Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 6.1.1-1-r01 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

130 AWS reviews

External reviews

2 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sahil

No support for t2 micro

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

They don't support t2 micro instance which comes under free tier. I went with a different wordpress AMI available on AWS marketplace.


    Aidin

Nor recommended

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The first installation is easy and you will have a running wordpress website in minutes, however, I don't recommend using this image for production. it seems they have not thoroughly planned for upgrading the underlying components and there isn't any streamlined way to upgrade your installation. If you want to update the PHP runtime or the database, you are out of luck. the only solution they offer on their documentation and community forum is to either install a newer image on another instance, or install their stack manually beside your current installation, either way you are forced to migrate your whole wordpress and backup/restore your database to the new installation!


    genuine user

worst expercience

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

they have so many restriction. not able to change files and general settings. so many restriction and no proper guideline how to change it.


    Alex

Everything worked, documentation needs work, but support was fast

  • June 08, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This was my first time setting up a wordpress site on AWS and "WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic" solved all the problems I had. The documentation leaves a little bit to be desired, but the support team were fast to respond and helped me resolve all issues.


    Ankit

Best And Help Full CMS Worpress

  • May 23, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Bitnami is best for beginners helpful and great news version is awesome sir I use Bitnami THIS IS USEFULL FOR ME AND ALL BLOGGER NEW


    Wordpress_GuestUser

Easy to setup

  • May 04, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am new to aws and wordpress and have done default installation of this image and it is very easy to setup. All works good, I'm just curious that the pricing for this AMI just shows the EC2 calculation. What about the RDS (MySQL) associated with the default installation? Does Bitnami AMI has a MySQL installed on same AMI? If yes then how the pricing of it works? Any information on same will be appreciated.
Thanks


    Chips

Works, but disappointing

  • January 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works. But the nonstandard directory structure makes it hard to manage, even for someone with extensive linux command line and mysql experience. The documentation just isn't up to snuff, and leaves a lot to be desired. It is very out of date. Relatively simple tasks, such as restoring a back from one of the many standard plugins, won't work, or is ridiculously hard, because their non standard directory and database setup cannot be handled. Upgrades are ugly. I went with this because of the certified by automatic. But now, after using it for 6 different sites over 3 years, I can say I regret it. And I will be using something else going forward. And migrating when I can.

1 person found this helpful

    okbutfrustrated

How to recover MySQL root?

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Seems can't. Product seems to work solidly, but we inherited this from people who are no longer around. And now we need to reset things.

Followed Bitnami's directions

/opt/bitnami/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe --pid-file=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data/mysqld.pid --datadir=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data --init-file=/root/mysql_cmds --lower_case_table_names=1 2> /dev/null &

But not working

# mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


    vinod

Easy to setup and manage

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wanted to create my son's blog on WP and was looking around for a good WP server. I saw this one around 10 months ago in marketplace and decided to give it a try. The instructions are very clear and it is very easy to setup. Configuring SSL, CloudFormation, elastic ip, securing the website is so easy. The website is up and running successfully now and I regularly do a system update. The only downside is that it runs on Ubuntu 16.04 and I prefer the latest version. That is why I have given 4 stars instead of 5


    Prasadh

Easy to Setup - Much Appreciated

  • June 08, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I followed the Instructions on Amazon Documentation & I was able to Setup a new WP Site without any problems and withing 5 minutes my basic WordPress Installation was done and I was able to access the WP Site via Public IP.