Général

  • Q : Qu'est-ce qu'Amazon GameLift ?

    Amazon GameLift est un service géré pour le déploiement, l'exploitation et le dimensionnement de serveurs de jeu dédiés pour les jeux multijoueurs basés sur les sessions. Vous pouvez déployer votre premier serveur de jeu dans le cloud en quelques minutes seulement. Vous économiserez ainsi des milliers d'heures de développement logiciel initial et diminuerez les risques techniques qui amènent souvent les développeurs à supprimer des fonctionnalités multijoueurs de leurs créations. Reposant sur l'environnement de calcul éprouvé d'AWS, Amazon GameLift permet de mettre à l'échelle des serveurs de jeu ultra performants pour répondre à la demande des joueurs. Vous payez uniquement la capacité que vous utilisez. Vous pouvez donc faire appel au service pour travailler sur une nouvelle idée de jeu comme pour exécuter un jeu rassemblant des millions de personnes.

  • Amazon GameLift est particulièrement adapté aux jeux multijoueurs dont les sessions de jeu commencent et se terminent à un instant précis. Il s'agit en général de jeux multijoueurs des types suivants : jeux de tir à la première personne, MOBA, jeux de combat, jeux de course ou jeux de sport.

  • Q : Le service Amazon GameLift fonctionne-t-il pour les jeux qui ne supportent aucune latence, tels que les jeux de tir à la première personne ? Le service ajoute-t-il de la latence à mon jeu ?

    Amazon GameLift est pensé pour prendre en charge les jeux exigeant un temps de latence très faible. Amazon GameLift n'introduit aucune latence supplémentaire en cours de partie.

    Pendant la connexion à une session de jeu, votre client de jeu communique avec le service Amazon GameLift pour réserver une place au joueur et recevoir des détails sur la connectivité. Cette tâche peut prendre plusieurs secondes. Toutefois, quand le joueur est connecté à un serveur de jeu, toutes les communications du joueur vers le serveur sont automatiquement traitées entre le client et le serveur de jeu. La latence ressentie pendant la partie dépend de la connexion Internet du joueur et de sa distance géographique par rapport au serveur de jeu. Il est possible de réduire encore davantage la latence en ouvrant des serveurs de jeu dans des régions aussi proches que possible de vos joueurs. Amazon GameLift prend en charge les régions d'Amérique du Nord, d'Europe, d'Asie, d'Amérique du Sud et d'Australie, de façon à ce que vous puissiez choisir où déployer au mieux les serveurs de jeu pour vos joueurs.

  • Q : Comment faire des suggestions ou envoyer ses commentaires ?

Facturation

  • Q : Combien coûte le service Amazon GameLift ?

    Vous payez pour les ressources de calcul et la bande passante consommées par votre jeu, sans avoir à souscrire à un contrat mensuel ou annuel. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page de tarification.

  • Q : Quand la facturation de mes jeux Amazon GameLift commence-t-elle et prend-elle fin ?

    La facturation commence lorsque vous attribuez de la capacité à Amazon GameLift et qu'Amazon GameLift lance le binaire du serveur de votre jeu pour la première fois sur chaque instance. La facturation prend fin quand vous fermez des instances. Pour les instances Windows, facturées par heure d'instance, les heures d'instance partiellement consommées sont facturées en tant qu'heures pleines. Pour les instances Linux, facturées par seconde d'instance, il y a une facturation minimale d'une minute par instance.

  • Q : Des frais supplémentaires s'appliquent-ils pour l'utilisation de FlexMatch ?

    Non. Pas directement. Cependant, notez que des rapprochements réussis grâce à FlexMatch entraînent automatiquement la création de nouvelles sessions de jeu. Selon la façon dont vous gérez la capacité des serveurs de jeu, la création de nouvelles sessions de jeu peut déclencher d'autres instances de serveurs pour lesquelles des tarifs d'instance standard Amazon GameLift vous seront facturés.

Développement

Instances et parcs

  • Q : Quels sont les types d'instances pris en charge par Amazon GameLift ?

    Veuillez consulter notre page de tarification pour obtenir la liste complète des instances Amazon GameLift.

  • Q : Combien de processus serveur puis-je exécuter sur une instance Amazon GameLift ?

    Jusqu'à 50. Le nombre de processus serveur dépend des exigences de performance de vos serveurs de jeu et du type d'instance que vous choisissez pour votre flotte. Lorsque vous constituez une flotte, vous pouvez sélectionner un type d'instance et configurer la flotte de manière à exécuter en même temps un nombre optimal de processus serveur. Exécuter plusieurs processus sur moins d'instances permet de réduire les coûts. Vous pouvez également configurer votre flotte de manière à exécuter plusieurs versions de serveurs ou configurations de jeu sur chaque instance.

  • Q : A quelle vitesse puis-je ajouter ou supprimer des instances dans le parc Amazon GameLift ?

    Amazon GameLift offre un environnement de calcul véritablement évolutif. Les instances Amazon GameLift permettent d'augmenter ou de diminuer la capacité en quelques minutes au lieu de quelques heures ou de quelques jours. Vous pouvez allouer une, des centaines ou même des milliers d'instances de serveur simultanément.

    Apportez simplement la capacité requise pour vous adapter aux changements dans la demande des joueurs grâce à Amazon GameLift Target Tracking. Target Tracking est une fonctionnalité de dimensionnement automatique qui vous permet de définir simplement un pourcentage cible pour les sessions de jeu disponibles, créant ainsi un tampon qui va s'adapter aux fluctuations de trafic de joueurs. Amazon GameLift ajoutera ou supprimera de la capacité, selon les besoins, pour maintenir ce tampon de sessions de jeu disponibles à la valeur définie et s'adapter à un modèle de charge fluctuante, ce qui permet de minimiser les fluctuations rapides de capacité. Pour plus d'informations, consultez la section Autoscaling du manuel Amazon GameLift Developer Guide.

    Vous pouvez contrôler manuellement le nombre d'instances sur la page de présentation détaillée de la flotte dans la console Amazon GameLift.

  • Q : Comment sélectionner le type d'instance adapté à mon jeu ?

    Le type d'instance adapté dépend de la performance de votre serveur de jeu et du nombre de processus serveurs que vous souhaitez exécuter en même temps sur chaque instance. La complexité algorithmique de votre jeu, son optimisation et celle du code de réseau, ainsi que le nombre maximum de joueurs sont les principaux facteurs déterminant la taille de l'instance dont vous aurez besoin. L'un des avantages d'Amazon GameLift est que vous payez uniquement en fonction de votre utilisation, ce qui est un moyen pratique et économique de tester les performances de votre jeu sur différentes familles et différents types d'instances.

  • Q : Qu'est-ce qui arrive à mes données lorsqu'une instance Amazon GameLift est suspendue ?

    Amazon GameLift conserve les métriques d'activité. Quand une instance est suspendue, les données générées par votre serveur de jeu et stockées sur l'instance sont perdues. Cependant, vous pouvez demander à Amazon GameLift de conserver et de stocker ces fichiers de données pendant un maximum de sept jours après la suspension de l'instance.

  • Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un parc ?

    Une flotte est un ensemble d'instances Amazon GameLift situées dans une même région et exécutant une même version de votre serveur de jeu. Vous pouvez vous adapter aux changements de demande des joueurs en augmentant ou en réduisant le nombre d'instances dans votre flotte. Les flottes sont configurées pour utiliser un certain type d'instance, pour déployer une version et pour exécuter un ou plusieurs processus de serveur sur chaque instance.

  • Q : Combien de temps faut-il pour créer un parc ?

    Il faut généralement moins d'une heure pour préparer les ressources nécessaires à l'exécution de votre jeu, à compter du moment où vous chargez le binaire de votre jeu et jusqu'au moment où il est entièrement déployé et mis à la disposition des joueurs. Cette durée dépend de la taille de votre binaire et du nombre d'instances que vous déployez.

  • Q : Puis-je accéder à des parcs et à des instances en temps réel ?

    Oui. Vous pouvez accéder à distance à une instance en cours d'activation, active ou présentant des erreurs au sein d'une flotte. Il est ainsi plus simple de corriger des bogues, de suivre l'activité des joueurs en temps réel, mais aussi de connecter des outils de suivi des performances ou d'analyse comparative. Vous pouvez modifier les paramètres des ports et les protocoles de votre parc à l'aide de la CLI (interface de ligne de commande) AWS ou via la console Amazon GameLift.

  • Q : Le service Amazon GameLift permet-il la mise à jour d'un parc de production en direct ou le rétablissement d'un parc antérieur en cas de problème ?

    Oui, Amazon GameLift simplifie la mise à jour des flottes de production grâce à sa fonction d'alias. Un alias vous permet de diriger le trafic vers des flottes sans avoir à modifier le descripteur de point de terminaison du client. Après avoir créé une nouvelle flotte de production, vous pouvez modifier un alias pour diriger le trafic d'une flotte plus ancienne vers cette flotte plus récente, et acheminer ainsi tous les joueurs en cours de connexion vers la nouvelle flotte alias.

    De même, si vous découvrez qu'un parc pose problème (par exemple, vous détectez un problème dans le code du jeu), vous pouvez modifier un alias pour rediriger le trafic du nouveau parc vers un ancien parc.

  • Q : Dans quelles régions le service Amazon GameLift est-il disponible ?

    Amazon GameLift est actuellement disponible dans les régions suivantes : USA Est (Virginie du Nord et Ohio), USA Ouest (Oregon et Californie du Nord), Canada Centre (Montréal), UE Centre (Francfort), UE Ouest (Londres et Irlande), Asie-Pacifique Sud (Mumbai), Asie-Pacifique Nord-Est (Séoul et Tokyo), Asie-Pacifique Sud-Est (Singapour et Sydney) et Amérique du Sud Est (São Paulo). Veuillez consulter le tableau des régions de l'infrastructure mondiale AWS pour connaître la disponibilité actuelle des produits et services par région.

  • Q : Dans quelles régions AWS puis-je placer un intermédiaire FlexMatch ?

    USA Est (Virginie du Nord), USA Ouest (Oregon), UE Centre (Francfort), UE Ouest (Irlande), Asie-Pacifique Sud-Est (Sydney) et Asie-Pacifique Nord-Est (Séoul et Tokyo). Lorsque vous choisissez l'une des régions ci-dessus pour héberger un intermédiaire FlexMatch, nous vous recommandons d'en choisir une aussi proche que possible des joueurs dont s'occupe l'intermédiaire. Nous vous recommandons également de placer la file d'attente de sessions de jeu de l'intermédiaire dans la même région que celle de l'intermédiaire. Pour en savoir plus sur la disponibilité des régions FlexMatch, consultez notre manuel Amazon GameLift Developer Guide.

Stockage

Limites opérationnelles

Instances Spot Amazon GameLift et FleetIQ

Autre

Démarrez avec notre offre gratuite

En savoir plus sur la tarification de GameLift

Visiter la page de tarification
Prêt à vous lancer ?
S'inscrire
D'autres questions ?
Contactez-nous

General

  • Q. What is Amazon GameLift?

    Amazon GameLift is a managed service for deploying, operating, and scaling dedicated game servers for session-based multiplayer games. You can deploy your first game server in the cloud in just minutes, saving up to thousands of engineering hours in upfront software development and lowering the technical risks that often cause developers to cut multiplayer features from their designs. Built on AWS’s proven computing environment, Amazon GameLift lets you scale high-performance game servers up and down to meet player demand. You pay only for the capacity you use, so you can get started whether you’re working on a new game idea or running a game with millions of players.

  • Amazon GameLift works best with multiplayer games that have game sessions that begin and end within a specified time period. Typically, these are multiplayer games in genres like first person shooters, MOBAs, fighting, racing, or sports.

  • Q. Does Amazon GameLift work for latency-intolerant games, such as first-person shooters? Does Amazon GameLift add latency to my game?

    Amazon GameLift is designed to work for latency-intolerant games. Amazon GameLift introduces no additional latency during gameplay.

    When joining a game session, your game client communicates with the Amazon GameLift service to reserve a player slot and receive connection details. This step may take up to several seconds. However, once the player connects to a game server, all player-to-server communication is done directly between your game client and game server. Latency experienced during gameplay will depend upon the player's internet connection and their physical distance to the game server. You can further reduce latency by positioning game servers in regions that are as close as possible to your players. Amazon GameLift supports regions in North America, Europe, Asia, South America, and Australia so you can choose where to best deploy game servers for your players.

  • Q. How do I make suggestions or give feedback?

    Please visit our GameDev Forums, or contact us.

Billing

  • Q. How much does Amazon GameLift cost?

    You pay for the compute resources and bandwidth your games actually use, without monthly or annual contracts. Please see our pricing page for more information.

  • Q. When does billing of my Amazon GameLift games begin and end?

    Billing begins when you allocate Amazon GameLift capacity and Amazon GameLift launches your game’s server binary for the first time on each instance. Billing concludes when you stop instances. For Windows instances, which are billed per instance-hour, partial instance-hours consumed are billed as full hours. For Linux instances, which are billed per instance-second, there is a 1 minute minimum charge per-instance.

  • Q. Is there an additional charge for using FlexMatch?

    No, not directly. However, please note that successful matches with FlexMatch automatically result in the creation of new game sessions. Depending on how you’re managing game server capacity, creating new game sessions may trigger additional server instances, for which you’ll be charged standard Amazon GameLift instance prices.

Development

Instances and Fleets

  • Q. Which instance types does Amazon GameLift support?

    Please see our pricing page for a full list of Amazon GameLift instances.

  • Q. How many server processes can I run on an Amazon GameLift instance?

    Up to 50. The number of server processes depends on the performance requirements of your game servers and the instance type you choose for your fleet. When you set up a fleet, you will select an instance type and configure the fleet to concurrently run an optimum number of server processes. Running more processes on fewer instances can help you decrease costs. You can also configure your fleet to run multiple server builds or game configurations on each instance.

  • Q. How quickly can I add or remove new instances from my Amazon GameLift fleet?

    Amazon GameLift provides a truly elastic computing environment. Amazon GameLift instances enable you to increase or decrease capacity within minutes, not hours or days. You can provision one, hundreds, or even thousands of server instances simultaneously.

    With Amazon GameLift’s autoscaling feature, you can minimize any delay in providing extra capacity to meet player demand, or conversely, quickly scale down to avoid paying for capacity you don’t need. To use autoscaling, you can define a set of rules that are based on real-time measures of game server capacity and player demand. For example, you could tell Amazon GameLift to scale down whenever the number of unused instances exceeds a certain number for a period of time or scale up whenever the number of available instances falls below a pre-set threshold. For more information, see the Autoscaling section of the Amazon GameLift Developer Guide.

    You can also manually control the quantity of instances from the fleet details page in the Amazon GameLift console.

  • Q. How do I select the right instance type for my game?

    The right instance type depends on your game’s server performance and the number of server processes you plan to run concurrently on each instance. The computational complexity of your game, optimization of your game and network code, and maximum number of players are the main drivers for the size of the instance that you will need. One of the advantages of Amazon GameLift is that you only pay for what you use, which makes it convenient and inexpensive to test the performance of your game on different instance families and types.

  • Q. What happens to my data when an Amazon GameLift instance terminates?

    Amazon GameLift retains activity metrics. When you terminate an instance, any data generated by your game server and stored on the instance is lost. However, you can instruct Amazon GameLift to retain and store these data files for up to seven days after the instance has been terminated.

  • Q. What is a fleet?

    A fleet is a set of Amazon GameLift instances in one region running one build of your game server. You can accommodate changes in player demand by increasing or decreasing the number of instances in your fleet. A fleet is configured to use a certain instance type, to deploy a build, and to run one or more server processes on each instance.

  • Q. How long does it take to create a fleet?

    It typically takes less than an hour to set up the resources necessary to run your game, measured from the time you upload your game binary to when it is fully deployed and accessible to your players. This time is dependent on the size of your binary and the number of instances you are deploying.

  • Q. Can I access fleets and instances in real time?

    Yes. You can remotely access an instance in a fleet that is in an activating, active, or error status. This is useful for debugging, inspecting player activity in real time, or connecting performance monitoring or benchmarking tools. You can modify your fleet’s port settings and protocols using either the AWS command line interface (CLI) or through the Amazon GameLift console.

  • Q. Does Amazon GameLift allow me to update a live production fleet, or revert to a previous fleet if there is a problem?

    Yes, Amazon GameLift makes updating production fleets simple with its alias feature. An alias enables you to direct traffic to fleets without having to change the client end-point descriptor. After creating a new production fleet, you can edit an alias to point from an older fleet to this newer fleet, routing all connecting players to the new fleet alias feature.

    Similarly, if you discover an issue with a fleet (e.g., you find an issue in your game code), you can edit an alias to redirect traffic from the new fleet to an older fleet.

  • Q. Which regions is Amazon GameLift available in?

    Amazon GameLift is currently available in the following regions: US East (N. Virginia and Ohio), US West (Oregon and N. California), Central Canada (Montreal), EU Central (Frankfurt), EU West (London and Ireland), Asia Pacific South (Mumbai), Asia Pacific Northeast (Seoul and Tokyo), Asia Pacific Southeast (Singapore and Sydney), and South America East (São Paulo). Please refer to the AWS Global Infrastructure Region Table for the current information on product and service availability by region.

  • Q. In which AWS regions can I place a FlexMatch matchmaker?

    US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon), EU Central (Frankfurt), EU West (Ireland), Asia Pacific Southeast (Sydney), and Asia Pacific Northeast (Seoul and Tokyo). When choosing one of the above regions to host a FlexMatch matchmaker, we recommend that you pick a region as close as possible to the player population that the matchmaker will service. We also recommend placing the matchmaker’s game session queue in the same region as the matchmaker. Learn more about FlexMatch region availability in our Amazon GameLift Developer Guide.

Storage

Operational Limits

Amazon GameLift Spot and FleetIQ

  • Q. What is Amazon GameLift Spot and FleetIQ?

    Amazon GameLift Spot instances offer access to spare AWS computing capacity at savings of up to 90% compared to On-Demand prices. However, Spot instances can be interrupted by AWS with two minutes of notification when AWS needs the capacity back. You can use this notification period to migrate or shut down games running on those instances. You can achieve cost savings while maintaining high game server availability with the use of FleetIQ, a new feature of Amazon GameLift that places new sessions on game servers based on player latencies, instance prices, and Spot interruption rates.

  • Q. Why should I use Amazon GameLift Spot instances?

    You get the same high-performance hardware as Amazon GameLift On-Demand instances, but save up to 90%. By accepting a small decrease in server availability as compared to using only On-Demand instances, you can save a lot of money.

  • Q. How much will I save using Amazon GameLift Spot?

    Amazon GameLift Spot prices fluctuate based on the current supply and demand for each instance type in each region. Spot instance prices are set by Amazon and adjust gradually based on long-term trends in supply and demand for Spot instance capacity. However, Amazon GameLift Spot prices never exceed Amazon GameLift On-Demand prices. In the Amazon GameLift console, you can view three months of historical pricing and savings data for GameLift Spot for every instance type and region.

  • Q. What are the best practices for using Amazon GameLift Spot instances?

    First, set up an Amazon GameLift Queue with multiple fleets based on different sizes of the same Spot instance family (e.g. C4.large, C4.xlarge, etc.) and across multiple AWS regions. To place a game session, FleetIQ will first use player latency data to select the region that will provide the lowest latency, then place the game session into the fleet with the lowest price and the lowest interruption frequency. The Amazon GameLift Queue should also include an On-Demand fleet in each of the configured regions. FleetIQ will prioritize game session placement into Spot fleets in a region first, then fall back to the On-Demand fleet if needed to maintain high availability. To see more best practices, visit the developer documentation.

  • Q. What happens when Amazon GameLift Spot instances receive a termination warning?

    When AWS occasionally needs more capacity, some Amazon GameLift Spot instances could receive a warning that the game servers must shut down within two minutes. When that happens, you can use the warning period to gracefully migrate or shut down active game sessions. To maintain an equal amount of available capacity for your game, FleetIQ will automatically start new servers in the same region by using alternate Spot instances types or by using On-Demand instances.

  • Q. Does Amazon GameLift guarantee termination rates when using Amazon GameLift Spot and FleetIQ?

    No. FleetIQ minimizes the chances of termination.

  • Q. How does FleetIQ minimize the chances of instances terminating while games are active?

    FleetIQ tracks Spot interruption rates and uses this data to automatically place games on instances with low interruption frequencies.

  • Q. How am I charged if Amazon GameLift Spot prices change while my instance is running?

    While a Spot instance remains running, you will be charged the price set at the beginning of each hour.

  • Q. Where can I see my usage history for Amazon GameLift Spot instances and see how much I was billed?

    The AWS Management Console makes a detailed billing report available which shows Spot instance start and termination/stop times for all instances.

Other

Getting Started for Free

Learn more about GameLift pricing

Visit the pricing page
Ready to get started?
Sign up
Have more questions?
Contact us