Apache™ Hadoop® 是一个开源软件项目,可用于高效地处理大数据集。利用 Hadoop,可以将商用硬件组成集群以便并行分析海量数据集,而不必使用一台大型计算机处理和存储数据。

Hadoop 生态系统中具有大量应用程序和执行引擎,提供了多种可满足您的分析工作负载需求的工具。借助 Amazon EMR,可以轻松创建和管理由 Amazo EC2 实例组成的配置完整的弹性集群,这些实例运行 Hadoop 及 Hadoop 生态系统中其他应用程序。

AWS Hadoop 集群说明

Hadoop 通常是指实际的 Apache Hadoop 项目,其中包括 MapReduce(执行框架)、YARN(资源管理器)和 HDFS(分布式存储)。您也可以安装新一代框架 Apache Tez,该框架可用作执行引擎来代替 Hadoop MapReduce。Amazon EMR 还包括 EMRFS,这是一种连接器,允许 Hadoop 将 Amazon S3 作为存储层使用。

此外,Hadoop 生态系统中还具有其他应用程序和框架,其中包括可实现低延迟查询的工具、用于执行交互式查询的 GUI、各种接口(如 SQL),以及分布式 NoSQL 数据库。Hadoop 生态系统包含许多开源工具,这些工具专门用于在 Hadoop 核心组件上构建附加功能,您可以使用 Amazon EMR 在您的集群上轻松安装和配置各种工具,如 Hive、Pig、Hue、Ganglia、Oozie 和 HBase。除了运行 Amazon EMR 上的 Hadoop 之外,您还可以运行其他框架,如用于执行内存中处理的 Apache Spark 或适用于交互式 SQL 的 Presto

Amazon EMR 以编程方式跨集群节点安装和配置 Hadoop 项目中的应用程序,其中包括 Hadoop MapReduce、YARN 和 HDFS。但是,自 Amazon EMR 5.x 版本开始,Hive 和 Pig 便将 Apache Tez 用作执行引擎使用来代替 Hadoop MapReduce。

Hadoop 生态系统中的 Hadoop MapReduce 和 Tez 执行引擎通过框架来处理工作负载,这些框架可将作业细分为更小的工作片段,使工作能够在 Amazon EMR 集群中跨节点分配。由于集群中的任何给定虚拟机随时都有可能会发生故障,因此它们本身设计有容错功能。如果运行任务的服务器发生故障,Hadoop 会在另一台虚拟机上重新运行该任务,直至完成。

您可以采用 Java 语言写入 MapReduce 和 Tez 计划,使用 Hadoop Streaming 以并行方式执行自定义脚本,利用 Hive 和 Pig 在 MapReduce 和 Tezfor 上实现更高水平的抽象,或使用其他工具与 Hadoop 进行交互。

首先来看一下 Hadoop 2,其资源由 Yet Another Resource Negotiator (YARN) 管理。YARN 可跟踪集群中的所有资源,并确保动态分配这些资源以便完成所处理作业中的任务。YARN 能够管理 Hadoop MapReduce 和 Tez 工作负载以及其他分布式框架 (如 Apache Spark)。

通过使用 Amazon EMR 集群上的 EMR 文件系统 (EMRFS),您可以将 Amazon S3 用作 Hadoop 中的数据层。Amazon S3 高度可扩展、成本低廉且持久耐用,是适合用于执行大数据处理的优良数据存储。通过将数据存储在 Amazon S3 中,您可以将计算层与存储层分离,从而可以根据工作负载所需的 CPU 和内存量调整您的 Amazon EMR 集群的大小,而不必为了最大限度地增加集群存储空间而在集群中部署额外的节点。此外,您可以在数据仍旧保留在 Amazon S3 中的情况下终止处于空闲状态的 Amazon EMR 集群以节省成本。

EMRFS 针对 Hadoop 进行了优化,可直接以并行方式对 Amazon S3 执行高性能读写操作,并且可以处理使用 Amazon S3 服务器端和客户端加密功能进行加密的对象。利用 EMRFS,可以将 Amazon S3 作为数据湖使用,并且 Amazon EMR 中的 Hadoop 可以作为弹性查询层使用。

Hadoop 还包括分布式存储系统,即 Hadoop 分布式文件系统 (HDFS),该系统能够将数据以大型块的形式存储在集群中的各个本地磁盘上。HDFS 具有一个可以配置的复制系数(默认值是 3 倍),因而提高了可用性和耐用性。HDFS 可以监控复制并在节点发生故障及添加新节点时平衡各个节点上的数据。

HDFS 自动随 Hadoop 一起安装在您的 Amazon EMR 集群上,您可以搭配使用 HDFS 和 Amazon S3 来存储输入和输出数据。您可以使用 Amazon EMR 安全配置轻松加密 HDFS。此外,Amazon EMR 可将 Hadoop 配置为使用 HDFS 和本地磁盘来存储在 Hadoop MapReduce 任务执行期间创建的中间数据,即使您的输入数据存储在 Amazon S3 中也是如此。

AWS Hadoop 工作原理说明
在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 速度图标

您可以动态地快速初始化新的 Hadoop 集群,也可以向现有的 Amazon EMR 集群中添加服务器,从而大幅缩短向用户和数据专家提供资源所花费的时间。在 AWS 平台上使用 Hadoop,通过降低为实验和开发分配资源所需的成本和时间,大幅提高您的组织敏捷性。

在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 降低复杂性图标

Hadoop 配置、联网、服务器安装、安全配置和持续的管理维护将会是复杂而艰巨的任务。作为托管服务,Amazon EMR 可以满足您的 Hadoop 基础设施的需求,因此您可以将精力放在核心业务上。

在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 集成图标

您可以轻松地将您的 Hadoop 环境与其他服务集成,例如 Amazon S3Amazon KinesisAmazon RedshiftAmazon DynamoDB,从而在 AWS 平台上跨各种不同的服务执行数据移动、工作流程和分析。此外,您还可以将 AWS Glue 数据目录用作适用于 Apache Hive 和 Apache Spark 的托管元数据存储库。

在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 节省成本图标

许多 Hadoop 任务都难以执行。例如,ETL 任务可以每小时、每天或每月运行一次,而金融企业的建模任务或基因排序可能一年仅执行几次。通过在 Amazon EMR 上使用 Hadoop,您可以轻松地启动这些工作负载集群,保存结果,并在不再需要 Hadoop 资源时将其关闭,以避免产生不必要的基础设施成本。

在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 可用性图标

通过在 Amazon EMR 上使用 Hadoop,您可以灵活地在任意 AWS 区域中任意数量的可用区域中启动集群。只需几分钟,您便可以在其他区域中启动集群,轻松解决某一区域内的潜在问题或威胁。

在云中使用 Hadoop 的优势 – 灵活性图标

在部署 Hadoop 环境之前规划容量通常会导致代价高昂的资源闲置或资源限制。借助 Amazon EMR,您可在几分钟内创建具备所需容量的群集,以及使用 Auto Scaling 动态扩展和缩减节点。

Hadoop 高度可扩展,因而通常用于处理大数据工作负载。为了提升 Hadoop 集群的处理能力,可添加更多具备所需 CPU 和内存资源的服务器来满足您的需求。

Hadoop 具备出色的耐用性和可用性级别,同时仍能并行处理计算分析工作负载。处理能力高度可用、持久耐用且具备出色的可扩展性,这让 Hadoop 成为了适合用于处理大数据工作负载的绝佳方案。您可以使用 Amazon EMR 在几分钟内创建和配置好运行 Hadoop 的 Amazon EC2 实例集群,然后开始从数据中获取价值。

Hadoop 可用于分析点击流数据,以便细分用户并了解用户的偏好。广告客户还可以分析点击流和广告曝光量日志,从而提供更有效的广告。

了解 Razorfish 如何使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hadoop 进行点击流分析 »

Hadoop 可用于处理 Web 和移动应用程序生成的日志。Hadoop 可帮助客户将数 PB 的非结构化或半结构化数据转变为与应用程序或用户有关的有用洞察信息。

了解 Yelp 如何使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hadoop 提升主要网站功能 »

利用 Hadoop 生态系统应用程序(如 Hive),用户可以通过 SQL 界面使用 Hadoop MapReduce,从而实现大规模分析、分布式和容错数据仓储。使用 Hadoop 存储您的数据,并允许您的用户发送含任何大小的数据的查询。

观察 Netflix 如何使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hadoop 运行 PB 级的数据仓库 »

Hadoop 可快速高效地处理大量基因数据及其他大型科学数据集。AWS 已将 1000 个基因组项目数据免费提供给社区。

详细了解基于 AWS 的基因组学 »

Hadoop 高度可扩展且成本低廉,非常适合用于处理常见的 ETL 工作负载,例如,执行大数据集收集、排序、连接和聚合操作,以方便下游系统使用。

了解 Euclid 如何使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hadoop 进行 ETL 和数据聚合 »

 



Apache 和 Hadoop 是 Apache Software Foundation 的商标。

Apache™ Hadoop® is an open source software project that can be used to efficiently process large datasets. Instead of using one large computer to process and store the data, Hadoop allows clustering commodity hardware together to analyze massive data sets in parallel.

There are many applications and execution engines in the Hadoop ecosystem, providing a variety of tools to match the needs of your analytics workloads. Amazon EMR makes it easy to create and manage fully configured, elastic clusters of Amazon EC2 instances running Hadoop and other applications in the Hadoop ecosystem.

AWS Hadoop clustering illustration

Hadoop commonly refers to the actual Apache Hadoop project, which includes MapReduce (execution framework), YARN (resource manager), and HDFS (distributed storage). You can also install Apache Tez, a next-generation framework which can be used instead of Hadoop MapReduce as an execution engine.  Amazon EMR also includes EMRFS, a connector allowing Hadoop to use Amazon S3 as a storage layer.

However, there are also other applications and frameworks in the Hadoop ecosystem, including tools that enable low-latency queries, GUIs for interactive querying, a variety of interfaces like SQL, and distributed NoSQL databases. The Hadoop ecosystem includes many open source tools designed to build additional functionality on Hadoop core components, and you can use Amazon EMR to easily install and configure tools such as Hive, Pig, Hue, Ganglia, Oozie, and HBase on your cluster. You can also run other frameworks, like Apache Spark for in-memory processing, or Presto for interactive SQL, in addition to Hadoop on Amazon EMR.

Amazon EMR programmatically installs and configures applications in the Hadoop project, including Hadoop MapReduce, YARN, and HDFS, across the nodes in your cluster. However, starting with Amazon EMR release 5.x, Hive and Pig use Apache Tez instead of Hadoop MapReduce as an execution engine.

Hadoop MapReduce and Tez, execution engines in the Hadoop ecosystem, process workloads using frameworks that break down jobs into smaller pieces of work that can be distributed across nodes in your Amazon EMR cluster. They are built with the expectation that any given machine in your cluster could fail at any time and are designed for fault tolerance. If a server running a task fails, Hadoop reruns that task on another machine until completion.

You can write MapReduce and Tez programs in Java, use Hadoop Streaming to execute custom scripts in a parallel fashion, utilize Hive and Pig for higher level abstractions over MapReduce and Tez, or other tools to interact with Hadoop.

Starting with Hadoop 2, resource management is managed by Yet Another Resource Negotiator (YARN). YARN keeps track of all the resources across your cluster, and it ensures that these resources are dynamically allocated to accomplish the tasks in your processing job. YARN is able to manage Hadoop MapReduce and Tez workloads as well as other distributed frameworks such as Apache Spark.

By using the EMR File System (EMRFS) on your Amazon EMR cluster, you can leverage Amazon S3 as your data layer for Hadoop. Amazon S3 is highly scalable, low cost, and designed for durability, making it a great data store for big data processing. By storing your data in Amazon S3, you can decouple your compute layer from your storage layer, allowing you to size your Amazon EMR cluster for the amount of CPU and memory required for your workloads instead of having extra nodes in your cluster to maximize on-cluster storage. Additionally, you can terminate your Amazon EMR cluster when it is idle to save costs, while your data remains in Amazon S3.

EMRFS is optimized for Hadoop to directly read and write in parallel to Amazon S3 performantly, and can process objects encrypted with Amazon S3 server-side and client-side encryption. EMRFS allows you to use Amazon S3 as your data lake, and Hadoop in Amazon EMR can be used as an elastic query layer.

Hadoop also includes a distributed storage system, the Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS), which stores data across local disks of your cluster in large blocks. HDFS has a configurable replication factor (with a default of 3x), giving increased availability and durability. HDFS monitors replication and balances your data across your nodes as nodes fail and new nodes are added.

HDFS is automatically installed with Hadoop on your Amazon EMR cluster, and you can use HDFS along with Amazon S3 to store your input and output data. You can easily encrypt HDFS using an Amazon EMR security configuration. Also, Amazon EMR configures Hadoop to uses HDFS and local disk for intermediate data created during your Hadoop MapReduce jobs, even if your input data is located in Amazon S3.

AWS how Hadoop works illustration
Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - speed icon

You can initialize a new Hadoop cluster dynamically and quickly, or add servers to your existing Amazon EMR cluster, significantly reducing the time it takes to make resources available to your users and data scientists. Using Hadoop on the AWS platform can dramatically increase your organizational agility by lowering the cost and time it takes to allocate resources for experimentation and development.

Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - reduce complexity icon

Hadoop configuration, networking, server installation, security configuration, and ongoing administrative maintenance can be a complicated and challenging activity. As a managed service, Amazon EMR addresses your Hadoop infrastructure requirements so you can focus on your core business.

Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - integration icon

You can easily integrate your Hadoop environment with other services such as Amazon S3, Amazon Kinesis, Amazon Redshift, and Amazon DynamoDB, in addition to Amazon EMR, to enable data movement, workflows, and analytics across the many diverse services on the AWS platform.

Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - save money icon

Many Hadoop jobs are spiky in nature. For instance, an ETL job can run hourly, daily, or monthly, while modeling jobs for financial firms or genetic sequencing may occur only a few times a year. Using Hadoop on Amazon EMR allows you to spin up these workload clusters easily, save the results, and shut down your Hadoop resources when they’re no longer needed, to avoid unnecessary infrastructure costs.

Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - availability icon

By using Hadoop on Amazon EMR, you have the flexibility to launch your clusters in any number of Availability Zones in any AWS region. A potential problem or threat in one region or zone can be easily circumvented by launching a cluster in another zone in minutes.

Benefits of Hadoop in the cloud - flexibility icon

Capacity planning prior to deploying a Hadoop environment can often result in expensive idle resources or resource limitations. With Amazon EMR, you can allocate as much or as little capacity as you need, and scale up and down as required, with only a few minutes notice.

Hadoop is commonly used to process big data workloads because it is massively scalable. To increase the processing power of your Hadoop cluster, add more servers with the required CPU and memory resources to meet your needs.

Hadoop provides a high level of durability and availability while still being able to process computational analytical workloads in parallel. The combination of availability, durability, and scalability of processing makes Hadoop a natural fit for big data workloads. You can use Amazon EMR to create and configure a cluster of Amazon EC2 instances running Hadoop within minutes, and begin deriving value from your data.

Hadoop can be used to analyze clickstream data in order to segment users and understand user preferences. Advertisers can also analyze clickstreams and advertising impression logs to deliver more effective ads.

Learn how Razorfish uses Hadoop on Amazon EMR for clickstream analysis »

Hadoop can be used to process logs generated by web and mobile applications. Hadoop helps customers turn petabytes of un-structured or semi-structured data into useful insights about their applications or users.

Learn how Yelp uses Hadoop on Amazon EMR to drive key website features »

Hadoop ecosystem applications like Hive allow users to leverage Hadoop MapReduce using a SQL interface, enabling analytics at a massive scale, distributed, and fault-tolerant data warehousing. Use Hadoop to store your data and allow your users to send queries at data of any size.

Watch how Netflix uses Hadoop on Amazon EMR to run a petabyte scale data warehouse »

Hadoop can be used to process vast amounts of genomic data and other large scientific data sets quickly and efficiently. AWS has made the 1000 Genomes Project data publicly available to the community free of charge.

Read more about Genomics on AWS »

Given its massive scalability and lower costs, Hadoop is ideally suited for common ETL workloads such as collecting, sorting, joining, and aggregating big datasets for easier consumption by downstream systems.

Read how Euclid uses Hadoop on Amazon EMR for ETL and data aggregation »


Apache and Hadoop are trademarks of the Apache Software Foundation.