HTC Corporation(简称 HTC)创立于 1997 年,是一家移动设备生产厂商,其产品获奖无数,创造了诸多业界第一。HTC 遵循人本原则,拓展了设计和技术的疆界,为全球消费者带去了创新的个人体验。HTC 的产品组合包括智能手机和平板电脑,全部提供 HTC Sense® 用户体验。HTC 已经在台湾证券交易所挂牌上市(TWSE 代码:2498)。HTC 专注于通过其 Connected Services Division 为其手机产品构筑和管理服务,从而为用户提供创新的服务。HTC 的 Connected Services Division 有两处办公地点,一处位于美国华盛顿州西雅图,另一处位于台湾台北。

Connected Services Division(简称 CS)创新开发各种服务,借助云为用户提供互联体验,增加 HTC 手机的价值。CS 部门开发的服务包括消息聚合服务 BlinkFeed、相片分享应用程序 HTC Share、提供个性化手机设置体验的 HTC Get Started 以及手机备份服务 HTC Backup 等。

为了能够将服务植入 HTC 手机,CS 部门必须灵活应变,从规划服务到以相对较短的周期开发和部署,包括获得和部署托管服务所必需的任何硬件。该部门还需要准备好应对突如其来的需求上升,这取决于服务的受欢迎程度。互联服务高级总监兼主管 James Pratt 说:“我们不可能随时掌握每项新服务在客户中的受欢迎程度。不同的服务发展的速度各不相同。”

随着发布周期缩短,消费者的反应也变得难以预料,CS 部门需要一种可以快速配置额外容量的解决方案。Pratt 说:“我们的运营方式颇为精简,而且都由我们自己完成。但是有时候我们不得不考虑是不是应该将这一块外包给更有能力更有效率的机构。”该部门决定寻找外部解决方案。Pratt 说:“我们需要的供应商要能够理解在云中运作一家全球化的客户导向型企业的意义所在。我们需要足够的灵活性来快速增加或减少我们服务业务的规模,还需要一群能够帮助解决一切难题的技术专家。”

CS 部门确定只有 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 不论在深度还是广度上有能力提供我们要求的服务,配套的支持服务也是该部门走向成功必不可少的元素。Pratt 说:“在效率和规模上我们远不能和 AWS 相提并论。AWS 将我们从繁重的基础设施规划工作中解放出来,我们不用再每隔 6 个月去考察不断变化的市场环境来对基础设施进行规划。我们是一家跨国公司,AWS 在处理全球部署这方面可说是得心应手。AWS 对于在云中处理大型企业的要求也理解得很透彻。”

CS 部门开始在内部使用 AWS,将其用于数据收集和分析服务,用以衡量 CS 服务的采用情况。计划首先是在现有的 CS 硬件基础设施上进行部署,但是当该部门体会到了 AWS 所具有的超高灵活性时,他们便将其基础设施迁移到了 AWS 云。

现在 CS 部门使用 AWS 的方式已经多种多样了,包括在世界不同区域托管其服务、运行用户身份验证服务以及管理世界各地超过三千万 HTC 设备的配置。CS 部门还利用 AWS 来辅助他们的一些移动服务,如下所示。

  • HTC 图像和视频混搭与分享服务 HTC Share。CS 部门使用 Amazon DynamoDB 来管理用户数据,使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 每天储存和移动若干 TB 的客户数据,不论客户身在何方。CS 部门还使用 Amazon CloudFront 来改善客户内容浏览体验。
  • 手机备份服务 HTC Backup。CS 部门使用 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon S3 来管理客户备份。
  • 个性化手机设置服务 HTC Get Started。CS 部门使用 Amazon EC2 来托管个性化手机设置 Web 门户。
  • 消息聚合服务 BlinkFeed。CS 使用 Amazon EC2 每天向数百万台 HTC 设备提供新闻内容。

CS 还使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC)、Elastic Block Store (EBS)、Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)、Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES)、Amazon Route 53 DNS Service、Elastic Load BalancingAmazon CloudWatch Service(用于监控)和 AWS CloudTrail(用于审计)。该部门还使用位于北美、欧洲和亚洲的多个可用区。HTC 的架构以图例展示如下。

htc-arch-diag

图 1HTC Share 架构

对于那些刚开始使用 AWS 的企业用户,Pratt 建议明智地选择使用容量。Pratt 说:“对待 AWS 和对待物理数据中心没什么区别,甚是简单。假设你要为数百万用户在 AWS 中部署服务,如果你这么做了,那就会出现容量利用率低下的情况。AWS 的优势是,如果业务发展了,容量也可以跟着发展。所以如何借助 AWS 云进行部署可是一门值得深思的学问。先从小型冗余部署起步,当过段时间客户群增大了,再规划扩大规模。”

使用 AWS 让 CS 部门可以更灵活更敏捷,即使发布周期紧张也没有问题。Pratt 说:“我们每年都有几个重要的阶段,这有利于掌握市场脉搏,将新的服务交付到 HTC 设备。如果错过了这些特定的阶段,会对我们的业务产生不良的影响。AWS 恰好能在这个问题上给予我们帮助。AWS 具有极佳的灵活性,我们可以等上一个月再交付服务,以进行容量选择。这样一来,我们就可以安排更多时间进行创新。”

CS 部门的上市时间也得到改善。Pratt 说:“要不是使用了 AWS,我们不可能像现在这样快速地交付 HTC Share 服务。通过使用 AWS,我们的开发人员可以更好地发挥创意,节省下大量耗费在基础设施上的时间,AWS 为他们提供了一个坚实且可以预知的基础平台,省却了许多烦恼。”

Auto ScalingAWS CloudFormation 还帮助 CS 团队进行容量管理。为了对 HTC Share 服务中出现的用户规模快速扩大做出迅速响应,CS 部门设置了 Auto Scaling 机制,让 Amazon EC2 拥有一定的容量来处理照片/视频,这个容量还可以根据情况自动扩大或缩小,同时保证向终端用户提供高质量的服务。

CS 部门还利用 AWS 企业支持保证多个 AWS 部署顺利运作。Pratt 说:“AWS 企业支持了解我们的业务和目标,技术客户经理 (TAM) 和 AWS Support 团队工作非常认真负责,让我们随时掌握可能发生的最新变化。他们为我们提供的帮助可谓包罗万象,大到为备份服务设计 AWS 友好型架构支持,小到某个实例不能如期运作的故障排除。”

由于可以在世界各地的多个可用区进行部署,HTC 因此可以提供更好的客户体验,减少客户延迟并改善可用性。Pratt 说:“HTC 是一家全球性公司,我们与全球超过 100 家企业有联系。我们可以让部署更靠近我们的客户,这能减少延迟,提供更好的客户体验。

作为一家跨国公司,我们需要向世界各地的用户提供质量高且不会中断的服务,AWS 帮我们做到了这一点。”

要了解有关 AWS 如何帮助您交付移动应用的更多信息,请访问我们的移动应用详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/mobile-apps/

Founded in 1997, HTC Corporation (HTC) is the creator of many award-winning mobile devices and industry firsts. By putting people at the center of everything it does, HTC pushes the boundaries of design and technology to create innovative and personal experiences for consumers around the globe. HTC's portfolio includes smartphones and tablets powered by the HTC Sense® user experience. HTC is listed on the Taiwan Stock Exchange (TWSE: 2498). HTC is focused on delivering innovative services through its Connected Services Division, which builds and manages services for its phones. HTC’s Connected Services Division is based in Seattle, WA and Taipei, Taiwan.

The Connected Services Division (CS) creates services that enhance the value of HTC phones via the connected experience to the cloud. Some of the services created by CS include BlinkFeed, a news aggregation service; HTC Share, a photo-sharing application; HTC Get Started, a personalize phone setup experience; and HTC Backup, a phone backup service.

In order to get services onto the new HTC phones, CS must be agile enough to go from planning a service to developing and deploying it within a relatively short time frame, including procuring and deploying whatever hardware is required to host the service. The division also needed to be prepared for demand to surge without notice, depending on a service’s popularity. “We don’t always know how popular each new service will be with our customers,” says James Pratt, Senior Director and Head of Connected Services. “Different services grow at different rates.”

With a rapid release cycle and unpredictable consumer response, CS needed a way to quickly provision additional capacity. “We run a pretty lean operation, and we were handling this ourselves,” Pratt says. “But there comes a time when you have to decide whether someone else could do it better and more efficiently.” The division decided to look to external solutions. “We needed a provider who would understand what it takes to run a worldwide, customer-facing enterprise in the cloud,” Pratt says. “We needed the flexibility to grow and shrink our services business quickly, and we needed technical experts who could handle anything we could throw at them.”

CS decided that Amazon Web Services (AWS) offered the breadth and depth of services required, and came with the support services the division needed in order to be successful. “We couldn’t beat AWS for efficiency and scale,” Pratt says. “AWS frees us from having to do infrastructure planning on shifting sands every six months. We’re a worldwide company, and AWS is a good fit for handling world-wide deployments. And AWS understands what it’s like to handle big business on the cloud.”

CS began using AWS internally, using it for a data collection and analysis service to measure the adoption of CS services. The program was initially deployed on the existing hardware-based CS infrastructure, but once the division experienced the elasticity of AWS, CS moved its infrastructure to the AWS Cloud.

Now, CS uses AWS in a number of different ways: hosting its services in regions around the world, running its user authentication service, and managing configuration for more than 30 million HTC devices worldwide. CS also uses AWS to enable some of its mobile services, as follows.

  • HTC Share, HTC’s image and video mash-up and sharing service. CS uses Amazon DynamoDB to manage user data, and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to store and move terabytes of customer data every day, wherever the customer is located. It also uses Amazon CloudFront to improve the customer content viewing experience.
  • HTC Backup, a phone backup service. CS uses Amazon EC2 and Amazon S3 to manage the customer backups.
  • HTC Get Started, a personalized phone setup service. CS uses Amazon EC2 to host the personalized phone setup web portal.
  • BlinkFeed, a news aggregation service. CS uses Amazon EC2 to deliver the news content to millions of HTC devices every day.

CS also uses Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), Elastic Block Store (EBS), Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES), Amazon Route 53 DNS Service, Elastic Load Balancing, Amazon CloudWatch Service for monitoring, and AWS CloudTrail for audit purposes. The division uses multiple Availability Zones as well, in North America, Europe, and Asia. The HTC architecture is illustrated below.

htc-arch-diag

Figure 1. HTC Share Architecture

For those who are just starting out with AWS, Pratt recommends thoughtful use of capacity. “It’s very easy to treat AWS like you’d treat a physical data center, and say you’re going to deploy your service in AWS for n million users,” Pratt says. “But if you do that, you’re going to have capacity that is underutilized. The beauty of AWS is that as your business scales up, your capacity can scale up. So think carefully about how you deploy with the AWS Cloud in mind. Make small, redundant deployments and plan to scale up as your customer base grows over time.”

Using AWS has enabled CS to be more flexible and agile, even with tight release cycles. “We have several windows a year where it made good business sense to ship new services on HTC devices,” Pratt says. “If we missed those windows, that’s bad for our business. That’s where AWS comes in. AWS is so elastic that we can wait until a month before we ship a service to make capacity choices. That way, we have more time to innovate.”

Time to market has improved at CS, as well. “We couldn’t have shipped HTC Share Service nearly as quickly as we did without using AWS,” Pratt says. “Using AWS helps our developers to be more creative and to spend less time on infrastructure—it gives them a solid, predictable base layer that they don’t have to worry about.”

Auto Scaling and AWS CloudFormation also help the CS team with capacity management. To react quickly to the rapid user growth in HTC Share Service, CS set up the Auto Scaling mechanism so that Amazon EC2 has the capacity to process photos/videos can be scale up and down automatically while still providing high quality service to end users.

CS also leverages AWS Enterprise Support to make sure its multiple AWS deployments go well. “AWS Enterprise Support understands our business and our goals—the Technical Account Manager (TAM) and AWS Support team do a great job of keeping us abreast of what changes to expect,” Pratt says. “They’ve helped us with everything from designing an AWS-friendly architecture support for our backup service to troubleshooting why an instance doesn’t operate the way we expect it to.”

Being able to deploy in Availability Zones across the world has also helped HTC provide a good customer experience, reducing latency for customers and improving availability. “HTC is a global company, and we have relationships with more than 100 enterprises worldwide,” Pratt says. “We can put deployments close to many of our customers, which reduces latency and gives them a good experience.”

“As a worldwide company, we need to be able to deliver excellent, always-on service to users everywhere,” Pratt concludes. “AWS helps us do that.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you deliver mobile apps, visit our Mobile Applications details page: http://aws.amazon.com/mobile-apps/.