Zappos-logo@2x

Zappos 使用 AWS 打造突破性的客户体验

2020 年

关注客户体验创新,方能打造可信赖的电子商务品牌。尤其在服装领域,因为传统的亲身体验式零售已经塑造了客户预期。用 Zappos 机器学习研究和平台主管 Ameen Kazerouni 的话来说,“电子商务的理想目标,就是让客户像亲临实体店一样舒适,知道衣服是否合身、是否好看,就像真正试穿过一样确信。”

在数字商店实现此类个人体验并非易事,但是如果说有哪家公司能实现这一目标,那就非 Zappos 莫属了。Zappos.com 成立于 1999 年,是一家大型在线服装零售商,以其行业领先的 365 天退货政策、免费快捷的送货服务以及全天候服务而著称。自 2009 年起,Zappos 成为亚马逊的子公司。

借助基于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 构建的分析和机器学习,该公司显著提升了电子商务客户体验。该解决方案使 Zappos 能够个性化各个用户的尺码选择和搜索结果,同时提供高度流畅的响应式用户体验。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

“有了 AWS 服务奠定好了基础,我们的工程师就能够专注于改进性能和结果,不再需要担心开发运营开销。”

Ameen Kazerouni
Zappos 机器学习研究和平台主管

找到最中意的商品

Zappos 深知,提供精准建议是有效购物体验的关键。他们通过慷慨的退货政策和免费快捷的送货,使客户无后顾之忧,然而这些服务既昂贵又毫无新意。

Kazerouni 说道,“我们一直自问:未来我们如何脱颖而出?我们如何既达到优化退货率的目的,又不影响客户体验? 这些正是我们要使用基于 AWS 的机器学习和分析解决的问题。”

在客户购物过程中的搜索阶段,他们的目标是在运行时提供个性化推荐,以提高搜索相关性。Zappos 一直寻求了解客户个人的个别需求,并针对某个特定的关键词,提供一组个别客户的专属搜索结果,而非使用通用搜索算法。(当然也会另外突出显示一个‘关闭个性化’按钮,供不需要如此个性化级别的客户使用。)

同时,该特殊功能还不能太过明显地拖慢搜索性能。Kazerouni 说道,“我们需要将额外操作时间降到最低。因此,我们结合高性能缓存,策略性地预先计算某些结果,并使用基于集成、采用多个简单模型的机器学习方法。”

超越各部分的简单相加

数据管道始于将相关事件发送到摄取 API 以进行处理的轻量级客户端。API 位于自动扩展组中,以处理大量数据。数据从 API 发送到 Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose,然后摄入 Amazon Redshift 数据仓库,进而提供高性能数据访问以进行机器学习研究。Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是 Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 和 Amazon Redshift 之间的中介。

Zappos 使用多种技术训练和运行模型,依靠的是 Amazon SageMaker 来预测客户服饰尺码。此类预测将被缓存,并通过微服务 API 在运行时公开,供推荐时使用。Zappos 使用 Amazon EMR 运行大数据分析,成本只占传统本地集群的一小部分。而且,还在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 上,运行使用图形处理单元 (GPU) 的模型。

该公司支持通过两项独有服务,超快查找预计算预测结果。Amazon DynamoDB 会存储将在运行时访问的预计算结果。此键/值和文档数据库完全托管,在几乎任何规模的环境中,响应时间都不超过 10 毫秒。该数据库每天可处理超过 10 万亿个请求,并可支持峰值每秒超过 2 千万个请求。为了获得更快的响应时间,Zappos 使用内存数据存储 Amazon ElastiCache for Redis 作为缓存层。此服务可确保在需要时实现亚毫秒级延迟。

微服务运行模型并合并结果,在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行,此类实例通过基于位置的负载均衡器,在自动扩展组中排列。Zappos 使用 Amazon Route 53 作为域名系统,在解决方案中路由流量。

不要行走,要奔跑

使用传统开发和部署方法创建和维护此复杂架构可能会极为繁琐。相反,Zappos 依靠使用 AWS CloudFormation 的基础设施即代码。“解决方案的每个方面都呈现在 AWS CloudFormation 模板中,”Kazerouni 说道,“若要进行更改,我们只需微调模板。如果我们需要修复服务与 Redis 的通信方式,我们不会手动重复更改,而将模板更改后部署到所有位置。”

他特别提到,若没有那么多各种各样的 AWS 服务供他们团队随时可用,就不可能构建得了上述的解决方案。“有了 AWS 服务奠定好了基础,我们的工程师就能够专注于改进性能和结果,不再需要担心开发运营开销。”

客户感受得到公司投注的关爱

Zappos 以几乎难以察觉的延迟,提供客户改进后的搜索结果,且 99% 的搜索在不到 48 毫秒内完成。通过使用类似架构,Zappos 还可基于简单的合身程度研究和购买历史,显著改进个性化尺码选择推荐。因此,该公司降低了重复搜索量和商品退货率。同时,还提高了搜索商品点击率,并提升了客户选择在搜索结果中的位置。

Kazerouni 总结道:“我们自认为是一家恰好有售卖鞋子和服装的客户服务公司。我们做的任何此类工作,都可以提升我们的业务。使用 AWS 使我们有机会更快地实现体验创新。”

欲了解更多信息,请访问 aws.amazon.com/big-data/datalakes-and-analytics


Zappos 简介

Zappos 成立于 20 年前,最初是一家小型在线鞋类零售商。之后,公司逐渐发展壮大为出售衣服、手提包、配饰等物品的公司,同时提供闻名的客户服务以及创新的员工体验。自 2009 年起,该公司成为 Amazon 的子公司。

AWS 的优势

  • 使 99% 的搜索延迟低于 48 毫秒
  • 个性化搜索,以实现更好的客户体验
  • 获得更高的搜索点击率
  • 通过改进尺码选择推荐,降低退货率

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EMR

轻松运行和扩展 Apache Spark、Hadoop、HBase、Presto、Hive 以及其它大数据框架。

了解更多 »

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 是将流数据可靠地加载到数据湖、数据存储和分析工具的最简单方式。其功能包括采集、转换流数据,并将其加载到 Amazon S3、Amazon Redshift、Amazon Elasticsearch Service 和 Splunk,让您可以借助正在使用的现有商业智能工具和控制面板,进行近乎实时的分析。

了解更多 »

Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker 是一项完全托管的服务,可以帮助开发人员和数据科学家快速构建、训练和部署机器学习 (ML) 模型。SageMaker 完全消除了机器学习过程中每个步骤的繁重工作,让开发高质量模型变得更加轻松。

了解更多 »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift 可为财富 500 强公司、初创公司以及介于两者之间的任何公司,在分析工作负载方面提供支持。借助 Redshift,Lyft 等公司已从初创公司发展为市值高达几十亿美元的企业。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Zappos-logo@2x

Zappos Creates Breakthrough Customer Experiences Using AWS

2020

Building a trusted ecommerce brand requires a focus on customer experience innovation. Especially in the apparel segment, traditional, hands-on retail experience has shaped customer expectations. In the words of Ameen Kazerouni, head of machine learning research and platforms at Zappos, “The holy grail of ecommerce is to get customers to feel as comfortable as they would in a store—knowing how an item fits, how it looks, with as much confidence as if they were physically trying it on.”

Achieving this type of personal experience in a digital store is no small task. But if any company is up to it, it’s Zappos. Established in 1999, Zappos.com is a major online apparel retailer famous for its industry-leading, 365-day return policy, fast and free shipping, and 24/7 service. Since 2009, Zappos has been a subsidiary of Amazon.

The company measurably improved the ecommerce customer experience using analytics and machine learning built on Amazon Web Services (AWS). The solution enables Zappos to personalize sizing and search results for individual users while preserving a highly fluid and responsive user experience.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Using AWS services as building blocks allows engineers to focus on improving performance and results rather than DevOps overhead."

Ameen Kazerouni
Head of Machine Learning Research and Platforms, Zappos

Searching for the Perfect Fit

Zappos knows that providing accurate recommendations is key to an efficient shopping experience. The company reassures customers with its generous return policy and fast and free shipping, but these offerings are both expensive and undifferentiated.

“We are always asking ourselves: how do we differentiate further?” says Kazerouni. “How do we optimize return rates without negatively affecting the customer experience? These are the problems we set out to solve using machine learning and analytics on AWS.”

In the search phase of the customer journey, the company’s goal was to make personalized recommendations at runtime to increase search relevance. Rather than using a generic search algorithm, Zappos seeks to understand customers personally and provide a unique set of search results for a given term. (It also prominently displays an opt-out button for customers who do not want this level of personalization.)

At the same time, it can’t afford to slow down search performance noticeably. “We needed to minimize the amount of time the extra operations take,” notes Kazerouni. “So we combine high-performance caching, strategic precalculation of certain results, and ensemble-based machine learning approaches that use multiple, simple models.”

More Than the Sum of Its Parts

The data pipeline starts with a lightweight client sending relevant events to an ingestion API for processing. The API sits in an auto-scaling group to handle high volumes of data. From the API, the data is sent to Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose for ingestion into an Amazon Redshift data warehouse that provides high-performance data access for machine learning research. Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is the intermediary between Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose and Amazon Redshift.

Zappos uses several technologies for training and running models. It relies on Amazon SageMaker to predict customer apparel sizes. These predictions are cached and then exposed at runtime via microservices APIs for use in recommendations. Zappos uses Amazon EMR to run big data analytics for a fraction of the cost of traditional on-premises clusters. It also runs models using graphical processing units (GPUs) on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2).

The company enables ultrafast lookup of precomputed predictions using two distinct services. Amazon DynamoDB stores precomputed results that will be accessed at runtime. This fully managed key-value and document database delivers single-digit millisecond performance at almost any scale. It can handle more than 10 trillion requests a day and can support peaks of more than 20 million requests per second. For even faster response times, Zappos takes advantage of Amazon ElastiCache for Redis, an in-memory data store, as a cache layer. This service ensures sub-millisecond latency when needed.

The microservices that run models and consolidate results run on Amazon EC2 instances arranged in auto-scaling groups with location-based load balancers. Zappos uses Amazon Route 53 as the domain name system, routing traffic throughout the solution.

Run, Don’t Walk

Creating and maintaining this intricate architecture with traditional development and deployment methods would be prohibitively complex. Instead, Zappos relies on infrastructure as code using AWS CloudFormation. “Every aspect of the solution is represented in AWS CloudFormation templates,” reports Kazerouni. “To make a change, we just tweak the template. If we need to fix the way the services communicate with Redis, we don’t repeat the change manually—we change the template and deploy it everywhere.”

He notes that it would be impossible to build the solution without the wealth of AWS services at the team’s command. “Using AWS services as building blocks allows engineers to focus on improving performance and results rather than DevOps overhead.”

Customers Feel the Love

Zappos delivered these improved search results to customers with a nearly undetectable increase in latency, with 99 percent of searches completed in less than 48 milliseconds. By using a similar architecture, it has also significantly improved personalized sizing recommendations based on simple fit surveys and past purchases. As a result, the company has reduced repeated searches and product returns. It has also achieved higher search-to-product-clickthrough rates and raised the position of customer selections in search results.

As Kazerouni sums it up, “We think of ourselves as a customer service company that happens to sell shoes and apparel. Anything we can do that improves service improves our business. Using AWS makes it possible for us to innovate the experience faster.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/big-data/datalakes-and-analytics.


About Zappos

Zappos began 20 years ago as a small, online shoe retailer. Since then, it has grown to sell clothing, handbags, accessories, and more while providing renowned customer service and innovative employee experiences. The company has been a subsidiary of Amazon since 2009.

Benefits of AWS

  • Keeps search latency below 48 milliseconds for 99% of searches
  • Personalizes searches for better customer experience
  • Achieves higher search-to-clickthrough rates
  • Gets fewer returns due to improved sizing recommendations

AWS Services Used

Amazon EMR

Easily run and scale Apache Spark, Hadoop, HBase, Presto, Hive, and other big data frameworks.

Learn more »

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose is the easiest way to reliably load streaming data into data lakes, data stores and analytics tools. It can capture, transform, and load streaming data into Amazon S3, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Elasticsearch Service, and Splunk, enabling near real-time analytics with existing business intelligence tools and dashboards you’re already using today.

Learn more »

Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker is a fully managed service that provides every developer and data scientist with the ability to build, train, and deploy machine learning (ML) models quickly. SageMaker removes the heavy lifting from each step of the machine learning process to make it easier to develop high quality models.

Learn more »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift powers analytical workloads for Fortune 500 companies, startups, and everything in between. Companies like Lyft have grown with Redshift from startups to multi-billion dollar enterprises.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.