Coinbase_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Coinbase 案例研究

2015 年

Coinbase 是一家发展中的比特币钱包和交易服务提供商,总部位于旧金山,是世界上最大的消费者比特币钱包,也是美国首个规范的比特币交易所。比特币是一种以电子方式创建和存储的数字货币形式。该公司支持 300 万全球用户,促进了 190 个国家/地区的比特币交易,以及 26 个国家/地区的比特币和固定货币交易。除了钱包和兑换服务外,Coinbase 还提供 API,开发人员和商家可用于构建应用程序和接收比特币付款。

开始 python 教程
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

在三年内,我们的比特币钱包基数从 0 增长到超过 300 万。通过提供快速的全球钱包服务,我们得以推动这种增长,但如果没有 AWS 这将很难实现。”

Rob Witoff
Coinbase 总监

挑战

自 2012 年成立以来,Coinbase 已迅速成为比特币交易领域的领导者。该公司在准备应对客户对比特币交易不断增长的需求时,意识自己需要投资于正确的底层技术。“我们现在正处于使这种货币合法化并将其推向大众的阶段”,Coinbase 总监 Rob Witoff 说。“作为其中的一部分,我们的核心原则是安全性、可扩展性和可用性。”

Witoff 表示,安全性是这些原则中最重要的部分。“我们为客户控制了数亿美元的比特币,这使得我们成为业内比特币储备量最大的提供商,”Witoff 说。“正如传统银行会严格保护客户在实体银行保险库中的资产一样,我们会利用服务器采取安全性相同甚至更高的保护措施。”

可扩展性也至关重要,因为 Coinbase 需要能够在不消耗宝贵的工程资源的情况下在全球范围内弹性扩展其服务。“作为一家初创公司,我们对于在哪些方面投入时间格外注意,”Witoff 说。“我们希望将重点放在客户如何与我们的产品和我们提供的服务进行互动上。我们不想为已经得到解决的基础设施重新设计解决方案。” Coinbase 还致力于为开发人员提供更多时间进行创新。“我们拥有富有创造力、勇于挑战极限的工程师,他们通过创新的新服务推动我们的初创公司不断向前发展,在不影响安全性的前提下为客户提供愉快的体验,”Witoff 说。“这就是我们需要就我们知道将成功的事情进行交流的原因。”

此外,Coinbase 寻求更好的数据分析解决方案。“基础设施的顶部到底部会生成大量数据,传统上这些数据将存储在远程且过时的仓库中。但我们越来越关注采用新技术,而不会失去可靠、可信赖的核心,”Witoff 说。“与此同时,我们希望尽可能实时地了解我们服务的运行方式。”

为了支持其目标,Coinbase 决定在云中部署其新的比特币交易平台。“我在 2014 年刚加入 Coinbase 时,这家公司由很多第三方托管服务提供商引导,”Witoff 说。“但由于我们是在计算机上管理实际价值和真实资产,我们需要完全控制我们的环境。”

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

Coinbase 在 2014 年底对多家云技术提供商进行了评估,但对 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 最有信心。Witoff 曾在 NASA 的喷气推进实验室任职,有过在 AWS 上运行安全和敏感型工作负载的经验。基于此,Witoff 表示他“信任设计合理的 AWS 云。”

该公司开始使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 设计新的 Coinbase Exchange,IAM 可以安全地控制对 AWS 服务的访问。“云计算提供可用于各种情况的 API,包括意外破坏公司,”Witoff 说。“我们认为,如果能够确保安全性和 Identity and Access Management 配置正确,我们的工程师就能在透明且值得信任的办公环境下专注于产品开发,这也是我们利用 AWS IAM 实施可审核自助式安全基础的原因。” 该交易平台在 AWS 上的 Coinbase 生产环境中运行,由定制的事务数据引擎以及 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 实例和 PostgreSQL 数据库提供支持。Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例也为交易提供支持。

该组织通过在多个 AWS 可用区中本地分发其应用程序,为全球客户提供可靠的钱包和交易交付。

Coinbase 在 AWS 创建了流数据洞察管道,由 Amazon Kinesis 托管的大数据处理服务进行实时交易分析。“我们所有的运营分析都会实时传输到 Kinesis,然后发送到我们的分析引擎,以便工程师可以从数据中搜索、查询和查找趋势,”Witoff 说。“我们还将 Kinesis 中的数据转移到单独的灾难恢复环境中。” Coinbase 还将洞察管道与 AWS CloudTrail 日志文件集成,后者将发送到 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶,然后发送到 AWS Lambda 计算服务,然后根据 Docker 映像存储到 Kinesis 容器。这为 Coinbase 在整个 IT 环境中提供了完整、透明和可索引的审计日志。

每天,大约有 10 亿个事件(1TB 数据)通过该路径传输。“只要我们的安全组或网络访问控制被修改,我们就会实时收到警报,因此我们可以全面了解整个交易平台所发生的一切,”Witoff 说。对于其他大数据分析,Coinbase 使用 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR)(一种使用 Hadoop 开源框架处理数据的 Web 服务)以及 Amazon Redshift(一种托管的 PB 级数据仓库)。“我们使用 Amazon EMR 将我们不断增长的数据库处理为结构化、可指导行动的 Redshift 数据,这些数据可以告诉我们公司的运转情况并为接下来的行动做出指导,”Witoff 说。

该公司的所有网络都通过 AWS CloudFormation 模板进行设计、构建和维护。“它为我们提供了大量针对网络的版本控制功能,并允许进行无缝、精确的网络复制来实现按需开发和模拟环境。”Witoff 说道。Coinbase 还使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 终端节点来优化 Amazon S3 的吞吐量,并使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 为全球员工预置基于云的桌面。“随着在全球范围内扩展我们的服务,我们也会扩展我们的团队。我们依靠 Amazon WorkSpaces,为承包商提供对我们网络适当分片的按需访问,”Witoff 说。

Coinbase 于2015 年 2 月在 AWS 上推出了美国 Coinbase Exchange,并在最近将服务扩展到了欧洲。

优势

Coinbase 能够使用 AWS 安全地存储客户的资金。“我认为 Amazon 的云就像我们自己的私有云,如果我们在云中部署了一些内容,我相信只有我的员工和管理员可以访问那些资产,”Witoff 说。“此外,安全地存储比特币仍然是我们的主要关注领域,这有助于我们赢得全球消费者的信任。AWS 不仅没有使用我们的资源来复制挑战已得到解决的新数据中心,并保护它的安全,还让我们能够提高自己的核心竞争力之一:安全地存储私钥。”

Coinbase 还依靠 AWS 快速扩大其客户群。“在三年内,我们的比特币钱包基数从 0 增长到超过 300 万。通过提供快速的全球钱包服务,我们得以推动这种增长,但如果没有 AWS 这将很难实现,”Witoff 说。

此外,该公司通过洞察管道可以更好地了解其业务。“使用 Kinesis 作为我们的洞察管道,我们可以为工程团队提供分析见解,而不必强迫他们跳过复杂的环路来遍历我们的信息,”Witoff 说。“他们可以使用该管道,轻松查看有关 Coinbase Exchange 运转情况的所有元数据。” 由于 Kinesis 提供一对多的分析交付方法,因此 Coinbase 可以在其主数据库以及新的实验数据存储中收集指标。“因此,我们可以跟上数据科学和数据分析领域最新、最强大、最令人兴奋的工具的发展速度,而不必对未经证实的技术承担过多的风险,”Witoff 说。

作为一家从第一天开始便在中建立比特币交易平台的初创公司,Coinbase 具有比在内部创建交易平台更高的灵活性。“从我们核心的云开始,我们已经能够在其他人害怕的地方快速行动,”Witoff 说。“发展我们的网络拓扑,在全球范围内扩展,以及部署新的服务绝不仅仅是一些行动。这使我们能够花更多的时间来思考我们想要做什么,而不是我们能够做什么。” 这种敏捷性有助于 Coinbase 满足快速增长的业务需求。“我们的交易平台处于超高增长模式,我们正在全球范围内进行扩展,”Witoff 说。“对于我们推出服务的每个新国家/地区,我们都能够按地理位置进行扩展,只需按一下按钮就可以启动更多机器来支持更多用户。”

通过使用 AWS,Coinbase 可以更加专注于创新。“我们相信 AWS 可以管理我们堆栈的最低层,这样我在晚上就可以安心睡觉,”Witoff 说。“当我们进入更高层次的堆栈时(例如,凭借我们的洞察管道),我们能够在业务上达到新的高度,因此我们可以专注于针对未来的金融进行创新。”


关于 Coinbase

Coinbase 是一家发展中的比特币钱包和交易服务提供商,总部位于旧金山,是世界上最大的消费者比特币钱包,也是美国首个规范的比特币交易所。

AWS 的优势

  • 每天轻松地处理 1 TB 数据
  • 一对多分析交付可轻松地查看性能元数据
  • 能够通过触摸按钮在全球扩展  

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »

Amazon EMR

Amazon EMR 是业界领先的原生云大数据平台,允许团队快速处理海量数据,并且具有规模成本效益。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

AWS Lambda

通过 AWS Lambda,无需预置或管理服务器即可运行代码。您只需按使用的计算时间付费 – 代码未运行时不产生费用。

了解更多 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 »

AWS Identity and Access Management

AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 使您能够安全地管理对 AWS 服务和资源的访问。

了解更多 »

Amazon Kinesis

Amazon Kinesis 可让您轻松收集、处理和分析实时流数据,以便您及时获得见解并对新信息快速做出响应。

了解更多 »

AWS CloudTrail

AWS CloudTrail 是一项支持对您的 AWS 账户进行监管、合规性检查、操作审核和风险审核的服务。

了解更多 »


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Coinbasea growing bitcoin wallet and exchange service headquartered in San Francisco, is the largest consumer bitcoin wallet in the world and the first regulated bitcoin exchange in the United States. Bitcoin is a form of digital currency that is created and stored electronically. The company, which supports 3 million global users, facilitates bitcoin transactions in 190 countries and exchanges between bitcoin and flat currencies in 26 countries. In addition to its wallet and exchange services, Coinbase offers an API that developers and merchants can use to build applications and accept bitcoin payments.

Since its founding in 2012, Coinbase has quickly become the leader in bitcoin transactions. As it prepared to respond to ever-increasing customer demand for bitcoin transactions, the company knew it needed to invest in the right underlying technology. “We’re now in the phase of legitimizing this currency and bringing it to the masses,” says Rob Witoff , director at Coinbase . “As part of that, our core tenets are security, scalability, and availability.”

Security is the most important of those tenets, according to Witoff . “We control hundreds of millions of dollars of bitcoin for our customers, placing us among the largest reserves in our industry,” says Witoff . “Just as a traditional bank would heavily guard its customers’ assets inside a physical bank vault, we take the same or greater precautions with our servers.”

Scalability is also critical because Coinbase needs to be able to elastically scale its services globally without consuming precious engineering resources. “As a startup, we’re meticulous about where we invest our time,” says Witoff . “We want to focus on how our customers interact with our product and the services we’re offering. We don’t want to reinvent solutions to already-solved foundational infrastructure.” Coinbase also strives to give its developers more time to focus on innovation. “We have creative, envelope-pushing engineers who are driving our startup with innovative new services that balance a delightful experience with uncompromising security,” says Witoff . “That’s why we need to have our exchange on something we know will work.”

Additionally, Coinbase sought a better data analytics solution. “We generate massive amounts of data from the top to the bottom of our infrastructure that would traditionally be stored in a remote and dated warehouse. But we’ve increasingly focused on adopting new technologies without losing a reliable, trusted core,” says Witoff . “At the same time, we wanted the best possible real-time insight into how our services are running.”

To support its goals, Coinbase decided to deploy its new bitcoin exchange in the cloud. “When I joined Coinbase in 2014, the company was bootstrapped by quite a few third-party hosting providers,” says Witoff . “But because we’re managing actual value and real assets on our machines, we needed to have complete control over our environment.”

Coinbase evaluated different cloud technology vendors in late 2014, but it was most confident in Amazon Web Services (AWS). In his previous role at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Witoff gained experience running secure and sensitive workloads on AWS. Based on this, Witoff says he “came to trust a properly designed AWS cloud.”

The company began designing the new Coinbase Exchange by using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM), which securely controls access to AWS services. “Cloud computing provides an API for everything, including accidentally destroying the company,” says Witoff . “We think security and identity and access management done correctly can empower our engineers to focus on products within clear and trusted walls, and that’s why we implemented an auditable self-service security foundation with AWS IAM.” The exchange runs inside the Coinbase production environment on AWS, powered by a custom-built transactional data engine alongside Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) instances and PostgreSQL databases. Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances also power the exchange.

The organization provides reliable delivery of its wallet and exchange to global customers by distributing its applications natively across multiple AWS Availability Zones.

Coinbase created a streaming data insight pipeline in AWS, with real-time exchange analytics processed by an Amazon Kinesis managed big-data processing service. “All of our operations analytics are piped into Kinesis in real time and then sent to our analytics engine so engineers can search, query, and find trends from the data,” Witoff says. “We also take that data from Kinesis into a separate disaster recovery environment.” Coinbase also integrates the insight pipeline with AWS CloudTrail log files, which are sent to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets, then to the AWS Lambda compute service, and on to Kinesis containers based on Docker images. This gives Coinbase complete, transparent, and indexed audit logs across its entire IT environment.

Every day, 1 TB of data—about 1 billion events—flows through that path. “Whenever our security groups or network access controls are modified, we see alerts in real time, so we get full insight into everything happening across the exchange,” says Witoff . For additional big-data insight, Coinbase uses Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR), a web service that uses the Hadoop open-source framework to process data, and Amazon Redshift, a managed petabyte-scale data warehouse. “We use Amazon EMR to crunch our growing databases into structured, actionable Redshift data that tells us how our company is performing and where to steer our ship next,” says Witoff .

All of the company’s networks are designed, built, and maintained through AWS CloudFormation templates. “This gives us the luxury of version-controlling our network, and it allows for seamless, exact network duplication for on-demand development and staging environments,” says Witoff . Coinbase also uses Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) endpoints to optimize throughput to Amazon S3, and Amazon WorkSpaces to provision cloud-based desktops for global workers. “As we scale our services around the world, we also scale our team. We rely on Amazon WorkSpaces for on-demand access by our contractors to appropriate slices of our network,” Witoff says.

Coinbase launched the U.S. Coinbase Exchange on AWS in February 2015, and recently expanded to serve European users.

Coinbase is able to securely store its customers’ funds using AWS. “I consider Amazon’s cloud to be our own private cloud, and when we deploy something there, I trust that my staff and administrators are the only people who have access to those assets,” says Witoff . “Also, securely storing bitcoin remains a major focus area for us that has helped us gain the trust of consumers across the world. Rather than spending our resources replicating and securing a new data center with solved challenges, AWS has allowed us to hone in on one of our core competencies: securely storing private keys.”

Coinbase has also relied on AWS to quickly grow its customer base. “In three years, our bitcoin wallet base has grown from zero to more than 3 million. We’ve been able to drive that growth by providing a fast, global wallet service, which would not be possible without AWS,” says Witoff .

Additionally, the company has better visibility into its business with its insight pipeline. “Using Kinesis for our insight pipeline, we can provide analytical insights to our engineering team without forcing them to jump through complex hoops to traverse our information,” says Witoff . “They can use the pipeline to easily view all the metadata about how the Coinbase Exchange is performing.” And because Kinesis provides a one-to-many analytics delivery method, Coinbase can collect metrics in its primary database as well as through new, experimental data stores. “As a result, we can keep up to speed with the latest, greatest, most exciting tools in the data science and data analytics space without having to take undue risk on unproven technologies,” says Witoff .

As a startup company that built its bitcoin exchange in the cloud from day one, Coinbase has more agility than it would have had if it created the exchange internally. “By starting with the cloud at our core, we’ve been able to move fast where others dread,” says Witoff . “Evolving our network topology, scaling across the globe, and deploying new services are never more than a few actions away. This empowers us to spend more time thinking about what we want to do instead of what we’re able to do.” That agility is helping Coinbase meet the demands of fast business growth. “Our exchange is in hyper-growth mode, and we’re in the process of scaling it all across the world,” says Witoff . “For each new country we bring on board, we are able to scale geographically and at the touch of a button launch more machines to support more users.”

By using AWS, Coinbase can concentrate even more on innovation. “We trust AWS to manage the lowest layers of our stack, which helps me sleep at night,” says Witoff . “And as we go higher up into that stack—for example, with our insight pipeline—we are able to reach new heights as a business, so we can focus on innovating for the future of finance.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you manage your website, visit our Websites and Website details page: http://aws.amazon.com/websites.