Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.3

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

119 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Jorge C.

Good UTM for a decent price

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate is a good UTM Firewall, for me this firewall do his job, it protects the perimeter of your network using the NGFW technology, however, the configuration is a little bit cumbersome

With this device you can do content filter blocking the access to web pages using the categories provided by Fortiguard, you can restrict the access to applications that are not allowed in your company, you can publish services so they can be available from Internet, you can also create VPNs IPsec with another device and you can make a VPN SSL to gain secure access to your network from your home.

You can do many other things, you just have to check the “Cookbooks” that Fortinet offers
What do you dislike?
You can do many things with this Firewall, but what I dont like is that the configuration is a little bit tricky, you have to go to multiple menus to do a simple thing, apart from this, does its job efficiently
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With this Firewall I was able to solve problems related to the use of bandwidth, the use of unauthorized applications, the use of proxies and so on

But the most important things were:
- I was able to protect the perimeter of my network.
- I was able to do IPsec VPN with the other branches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose the correct Fortigate unit based on the number of concurrent sessions not the number of users


    Colton J.

Great Product For Using At Work

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only does this program help me work, but it also helps me go back home and feel accomplished at work. I am very happy with this product and our company is constantly working.
What do you dislike?
I rarely have any problems with this product, but updates do take some time out of my work schedule.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This product helps our company stir less confusion with our clients. We are able to identify our customers when we look at our inventory.


    Good

Good

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and tried with TRANSIT VPC, Good performance. Only Issues with Remote VPN part. CLI part is good, will get more options there.


    Ignacio F.

Fortigate

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibilidad , gestión, variedad de equipos para distintas oficinas con múltiples funciones de seguridad tanto de antivirus , ids, ips,
What do you dislike?
en principio no tengo muchas pegas el servicio es bueno
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
tiene muy buenas soluciones tanto de conexión como soluciones para pequeñas oficinas con una buena cobertura de seguridad
Recommendations to others considering the product:
danip_hotmail.com


    Information Services

Awesome firewall quick setup

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to use the software is the same from a switch to an AP. And you can work it from 1 plane of glass to configure all equipment
What do you dislike?
I have no dislikes of the firewall. I find that some of the software is buggy at times and you have to refresh your browser so often which could be an issue on my end
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
If you want a very inexpensive and reliable firewall that is easy to setup this is the firewall to do it. We were able to setup a customer with no issues in about 5 minutes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If cost and ease of use then I would reccommend this product. Also the training is really good too. It is all done from one plane of glass


    Primary/Secondary Education

Easy to Use Firewall

  • May 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the insights that I can see based on the application being used. It is very easy to see which user or device is sucking up the bandwidth.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I didn't like was the device needed a software upgrade that "soft bricked" my firewall. The upgrade path wasn't followed, so that was my fault. But I wanted to cancel the upgrade before it started but there was no way to do that. It involved a long night trying to get the device back up and running. Eventually it did and is working great now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to limit bandwidth on certain applications, block websites, and route traffic as needed. Policy based routing has helped us use a secondary connection as a fail-over if our primary goes down. This has been a lifesaver.


    AWSer

Easy to set up

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am testing this product at the AWS re:Invent 2017 in Las Vegas. The free trial was pretty easy to set up, and the support was adequate.


    Jayr

Works like the real device

  • July 21, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you are used to the fortigate firewall line there is nothing new here, the interface is the same and works the same way. Good entry level device, easy to setup and works fine.


    Swetha

Easy to launch and test!

  • June 09, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wish we had this sooner but better late than never. I really like the idea of spinning up the fortinet instance on EC2 to test configuration quickly.
It was really easy to set up like any oterh EC2 instance. It loads with the basic SSH, Telent access which is nice and has some useful configuration preloaded
on the initial build. Hoping to have fun with this.
Thanks!


    Ben

Finally working...

  • June 08, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After getting the login information correct, I was able to log in and use the product. Seems to be running well on the virtual platform. We will continue working with this AMI in our development environment until we are comfortable moving this into production.