Amazon FreeRTOS

问:什么是 Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS (a:FreeRTOS) 是一种操作系统,能够让基于微控制器的边缘设备易于编程、部署、保护和维护。Amazon FreeRTOS 对 FreeRTOS 内核(这是用于微控制器的常见开源操作系统)进行了扩展,它包含软件库,可以轻松安全地在本地将设备连接到云并远程更新它们。通过 Amazon FreeRTOS 控制台,可以轻松选择和下载与用例相关的软件组件。Amazon FreeRTOS 有助于确保基于微控制器的设备的安全性,同时支持数据加密和密钥管理。Amazon FreeRTOS 设备连接到 AWS Greengrass Core 设备,使 Amazon IoT Greengrass 组中的多个 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备可以轻松连接。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 在哪些 AWS 区域可用?

请参阅 AWS 区域表,查看已推出 Amazon FreeRTOS 的区域的完整列表。不管您身处哪个地理位置,只要您能够访问任何一个推出 AWS FreeRTOS 的 AWS 区域,就可以使用该产品。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 有哪些使用案例?

Amazon FreeRTOS 可以用于工业、商业和消费者应用场景中的嵌入式系统。例如,智能电表、油泵传感器、家用电器、商业安全系统、运动手环和传感器网络都可以使用 Amazon FreeRTOS。智能电表用于实时监控家庭中的用电情况。运动手环通过用户的移动设备,将健康状况数据发送到云端,用于实时监控或分析。利用这一数据,电力公司可以提供负载平衡的效率和发电站输出电力的效率。油泵传感器用在石油钻井平台上,用于检测可能深埋在水下的油井的产量。石油钻井平台可以在这些传感器上部署 Amazon FreeRTOS,并使用 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心在本地实时处理来自油泵和阀门的数据。然后,AWS IoT Greengrass 核心可以将经过预处理的油泵传感器数据批量发送到云中,用于分析和数据仓储。要了解有关 AWS IoT Greengrass 的更多信息,请单击此处

问:微控制器开发人员怎样获取 Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS 开发人员可以从 Amazon FreeRTOS 控制台GitHubSourceForgeFreeRTOS.org 下载 Amazon FreeRTOS 微控制器设备软件。

问:谁可以受益于 Amazon FreeRTOS?

半导体供应商制造连接传感器、安全周边设备和以太网控制器等微控制器和模块。OEM 使用这些微控制器和模块来生产 IoT 设备。

OEM 包括工业公司、商业企业和消费者品牌。微控制器开发人员可以使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 轻松设计和开发连接的设备和 IoT 应用程序。

企业可以使用连接 IoT 并采用 Amazon FreeRTOS 的设备来提高业务效率和运营效率。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 软件有哪些主要组件?

Amazon FreeRTOS 扩展了 FreeRTOS 的内核,后者是一种适用于微控制器的实时操作系统内核,其附带的各种库可以支持连接性、安全性和无线更新功能。连接功能支持 MQTT、TCP/IP、Wi-Fi 和 BLE,可以连接到云和本地网络。安全库中包含一个针对 TLS 并基于标准的 Berkeley 套接字接口,还包含一个适用于加密分流的 PKCS#11 标准接口。

问:这类设备必须达到哪些最低硬件规格?

Amazon FreeRTOS 适用于处理速度高于 25MHz 并且 RAM 大于 64KB 的微控制器 (假设所有可用的库,包括 TLS,都在应用程序微控制器上运行)。如果通信和加密功能 (MQTT 除外) 被分流到联网处理器上,那么您的微控制器就只需要 10MHz 的处理速度和 16KB 的 RAM。但上述数值只是近似值,因为 MCU 架构、编译器和编译器优化程度等因素可能会影响对处理速度和 RAM 的要求。对于存储在微控制器上的每个可执行镜像,Amazon FreeRTOS 需要 128KB 的程序存储器。对于 OTA 更新功能,程序存储器中必须同时存储两个可执行镜像。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 支持哪些架构?

Amazon FreeRTOS 当前支持合作伙伴提供的广泛的微控制器,具体见 AWS 合作伙伴设备目录。Amazon FreeRTOS 采用的 FreeRTOS 内核可以支持 40 多种架构。

问:怎样开始使用 Amazon FreeRTOS?

您可以查看入门指南的系统性说明,了解怎样在符合要求的电路板上运行 Amazon FreeRTOS。

问:如何获得技术支持?

您可以通过以下任何一个渠道来获得支持:

针对 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS 论坛

Premium Support

客户支持

GitHub 问题

问:有没有用户指南?

有。您可以在入门页面的文档部分找到 Amazon FreeRTOS 用户指南

问:可以使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 连接到其他云服务吗?

是的。Amazon FreeRTOS 是一款开源软件,因此可以针对应用程序的具体需求进行修改。

问:我可以更改 Amazon FreeRTOS 源代码吗?

是的。Amazon FreeRTOS 是一款在 MIT 许可证下分发的开源软件,因此可以针对应用程序的具体需求进行修改,无需获得 AWS 的批准。

问:使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 需要支付多少费用?

Amazon FreeRTOS 可以免费下载和使用。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 是否包含硬件?

不包含。Amazon FreeRTOS 是一种用于微控制器的操作系统。如果您需要购买 Amazon FreeRTOS 支持的芯片组,请访问此处的入门页面

FreeRTOS 内核

问:什么是 FreeRTOS 内核?

FreeRTOS 内核花费了 15 年的时间开发,多家世界领先的芯片公司都参与了开发工作。该内核是市场上领先的实时操作系统内核,也是适用于微控制器和小型微处理器的标准解决方案。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 与 FreeRTOS 内核是什么关系?

Amazon FreeRTOS 对 FreeRTOS 内核进行了扩展,其包含的各种软件库可以支持本地连接和云连接、安全性和无线更新功能。

问:AWS 是否维护 FreeRTOS 内核?

是,我们最近宣布了对 FreeRTOS 内核 v10 的最新更新,其中包括对 RISC-V 和 ARMv8-M (Cortex-M33) 的支持。

问:MIT 开源许可证与(之前使用的)修改版 GPL 开源许可证有什么区别?

这两种许可证都允许免费使用软件,即使在商业产品中也是如此。而且对于分发二进制 (可执行) 版本,这两种许可证都不会要求用户承担任何义务。MIT 许可证的内容非常简单,让用户可以更自由地使用我们的源代码。使用 MIT 许可证,您仍然可以使用 Amazon FreeRTOS (包括内核) 来开发和销售商业产品,但是您不再需要对我们的源代码进行开源修改,这意味着您做出的所有修改都归您所有。MIT 许可证的唯一一项要求是,必须在软件 (源文件) 的所有副本或主要部分中附带版权声明和许可声明。

问:是否有针对 FreeRTOS 内核的支持论坛?

是的。您可以在 AWS 论坛中创建新的主题,也可以在 FreeRTOS.org 上查看支持文档。

问:我可以在哪里获得有关 FreeRTOS 内核的更多详细信息?

适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT 设备测试器

问:什么是适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester?

适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 是 Windows/Linux/Mac 测试自动化工具,半导体供应商可利用它在其微控制器主板上对 Amazon FreeRTOS 进行测试和资格鉴定。使用 AWS IoT Device Tester,半导体供应商可以验证其微控制器主板是否能运行 Amazon FreeRTOS,以及是否能对 AWS IoT 服务进行身份验证并实现互操作。

问:从哪里可以获取适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester?

您可以从此处获取适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester。

问:通过 AWS 合作伙伴目录资格测试并列入目录是否需要适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester?

是的,您可在此处了解如何列入目录的更多信息。

问:适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 测试什么内容?

适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 测试 Amazon FreeRTOS 库、FreeRTOS 内核和微控制器电路板的组合是否兼容,以及是否能与 AWS IoT 服务实现互操作。AWS IoT Device Tester 确定 Amazon FreeRTOS 库的移植层接口(由半导体供应商实施)在主板设备驱动程序上是否正常工作。此外,AWS IoT Device Tester 运行端到端测试,以确认微控制器主板可以通过 AWS IoT 服务的身份验证并实现互操作。

问:如何获取适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 的技术支持?

您可以通过以下任何一个渠道来获得支持:

针对 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS 论坛

Premium Support

客户支持

GitHub 问题

问:如何在 AWS 合作伙伴设备目录中列出我的基于微控制器的硬件平台?

AWS 设备资格审查计划定义了在 AWS 合作伙伴设备目录中列出您微控制器的流程。简要概述如下:首先,您必须通过适用于 AWS Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 测试。接下来,登录 AWS 合作伙伴网络门户并上传适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 报告。提供对您移植的 Amazon FreeRTOS 界面源代码的引用,以使其可供 OEM 使用。在 AWS 验证了移植的代码和报告并提交其他设备相关的项目(例如设备映像、数据表等)之后,该设备将在 AWS 合作伙伴设备目录中列出。

问:适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 在哪些区域可用?

适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 在所有支持 Amazon FreeRTOS 的区域中可用。 

问:适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 的费用如何?

适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的 AWS IoT Device Tester 供免费使用。不过,您需要承担资格测试过程中与 AWS 使用相关的所有成本。AWS IoT Device Tester 测试的一次运行涉及到与 AWS IoT Core 的 200 次连接和 2000 条消息交换。例如,使用美国东部区域运行一次 AWS IoT Device Tester 的成本低于一美分。有关相关成本的信息,请参阅 AWS IoT Core 定价

 

Amazon FreeRTOS 与 AWS IoT Greengrass

问:AWS IoT Greengrass 和 Amazon FreeRTOS 有何区别?

AWS IoT Greengrass 是一种允许您以安全方式在互联设备上运行本地计算、消息收发、数据缓存、同步和 ML 推理功能的软件。借助 AWS IoT Greengrass,互联设备可以运行 AWS Lambda 函数、同步设备数据,以及与其他设备安全通信 – 甚至无需连接互联网。通过使用 AWS Lambda,AWS IoT Greengrass 可以确保您的 IoT 设备能够快速响应本地事件,使用在 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心上运行的 Lambda 函数与本地资源进行交互,执行间歇性连接,通过无线更新保持更新状态,最大限度地降低将 IoT 数据传输到云的成本。

Amazon FreeRTOS 是用于微控制器的操作系统,在边缘站点运行,一般不支持可运行 AWS IoT Greengrass 的芯片组。这些微控制器设备可用于各种 IoT 终端,如健身追踪器、起搏器、电表、汽车传动设备和传感器网络。Amazon FreeRTOS 设备无法运行 AWS IoT Greengrass Core,但可以触发 Lambda 函数在 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心设备上的执行。

这两个设备的硬件要求和操作系统是不同的。

  Amazon FreeRTOS AWS IoT Greengrass
软件 操作系统,在微控制器上运行 Linux 设备的运行时和 AWS IoT Greengrass 感知设备的开发工具包
硬件要求 >64KB RAM >128MB RAM
类别 嵌入式系统、IoT 终端 边缘设备、本地网关
使用案例 基于微控制器的设备 工业自动化系统、无线路由器、智能手机

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 是否要求使用 AWS IoT Greengrass?

Amazon FreeRTOS 不要求使用 AWS IoT Greengrass。Amazon FreeRTOS 在 IoT 终端上运行,通常负责 IoT 拓扑中的“感知”和“行为”。Amazon FreeRTOS 设备可以直接连接到云,也可以连接到本地的 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心设备。

问:怎样将 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备连接到 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心设备?

Amazon FreeRTOS 源代码中包含 AWS IoT Greengrass Discovery 库,让您能够发现并连接到 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心设备。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon FreeRTOS 用户指南

Amazon FreeRTOS 与低功耗蓝牙

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 中的低功耗蓝牙 (BLE) 支持是什么?

Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 支持为开发人员提供了标准化 API 层,用于写入可在符合条件的 Amazon FreeRTOS 主板之间移植的 BLE 应用程序。它包括配套的 Android 和 iOS 开发工具包,使得 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备可以将 Android 或 iOS 设备用作代理来使用 AWS IoT 服务。您可以使用标准的通用接入配置文件 (GAP) 和通用属性 (GATT) 配置文件来编写 BLE 应用程序,为 MQTT over BLE 使用自定义配置文件,以及通过 BLE 预配置 Wi-Fi。

Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 支持当前为测试版。

问:为什么应该使用 Amazon FreeRTOS BLE?

如果您是需要创建 BLE 应用的嵌入式开发人员,通过 Android 或 iOS 代理将您的 BLE 设备连接到 AWS IoT,或者使用 AWS IoT Device Shadows 等 AWS IoT 功能,您可从使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 获益。适用于 Amazon FreeRTOS 的标准化 BLE API 使您可对符合 Amazon FreeRTOS 标准的设备进行应用程序代码移植。如果您决定使用其他微控制器(例如,用于升级产品),则可以使用现有 BLE 应用程序代码为基础来添加较新的功能。这样,您就可以专心于应用程序代码,无需连接底层的连接和安全库,这些底层的内容并非区分您产品的特性。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 支持哪些主板?

有关支持的硬件的更多信息,请单击此处

问:如何查找所需要的库?

您可以从 Amazon FreeRTOS GitHub 存储库下载 Amazon FreeRTOS,以及从 GitHub 下载配套的 AndroidiOS 开发工具包。Amazon FreeRTOS 源代码以及移动开发工具包具有演示示例,可帮助您快速入门。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 支持是否仅可用于 AWS?

否。BLE 的 Amazon FreeRTOS 库为开源版本,采用 MIT 许可证,因此开发人员可以根据其特定需求进行修改。

问:支持哪些 BLE 版本?

Amazon FreeRTOS 支持 BLE 版本 4.2 和更高版本。BLE 版本 4.2 增加了对 BLE 安全连接的支持,从而提升了安全标杆。这是 BLE 版本 4.2 中引入的一项增强安全功能,针对对等设备进行身份验证并创建加密通道。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 是否提供 BLE 堆栈?

否。Amazon FreeRTOS 提供标准化 BLE API 库,与第三方(例如,MCU 供应商)BLE 堆栈连接。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 对 BLE 的支持启用了哪些 GATT 服务?

Amazon FreeRTOS 中的 BLE 支持使得开发人员可以根据目标硬件的功能,添加任意数量的标准和自定义 GATT 服务。Amazon FreeRTOS 包含两个客户配置文件:1) MQTT over BLE,用于允许 BLE 设备使用 AWS IoT 服务,以及2) 通过 BLE 的 Wi-Fi 预配置,用于使用 BLE 在 IoT 设备中预配置 Wi-Fi 凭证。

Amazon FreeRTOS 与 AWS IoT Device Management

问:怎样用新的固件更新我的设备?

您可以使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 的无线 (OTA) 更新功能。在 AWS IoT Device Management 控制台中,您只需要提供固件映像,选择要更新的设备,选择代码签名方式,并创建 Amazon FreeRTOS OTA 任务更新。有关 OTA 更新功能和代码签名的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon FreeRTOS 用户指南

问:什么是代码签名?

对于准备以 OTA 方式部署到 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备的固件映像,开发人员可以利用代码签名来确认其完整性和来源。这一过程使用一个加密哈希值来确认固件映像的完整性,该加密哈希值可以证实代码在签名后没有更改或损坏。这一过程还使用公钥加密对映像签名,来源证明可以在设备上验证。通过 AWS IoT Device Management 控制台中集成的 Amazon FreeRTOS OTA 设备更新任务,开发人员可以下载新的固件映像、对该映像签名,并将其发送给现场中的一组设备。这些设备会在下载后验证签名,并且只安装可信代码。客户可以使用 IAM 对签名工具进行精细访问控制,因此只有指定的开发人员才可以签名和安排新的固件更新。

问:我是否必须要使用代码签名?

不。您也可以使用自己的签名服务,并将签名后的映像直接上传到 Amazon S3 中。您需要修改 Amazon FreeRTOS OTA 代理,以便接受您要使用的签名格式。

问:哪些硬件支持 OTA?

有关支持的硬件的更多信息,请单击此处

Amazon FreeRTOS 与 AWS IoT Core

问:在使用 AWS 云服务时,Amazon FreeRTOS 可以发挥哪些作用?

Amazon FreeRTOS 让您可以轻松而安全地将 IoT 设备连接到 AWS 云。它提供一种工具供客户构建互联应用程序,这些应用程序可以将传感器数据汇总并直接发送到 AWS IoT Core,或者通过 AWS IoT Greengrass 发送。

Amazon FreeRTOS 安全性

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 如何保护传输中的数据?

Amazon FreeRTOS 使用传输层安全协议 (TLS v1.2) 保护与云的连接安全。TLS 协议可确保两个通信应用程序之间的隐私和数据完整性。它确保使用 X.509 证书对 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备和 AWS IoT Core MQTT 代理进行相互身份验证,并确保对传输中的数据进行加密。

问:Amazon FreeRTOS 如何保护设备内的数据(静态)?

Amazon FreeRTOS 使用名为 PKCS #11 的标准应用程序接口进行加密、数字签名和加密对象管理。如果专用存储不可用,则加密对象将会保存在专用存储或主微控制器的闪存中。如果您的设备需要静态数据加密,我们建议您使用专用加密硬件来保护加密密钥。使用 PKCS #11 API 访问密钥并加密和解密应用程序数据。

问:如何随时了解最新的安全补丁?

安全更新通过 Amazon FreeRTOS 控制台、Amazon FreeRTOS 安全更新页面提供,以及在 GitHub 上提供。

问:我在哪里可以报告安全问题?

要报告安全问题,请参阅 AWS 的漏洞报告

问:如何使用最新的安全补丁更新我的 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备?

我们建议您使用 Amazon FreeRTOS 的无线 (OTA) 更新功能向您的 Amazon FreeRTOS 设备发送安全补丁。在 AWS IoT Device Management 控制台中,您可以提供固件映像,选择要更新的设备,并创建 Amazon FreeRTOS OTA 作业更新。代码签名功能将验证设备上的签名图像,从而确保您的设备代码在部署和更新过程中不会受损。有关 OTA 更新功能的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon FreeRTOS 用户指南

了解有关 Amazon FreeRTOS 合作伙伴的更多信息

访问 AWS 合作伙伴设备目录
准备好开始使用了吗?
注册
还有更多问题?
联系我们

Amazon FreeRTOS

Q. What is Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS (a:FreeRTOS) is an operating system that makes microcontroller-based edge devices easy to program, deploy, secure, and maintain. Amazon FreeRTOS extends the FreeRTOS kernel, the popular open source operating system for microcontrollers, and includes software libraries that make it easy to securely connect devices locally, to the cloud, and update them remotely. The Amazon FreeRTOS console enables you to easily select and download the software components relevant to your use case. Amazon FreeRTOS helps keep microcontroller-based devices secure with support for data encryption and key management. Amazon FreeRTOS devices connect to AWS IoT Greengrass Core devices, making it easy to connect multiple Amazon FreeRTOS devices together in an AWS IoT Greengrass group.

Q. Which AWS region is Amazon FreeRTOS available in?

Please see the AWS Region Table for a complete list of regions where Amazon FreeRTOS is available. You can use Amazon FreeRTOS regardless of your geographic location, as long as you have access to one of the available AWS regions.

Q. What are some use cases for Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS can be used in embedded systems spanning industrial, commercial, and consumer applications. For example, smart meters, oil pump sensors, appliances, commercial security systems, fitness trackers, and sensor networks can all benefit from Amazon FreeRTOS. Smart meters are used in homes to monitor electricity usage in real-time. Fitness trackers send health data via the user’s mobile device to the cloud for real-time monitoring or analytics. Utilities benefit from this data by enabling more efficient load balancing and power output from their generating stations. Oil pump sensors are used on oil rigs to monitor the output on wells that might be buried deep underwater. An oil rig might deploy Amazon FreeRTOS on those sensors and use an AWS IoT Greengrass Core to locally process data from pumps and valves in real-time. The AWS IoT Greengrass Core could then send batches of preprocessed pump sensor data to the cloud for analytics and data warehousing. To learn more about AWS IoT Greengrass, click here.

Q. How can a microcontroller developer get access to Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS developers can download the Amazon FreeRTOS microcontroller device software from the Amazon FreeRTOS console, GitHub, SourceForge, or FreeRTOS.org.

Q. Who can benefit from Amazon FreeRTOS?

Semiconductor vendors manufacture microcontrollers and modules like connectivity sensors, security peripherals, and Ethernet controllers. These microcontrollers and modules are used by OEMs to build IoT devices.

OEMs include industrial companies, commercial enterprises, and consumer brands. Microcontroller developers can use Amazon FreeRTOS to easily design and develop a connected device and IoT applications.

Enterprises can use IoT connected devices that are powered by Amazon FreeRTOS to gain business and operational efficiency.

Q. What are the major components of Amazon FreeRTOS software?

Amazon FreeRTOS extends the FreeRTOS kernel, a real-time operating system kernel for microcontrollers, with libraries that support connectivity, security, and over-the-air updates. The connectivity stack includes MQTT, TCP/IP, Wi-Fi, and BLE for cloud and local connectivity. Security libraries include a standard-based Berkeley socket interface for TLS and a PKCS#11 standard interface for crypto offload.

Q. What minimum hardware specifications are required?

Amazon FreeRTOS is optimized for microcontrollers with >25MHz processing speed and >64KB RAM (assuming all available libraries, including TLS, are running on the application microcontroller). If the communication and crypto stack (except for MQTT) is offloaded onto the networking processor, your microcontroller will only need 10MHz processing speed and 16KB RAM. However, these values are just approximations, as factors such as MCU architecture, compiler, and compiler optimization level may impact processing speed and RAM requirements. Amazon FreeRTOS needs 128KB of program memory per executable image stored on the microcontroller. For OTA update functionality, two executable images must be stored in program memory at the same time.

Q. What architectures does Amazon FreeRTOS support?

Amazon FreeRTOS currently supports a wide range of microcontrollers from our partners in the AWS Partner Device Catalog. Amazon FreeRTOS is based on the FreeRTOS kernel, which supports some 40+ architectures.

Q. How can I get started on Amazon FreeRTOS?

You can use the getting started guide for systematic instructions on how to run Amazon FreeRTOS on a qualified board.

Q. How can I get technical support?

Use any of the following channels to get support:

AWS Forum for Amazon FreeRTOS

Premium Support

Customer Support

GitHub Issues

Q. Is there a user guide?

Yes. You can access the Amazon FreeRTOS user guide from the documentation section of the getting started page.

Q. Can I use Amazon FreeRTOS to connect to other cloud services?

Yes. Amazon FreeRTOS is an open-source software, so it can be modified to fit any specific needs of your application.

Q. Can I make changes to the Amazon FreeRTOS source code?

Yes. Amazon FreeRTOS is an open-source software distributed under the MIT license, so it can be modified to fit any specific needs of your application without the permission of AWS.

Q. How much do I pay for using Amazon FreeRTOS?

Amazon FreeRTOS is free to download and use.

Q. Does Amazon FreeRTOS include hardware?

No. Amazon FreeRTOS is an operating system for microcontrollers. If you need to purchase Amazon FreeRTOS supported chipsets, visit the getting started page here.

Q. How can I stay informed of security patches?

Security updates are provided via the Amazon FreeRTOS console as well as via github. To report a security issue, please see Vulnerability Reporting for AWS.

Q. What security updates have been released to date?

We released FreeRTOS V1.3.2 on 08/21/2018 with security improvements to our FreeRTOS+TCP and Secure Sockets for FreeRTOS+TCP libraries. For more information, please see github.

FreeRTOS Kernel

Q. What is the FreeRTOS kernel?

Developed over a 15-year period and in partnership with the world's leading chip companies, the FreeRTOS kernel is the market-leading, real-time operating system kernel and the de-facto standard solution for microcontrollers and small microprocessors.

Q. How are Amazon FreeRTOS and the FreeRTOS kernel related?

Amazon FreeRTOS extends the FreeRTOS kernel with software libraries that support local and cloud connectivity, security, and over-the-air updates.

Q. Does AWS maintain the FreeRTOS kernel?

Yes, and we recently announced v10 of the FreeRTOS kernel, which includes stream buffers and message buffers. We also released the kernel under the MIT open source license, making it even easier to use in any context.

Q. What is the difference between the MIT open source license and the (previously used) modified GPL open source license?

Both licenses allow the software to be used for free, even in commercial products, and neither license imposes any obligations when distributing binary (executable) copies. The MIT license provides simplified wording and allows for more permissive use of our source code. With the MIT license, you can still develop and sell commercial products using Amazon FreeRTOS (including the kernel) but you are no longer obliged to open source modifications to our source code, meaning you own all the changes you make. The only requirements under MIT is that the copyright notice and permission notice shall be included in all copies or substantial portions of the Software (source files).

Q. Is there a support forum for the FreeRTOS kernel?

Yes. You can start a new thread in the AWS forums or view support archives on FreeRTOS.org.

Q. Where can I find more details on the FreeRTOS kernel?

AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS

Q. What is AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS?

AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS is a Windows/Linux/Mac test automation tool that lets semiconductor vendors self test and qualify Amazon FreeRTOS on their microcontroller boards. With AWS IoT Device Tester, semiconductor vendors can verify whether their microcontroller boards can run Amazon FreeRTOS and be authenticated by and interoperate with AWS IoT services.

Q. Where do I get AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS?

You can get AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS here.

Q. Is AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS required for qualification and listing in the AWS Partner Device Catalog?

Yes, you can learn more about how to get listed here.

Q. What does AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS test?

AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS tests that the combination of Amazon FreeRTOS libraries, FreeRTOS kernel, and microcontroller board’s device drivers are compatible and can interoperate with AWS IoT services. AWS IoT Device Tester confirms the porting layer interfaces (implemented by semiconductor vendors) for Amazon FreeRTOS libraries function correctly on top of the device drivers. Also, AWS IoT Device Tester runs end to end tests to confirm the microcontroller board can authenticate and interoperate with AWS IoT services.

Q. How do I get technical support for AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS?

Use any of the following channels to get support:

AWS Forum for Amazon FreeRTOS

Premium Support

Customer Support

GitHub Issues

Q. How can I get my microcontroller-based hardware platform listed in the AWS Partner Device Catalog?

The AWS Device Qualification Program defines the process to get your microcontroller listed on AWS Partner Device Catalog. The high level overview is as follows: First, you must pass the AWS IoT Device Tester for AWS Amazon FreeRTOS tests. Next, log into the AWS Partner Network Portal and upload the AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS report. Provide reference to your source code for ported Amazon FreeRTOS interfaces to make it available to OEMs. Once the ported code and report are verified by AWS and other device related artifacts (such as device image, data sheet, etc.) have been submitted, the device is listed in the AWS Partner Device Catalog.

Q. In which regions is AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS available?

AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS is available in all the regions where Amazon FreeRTOS is supported.  

Q. How much does AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS cost?

AWS IoT Device Tester for Amazon FreeRTOS is free to use. However, you will be responsible for any costs associated with AWS usage as part of qualification tests. A single run of the AWS IoT Device Tester tests involve 200 connections and 2000 messages exchanged with AWS IoT Core. For example, it would cost less than a cent for a single run of the AWS IoT Device Tester using us-east region. Please refer to AWS IoT Core pricing for associated costs.

 

Amazon FreeRTOS and AWS IoT Greengrass

Q. What is the difference between AWS IoT Greengrass and Amazon FreeRTOS?

AWS IoT Greengrass is software that lets you run local compute, messaging, data caching, sync, and ML inference capabilities for connected devices in a secure way. With AWS IoT Greengrass, connected devices can run AWS Lambda functions, keep device data in sync, and communicate with other devices securely – even when not connected to the Internet. Using AWS Lambda, AWS IoT Greengrass ensures your IoT devices can respond quickly to local events, use Lambda functions running on AWS IoT Greengrass Core to interact with local resources, operate with intermittent connections, stay updated with over the air updates, and minimize the cost of transmitting IoT data to the cloud.

Amazon FreeRTOS is an operating system for microcontrollers that operates on the edge and does not generally support chipsets that could run AWS IoT Greengrass. These microcontroller devices are found on a variety of IoT endpoints such as fitness trackers, pacemakers, electricity meters, automotive transmissions, and sensor networks. Amazon FreeRTOS devices cannot run AWS IoT Greengrass Core but can trigger the execution of Lambda functions on an AWS IoT Greengrass Core device.

The hardware requirements and operating systems are different on both devices.

  Amazon FreeRTOS AWS IoT Greengrass
Software Operating system, runs on a microcontroller Runtime for Linux devices and SDK for AWS IoT Greengrass-aware devices
Hardware Requirements >64KB RAM >128MB of RAM
Category Embedded systems, IoT endpoints Edge devices, local gateways
Use Cases Microcontroller-based devices Industrial automation systems, wireless routers, smartphones

Q. Does Amazon FreeRTOS require the use of AWS IoT Greengrass?

Amazon FreeRTOS does not require the use of AWS IoT Greengrass. Amazon FreeRTOS runs on IoT endpoints and is often responsible for the ‘sensing’ and ‘acting’ in an IoT topology. Amazon FreeRTOS devices can connect directly to the cloud or connect to AWS IoT Greengrass Core devices locally.

Q. How can I connect Amazon FreeRTOS devices to AWS IoT Greengrass Core devices?

The AWS IoT Greengrass discovery library is included in the Amazon FreeRTOS source code, enabling you to find and connect to an AWS IoT Greengrass Core device. For more information, refer to the Amazon FreeRTOS user guide.

Amazon FreeRTOS and Bluetooth Low Energy

Q. What is Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) support in Amazon FreeRTOS?

BLE support in Amazon FreeRTOS offers a standardized API layer for developers to write BLE applications that are portable across Amazon FreeRTOS qualified boards. It includes companion Android and iOS SDKs that enable an Amazon FreeRTOS device to consume AWS IoT services using an Android or iOS device as proxy. You can use standard Generic Access Profile (GAP) and Generic Attributes (GATT) profiles to write BLE applications, and use custom profiles for MQTT over BLE, and Wi-Fi provisioning over BLE.

BLE support in Amazon FreeRTOS is currently beta.

Q. Why should I use Amazon FreeRTOS BLE?

If you are an embedded developer that needs to create a BLE application, connect your BLE devices to AWS IoT through an Android or iOS proxy or use AWS IoT features such as AWS IoT Device Shadows, and you will benefit from using BLE in Amazon FreeRTOS. The standardized BLE API for Amazon FreeRTOS allows you to code portable applications against Amazon FreeRTOS-qualified devices. If you decide to use a different microcontroller (e.g. for upgrading the product), you can use your existing BLE application code as a base for adding newer features. You can then concentrate on your application code and not worry about connectivity and security libraries underneath, which are not features that differentiate your product.

Q. Which boards are supported by BLE in Amazon FreeRTOS?

Click here for more information on supported hardware.

Q. How do I find the libraries I need?

You can download Amazon FreeRTOS source code from the Amazon FreeRTOS GitHub repository and the companion Android and iOS SDKs from GitHub. Amazon FreeRTOS source code as well as the mobile SDKs have demo examples to help you quickly get started.

Q. Does BLE support in Amazon FreeRTOS work only with AWS?

No. The Amazon FreeRTOS libraries for BLE are open source and under the MIT license so developers can modify according to their specific need.

Q. What BLE versions are supported?

Amazon FreeRTOS supports BLE versions 4.2 and above. BLE version 4.2 raises the security bar by adding support for BLE Secure Connections, an enhanced security feature introduced in BLE version 4.2 to authenticate a peer device and create an encrypted channel.

Q. Is Amazon FreeRTOS providing the BLE stack?

No. Amazon FreeRTOS is providing a standardized BLE API library that interfaces with a third-party (e.g., MCU vendor) BLE stack.

Q. What GATT services does Amazon FreeRTOS support for BLE enable?

BLE support in Amazon FreeRTOS enables developers to add any number of standard and custom GATT services, depending on the capabilities of the target hardware. Amazon FreeRTOS contains two customer profiles – 1) MQTT over BLE, to enable BLE devices to use AWS IoT services, and 2) Wi-Fi provisioning over BLE, to provision Wi-Fi credentials in an IoT device using BLE.

Amazon FreeRTOS and AWS IoT Device Management

Q. How do I update my devices with new firmware?

You can use the over-the-air (OTA) update feature of Amazon FreeRTOS. Within the AWS IoT Device Management console, all you need to do is provide a firmware image, select the devices to update, select a code signing method, and create the Amazon FreeRTOS OTA job update. For more information on the OTA update feature and code signing, refer to the Amazon FreeRTOS user guide.

Q. What is code signing?

Code signing enables developers to confirm the integrity and origin of firmware images scheduled for OTA deployment to Amazon FreeRTOS devices. The process confirms the integrity of firmware images using a cryptographic hash that validates that the code has not been altered or corrupted since it was signed. The process also uses public-key cryptography to sign these images with proof of origin that can be validated on the device. Using the integrated Amazon FreeRTOS OTA update device job within the AWS IoT Device Management console, developers can upload a new firmware image, sign that image, and deliver it to a group of devices in the field. Those devices will validate the signature upon download and only install trusted code. Customers can use IAM to provide fine-grained access controls to signing tools, so only designated developers can sign and schedule new firmware updates.

Q. Do I have to use code signing?

No, you can also use your own signing service and upload a signed image directly into Amazon S3. You will need to modify the Amazon FreeRTOS OTA agent to accept the signature format that you choose to use.

Q. What hardware supports OTA?

Click here for information on supported hardware.

Amazon FreeRTOS and AWS IoT Core

Q. What is Amazon FreeRTOS’s relevance in the context of AWS Cloud services?

Amazon FreeRTOS makes it easy to securely connect IoT devices to AWS Cloud. It provides a tool for customers to build connected applications that can aggregate sensor data and send it directly to AWS IoT Core or via AWS IoT Greengrass.

Learn more about Amazon FreeRTOS partners

Visit the AWS Partner Device Catalog
Ready to get started?
Sign up
Have more questions?
Contact us