一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Global Accelerator?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 是一种联网服务,可以帮助您提高为全球用户提供的应用程序的可用性和性能。AWS Global Accelerator 可以轻松设置、配置和管理。它可以提供静态 IP 地址,从而为您的应用程序提供固定的入口点,并消除了为不同 AWS 区域和可用区管理特定 IP 地址的复杂性。AWS Global Accelerator 始终根据性能将用户流量路由到最佳终端节点,即时针对应用程序运行状况、用户位置和您配置的策略的变化做出反应。您可以从自己的位置使用速度比较工具测试性能优势。与其他 AWS 服务一样,AWS Global Accelerator 也是一种按用量付费的自助服务,无需长期承诺或最低费用。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 可以用来做什么?

答:借助 AWS Global Accelerator,您可以:

  • 将 AWS Global Accelerator 提供的静态 IP 地址关联到区域性 AWS 资源或终端节点,例如网络负载均衡器、Application Load Balancer、EC2 实例和弹性 IP 地址。IP 地址是来自 AWS 边缘站点的任播地址,因此它们可以提供接近用户的 AWS 全球网络的引导流程。
  • 轻松在可用区或 AWS 区域之间移动终端节点,无需更新 DNS 配置或更改面向客户端的应用程序。
  • 通过为终端节点组配置流量调配百分比,为特定 AWS 区域调高或调低流量。这对于测试性能和发布更新而言,尤为有用。
  • 通过在终端节点之间分配权重来控制被引导至终端节点组内每个终端节点的流量比例。
 
问:AWS Global Accelerator 提供了哪些性能改进?
 
答:AWS Global Accelerator 利用 Amazon 全球网络,与公共互联网相比,可让您通过减少首字节延迟(数据包从客户端到终端节点并再次返回的往返时间)和抖动(延迟的变化)以及提高吞吐量(传输数据所需的时间)来提升应用程序的性能。对于由第三方实时用户测量工具在第 90 个百分位 (p90) 处测量的 TCP 流量,Global Accelerator 可将首字节延迟最多减少 49%,将抖动最多减少 58%,并将吞吐量提高高达 60%。招聘平台 Lever 发现...“仅仅是启用了 AWS Global Accelerator,一位跨国客户的平均端到端应用程序加载时间就缩短了 51.2%。” 通过构建由 Global Accelerator 管理的多区域架构, Skyscanner 能够...“将响应时间从 200 毫秒以上缩短到 4 毫秒以下,这使响应时间缩短了 98%。”
 
试用 速度比较工具,预览您所在位置能获得的性能提升!

问:现在,哪些地区部署有 AWS Global Accelerator?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 使用拥有 91 个节点的全球网络,它们位于 42 个国家/地区的 80 个城市。AWS Global Accelerator 边缘站点位于:

  • 北美:弗吉尼亚州阿什本(2 个);佐治亚州亚特兰大;马萨诸塞州波士顿;伊利诺伊州芝加哥;俄亥俄州哥伦布;得克萨斯州达拉斯/沃思堡;科罗拉多州丹佛;俄勒冈州希尔斯伯勒;得克萨斯州休斯顿;加利福尼亚州洛杉矶(2 个);佛罗里达州迈阿密;明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯;魁北克省蒙特利尔;纽约州纽约;新泽西州纽瓦克;宾夕法尼亚州费城;亚利桑那州菲尼克斯;墨西哥克雷塔罗;犹他州盐湖城;加利福尼亚州圣荷塞;华盛顿州西雅图(2 个);安大略省多伦多;不列颠哥伦比亚省温哥华
  • 欧洲:荷兰阿姆斯特丹;希腊雅典;德国柏林;比利时布鲁塞尔;罗马尼亚布加勒斯特;匈牙利布达佩;丹麦哥本哈根;爱尔兰都柏林;德国杜塞尔多夫;德国法兰克福(2 个);德国汉堡;芬兰赫尔辛基;葡萄牙里斯本;英国伦敦(2 个);西班牙马德里;英国曼彻斯特;法国马赛;意大利米兰;德国慕尼黑;挪威奥斯陆;意大利巴勒莫;法国巴黎;捷克共和国布拉格;意大利罗马;保加利亚索非亚;瑞典斯德哥尔摩;奥地利维也纳;波兰华沙;瑞士苏黎世;奥地利维也纳
  • 亚洲:印度班加罗尔;印度金奈;中国香港(2 个);印度海德拉巴;印度加尔各答;马来西亚吉隆坡;印度孟买;印度新德里;日本大阪;韩国首尔(2 个);新加坡(2 个);中国台湾台北(2 个);日本东京
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰:新西兰奥克兰;澳大利亚墨尔本;澳大利亚珀斯;澳大利亚悉尼
  • 南美洲:哥伦比亚波哥大;阿根廷布宜诺斯艾利斯;巴西里约热内卢;智利圣地亚哥;巴西圣保罗(2 个)
  • 中东:阿拉伯联合酋长国迪拜;阿拉伯联合酋长国富查伊拉;巴林麦纳麦;以色列特拉维夫
  • 非洲:南非开普敦;南非约翰内斯堡;肯尼亚内罗毕

问:如何开始使用 AWS Global Accelerator?

答:您可以使用 API 或通过 AWS 管理控制台开始设置 AWS Global Accelerator,也可以使用 AWS CloudFormation 模板进行设置。AWS Global Accelerator 是一项全球服务,因此它不与任何特定 AWS 区域绑定。以下是为您的应用程序设置 AWS Global Accelerator 的三个简单步骤:

  1. 创建加速器:在创建加速器时,AWS Global Accelerator 会为它预置两个静态 IP 地址。然后,根据您指定的协议和端口,配置一个或多个侦听器来处理从终端客户端到加速器的入站连接。
  2. 配置终端节点组:通过指定要将流量分配到的 AWS 区域,选择一个或多个区域终端节点组来与加速器的侦听器相关联。侦听器将请求路由到此终端节点组中已注册的终端节点。AWS Global Accelerator 使用为每个终端节点定义的运行状况检查设置监控组内终端节点的运行状况。您可以为每个终端节点组配置流量调配百分比,从而控制终端节点组接受的流量。默认情况下,所有区域终端节点组的流量调配都设置为 100%。
  3. 为终端节点组注册终端节点:您可以在每个终端节点组中注册一个或多个区域资源,比如 Application Load Balancer、网络负载均衡器、EC2 实例或弹性 IP 地址。然后,您可以设置权重,以选择路由到每个终端节点的流量。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 与 Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) 如何配合使用?

答:这两种服务都可以解决将用户请求路由到运行状况良好的应用程序终端节点的难题。AWS Global Accelerator 依靠 ELB 提供传统的负载均衡功能,比如支持内部终端节点和非 AWS 终端节点、预热和第 7 层路由。不过,ELB 在一个区域内提供负载均衡,AWS Global Accelerator 却可以跨多个区域提供流量管理。

区域 ELB 负载均衡器是 AWS Global Accelerator 的理想目标。通过使用区域 ELB 负载均衡器,您可以在 AWS 区域内跨后端(比如 Amazon EC2 实例或 Amazon ECS 任务)精确分配传入应用程序流量。AWS Global Accelerator 将这些功能扩展至超越单个 AWS 区域,对 ELB 起到了补充作用,让您可以为任意数量区域中的应用程序预置全球接口。如果您的工作负载需要满足全球客户群的要求,我们建议您使用 AWS Global Accelerator。如果您将工作负载托管在单个 AWS 区域中并由同一区域内和周围的客户端使用,则可以使用 Application Load Balancer 或网络负载均衡器来管理资源。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 与 Amazon CloudFront 有何不同?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 和 Amazon CloudFront 是相互独立的服务,都使用 AWS 全球网络及其遍布世界各地的边缘站点。CloudFront 能提高可缓存内容(如图像和视频)和动态内容(如 API 加速和动态站点交付)的性能。Global Accelerator 可通过在一个或多个 AWS 区域中运行的应用程序的边缘为数据包提供代理,提高 TCP 或 UDP 上的各种应用程序的性能。Global Accelerator 非常适合非 HTTP 使用案例,例如游戏 (UDP)、IoT (MQTT) 或 IP 语音,也非常适合特别要求静态 IP 地址或决定性的快速区域故障转移的 HTTP 使用案例。两种服务均与 AWS Shield 集成以提供 DDoS 保护。

问:可以将 AWS Global Accelerator 用于我的本地服务吗?

答:您无法直接将本地资源配置为静态 IP 地址的终端节点,但可以在每个 AWS 区域中配置 Network Load Balancer (NLB) 来寻址您的本地终端节点。然后,您可以将这些 NLB 注册为您的 AWS Global Accelerator 配置中的终端节点。

优势

问:AWS Global Accelerator 可提供哪些优势?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 包括以下优势:

即时区域故障转移:AWS Global Accelerator 会自动检查应用程序的运行状况,并仅将用户流量路由到运行状况良好的应用程序终端节点。如果运行状况发生变化或您进行配置更新,AWS Global Accelerator 会立即做出反应,将您的用户路由到下一个可用终端节点。

高可用性:AWS Global Accelerator 采用故障隔离设计,可提高应用程序的可用性。您创建加速器时,将为您分配两个由独立网络区域提供服务的 IPv4 静态 IP 地址。类似于可用区,这些网络区域是隔离的单元,具有自己的物理基础设施和来自唯一 IP 子网的服务静态 IP 地址。如果由于 IP 地址封锁或无法访问的网络而导致一个静态 IP 地址变得不可用,AWS Global Accelerator 会重新路由到其他隔离网络区域内运行状况良好的静态 IP 地址,以此为客户端应用程序提供容错功能。

缓存 IP 地址的客户端周围无变量:部分客户端设备和互联网解析程序会将 DNS 回答缓存较长时间。因此,在您进行配置更新时,或者发生应用程序故障或您的路由首选项发生变化时,您不知道需要花费多长时间才能让所有用户收到更新后的 IP 地址。使用 AWS Global Accelerator,您无需依赖客户端设备的 IP 地址缓存设置。更改传播只需要几秒钟,这缩短了应用程序停机时间。

经过提升的性能:AWS Global Accelerator 通过任播静态 IP 地址从最靠近终端客户端的边缘站点中获取流量。这些流量流经无封锁且冗余的 AWS 全球网络,从而能优化通向您在 AWS 区域中运行的应用程序的路径。AWS Global Accelerator 根据终端客户端的地理位置选择最佳 AWS 区域,从而能减少首字节延迟并将性能提升高达 60%。

易管理性:AWS Global Accelerator 提供的静态 IP 地址是固定的,为您的应用程序提供单一入口点。这让您可以轻松在可用区或 AWS 区域之间移动终端节点,而不必更新 DNS 配置或面向客户端的应用程序。使用案例包括 A/B 测试、应用程序更新和故障转移模拟。企业代理还可以将您应用程序的静态 IP 地址列入他们防火墙中的白名单。

精细控制:AWS Global Accelerator 允许您为区域终端节点组设置流量调配,让您在执行性能测试或应用程序更新时为特定 AWS 区域调高或调低流量。此外,如果您使用有状态应用程序,您可以选择将来自用户的所有请求定向到同一终端节点,而不考虑源端口和协议,从而保持客户端关联。这些功能可以让您实现精细控制。

问:我只在单一 AWS 区域内运营。我能从 AWS Global Accelerator 获得任何优势吗?

答:能。虽然您可能不想使用 AWS Global Accelerator 的智能流量路由功能,但使用静态 IP 地址也有众多好处。首先,通过使用这些地址,您可以将用户流量载入尽可能靠近该用户的 AWS 全球网络,从而提高面向用户的服务质量 (QoS)。通常来讲,流量必须在公共互联网中进行多次跳跃,经过可能堵塞且无冗余的网络路径,然后才能抵达目标 AWS 区域。借助 AWS Global Accelerator,您可以利用 AWS 全球冗余网络帮助提高应用程序可用性和性能。其次,您可以自由地在 AWS 区域之间轻松移动应用程序,而无需更改公共接口。这意味着您可以安心计划未来,因为您知道如果需求发生变化,您可以轻松迁移或添加其他 AWS 区域,而无需担心用户将如何连接到您的应用程序。

高可用性

问:AWS Global Accelerator 如何让我轻松迁移到多区域设置?

答:您希望在多个 AWS 区域中运行应用程序,可能是为了实现区域冗余,并通过在更靠近用户的位置运行应用程序来提高性能。通过在应用程序与客户端之间提供网络层,AWS Global Accelerator 可执行运行状况检查,然后自动绕过故障终端节点路由流量,而无需中断客户端。这样可以平稳关闭和启动新终端节点,在确保将互联网流量路由到最近的可用终端节点的同时,为用户提供更高的可用性和性能。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 如何帮助支持多区域故障转移?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 为您提供一组静态 IP 地址,这些地址可以映射到 AWS 区域中的多个应用程序终端节点,从而能提高冗余。如果特定 AWS 区域中的应用程序发生故障,AWS Global Accelerator 会自动检测运行状况不佳的终端节点并将流量重定向到下一个最佳 AWS 区域,从而确保高可用性和灾难恢复。

问:我的应用程序能够以多快的速度在 AWS 区域之间进行故障转移?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 可以检测到运行状况不佳的终端节点,并在不到 1 分钟的时间内将其暂停。

合规性

问:AWS Global Accelerator 支持哪些合规性认证?

答:借助 AWS Global Accelerator 认证,您可以更轻松地验证我们的高安全标准并履行您自己的法规和合规性义务。AWS Global Accelerator 已经过评估,除了符合 HIPAA 以外,它还符合 PCI DSS、ISO 900127001270172701827018SOC(系统和组织控制)。

自带 IP

问:我可以对 Global Accelerator 使用自己的 IP 地址吗?

答:您可以对 AWS Global Accelerator 使用自己的 IP 地址 (BYOIP),这使您能够将自己的 IP 地址用作应用程序终端节点的固定入口点。这允许您将已硬编码 IP 地址依赖项的本地应用程序迁移到 AWS,而无需进行任何面向客户端的更改。例如,在要求允许列出 IP 地址范围的监管环境中,这是很有帮助的。使用您自己的 IP 地址的加速器与使用 Amazon 提供的 IP 地址的加速器的工作方式完全相同。有关更多详细信息,请阅读文档

问:我是否既可以通过 Global Accelerator,也可以通过 Amazon EC2 从 AWS 区域公布 IPv4 池?

答:不可以,您只可以从其中一项服务公布 IPv4 池。

问:Global Accelerator 的静态 IP 地址与 EC2 Elastic IP 地址有何不同?

答:尽管 Global Accelerator 的 IP 地址和 EC2 Elastic IP 地址都是静态地址,但是两者间还是存在一些区别。第一点区别,Global Accelerator 的 IP 地址可与任意数量的 AWS 区域中的一个或多个终端节点(Application Load Balancer、Network Load Balancer 或 EC2 实例)关联。这支持您轻松地将应用程序扩展到多个可用区或 AWS 区域。另一方面,弹性 IP 绑定到单个 AWS 区域中的单个 AWS 资源,如负载均衡器或 EC2 实例。第二点区别,Global Accelerator 的 IP 地址仅支持客户端生成的连接,而弹性 IP 同时支持客户端生成的连接和服务器生成的连接。第三点区别,Global Accelerator 的 IP 地址是从边缘站点的 AWS 的广泛网络公布的。流量进入尽可能靠近用户的高性能且可用的 AWS 网络。弹性 IP一次只能从单个 AWS 区域发布。

问:我可以通过 BYOIP 引入多少个 IP 范围?

答:您最多可以将两个 IP 范围引入您的账户。

问:我可以通过 BYOIP 引入的最具体的前缀是什么?

答:通过 BYOIP,您能引入的最具体的地址范围为 /24。IP 地址的前 24 位指定了网络编号。例如,198.51.100 是 IP 地址 198.51.100.0 的网络编号。

问:我可以将哪些 RIR 前缀用于 BYOIP?

答:您可以使用 ARIN、RIPE 和 APNIC 注册的前缀。

问:我是否可将 Amazon 提供的弹性 IP 地址范围转换为 Global Accelerator IP 地址,然后在全球范围内公布?

答:不可以,您只能将自己拥有的 IP 地址范围引入 AWS Global Accelerator。这些范围将是您从互联网注册机构处购买的范围。

其他问题

问:AWS Global Accelerator 是否支持 IPv4 和 IPv6?

答:该服务目前支持 IPv4 地址。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 支持哪些协议?

答:AWS Global Accelerator 支持 TCP 和 UDP 协议。

问:AWS Global Accelerator 与基于 DNS 的流量管理解决方案有何不同?

答:首先,一些客户端设备和互联网解析程序会将 DNS 回答缓存较长时间。因此,在您进行配置更新时,或者发生应用程序故障或您的路由首选项发生变化时,您不知道需要花费多长时间才能让所有用户收到更新后的 IP 地址。使用 AWS Global Accelerator,您无需依赖客户端设备的 IP 地址缓存设置。更改传播只需要几秒钟,这缩短了应用程序停机时间。其次,使用 Global Accelerator,您可以获得静态 IP 地址,为您的应用程序提供固定的入口点。这让您可以轻松在可用区或 AWS 区域之间移动终端节点,而不必更新 DNS 配置或面向客户端的应用程序。

问:是否可以将 AWS Global Accelerator 与 AWS Direct Connect 搭配使用?

答:我们建议您不要通过 AWS Direct Connect 公有虚拟接口公布用于与 AWS Global Accelerator 通信的 IP 地址。Direct Connect 不会通过公有虚拟网络公布 Global Accelerator 的 IP 地址前缀。有关公有虚拟接口和 Direct Connect 的更多信息,请参阅使用公有虚拟接口

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
了解有关定价的更多信息

基于每小时费用和数据传输率的简单定价。

了解更多 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
开始在控制台中构建

开始在 AWS 控制台中使用 AWS Global Accelerator 进行构建。

开始使用

General

Q: What is AWS Global Accelerator?

A: AWS Global Accelerator is a networking service that helps you improve the availability and performance of the applications that you offer to your global users. AWS Global Accelerator is easy to set up, configure, and manage. It provides static IP addresses that provide a fixed entry point to your applications and eliminate the complexity of managing specific IP addresses for different AWS Regions and Availability Zones. AWS Global Accelerator always routes user traffic to the optimal endpoint based on performance, reacting instantly to changes in application health, your user’s location, and policies that you configure. You can test the performance benefits from your location with a speed comparison tool. Like other AWS services, AWS Global Accelerator is a self-service, pay-per-use offering, requiring no long term commitments or minimum fees.

Q: What can I do with AWS Global Accelerator?

A: By using AWS Global Accelerator, you can:

  • Associate the static IP addresses provided by AWS Global Accelerator to regional AWS resources or endpoints, such as Network Load Balancers, Application Load Balancers, EC2 Instances, and Elastic IP addresses. The IP addresses are anycast from AWS edge locations so they provide onboarding to the AWS global network close to your users.
  • Easily move endpoints between Availability Zones or AWS Regions without needing to update your DNS configuration or change client-facing applications.
  • Dial traffic up or down for a specific AWS Region by configuring a traffic dial percentage for your endpoint groups. This is especially useful for testing performance and releasing updates.
  • Control the proportion of traffic directed to each endpoint within an endpoint group by assigning weights across the endpoints.
 
Q. What performance improvement does AWS Global Accelerator provide?
 
A: AWS Global Accelerator utilizes the Amazon global network, allowing you to improve the performance of your applications by lowering first byte latency (the round trip time for a packet to go from a client to your endpoint and back again) and jitter (the variation of latency), and increasing throughput (the amount of time it takes to transfer data) as compared to the public internet. For TCP traffic as measured by third party real user measurement tools at the 90th percentile (p90), Global Accelerator decreases first byte latency by up to 49% and jitter by up to 58%, and improves throughput by up to 60%. Lever, a recruiting platform, found that…“simply by enabling AWS Global Accelerator, one multinational customer saw a 51.2 percent reduction in mean end-to-end app load times.” By building a multi-region architecture fronted by Global Accelerator, Skyscanner was able to "…decrease response time from more than 200 milliseconds to less than 4 milliseconds, a 98 percent improvement.“
 
Try the speed comparison tool to get a preview of the performance benefit from your location!

Q: Where is AWS Global Accelerator deployed today?

A: AWS Global Accelerator uses a global network of 80 Points of Presence in 70 cities across 37 countries. AWS Global Accelerator Edge locations are located in:

  • North America (20): Ashburn, VA (2); Atlanta, GA; Boston, MA; Chicago, IL; Columbus, OH; Dallas/Fort Worth, TX; Denver, CO; Hillsboro, OR; Houston, TX; Los Angeles, CA (2); Miami, FL; Minneapolis, MN; Montreal, QC; New York, NY; Newark, NJ; Philadelphia, PA; Phoenix, AZ; San Jose, CA; Seattle, WA (2); Toronto, ON
  • Europe (25): Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Athens, Greece; Berlin, Germany; Brussels, Belgium; Bucharest, Romania; Budapest, Hungary; Copenhagen, Denmark; Dublin, Ireland; Dusseldorf, Germany; Frankfurt, Germany (2); Hamburg, Germany; Helsinki, Finland; Lisbon, Portugal; London, UK (2); Madrid, Spain; Manchester, England; Marseille, France; Milan, Italy; Munich, Germany; Oslo, Norway; Palermo, Italy; Paris, France; Prague, Czech Republic; Sofia, Bulgaria; Stockholm, Sweden
  • Asia (11): Bangalore, India; Chennai, India; Hong Kong, China; Hyderabad, India; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Mumbai, India; New Delhi, India; Osaka, Japan; Seoul, South Korea (2); Singapore (2); Taipei, Taiwan (2); Tokyo, Japan
  • Australia (3): Melbourne; Perth; Sydney
  • South America (4): Bogota, Colombia; Buenos Aires, Argentina; Santiago, Chile; São Paulo, Brazil (2)
  • Middle East (4): Dubai, United Arab Emirates; Fujairah, United Arab Emirates; Manama, Bahrain; Tel Aviv, Israel
  • Africa (3): Cape Town, South Africa; Johannesburg, South Africa; Nairobi, Kenya

Q: How do I get started with AWS Global Accelerator?

A: You can get started with setting up AWS Global Accelerator by using the API or through the AWS Management Console or by using an AWS CloudFormation template. Because AWS Global Accelerator is a global service, it’s not tied to any specific AWS Region. Here are three easy steps to set up AWS Global Accelerator for your application:

  1. Create an accelerator: When you create your accelerator, AWS Global Accelerator provisions two static IP addresses for it. Then you configure one or more listeners to process inbound connections from end clients to your accelerator, based on the protocol and port that you specify.
  2. Configure endpoint groups: You choose one or more regional endpoint groups to associate to your accelerator’s listener by specifying the AWS Regions to which you want to distribute traffic. Your listener routes requests to the registered endpoints in this endpoint group. AWS Global Accelerator monitors the health of endpoints within the group using the health check settings defined for each endpoint. You can configure a traffic dial percentage for each endpoint group, which controls the amount of traffic that an endpoint group accepts. By default, the traffic dial is set to 100% for all regional endpoint groups.
  3. Register endpoints for endpoint groups: You register one or more regional resources, such as Application Load Balancers, Network Load Balancers, EC2 Instances, or Elastic IP addresses, in each endpoint group. Then you can set weights to choose how much traffic is routed to each endpoint.

Q: How does AWS Global Accelerator work together with Elastic Load Balancing (ELB)?

A: Both of these services solve the challenge of routing user requests to healthy application endpoints. AWS Global Accelerator relies on ELB to provide the traditional load balancing features such as support for internal and non-AWS endpoints, pre-warming, and Layer 7 routing. However, while ELB provides load balancing within one Region, AWS Global Accelerator provides traffic management across multiple Regions.

A regional ELB load balancer is an ideal target for AWS Global Accelerator. By using a regional ELB load balancer, you can precisely distribute incoming application traffic across backends, such as Amazon EC2 instances or Amazon ECS tasks, within an AWS Region. AWS Global Accelerator complements ELB by extending these capabilities beyond a single AWS Region, allowing you to provision a global interface for your applications in any number of Regions. If you have workloads that cater to a global client base, we recommend that you use AWS Global Accelerator. If you have workloads hosted in a single AWS Region and used by clients in and around the same Region, you can use an Application Load Balancer or Network Load Balancer to manage your resources.

Q: How is AWS Global Accelerator different from Amazon CloudFront?

A: AWS Global Accelerator and Amazon CloudFront are separate services that use the AWS global network and its edge locations around the world. CloudFront improves performance for both cacheable content (such as images and videos) and dynamic content (such as API acceleration and dynamic site delivery). Global Accelerator improves performance for a wide range of applications over TCP or UDP by proxying packets at the edge to applications running in one or more AWS Regions. Global Accelerator is a good fit for non-HTTP use cases, such as gaming (UDP), IoT (MQTT), or Voice over IP, as well as for HTTP use cases that specifically require static IP addresses or deterministic, fast regional failover. Both services integrate with AWS Shield for DDoS protection.

Q: Can I use AWS Global Accelerator for my on-premises services?

A: You can’t directly configure on-premises resources as endpoints for your static IP addresses, but you can configure a Network Load Balancer (NLB) in each AWS Region to address your on-premises endpoints. Then you can register the NLBs as endpoints in your AWS Global Accelerator configuration.

Benefits

Q: What benefits does AWS Global Accelerator provide?

A: AWS Global Accelerator includes the following benefits:

Instant regional failover: AWS Global Accelerator automatically checks the health of your applications and routes user traffic only to healthy application endpoints. If the health status changes or you make configuration updates, AWS Global Accelerator reacts instantaneously to route your users to the next available endpoint.

High availability: AWS Global Accelerator has a fault-isolating design that increases the availability of your application. When you create an accelerator, you are allocated two IPv4 static IP addresses that are serviced by independent network zones. Similar to Availability Zones, these network zones are isolated units with their own physical infrastructure and serve static IP addresses from a unique IP subnet. If one static IP address becomes unavailable due to IP address blocking or unreachable networks, AWS Global Accelerator provides fault tolerance to client applications by rerouting to a healthy static IP address from the other isolated network zone.

No variability around clients that cache IP addresses: Some client devices and internet resolvers cache DNS answers for long periods of time. So when you make a configuration update, or there’s an application failure or change in your routing preference, you don’t know how long it will take before all of your users receive updated IP addresses. With AWS Global Accelerator, you don’t have to rely on the IP address caching settings of client devices. Change propagation takes a matter of seconds, which reduces your application downtime.

Improved performance: AWS Global Accelerator ingresses traffic from the edge location that is closest to your end clients through anycast static IP addresses. Then traffic traverses the congestion-free and redundant AWS global network, which optimizes the path to your application that is running in an AWS Region. AWS Global Accelerator chooses the optimal AWS Region based on the geography of end clients, which reduces first-byte latency and improves performance by as much as 60%.

Easy manageability: The static IP addresses provided by AWS Global Accelerator are fixed and provide a single entry point to your applications. This lets you easily move your endpoints between Availability Zones or between AWS Regions, without having to update your DNS configuration or client-facing applications. Use cases include A/B testing, application updates, and failover simulations. Corporate proxies can also whitelist your application’s static IP addresses in their firewalls.

Fine-grained control: AWS Global Accelerator lets you set a traffic dial for your regional endpoint groups, to dial traffic up or down for a specific AWS Region when you conduct performance testing or application updates. In addition, if you have stateful applications, you can choose to direct all requests from a user to the same endpoint, regardless of the source port and protocol, to maintain client affinity. These features give you fine-grained control.

Q: I operate only in a single AWS Region. Can I get any benefit from AWS Global Accelerator?

A: Yes. While you might not want to use the intelligent traffic routing capabilities of AWS Global Accelerator, there are a number of advantages to using static IP addresses. First, by using these addresses, you increase the Quality of Service (QoS) for your users by onboarding their traffic onto the AWS global network as close to them as possible. Typically, traffic must take multiple hops through the public internet, over potentially congested and non-redundant network paths, to reach your destination AWS Region. With AWS Global Accelerator, you get to leverage the AWS globally redundant network to help improve your application availability and performance. Second, you have the freedom to easily move your application between AWS Regions without changing your public interface. This means that you can plan for the future, knowing that if your needs change, you can easily migrate or add additional AWS Regions without worrying about how your users will connect to your applications.

High availability

Q: How does AWS Global Accelerator make it easy to move to a multi-Region setup?

A: You may want to run your applications in multiple AWS Regions for regional redundancy and to improve performance by running your applications closer to your users. By providing a network layer between your application and clients, AWS Global Accelerator can perform health checks, and then automatically route traffic around failed endpoints, without disrupting clients. This graceful shutdown and startup of new endpoints improves availability and performance for your users while ensuring that internet traffic is routed to the closest available endpoint.

Q: How does AWS Global Accelerator help support multi-Region failover?

A: AWS Global Accelerator provides you with a set of static IP addresses that can map to multiple application endpoints across AWS Regions, to improve redundancy. If your application experiences failure in a specific AWS Region, AWS Global Accelerator automatically detects the unhealthy endpoints and redirects traffic to the next optimal AWS Region, ensuring high availability and disaster recovery.

Q: How fast will my application failover between AWS Regions?

A: AWS Global Accelerator can detect an unhealthy endpoint and take it out of service in less than one minute.

Compliance

Q: What compliance certifications does AWS Global Accelerator support?

A: AWS Global Accelerator certifications make it easier for you to verify our high security standards and meet your own regulatory and compliance obligations. It has been assessed to comply with PCI DSS, ISO 9001, 27001, 27017, 27018, 27018, and SOC (System & Organization Control), in addition to being HIPAA-eligible.

Additional questions

Q: Can I use my own IP addresses with Global Accelerator?

A: You can Bring Your Own IP address (BYOIP) to AWS Global Accelerator, which enables you to use your own IP addresses as a fixed entry point to your application endpoints. This allows you to move your on-premises applications that have hardcoded IP address dependencies to AWS, without making any client-facing changes. This is helpful for example in regulated environments that require whitelisting of IP address ranges. The accelerators that use your own IP addresses work exactly the same as your accelerators which use Amazon-provided IP addresses.

Q: Does AWS Global Accelerator support IPv4 and IPv6?

A: The service currently supports IPv4 addresses.

Q: What protocols does AWS Global Accelerator support?

A: AWS Global Accelerator supports both TCP and UDP protocols.

Q: How is AWS Global Accelerator different from a DNS-based traffic management solution?

A: First, some client devices and internet resolvers cache DNS answers for long periods of time. So when you make a configuration update, or there’s an application failure or change in your routing preference, you don’t know how long it will take before all of your users receive updated IP addresses. With AWS Global Accelerator, you don’t have to rely on the IP address caching settings of client devices. Change propagation takes a matter of seconds, which reduces your application downtime. Second, with Global Accelerator, you get static IP addresses that provide a fixed entry point to your applications. This lets you easily move your endpoints between Availability Zones or between AWS Regions, without having to update the DNS configuration or client-facing applications.

Q: Can I use AWS Global Accelerator with AWS Direct Connect?

A: We recommend that you don’t advertise IP addresses that you use to communicate with AWS Global Accelerator over your AWS Direct Connect public virtual interface. Direct Connect does not advertise IP address prefixes for Global Accelerator over a public virtual network. For more information about public virtual interfaces and Direct Connect, see Using Public Virtual Interfaces.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
Learn more about pricing

Simple pricing based on an hourly fee and a data transfer rate.

Learn more 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Start building in the console

Get started building with AWS Global Accelerator in the AWS Console.

Get started