Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.15.0 SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

741 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    bad_blackboard

Crashes

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The app throws bad gateway notices at least twice a week. There is no support for the app. There is no error reporting for the app.

1 person found this helpful

    b

application won't start

  • August 02, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

the box deploys, i get to the point to accept the self-signed cert, and then the page just spins.

the application never loads.


    Venk

Bad Experience

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I just launched this LMS in EC2 and I tried to use DNS to launch the application. But nothing is coming , Page is spinning continuously and timed out.


    Higher Education

It does what it's supposed to, but not well

  • March 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It does provide a useful, functional course framework.
What do you dislike?
It is incredibly glitchy, prone to losing student submitted assignments, fussy on a lot of web browsers, and some plugins it offers are very poorly integrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It does provide a centralized, consistent experience for students so that they don't have to learn a different LMS for every class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Canvas is better


    Higher Education

Clunky, but gets the job done

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the notification box displayed at the top of the screen to keep track of new course material and grades. This feature makes it easy to view all course notifications in one place and review past notifications. I additionally like the ability to organize course material into folders within other folders for ease of finding pertinent material. Blackboard Learn also conveniently emails you when you've uploaded assignments throughout Blackboard Learn and when there are new course announcements.
What do you dislike?
Blackboard Learn is not user friendly. The way Blackboard Learn is displayed on computers, mobile devices, and the Blackboard Learn app is incredibly inconsistent. The main screen for Blackboard Learn after logging in on a computer is cluttered and overwhelming including links to content that one rarely needs to access. I wish the main page on computers was simpler (similar to how it displays on the mobile app) and only includes links to current courses.

In addition, I have had issues uploading assignments. Typically this feature works fine, but once my document was completely blank after uploading to Blackboard Learn. This resulted in me having to email the professor the assignment directly and made grading more difficult for the professor. After this incident, I no longer trust the assignment upload feature and constantly check to be sure it worked, as I would not want to receive a poor grade simple because of a software issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Although Blackboard Learn is clunky and annoying to use, it meets my needs of accessing course material and grades. I am able to view all course material in one place, and I enjoy the real time updates of grade notifications when out of the classroom.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have used both Blackboard Learn and Canvas, and I definitely recommend using Canvas instead of Blackboard Learn. Blackboard Learn seems to be equally as clunky and inefficient as it was several years ago, so I don't anticipate it changing for the better anytime soon.


    Education Management

Blackboard is not attractive in its presentation unless you know how to code

  • September 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am not a fan of Blackboard Learn. I wish this site was more attractive and less clunky.
What do you dislike?
How Blackboard Learn is not user friendly and not intuitive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides a hub for course information


    Higher Education

Not a fan

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was decent in interface and organization.
What do you dislike?
I did not like that it wasn’t user friendly and it was challenging to synce previous content.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was a basic classroom management system.


    Higher Education

An industry leader with a bit of baggage

  • November 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Universally used and known by a wide user base, globally. This makes it easy to find support and peer guidance when dealing with ongoing system flaws.
What do you dislike?
Tools are clunky and riddled with bugs. Fixes take a while and often break other features. Often we are left weighing two bad options when planning system upgrades.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Learning management system to supplement face-to-face classroom learning and online learning. Blackboard contains many native tools that are requested or expected by faculty.


    Matthew D.

Blackboard is outdated and needs to adapt.

  • October 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is very customizable, and has a lot of legacy. They are doing some great experiments in products tangential to the LMS experience; Specifically, ALLY, Collaborate, and Analytics. There are some really interesting features in these new products, and they seem to be designed around user experiences.
What do you dislike?
Blackboard has a lot of legacy, and it's extremely outdated. There are 3 methods of delivery, 2 experiences, and 4 or 5 new products that aren't baked directly in. We, specifically, are self hosted - so when they announce a new product, my first two questions are: when will it trickle down to self hosted? what does it cost? They've started to figure out SaaS and Mobile, but don't have a unified product or experience. It would have been better to keep their SaaS and Self-Hosted products completely separate, instead of mixing and matching as they've done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Blackboard as a Learning Management System, to manage relationships between students, classes and instructors. It's added a lot of educational value to our University. It saves a lot of paper, and helps keep an electronic record of student achievement. It's just outdated and clunky.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider Canvas instead. They have the benefit of being web first and mobile first, and not having a fragmented experience.


    Evan S.

Bulky and not user-friendly

  • December 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There is a lot of functionality to the program. From entering grades to building tests/quizzes, creating workgroups, and submitting documents, it has most anything you could need to manage a classroom.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is absolutely terrible. It is difficult to adjust settings that should be easy to change. Everything I need to access is seemingly buried in a giant list of items in a toolbar that isn't consistent from one page to the next. Entering grades is slow and usually laggy, unlike a nice spreadsheet program (Excel, for example). The program does what I need it to do, but it seems that every feature includes an inconvenience of some kind.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In terms of compiling grades and allowing students to track their progress, the application is functional. It does what I need it to and it does save time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have used blackboard both as a student and as an instructor. As a student, I avoided blackboard at all costs because it is so frustrating to use. As an instructor, I had to deal with students who couldn't figure out how to use certain features of blackboard or who were forced off the computer in the middle of a test or quiz because the program froze or crashed. I would strongly recommend any institution looking for education technology to consider using another program. I have used springboard in the past at another university and it is much easier to use.