Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.3

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

119 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Bhuwan C.

FortiGate NGFW is best solution to manage & protect Enterprises for next generation threat vectors .

  • November 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortgate NGFW is based on ASIC (Application specific Integreted Archetecture), allowing it to control the allowlisting & blocklisting of multiple apps. It also provides a granular reporting part with the help of Forti Analyzer that increases the visibility of the entire IT environment; Many threats cab be prevented if you keep a closed eye on reporting part only.
What do you dislike?
Since this is time for perimeter-less security, especially in hybrid environments, employees are working from everywhere, Forcepoint needs to focus more on CASB (Cloud Access Security Brocker)
Where employees are using multiple apps, some are sanctions some are not. Somtimes they downloads malcious apps which may exfiltrate the secure data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fortigate has the best capability to provide Secure SDWAN, an in-built feature of NGFW; you can connect multiple branches securely. It can remove the MPLS & save a good amount of money.


    Blake R.

Very reliable and so many features!

  • November 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Setup was a breeze; the web interface is very well designed. The ability to use the CLI via the web interface is mind-blowing
What do you dislike?
Some features feel like they are only geared towards Microsoft Server and active directory. The world isn't just Microsoft anymore
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a reliable firewall that was able to handle deep packet inspection as well as supporting usual L3 routing and remote access for workers.


    Hospital & Health Care

Fortigate NGFW Review

  • October 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate NGFW is a firewall that provides traditional firewall features as well as next-generation features such as URL filtering, antivirus, IPS ability. Its GUI is most uncomplicated compared to all other firewalls. It Provides real-time protection from network-based attacks and blocks harmful resources.
What do you dislike?
Though its GUI is user-friendly, we usually do firmware upgrades; after upgrades, its GUI changes, and we have to navigate options again. Syslog configuration is complex as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fortigate NGFW provides Visibility over the network and manages network policies. It also feeds IPS features for real-time protection from attackers and malware.


    Construction

Core Firewall

  • August 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, changes are immediately reflected, details logs
What do you dislike?
Devices will get too slow if all the functions are enabled
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting core network. Enhanced security.


    ramesh k.

Guard of Environment

  • May 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The VPN tool is one of the best supporting tool.
What do you dislike?
Not a user-friendly console and faced some complications
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The NAT issue has been resolved and the traffic shaping is the food one
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare other products with all the security aspects


    Arbaz K.

FortiGate Next Generation Firewall to Secure Network Security"

  • January 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate firewall are easy to deploy as we internally configured it,GUI is simple and easy to manage NAT,SSL VPN,Web filter, Routing and security Policy.
Easy to manage traffic with the help of firewall rule and policy.
What do you dislike?
Firewall gets down and we have to reboot and start it again this issue we have faced lot of time so we have migrated to Sophos XG.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our company as we have two isp link for redundancy we have configured Link failover and Load balancing on firewall.
We are using the FortiGate firewall for network security and protection of IT infrastructure.
Easy to manage source device traffic with the help of various firewall rule and policy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For mid range network environment you can go for Fortigate NGFW.


    Hieu H.

The Next Generation Firewall high performance and including SDWAN Function

  • October 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The FortiGate Firewall has many Security Functions (like Web Filtering, Application Control, IPS, Antivirus, ...) that help the organization to protect the users.
Beside that, the FortiGate Firewall also has SD-WAN Function that optimizing traffic from user to application via the hybrid WAN environment (MPLS, Internet Broadband, ...).
And what i like the best is that we can combine Security Function and SD-WAN, which means I can optimize traffic from user to application and also can scan this traffic flow with Security Function to protect the Local Application Server or the User.
What do you dislike?
The feature is good, but the FortiOS has many bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I combine SD-WAN and Security Function, so I can replace the Router and old Firewall at the Branch Site with a single FortiGate device. That helps me manage the Network and Security aspects at the Branch easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make a stable FortiOS firmware.


    Carmelo B.

Miglior firewall e relativa dashboard performante per il controllo totale di LAN e WAN

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet, e più specificatamente la serie di firewall e applicazioni FortiGate, rappresenta per me e per molti specialisti del comparto IT Security la migliore soluzione presente nell'ultimo decennio oltre che la più stabile e affidabile per gestire in modo veloce, semplice e senza preoccupazioni svariate operazione relative alla Cybersecurity e a molti altri aspetti del networking LAN e WAN.
Di FortiGate la cosa che preferisco più di tutte è l'eccezionale pannello FortiFabric in grado di consentire la visione, la manipolazione e la totale gestione degli aspetti di un firewall a 360 gradi senza dover quindi ricorrere a noiose e complicate linee di comando o console SSH. Tutto da web in modo responsive, posso fare modifiche al volo anche dal cellulare (previa VPN, ovviamente) mentre sono in viaggio o out of office
Per farla breve, una più che eccellente serie di prodotti e soluzioni perfetti per gestire IT Security e Security Operations in un click
What do you dislike?
Il costo delle licenze UTM andrebbe rivisto, è indicibile dover pagare cifre altissime (che non posso divulgare in quanto frutto di accordi commerciali) semplicemente per poter filtrare un URL o un servizio P2P, sono funzionalità che dovrebbero già essere standard oltre che attive e gratuita in un "next generation" firewall
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gestire, mantenere, aggiornare e scalare ovunque mi trovi e con qualunque device (laptop, smartphone, smart tv) tutti gli aspetti security operations della nostra rete LAN e WAN corporate ponendo ulteriore focus sulla dashboard degli eventi che consente di monitorare in modo semplice, veloce e diretto ogni problema, intrusione o minaccia nelle reti di cui sopra


    Amelia M.

Have high security and quality in one device.

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet has been very supportive because it has provided me with an "engineer" at no cost and helps me design new projects. It has been good for me because it covers small and medium-sized businesses such as mine. This informative tool makes it easy for me to see and makes quick results to evaluate.
What do you dislike?
I can't use this tool if I want to report or be able to investigate on the network. It is not very effective and this generates little performance for my projects. To detect viruses, intrusions or unwanted emails, you need adjustment so the fee will have false positives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We love this tool because it is easy to install, manage with a good domain, with an affordable price and excellent protection. We have not had any kind of problem with our equipment when it comes to work. This program will give us the security of what we see and download.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is fantastic for the public in general, it is ideal for current use and future growth. It is suitable for large companies with an extensive data center.
It has a diversity of functions, and fantastic stability.


    Angie L.

A little difficult to manage, but has good performance

  • July 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I had the opportunity to manage a Fortigate at one of the company's remote sites for which I work and the experience has not been very good.

The configuration of a simple policy involves a number of huge steps to configure it, with other Firewall is simpler

However, once everything is set up, the device performs well and does its job efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of policies are very tedious, everything has to be done via web or SSH as it has no other offline administration tool.

The visualization of the logs is very poor and there is no way to store them for a long time, to generate reports and better visualize the logs you have to acquire the Fortianalyzer which is a separate device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After configuring all the necessary policies and activating the Fortiguard security profiles, the device maintains a high performance and does not generate network slowness.

IPsec VPNs can be established against Firewalls of other brands without any inconvenience.
Email Filter helps reduce the amount of Spam emails you receive

You can effectively analyze traffic and deny access to unauthorized Web pages and applications
Once you adapt to the device, you realize how effective it is to protect the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the help guides created by Fortinet with examples of configurations so you can understand better how to configure the device