“利用 AWS 支持的 Spacepods,我们现在能够在短短五分钟内就启动环境,而不必以月为单位来制定计划。这意味着我们能够更快地进行创新。”

 

Tommy McClung TrueCar 首席技术官

TrueCar 是一个数字汽车市场,能够提供全面而透明的他人购车价格,同时让消费者能够接触 TrueCar 认证经销商,从而享受卓越的购车体验。TrueCar 总部设在加州圣莫尼卡,拥有自己的品牌网站,其覆盖全美的 14000 多家认证经销商网络也为美国一些最大的会员和服务机构提供购车服务,其中包括 USAA、AARP、American Express、AAA 和 Sam's Club。超过一半的新车购买者在购买过程中使用 TrueCar 网络。

在经历快速增长的同时,TrueCar 必须确保其技术基础设施能够适应业务的变化,同时继续为消费者、经销商和合作伙伴提供价值。这意味着 TrueCar 需要调整处理能力以便对购车量的季节性变化、让自己的软件工程师能够快速开发产品,并让公司的每个人都能做出基于数据的决策,同时保持对成本的控制。

“我们以前在内部数据中心运行许多关键应用程序,而那种环境中的硬件跟不上业务的发展”,TrueCar 首席技术官 Tommy McClung 表示,“另外,我们的运营团队相对较小,管理着数据中心内的数千台虚拟服务器。随着我们改进面向消费者的产品、签下更多合作伙伴、产生更多在线数据源并在网络中增加更多经销商,情况变得更加困难。”

对于 TrueCar 来说,迁移到云是应对业务挑战的最可取的解决方案。“我们不断看到越来越多的公司成功地将关键应用程序迁移到云上,所以知道自己也应该这样做”,McClung 表示。评估了几家云服务提供商之后,TrueCar 选择全面采用 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“AWS是这个领域的领导者,可以提供我们运行应用程序和经营公司所需的所有服务。我们的选择非常明确”,McClung 表示。

AWS 将 TrueCar 介绍给了 CorpInfo,这是一家 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 核心级咨询合作伙伴,拥有多项 AWS 能力,包括 AWS 迁移AWS 开发运营能力。“我们需要外部专家来帮助我们构建我们需要的云平台,而 CorpInfo 是正确的选择”,McClung 说。CorpInfo 与 TrueCar 合作,共同选择最适合每种使用场景和工作负载的 AWS 服务。

TrueCar 利用 AWS Direct Connect 来连接在 AWS 上运行的新应用程序服务器和在数据中心内运行的原有服务。二手车购买应用程序由 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例提供支持,汽车图像存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶中,通过 Amazon CloudFront 呈现给访问者。

TrueCar 使用 Amazon Kinesis Streams 收集和处理日志数据,使用 Amazon Kinesis Firehose 将日志消息加载到 S3 中进行永久存储。TrueCar 正在将所有的业务分析和报告数据迁移到 Amazon Redshift 数据仓库中。

该公司还建立了名为“Spacepods”的内部开发与测试平台。 用于自主开发的容器作为 Docker 容器来管理,由 Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS) 这种可扩展的容器管理服务和 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 提供支持。TrueCar 的软件工程师可以创建一个 Pod 来快速预置完整的 AWS 环境,用于试验新功能。“Pod 中包含开发人员开发应用程序所需的所有 AWS 资源,与生产环境完全相同”,Giffin 表示。

TrueCar 将数千台虚拟机从其数据中心迁移到 AWS,力求最大限度地减少或消除硬件管理需求。“尽管我们的运营团队规模很小,但我们希望依靠 AWS 来跟上我们的增长步伐”,McClung 表示。

他们的开发和测试环境也为工程师提供了快速测试想法的灵活性。“我们不再受到购买和安装硬件的周期的限制”,McClung 表示,“利用 AWS 支持的 Spacepods,我们现在能够在短短五分钟内就启动环境,而不必以月为单位来制定计划。这意味着我们能够更快地进行创新。”

该公司灵活的新型开发和测试环境也改变了运营工程师和应用程序工程师的工作方式。“以前,工作都是孤立的。我们的基础设施团队专注于后端,而我们的应用程序团队专注于软件”,Giffin 表示,“而使用 AWS,我们现在有了一种基础设施即代码的方法,可以支持跨职能协作”。

600x400_CorpInfo_Logo

CorpInfo 是一家 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 核心级咨询合作伙伴,总部设在加州圣莫尼卡,提供云咨询、基础设施解决方案和托管服务。作为一家领先的技术公司,CorpInfo 的专长是将业务关键型系统迁移到 AWS 上,让客户获得新价值和新能力。该公司通过创造性的思考来解决特定挑战,同时为未来的增长和灵活性奠定基础,从而优化 IT 投资的价值。

要详细了解 CorpInfo 如何帮助您的公司构建和管理 AWS 环境,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 CorpInfo 清单或访问 CorpInfo 网站。 

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您寻找最适合您的工作负载的解决方案,请访问我们的详细信息页面:https://aws.amazon.com/

“Instead of having to plan around a timeframe measured in months, we now use our AWS-powered Spacepods to spin up environments in as little as five minutes. This means we can innovate much more quickly.”

 

Tommy McClung Chief Technology Officer, TrueCar

TrueCar is a digital automotive marketplace that provides comprehensive pricing transparency about what other people paid for their cars while enabling consumers to engage with TrueCar Certified Dealers who are committed to providing a superior purchase experience. TrueCar, based in Santa Monica, California, operates its own branded site, and its nationwide network of more than 14,000 certified dealers also powers car-buying programs for some of the largest U.S. membership and service organizations, including USAA, AARP, American Express, AAA, and Sam's Club. More than half of all new car buyers engage with the TrueCar network during their purchasing process.

While experiencing rapid growth, TrueCar had to ensure that its technology infrastructure could adapt to changes in the business while continuing to deliver value for consumers, dealers, and partners. This meant, among other things, that it needed to be able to adjust capacity to handle seasonality in car buying, empower its software engineers to develop products rapidly, and enable data-driven decision making by everyone in the company—all while keeping costs under control.

“We were running many of our key applications in internal data centers, and the hardware in that environment wasn’t keeping pace with the business,” says Tommy McClung, chief technology officer for TrueCar. “Also, we have a relatively small operations team managing thousands of virtual servers in our data centers. That was getting more difficult to do as we enhanced our consumer-facing products, signed up more partners, brought more data sources online, and added more dealers to the network.”

For TrueCar, moving to the cloud was the most obvious solution to its business challenges. “We continued to see more companies successfully migrating key applications to the cloud, and we knew it was the right time for us to do it,” McClung says. After evaluating several cloud providers, TrueCar made the choice to go all in on Amazon Web Services (AWS). “AWS is the category leader, and it had all the services we need to run our application and our company. The choice was very clear for us,” says McClung.

AWS introduced TrueCar to CorpInfo, a Premier AWS Partner Network (APN) Consulting Partner with multiple AWS Competencies, including the AWS Migration and AWS DevOps Competencies. “We needed outside experts to help us build the cloud platform we wanted, and CorpInfo was the right choice,” says McClung. CorpInfo worked with TrueCar to adopt the AWS services best suited to each major use case and workload.

TrueCar leverages AWS Direct Connect to bridge the gap between new application servers running in AWS and legacy services running in the data center. The used car-buying application is powered by Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, with automobile images stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets and delivered to visitors with Amazon CloudFront.

TrueCar uses Amazon Kinesis Streams to collect and process log data, and Amazon Kinesis Firehose to load the log messages to S3 for permanent storage. TrueCar is migrating all of its business analytics and reporting to Amazon Redshift data warehouses.

The company also created internal development and test platform called “Spacepods.” These containers for self-service development are managed as Docker containers powered by Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS), a scalable container-management service, and by Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS). TrueCar software engineers can create a pod to quickly provision full AWS environments for experimenting with new features. “A pod contains all of the AWS resources necessary to power the application a developer is working on, and it’s a replica of what’s in production,” says Giffin.

By migrating thousands of virtual machines from its data center to AWS, TrueCar hopes to minimize or eliminate the need to manage hardware. “Even though our operations team is small, we expect to keep pace with our growth by relying on AWS,” says McClung.

Its development and test environments also give engineers the flexibility to quickly test ideas. “We are no longer as limited by turnaround time for buying and setting up hardware,” says McClung. “Instead of having to plan around a timeframe measured in months, we now use our AWS-powered Spacepods to spin up environments in as little as five minutes. This means we can innovate much more quickly.”

The company’s flexible new development and test environments have also transformed the way operations engineers and application engineers work. “Previously, things were siloed. Our infrastructure team focused on the back end, and our application team focused on software,” says Giffin. “Using AWS, we now have an infrastructure-as-code approach that enables cross-functional collaboration.”

600x400_CorpInfo_Logo

CorpInfo is an AWS Partner Network (APN) Premier Consulting Partner based in Santa Monica, California that provides cloud consulting, infrastructure solutions, and managed services. As a leading technology firm, CorpInfo specializes in migrating business-critical systems onto AWS to unlock new value and capabilities for customers. The company optimizes the value of IT investments by thinking creatively to solve specific challenges while laying the groundwork for future growth and flexibility.

For more information about how CorpInfo can help your company build and manage your AWS environment, see CorpInfo’s listing in the AWS Partner Directory or visit CorpInfo's website

To learn more about how AWS can help you find solutions best suited to your workloads, visit our details page: https://aws.amazon.com/.