mobvista-logo@2x

汇量科技案例研究

2019 年

汇量科技是一个移动广告和营销服务技术平台,旨在为全球应用程序开发人员提供移动广告和数据分析服务。 汇量科技使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 实现了迅速扩展和创新;2017 年,其每日平均广告请求量为 180 亿次,2018 年激增至平均 500 亿次。通过大量利用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,汇量科技每年可节省将近 1000 万人民币(140 万 USD)的 IT 成本。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

“我个人认为 AWS 具有极致的简单性和卓越的可扩展性。AWS 使汇量科技得以迅速扩张和创新。”

蔡超
汇量科技技术副总裁兼首席架构师

背景

移动广告和营销服务技术提供商汇量科技已采用原生云架构,以逐步建立基于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 的全栈式移动广告平台。汇量科技平台包括 SSP(供应方平台)、DSP(需求方平台)、AdExchange 广告交换平台数据管理平台,所有业务应用程序都位于 AWS 云中。汇量科技利用了各种 AWS 服务,包括数据存储服务 Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3)、NoSQL 数据库服务 Amazon DynamoDB、数据库仓库服务 Amazon Redshift、无服务器服务 AWS Lambda 等。此外,对于 AWS 发布的新技术,汇量科技会第一时间去探索。

下面的图 1 是汇量科技的系统架构示意图,该架构采用了各种 AWS 服务,其中包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)、Amazon Redshift、Amazon KinesisAmazon CloudWatch、Amazon DynamoDB、Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)、AWS Lambda,、Amazon EC2 Auto ScalingAmazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)Amazon ElastiCache

汇量科技参考架构

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

自 2013 年成立以来,汇量科技的业务迅速扩展并进入了高速发展阶段,每日平均广告请求量从 2017 年的 180 亿次激增至 2018 年的约 500 亿次。该请求量在 2019 年继续增长到 600 亿次,最高达到 1000 亿次,并且 IT 业务量也在飙升。目前,汇量科技所使用的服务器规模是之前的 10 倍左右。依托位于云端的应用程序,汇量科技已经能够满足如此迅猛的业务增长速度和相应的大规模业务需求。

汇量科技技术副总裁兼首席架构师蔡超表示:“AWS 总体上超出了预期。它不仅支持业务系统的快速扩展并加快创新速度,而且还通过深入应用新的 AWS 技术来不断提高整体可用性,并将单个请求的服务成本降低高达 60%。”

借助 AWS 云服务的深度和广度以及服务本身的稳定性、可用性和可扩展性,汇量科技克服了大规模高速扩展所面临的挑战。鉴于汇量科技的业务遍布全球,其系统必须能够以最快的速度响应来自世界各地用户的请求,这一点至关重要。此外,该系统必须具有高度稳定性,因为流量峰值可能会频繁出现并且瞬时点击量会急剧上升,这要求系统快速响应和扩展。借助 AWS 提供的强大、广泛和深入的服务,汇量科技可简化运维和维护,并降低其成本。到目前为止,运维团队的成员人数仍与 2016 年相同。

面向云的 IT 重构

2017 年,汇量科技加大了 IT 投资,这与公司的快速增长不谋而合。汇量科技开始思考,如果按照如此势头增长下去,应该如何管理云端的复杂性。汇量科技发现,AWS 在解决此复杂性方面具有宝贵的经验,尤其是在微服务和开发运维概念的应用方面。因此,汇量科技从微服务开始,着手全面重构其应用程序架构。当时,汇量科技的应用程序由大型单体系统组成。 通过重构为微服务方法,可以在更细的粒度上定位瓶颈,以便将资源分配到关键位置进行扩展。

在微服务转型期间,汇量科技还构建了一个旨在防止错误和加快恢复速度的高可用性系统。 汇量科技希望系统中的任何中断都不会干扰整个系统的运维。

然后,汇量科技开始开发其无服务器架构。通过使用 Amazon DynamoDB、AWS Lambda 和其他服务,系统架构的粒度得到了进一步完善,可在更小的层面提高弹性和可扩展性,并简化整个系统,从而降低运维和维护成本。

为了以低成本构建基于云的大型系统,除了应用上述最佳实践之外,汇量科技还开始大量使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Spot 实例,从而显著节省了成本。Spot 实例是 AWS 云中的空闲计算容量,与按需实例的价格相比,这种实例可以提供极高的折扣。根据供求关系的变化,每小时调整一次价格。汇量科技在高度可用的系统架构中大规模采用了 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,并充分利用了 Amazon EC2 Spot 定价、强大的弹性和可恢复性。在仍确保整个系统的稳定性和可靠性的同时,汇量科技的 IT 成本得到大幅降低。目前,汇量科技有 70% 的架构在 EC2 Spot 实例上运行。

整体转型之后,汇量科技的单个广告请求的 IT 成本比之前降低了 65%。正如汇量科技在 2018 年度报告中所述,服务器成本占总收入的比例从 2017 年的 4.4% 下降到 2018 年的 4.1%。

实现规模化发展势头

“我个人认为 AWS 具有极致的简单性和卓越的可扩展性。AWS 使汇量科技得以迅速扩张和创新。”蔡超表示。

依靠 AWS 的全球覆盖和强大的云计算 IT 架构,汇量科技可以随时满足其扩展业务的需求。即使在达到相当规模之后,汇量科技的业务扩展势头仍然保持强劲。基于 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon S3 的基础支持,汇量科技构建了 EnginePlus 大数据计算中间平台来分析和处理 10PB 以上的数据,这为未来的业务升级奠定了坚实的基础。
 


关于汇量科技

成立于 2014 年,广州汇量网络科技股份有限公司是全球知名的移动广告和营销服务技术平台,致力于为全球应用程序开发人员提供移动广告和数据分析服务。

AWS 的优势

  • 扩展运维以满足业务需求,同时降低 IT 成本
  • 部署微服务架构以提高弹性和可扩展性
  • 每年节省将近 140 万 USD 的 IT 成本,并将单个广告请求的成本降低 65%


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可应需调整的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。Amazon EC2 的 Web 服务接口非常简单,您可以最小的阻力轻松获取和配置容量。使用该服务,您可以完全控制您的计算资源,并可以在成熟的 Amazon 计算环境中运行。

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例让您可以利用 AWS 云中未使用的 EC2 容量。与按需实例的价格相比,使用 Spot 实例最高可以享受 90% 的折扣。您可以将 Spot 实例用于各种无状态、容错或者灵活的应用程序,例如大数据、容器化工作负载、CI/CD、Web 服务器、高性能计算 (HPC) 以及其他测试和开发工作负载。

了解更多 »

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。这意味着各种规模和行业的客户,都可以使用 Amazon S3 来存储和保护各种用例(如网站、移动应用程序、备份和还原、存档、企业应用程序、IoT 设备和大数据分析)的数据,容量不受限。

了解更多 »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift 可为财富 500 强公司、初创公司以及介于两者之间的任何公司,在分析工作负载方面提供支持。借助 Redshift,Lyft 等公司已从初创公司发展为市值高达几十亿美元的企业。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

mobvista-logo@2x

Mobvista Case Study

2019

Mobvista is a mobile advertising and marketing service technology platform that provides mobile advertising and data analysis services for global application developers. Its use of Amazon Web Services (AWS) has enabled Mobvista to expand and innovate quickly; its average daily ad request volume was 18 billion requests in 2017 and surged to an average of 50 billion in 2018. By making extensive use of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, Mobvista saves nearly CNY 10 million (USD $1.4 million) a year in IT costs.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

My personal view of AWS is ultimate simplicity and extreme scalability. AWS enables Mobvista to expand and innovate rapidly."

Cai Chao
Vice President of Technology and Chief Architect , Mobvista

Background

Mobile advertising and marketing service technology provider Mobvista has adopted an cloud-native architecture to gradually establish a full-stack mobile advertising platform based on Amazon Web Services (AWS). The Mobvista platform includes an SSP (Supplier Side Platform), DSP (Demand Side Platform), AdExchange Advertising Exchange Platform, and Data Management Platform, with all business applications sitting in the AWS Cloud. Mobvista leverages various AWS services, including data storage service Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3), NoSQL database service Amazon DynamoDB, database warehouse service Amazon Redshift, serverless service AWS Lambda, and more, and the company will also explore new technologies from AWS as they are released.

Figure 1, below, is a diagram of Mobvista's system architecture, which includes a myriad of AWS services including Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon Redshift, Amazon Kinesis, Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), AWS Lambda, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling, Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), and Amazon ElastiCache.

Mobvista Reference Architecture

Why Amazon Web Services

Since its establishment in 2013, Mobvista’s business has expanded rapidly, ushering in a stage of high-speed development with the average daily ad request volume exploding from 18 billion requests in 2017 to about 50 billion in 2018. This volume continued to grow to 60 billion requests in 2019, peaking at 100 billion, with IT business volume also soaring. At present, the scale of servers used by Mobvista is about ten times larger than it was initially. Mobvista has been able to meet such rapid business growth rate and the corresponding large-scale business demands by basing its applications in cloud.

Cai Chao, vice president of technology and chief architect at Mobvista, said, "AWS has generally outperformed expectations. It not only supports the rapid expansion of business systems and speeds up innovation but also continuously improves the overall availability and reduces the service cost of a single request by as much as 60 percent through in-depth application of new AWS technologies."

The depth and breadth of cloud services provided by AWS, as well as the stability, availability, and scalability of the services themselves, have helped Mobvista conquer the challenges of large-scale and high-speed expansion. Given the global presence of Mobvista, the ability for its system to respond to requests from users everywhere at the fastest speed possible is essential. Moreover, the system requires high stability because traffic peaks can occur frequently and instantaneous click volume can rise sharply, which require the system to quickly respond and scale. The robust, extensive, and in-depth services from AWS enable Mobvista to streamline the operation and maintenance and reduce its cost. So far, the number of members on the operation and maintenance team is still the same as that in 2016.

Cloud-Oriented IT Reconfiguration

In 2017, Mobvista’s IT investment increased, coinciding with the company’s rapid growth. Mobvista began to think about how to manage complexity on the cloud if it continued to grow at this momentum. Mobvista found that AWS has valuable experience to assist with that complexity, especially in the application of microservices and DevOps concepts. Therefore, Mobvista started to fully reconfigure its application architecture, starting with microservices. At that time, Mobvista's applications were composed of large monomer systems. By reconfiguing to microservices approach, bottlenecks could be located at a finer granularity, so resources could be allocated to key locations for expansion.

During the time of its microservices transformation, Mobvista also built a high-availability system oriented to prevent errors and speed recovery. Mobvista hoped that any interruption in one piece of the system would not interfere with the operation of the whole system.

Then, Mobvista began the development of its serverless architecture. By using Amazon DynamoDB, AWS Lambda and other services, the granularity of the system architecture was further refined to enhance the elasticity and scalability at a smaller level and simplify the system overall, thus reducing the costs for operation and maintenance.

In order to build a large-scale, cloud-based system at low cost, in addition to the application of the above best practices, Mobvista has started to use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Spot Instances in large quantities, thus greatly saving costs. Spot Instances are spare compute capacity in the AWS Cloud available at steep discounts compared to On-Demand prices. The prices are adjusted on an hourly basis according to changes in supply-demand relationship. Mobvista has adopted Amazon EC2 Spot Instances on a large scale in a highly-available system architecture, taking full advantage of Amazon EC2 Spot pricing, strong elasticity, and recoverability. While still ensuring the stability and reliability of its whole system, Mobvista's IT costs have been greatly reduced. At present, 70 percent of Mobvista's architecture runs on EC2 Spot Instances.

After the total transformation, the IT cost for a single advertisement request of Mobvista is 65% lower than before. As noted in Mobvista's 2018 Annual Report, the ratio of server cost to total revenue decreased from 4.4% in 2017 to 4.1% in 2018.

Achieving Momentum at Scale

"My personal view of AWS is ultimate simplicity and extreme scalability. AWS enables Mobvista to expand and innovate rapidly,” Cao said.

Relying on the global coverage and robust cloud computing IT architecture of AWS, Mobvista can meet the demands for its expanding business at any time. Even after Mobvista reached considerable scale, the momentum of business expansion has stayed strong. Based on the underlying support of Amazon EC2 and Amazon S3, Mobvista has built the EnginePlus Big Data Computing Middle Platform to analyze and process data at 10+PB level, laying a solid foundation for future business upgrades.
 


About Mobvista

Established in 2014, Mobvista (Guangzhou) Technology Company is a world-renowned mobile advertising and marketing service technology platform, focusing on providing mobile advertising and data analysis services for application developers worldwide.

Benefits of AWS

  • Scales operations to meet business demand while reducing IT costs
  • Deploys microservices architecture to enhance elasticity and scalability
  • Saves nearly $1.4 million a year in IT costs, reducing costs for a single advertisement request by 65%


AWS Services Used

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers. Amazon EC2’s simple web service interface allows you to obtain and configure capacity with minimal friction. It provides you with complete control of your computing resources and lets you run on Amazon’s proven computing environment.

Learn more »

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances let you take advantage of unused EC2 capacity in the AWS cloud. Spot Instances are available at up to a 90% discount compared to On-Demand prices. You can use Spot Instances for various stateless, fault-tolerant, or flexible applications such as big data, containerized workloads, CI/CD, web servers, high-performance computing (HPC), and other test & development workloads.

Learn more »

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. This means customers of all sizes and industries can use it to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics.

Learn more »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift powers analytical workloads for Fortune 500 companies, startups, and everything in between. Companies like Lyft have grown with Redshift from startups to multi-billion dollar enterprises.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.