统计复用 (Statmux) 是 AWS Elemental MediaLive 视频处理服务的一项功能,让您可以准备与分享实时广播视频以用于分发。Statmux 技术可在多个直播视频频道实时分配比特,将编码输出整合到单个传输流。借助于 Statmux,您可以处理和创建实时内容,并与分发合作伙伴分享内容,通过卫星、有线或地面网络进行传输。Statmux for MediaLive 可以替代基于硬件的传统广播视频传输的准备方法。通过为广播视频分发实现易于使用的完全托管云服务,Statmux for MediaLive 让您可以更灵活、更高效地分发实时内容,降低基础设施和管理成本,并以内置的可靠性分发优质的视频。
 

优势

高度可用

Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive 具备内置可靠性和弹性。Statmux 资源会被自动分配到多个可用区,使内容提供者能够维持可靠的广播分发,节省用于购买和管理冗余基础设施的时间和费用。自动监控底层基础设施的运行状况,任何潜在问题都会被检测出来并得到解决,而无需中断直播频道。

优质视频

Statmux for MediaLive 让您可以维持最高的视频质量,同时优化固定卫星或有线分发带宽。凭借 Statmux for MediaLive,您可以无中断调整每个频道的质量设置,确保最高优先级的频道维持最高的质量。

提高效率

在数分钟内构建广播分发工作负载,只需数美元成本即可对其进行测试,而不用花数周或数月时间等待成本高昂硬件的交付和设置,并且通过卫星或有线网络在更多频道中传输。对于分发传统广播视频和多屏线性视频的内容提供者来说,Statmux for MediaLive 使其能够通过单个架构同时传输二者。

灵活管理

根据不断变化的受众和业务需求,在 Statmux 中添加、移除或更新直播频道,轻松引入新的编解码器,以及利用多个编解码器和分辨率,即使在单个多路复用器中也可以做到。简单的控制台用户界面和全 API 访问,让您可以控制输入与输出,而集成的 Amazon CloudWatch 监控则为视频指标和多路复用器性能提供实时的可见性。

简化分发

Statmux for MediaLive 让您可以为世界各地的内容合作伙伴简化分发。在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中存储资产,在云中处理内容,并将其传输到本地用于卫星分发。或者,使用 AWS Elemental MediaConnect 将内容通过 AWS 进行发送,并且通过 IP 网络分享给分发合作伙伴。

工作原理

product-page-diagram_Elemental-MediaLive_Statmux_r02_product-page-diagram-Elemental-MediaLive_Statmux_2x

常见问题

什么是统计复用 (Statmux)?

Statmux 技术可在多个直播视频频道实时分配比特,将编码输出整合到多路复用器节目传输流。Statmux 会即时调整 Statmux 池中每个频道的比特率,以便充分利用全部可用带宽。这样一来,在固定总带宽内一组频道的画面质量得到优化,从而将网络效率最大化。 

Statmux for MediaLive 可以实现哪些功能?

Statmux for MediaLive 让广播公司和内容所有者能够在 AWS 中实施灵活而且可扩展的工作流,生成内容并通过传统广播方式分发到机顶盒。现在,内容所有者和广播公司可以使用 MediaLive 为依赖统计复用的分发系统提供支持。将高级视频编码功能和 MediaLive 的内置弹性结合在一起,Statmux 可以从网络提取更多带宽容量,确保可靠的全天候运转,并且在部署数百个频道时减少线性视频分发的总体拥有成本。

在 MediaLive 中使用 Statmux 可以获得哪些效率效益?

您所获得的效率效益会因为编解码器、带宽和频道数量而有所不同。一般来说,根据运转条件,节省的带宽介于 20% - 40% 之间。

这样做有助于在 AWS 中构建我的一体化或聚合机顶盒吗?

是的。内容和服务提供者都在添置 OTT (ABR) 编码系统,以便为当前的主屏幕分发系统提供补充。起初,OTT 只是现有系统的一项“附加功能”,可向不同的供应商购买。随着 OTT 分发的重要性与日俱增,使用一个系统管理所有编码有助于减轻运营负担。通过 Statmux for MediaLive,您现在可以在 AWS 内以相同的工作流完成全部核心视频处理。

我的频道支持哪些视频编解码器?

H.264 (AVC) 主要和高配置,(4:2:0 8 比特)和 H.265 (HEVC) 主要和高配置,(4:2:0 8 比特),最高支持 1080p。 

几个频道或节目可以通过统计复用整合到一个 MPTS(多节目传输流),以及最大总比特率为多少?

目前最多支持 20 个节目,最大 MPTS 总比特率可高达 72 Mbps。

我可以更改频道安排、视频池大小,并为正在运行的池预留比特率吗?

是的。您可以向池中添加或从其删除频道,而不会导致现有频道中断。您还可以随时更改 Statmux 池的预留带宽。 

我可以更改个别频道的最小或最大比特率吗?

是的,您可以随时编辑某个频道的比特率参数。

如何管理 MPTS 的总带宽?

使用 MediaLive 控制台或 API,您可以为空数据包设置 TS 率和预留比特率。Statmux for MediaLive 会优化视频比特率,兼顾来自每个频道的其他音频和元数据贡献。 
MediaLive Statmux 频道的输出会被发送到 AWS Elemental MediaConnect。MediaConnect 是一项可靠而安全的视频传输服务。MediaConnect 支持 RTP、RTP+FEC、RIST 和 Zixi 协议,可在全球范围内安全分发您的内容。 

我还可以将我的有条件访问 (CA) 系统迁移到 AWS 吗?

通过自定义集成,部分 CA 系统可被迁移以便在 AWS 中进行加密处理。在很多情况下,您可能只需选择使用已存在于上行位置的 CA 系统,在通过卫星或其他分发网络分发视频流时对其进行加密。此外,如果在 AWS Elemental MediaConnect 中分发具有授权的内容,您可以使用 SPEKE (Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange) 进行密钥交换。SPEKE 是一种开放 API 规格,可简化受支持的 CAS 系统与 MediaConnect 集成的方式。您可以加密使用授权分享的 Statmux for MediaLive 视频,控制发送给您的分发合作伙伴的内容的权限。这样,您就可以构建复杂的工作流,同时实现更精细、更完善的有条件权限管理,其中包括基于时间的访问、中断和其他的许多基于规则的要求。 

定价

如需了解关于 Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive 的定价信息,访问 https://aws.amazon.com/medialive/pricing/  

文档

要查看关于 Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive 的文档,访问 MediaLive 文档页面

Statistical Multiplexing (Statmux) is a feature of the AWS Elemental MediaLive video processing service that lets you prepare and share live broadcast video for distribution. Statmux is a technology that allocates bits in real time among multiple live video channels, combining the encoded outputs into a single transport stream. With Statmux, you can process and originate live content and share it with distribution partners for delivery over satellite, cable, or terrestrial networks. Statmux for MediaLive is an alternative to traditional, hardware-based approaches to preparing broadcast video for delivery. By enabling easy-to-use, fully managed cloud services for broadcast video distribution, Statmux for MediaLive lets you deliver live content more flexibly and efficiently, reduce infrastructure and management costs, and deliver high-quality video with built-in reliability.
 

Benefits

Highly available

Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive provides built-in reliability and resiliency. Statmux resources are automatically allocated across multiple Availability Zones, enabling content providers to maintain reliable broadcast distribution without the time and expense of procuring and managing redundant infrastructure. The underlying infrastructure is automatically monitored for health, so that any potential issues are detected and resolved without disrupting live channels.

High video quality

Statmux for MediaLive lets you maintain the utmost in video quality while optimizing for fixed satellite or cable distribution bandwidth. With Statmux for MediaLive, you can tune quality settings on a per-channel basis without disruption to assure that the highest-priority channels maintain the highest quality.

Increased efficiency

Build broadcast distribution workloads in minutes and test them for a few dollars instead of waiting weeks or months for costly hardware to be delivered and set up, and deliver more channels over satellite or cable networks. For content providers that distribute traditional broadcast video as well as multiscreen linear video, Statmux for MediaLive allows you to deliver both through a single architecture.

Flexible management

Add, remove, or update live channels within the statmux based on evolving audience and business needs, easily introduce new codecs, and take advantage of multiple codecs and resolutions, even within a single mux. A simple console user interface and full API access let you control inputs and outputs, and integrated Amazon CloudWatch monitoring enables real-time visibility into video metrics and multiplexer performance.

Simplified distribution

Statmux for MediaLive lets you simplify distribution to content partners around the world. Store assets in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), process content in the cloud, and bring it on-premises for satellite distribution. Or, use AWS Elemental MediaConnect to send content through AWS and share it with distribution partners over IP networks.

How it works

product-page-diagram_Elemental-MediaLive_Statmux_r02_product-page-diagram-Elemental-MediaLive_Statmux_2x

FAQs

What is statistical multiplexing (statmux)?

Statmux is a technology that allocates bits in real time among multiple live video channels, combining the encoded outputs into a multiplexed program transport stream. Statmux instantaneously adjusts the bitrate of each channel in the statmux pool to make the best use of total available bandwidth. This maximizes network efficiency by optimizing picture quality for a group of channels within a fixed total bandwidth. 

What does Statmux for MediaLive enable?

Statmux for MediaLive enables broadcasters and content owners to implement flexible and scalable workflows in AWS, generating content for distribution to headends via traditional broadcast methods. Content owners and broadcasters can now use MediaLive to support distribution systems that rely on statistical multiplexing. Combined with the advanced video encoding features and built-in resiliency of MediaLive, Statmux extracts more bandwidth capacity from the network, ensures reliable 24/7 operations, and reduces total cost of ownership for linear video delivery when deploying hundreds of channels.

What is the efficiency gain from using Statmux in MediaLive?

The efficiency gains vary depending on the codec, bandwidth, and number of channels. Typical bandwidth savings are in the 20% - 40% range depending on operating conditions.

Does this help with building my unified or converged headend in AWS?

Yes. Content and service providers have been adding OTT (ABR) encoding systems to supplement their current primary screen delivery systems. Initially, OTT was an “add-on” to the existing system, purchased from a different vendor. With the increasing importance of OTT delivery, having one system to manage all encoding helps ease the operational burden. Using Statmux for MediaLive, all of the core video processing can now happen in AWS within the same workflow.

What video codecs are supported for my channels?

H.264 (AVC) main and high profile, (4:2:0 8 bit) and H.265 (HEVC) main and high profile, (4:2:0 8 bit), up to 1080p are supported. 

How many channels or programs can be statmuxed together into a MPTS (Multiple Program Transport Stream), and what is the maximum total bitrate?

Up to 20 programs are supported currently, with up to 72 Mbps maximum MPTS total bitrate.

Can I change the channel lineup, video pool size, and reserved bitrate for a running pool?

Yes. You can add or delete channels from a pool without introducing discontinuity on the existing channels. You can also change the reserved bandwidth for a statmux pool at any time. 

Can I change the minimum or maximum bitrate of an individual channel?

Yes, you can edit the bitrate parameters of a channel at any time.

How do I manage the overall bandwidth of the MPTS?

Using either the MediaLive Console or the API, you can set a TS rate and a reserved bitrate for null packets. Statmux for MediaLive optimizes the video bitrates, taking into consideration the other audio and metadata contributions from each of the channels. 
The output of a MediaLive Statmux channel is sent to AWS Elemental MediaConnect. MediaConnect is a reliable and secure video transport service. MediaConnect supports RTP, RTP+FEC, RIST, and the Zixi protocols for securely distributing your content globally. 

Can I also migrate my Conditional Access (CA) system to AWS?

With custom integration, some CA systems can be migrated to handle encryption processing within AWS. In many cases, you may simply choose to use the CA system already located in your uplink location, encrypting video streams just before they are distributed via satellite or other distribution network. In addition, if you are distributing your content with entitlements in AWS Elemental MediaConnect, you can use SPEKE (Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange) for key exchange. SPEKE is an open API specification that streamlines the way supported CAS systems integrate with MediaConnect. You can encrypt the Statmux for MediaLive video that is shared using entitlements and control the permissions of content sent to your distribution partners. This enables you to build complex workflows with more granular and sophisticated conditional rights management, including time-based access, black-outs, and many other rules-based requirements. 

Pricing

For pricing information about Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive, visit https://aws.amazon.com/medialive/pricing/  

Documentation

For documentation about Statmux for AWS Elemental MediaLive, visit the MediaLive documentation pages.