they have so many restriction. not able to change files and general settings. so many restriction and no proper guideline how to change it.


    d8vjork

As all people said, zero control

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No control, no clear and updated documentation, painful to configure, need to check a lot of things... Better Docker + Wordpress, Plesk + multiple Wordpress sites or even LAMP with Wordpress


    Online Expert

Terrible Not user Friendly at all

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Terrible Not user Friendly at all, can not setup anything of make any use of this at all... Pointless to even download it


    Ahoy

Easier to do it yourself than configure this

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wanting to use this as a quick way to spin up a varnish cached instance but this is defiantly not the solution.

Between outdated, incorrect or just non-existent documentation it's faster to just do it manually. Then you get the added benefit of knowing just what is going on with your stack.


    Jim

Zero control of anything

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I already have an EC2 instance I wanted to install this on but the setup process restricts installation to a new instance and no control over which directory or even type of server such as Ubuntu. This software is only for newbies with close to zero knowledge of the server side. You'll get what they give you.