Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.8.1-10-r03 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

128 AWS reviews

2-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Markham

WHY DELETE NANO INSTANCE

  • February 11, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

this is just one site, and the minimum requirement is t3.micro!!!
why delete the option of Nano instance, that is not cheap for a single web host.


    Aidin

Nor recommended

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The first installation is easy and you will have a running wordpress website in minutes, however, I don't recommend using this image for production. it seems they have not thoroughly planned for upgrading the underlying components and there isn't any streamlined way to upgrade your installation. If you want to update the PHP runtime or the database, you are out of luck. the only solution they offer on their documentation and community forum is to either install a newer image on another instance, or install their stack manually beside your current installation, either way you are forced to migrate your whole wordpress and backup/restore your database to the new installation!


    Chips

Works, but disappointing

  • January 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works. But the nonstandard directory structure makes it hard to manage, even for someone with extensive linux command line and mysql experience. The documentation just isn't up to snuff, and leaves a lot to be desired. It is very out of date. Relatively simple tasks, such as restoring a back from one of the many standard plugins, won't work, or is ridiculously hard, because their non standard directory and database setup cannot be handled. Upgrades are ugly. I went with this because of the certified by automatic. But now, after using it for 6 different sites over 3 years, I can say I regret it. And I will be using something else going forward. And migrating when I can.

1 person found this helpful

    Orion

I guess it works

  • June 07, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It does work, but nothing is installed in the usual directories, it's slow, it's bloated. And it's very difficult to upgrade, for example, you can't upgrade PHP without creating an entire new installation.


    Barcelonino

Password?

  • September 17, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything was OK until I had to find the password.. theorically in the system log, but it wasnt there! Something basic. Ok, I was running this ami for selftrainign purposes, not really a problem, but if someones wants to use it professionally they will claim for a solution.


    NoBadProduct

Not good--

  • July 22, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Some one gave it 4 stars. I gave 2 star. And why do I have to put out 20 words for a products that is holding back the procedure or the manual how to for customer?


    M

Strange Directory Structure

  • September 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Difficult to use in practice. Directory structure is bizarre with symlinking everywhere. I would recommend putting this together from scratch. Will take 1-2 hours and you'll know where everything is vs. this approach.


    John Everett

AWS and Bitnami not for the faint of heart.

  • April 26, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for a free WordPress hosting site so I could demo a temporary website. I found this on AWS and Bitnami but found the whole process difficult to sign up for and understand the terms of the free software and hosting/billing. I never was able to get the email billing notification to work. With that said the WordPress site works great, just as if I had paid for regular hosting. To Me the whole AWS is geared toward commercial hosting only.


    Michael Kinyanjui

A little more complex than initially thought

  • March 25, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This product is excellent if there is nothing in the web server you would like to customize. After spending 16hrs between SSH and the bitnami wiki and community, I scrapped the server and started from scratch with a fresh ubuntu install. From start to file transfers (running website) took me 5hrs. I'm not a pro, but I thought that was the point.

My problem areas were the directory & permissions. Still alot of items that the good people at bitnami can code to allow UI configurations. Every issue I encountered seemed to have tons of discussions for workarounds (some offered by bitnami). I would offer to them to go into their discussions to document the issues for future releases.


showing 1 - 9