Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.1

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Construction

Core Firewall

  • August 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, changes are immediately reflected, details logs
What do you dislike?
Devices will get too slow if all the functions are enabled
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting core network. Enhanced security.


    ramesh k.

Guard of Environment

  • May 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The VPN tool is one of the best supporting tool.
What do you dislike?
Not a user-friendly console and faced some complications
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The NAT issue has been resolved and the traffic shaping is the food one
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare other products with all the security aspects


    Arbaz K.

FortiGate Next Generation Firewall to Secure Network Security"

  • January 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate firewall are easy to deploy as we internally configured it,GUI is simple and easy to manage NAT,SSL VPN,Web filter, Routing and security Policy.
Easy to manage traffic with the help of firewall rule and policy.
What do you dislike?
Firewall gets down and we have to reboot and start it again this issue we have faced lot of time so we have migrated to Sophos XG.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our company as we have two isp link for redundancy we have configured Link failover and Load balancing on firewall.
We are using the FortiGate firewall for network security and protection of IT infrastructure.
Easy to manage source device traffic with the help of various firewall rule and policy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For mid range network environment you can go for Fortigate NGFW.


    Hieu H.

The Next Generation Firewall high performance and including SDWAN Function

  • October 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The FortiGate Firewall has many Security Functions (like Web Filtering, Application Control, IPS, Antivirus, ...) that help the organization to protect the users.
Beside that, the FortiGate Firewall also has SD-WAN Function that optimizing traffic from user to application via the hybrid WAN environment (MPLS, Internet Broadband, ...).
And what i like the best is that we can combine Security Function and SD-WAN, which means I can optimize traffic from user to application and also can scan this traffic flow with Security Function to protect the Local Application Server or the User.
What do you dislike?
The feature is good, but the FortiOS has many bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I combine SD-WAN and Security Function, so I can replace the Router and old Firewall at the Branch Site with a single FortiGate device. That helps me manage the Network and Security aspects at the Branch easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make a stable FortiOS firmware.


    Carmelo B.

Miglior firewall e relativa dashboard performante per il controllo totale di LAN e WAN

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet, e più specificatamente la serie di firewall e applicazioni FortiGate, rappresenta per me e per molti specialisti del comparto IT Security la migliore soluzione presente nell'ultimo decennio oltre che la più stabile e affidabile per gestire in modo veloce, semplice e senza preoccupazioni svariate operazione relative alla Cybersecurity e a molti altri aspetti del networking LAN e WAN.
Di FortiGate la cosa che preferisco più di tutte è l'eccezionale pannello FortiFabric in grado di consentire la visione, la manipolazione e la totale gestione degli aspetti di un firewall a 360 gradi senza dover quindi ricorrere a noiose e complicate linee di comando o console SSH. Tutto da web in modo responsive, posso fare modifiche al volo anche dal cellulare (previa VPN, ovviamente) mentre sono in viaggio o out of office
Per farla breve, una più che eccellente serie di prodotti e soluzioni perfetti per gestire IT Security e Security Operations in un click
What do you dislike?
Il costo delle licenze UTM andrebbe rivisto, è indicibile dover pagare cifre altissime (che non posso divulgare in quanto frutto di accordi commerciali) semplicemente per poter filtrare un URL o un servizio P2P, sono funzionalità che dovrebbero già essere standard oltre che attive e gratuita in un "next generation" firewall
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gestire, mantenere, aggiornare e scalare ovunque mi trovi e con qualunque device (laptop, smartphone, smart tv) tutti gli aspetti security operations della nostra rete LAN e WAN corporate ponendo ulteriore focus sulla dashboard degli eventi che consente di monitorare in modo semplice, veloce e diretto ogni problema, intrusione o minaccia nelle reti di cui sopra


    Amelia M.

Have high security and quality in one device.

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet has been very supportive because it has provided me with an "engineer" at no cost and helps me design new projects. It has been good for me because it covers small and medium-sized businesses such as mine. This informative tool makes it easy for me to see and makes quick results to evaluate.
What do you dislike?
I can't use this tool if I want to report or be able to investigate on the network. It is not very effective and this generates little performance for my projects. To detect viruses, intrusions or unwanted emails, you need adjustment so the fee will have false positives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We love this tool because it is easy to install, manage with a good domain, with an affordable price and excellent protection. We have not had any kind of problem with our equipment when it comes to work. This program will give us the security of what we see and download.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is fantastic for the public in general, it is ideal for current use and future growth. It is suitable for large companies with an extensive data center.
It has a diversity of functions, and fantastic stability.


    Angie L.

A little difficult to manage, but has good performance

  • July 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I had the opportunity to manage a Fortigate at one of the company's remote sites for which I work and the experience has not been very good.

The configuration of a simple policy involves a number of huge steps to configure it, with other Firewall is simpler

However, once everything is set up, the device performs well and does its job efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of policies are very tedious, everything has to be done via web or SSH as it has no other offline administration tool.

The visualization of the logs is very poor and there is no way to store them for a long time, to generate reports and better visualize the logs you have to acquire the Fortianalyzer which is a separate device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After configuring all the necessary policies and activating the Fortiguard security profiles, the device maintains a high performance and does not generate network slowness.

IPsec VPNs can be established against Firewalls of other brands without any inconvenience.
Email Filter helps reduce the amount of Spam emails you receive

You can effectively analyze traffic and deny access to unauthorized Web pages and applications
Once you adapt to the device, you realize how effective it is to protect the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the help guides created by Fortinet with examples of configurations so you can understand better how to configure the device


    Jorge C.

Good UTM for a decent price

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate is a good UTM Firewall, for me this firewall do his job, it protects the perimeter of your network using the NGFW technology, however, the configuration is a little bit cumbersome

With this device you can do content filter blocking the access to web pages using the categories provided by Fortiguard, you can restrict the access to applications that are not allowed in your company, you can publish services so they can be available from Internet, you can also create VPNs IPsec with another device and you can make a VPN SSL to gain secure access to your network from your home.

You can do many other things, you just have to check the “Cookbooks” that Fortinet offers
What do you dislike?
You can do many things with this Firewall, but what I dont like is that the configuration is a little bit tricky, you have to go to multiple menus to do a simple thing, apart from this, does its job efficiently
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With this Firewall I was able to solve problems related to the use of bandwidth, the use of unauthorized applications, the use of proxies and so on

But the most important things were:
- I was able to protect the perimeter of my network.
- I was able to do IPsec VPN with the other branches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose the correct Fortigate unit based on the number of concurrent sessions not the number of users


    Colton J.

Great Product For Using At Work

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only does this program help me work, but it also helps me go back home and feel accomplished at work. I am very happy with this product and our company is constantly working.
What do you dislike?
I rarely have any problems with this product, but updates do take some time out of my work schedule.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This product helps our company stir less confusion with our clients. We are able to identify our customers when we look at our inventory.


    Good

Good

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and tried with TRANSIT VPC, Good performance. Only Issues with Remote VPN part. CLI part is good, will get more options there.