功能

易于使用的托管部署

Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 的目标用户是需要 MySQL 数据库的完整特性和功能的开发人员或企业,或是希望对使用 PostgreSQL 数据库的现有应用程序和工具进行迁移的用户。Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 可以让您直接访问在自己的 Amazon RDS 数据库实例上运行的熟悉的 PostgreSQL 数据库软件,因此您的应用程序应当能无缝连接。

  • 预配置参数 – Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 部署预配置了适合您所选择的数据库实例类的实用参数和设置集。您在几分钟之内即可启动 PostgreSQL 实例并连接应用程序,而无需其他配置。如果您需要更多控制,可通过数据库参数组实现。
  • 监控和指标 - Amazon RDS 针对您的数据库实例部署提供了 Amazon CloudWatch 指标,无需额外付费。您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台来查看数据库实例部署的关键运行指标,包括计算/内存/存储容量使用率、I/O 活动和数据库实例连接。
  • 数据库事件通知 – Amazon RDS 通过电子邮件或 SMS 提供了 Amazon SNS 通知功能,可通知您有关数据库实例部署的信息。您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台或 Amazon RDS API 订阅与您的 Amazon RDS 部署相关的 40 多种的不同数据库事件。
  • 自动软件修补 – Amazon RDS 将确保您部署项目中使用的 PostgreSQL 软件已安装最新修补程序,保持最新状态。您可以通过数据库引擎版本管理,控制是否修补您的数据库实例,以及何时进行修补。

快速、可预测的存储

  • 通用型 (SSD) – Amazon RDS 通用型 (SSD) 存储可交付 3 IOPS/预配置 GB 的一致基准,提供激增至 3000 IOPS 的能力。

您可以从磁性存储转换到通用型 (SSD) 存储;执行此操作时,您在可用性上会受到短暂的影响。

要了解详细信息,或者开始使用 Amazon RDS 通用型 (SSD) 存储,请参阅“Amazon RDS 用户指南”中的通用型 (SSD) 存储部分。

  • 预配置 IOPS (SSD) - 您最多可以为每个数据库实例配置 16TB 存储和 40000 次 IOPS。根据数据库工作负载、实例类型以及选择的数据库引擎,实际达到的 IOPS 数量可能不同于预置的数量。请参阅“Amazon RDS 用户指南”中的影响实际达到的 IOPS 数量部分。

您可以从标准存储转换到预配置 IOPS 存储,获得一致的吞吐量和低 I/O 延迟性。执行此操作时,您在可用性上会受到短暂的影响。您还可以随时独立地扩展 IOPS(以 1000 为增量)和存储,不产生任何停机时间。您可以根据相关因素向上或向下扩展 IOPS,例如应用程序的季节性流量变化率等因素。

要了解详细信息,或者开始使用 Amazon RDS 预配置 IOPS,请参阅“Amazon RDS 用户指南”中的预配置 IOPS 存储部分。

备份和恢复

  • 自动备份 - Amazon RDS 的自动备份功能默认处于开启状态,可实现数据库实例的时间点恢复。Amazon RDS 将备份您的数据库和事务日志,并且按用户指定的保留期进行存储。这样,您就能够将数据库实例恢复到保留期内任何一秒钟的状态,最多可恢复到前五分钟的状态。自动备份保留期可配置为最长三十五天。
  • 数据库快照 - 数据库快照是用户启动的数据库实例备份。Amazon RDS 会存储完整的数据库备份,直到您明确将其删除为止。您可以在需要时随时从数据库快照创建新数据库实例。您也可以跨越 AWS 地区复制数据库快照,以应对跨地理区域迁移或灾难恢复等情况。

按钮扩展

  • 数据库实例类 - 使用 Amazon RDS API 或在 AWS 管理控制台上进行几次点击,即可扩展支持部署的计算和内存资源。扩展操作通常可在几分钟之内完成。
  • 存储和 IOPS - 随着存储需求的增长,您可以实时预置额外的存储,绝无停机时间。如果您使用 RDS 预配置的 IOPS,则您还可以扩展您的数据库实例的吞吐量,方法是指定一个 IOPS(1000 到 40000,增量为 1000 IOPS),并指定存储空间(100GB 到 16TB)。

复制

  • 多可用区部署 – 这是生产用数据库实例的部署选项,既可增强数据库的可用性,又能保护最新的数据库更新,避免意外停运。在创建或修改数据库实例以便作为多可用区域部署运行时,Amazon RDS 将在不同的可用区域(物理位置分隔的独立基础设施)自动预配置和管理一个“备用”副本。在主资源和备用资源上同时进行数据库更新,防止出现复制滞后。在出现计划内数据库维护、数据库实例故障或者可用区域故障时,Amazon RDS 将自动故障转移至最新的备用资源,无需管理员干预即可快速恢复数据库运行。在故障转移前,您无法直接访问备用资源,它也不能用于读取流量。了解更多 »
  • 只读副本 – 此复制功能可以轻松实现弹性扩展并超越单个数据库实例的容量限制,以处理高读取量的数据库工作负载。您可以为给定的源数据库实例在某个 AWS 区域中创建一个或多个副本,利用多个数据的副本满足大量应用程序读取流量需求,以此增加聚合的读取吞吐量。Amazon RDS 使用 PostgreSQL 的本机复制功能,将源数据库实例的更改传播到任何相关的只读副本中。注意,只读副本利用标准的 PostgreSQL 复制,因此这些副本可能在时间上比其源数据库实例晚。了解更多 »

隔离和安全

Amazon RDS 可让您使用通过 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 管理的密钥加密您的 PostgreSQL 数据库。在通过 Amazon RDS 加密运行的数据库实例上,静态存储于底层存储的数据都将加密,自动备份、只读副本和快照也是如此。

使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC),您可在自己的虚拟网络中隔离您的数据库实例,并使用经过行业标准加密的 IPsec VPN 连接到现有 IT 基础设施。要了解有关 VPC 中的 Amazon RDS 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 用户指南。此外,使用 Amazon RDS,您可以配置防火墙设置并控制对数据库实例的网络访问。

受支持的 PostgreSQL 功能

  • PostGIS – PostGIS 是一个空间数据库扩展程序,适用于 PostgreSQL 对象-关系数据库。它增加了对地理对象的支持,允许您运行位置查询,以在 SQL 中运行。语言扩展  – PostgreSQL 允许通过扩展程序将过程语言载入数据库。PostgreSQL 包含四种语言扩展名,以此支持 Perl、pgSQL、Tcl 和 JavaScript(通过 V8 JavaScript 引擎)。
  • 全文搜索字典 – PostgreSQL 支持全文搜索,它具有识别自然语言文档的能力,从而能够满足查询要求;它也可以按照与查询的相关性对结果进行排序。字典的作用除了能够优化搜索质量、规范搜索条件以及消除无用语外,它还能改进查询的性能。
  • HStore、JSON 数据类型 – PostgreSQL 提供了对“JSON”数据类型和两种 JSON 函数的支持,以便从数据库服务器直接返回 JSON。PostgreSQL 还包含一种扩展程序,它可以实施‘hstore’数据类型,从而将键/值对的集合存储在一个 PostgreSQL 值中。
  • pg_stat_statements – pg_stat_statements 扩展名可让您追踪实例上所执行的所有 SQL 语句的执行统计情况,如用户 ID、执行的查询以及消耗的总时间。
  • 外来源数据包装器 – postgres_fdw 扩展名可让您访问并修改其他 PostgreSQL 服务器中存储的数据,仿佛它们是 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 数据库实例中的表。
  • 核心 PostgreSQL 引擎的功能 – 有关 PostgreSQL 核心引擎的详细功能列表,请参阅此处

使用 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL

Amazon RDS 允许您使用 AWS 管理控制台或一组简单的 Web 服务 API 来创建、删除和修改关系数据库实例。您还可以控制实例的访问权限和安全,并管理数据库备份和快照。有关可用 Amazon RDS API 的完整列表,请参阅《Amazon RDS API 指南》。下面列出了一些常用 API 及其功能:

  • CreateDBInstance – 配置新的数据库实例,指定 PostgreSQL 作为数据库引擎,指定数据库实例类、存储容量、数据库引擎版本(可选)、要使用的备份保留策略,以及是否将数据库实例作为多可用区部署运行。调用此 API 即可让您拥有访问正在运行的 MySQL 数据库所需的权限,并带有预安装的软件和您所请求的可用资源容量。
  • CreateDBInstance – 修改运行中的数据库实例的设置。借助此功能,您可以通过一次 API 调用针对数据库负载扩展数据库实例的可用资源,代您更改自动备份和维护方式,还可以在数据库实例和多可用区部署之间进行转换。您也可使用此 API 对数据库实例的 PostgreSQL 版本升级进行可选控制 – 保持与特定 PostgreSQL 版本的兼容性,在生产部署之前测试新版本是否适用于您的应用程序,按照您自己的期限和日程表执行版本升级。
  • DeleteDBInstance – 删除运行中的数据库实例。使用 Amazon RDS,您可以随时终止数据库实例,而只需为使用的资源付费。
  • CreateDBSnapshot – 为您的数据库实例生成快照。您可将数据库实例恢复到用户创建快照的任何一点,甚至恢复到以前删除的数据库实例。
  • RestoreDBInstanceToPointInTime – 从某个时间点备份创建新的数据库实例。您可将数据库实例恢复到您指定的保留期内的任何一点,通常最多能够恢复到数据库前五分钟的使用状态。
  • RestoreDBInstanceToPointInTime – 创建以源数据库实例的只读副本存在的数据库实例。

迁移到 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL

如果应用程序已经在 PostgreSQL 数据库基础上运行,您可以将数据轻松导入到 Amazon RDS。通常而言,只需执行以下操作即可将数据迁移到 Amazon RDS:

  • 使用所需的计算和存储容量以及访问控制,创建一个数据库实例。
  • 创建转储数据,以使用 pg_dump 导入。
  • 使用 psql 在数据库实例上创建数据库,然后加载转储数据。
  • 在应用程序配置文件中更新数据库连接字符串。

运行 PostgreSQL 9.3.5 及更新版本的 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 数据库实例支持会话复制角色。您还可以通过此角色,并使用开源触发型复制工具(例如 Londiste)将数据导入到 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 数据库实例中。

有关将数据导入到 Amazon RDS 的更多信息,请参见 Amazon RDS 文档中的将数据导入到 PostgreSQL 部分

按实际用量付费

您实际使用 Amazon RDS 资源的费用将在每月底收取。一旦您创建的数据库实例准备进行连接了,即按该数据库实例运行的小时数向您收取费用。每个数据库实例将持续运行直至终止,在您执行 API 调用以删除数据库实例,或在发生实例故障的情况下,实例将会终止。数据库实例运行未满一小时的按一小时计费。除数据库实例小时数以外,您还需要为月度存储、IO 请求和备份付费。如果您在计费期内扩展了存储容量,则将按相应比例计费。

有关详细信息,请参见 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 定价页面。

预期用途和限制

使用本服务需遵循 Amazon Web Services 客户协议。

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
详细了解产品定价信息

Amazon RDS 提供免费试用。仅按实际使用量付费。没有最低收费。 

了解更多 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
开始在控制台中构建

开始在 AWS 控制台中使用 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL。

登录

Features

Easy, managed deployments

Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL is designed for developers or businesses who require the full features and capabilities of a PostgreSQL database, or who wish to migrate existing applications and tools that utilize a PostgreSQL database. Since Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL provides you direct access to familiar PostgreSQL database software running on your own Amazon RDS DB Instance, your applications should work seamlessly.

  • Pre-configured Parameters – Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL deployments are pre-configured with a sensible set of parameters and settings appropriate for the DB Instance class you have selected. You can simply launch a PostgreSQL Instance and connect your application within minutes without additional configuration. If you desire additional control, you can achieve it via DB Parameter Groups.
  • Monitoring and Metrics – Amazon RDS provides Amazon CloudWatch metrics for you DB Instance deployments at no additional charge. You can use the AWS Management Console to view key operational metrics for your DB Instance deployments, including compute/memory/storage capacity utilization, I/O activity, and DB Instance connections.
  • DB Event Notifications – Amazon RDS provides Amazon SNS notifications via email or SMS for your DB Instance deployments. You can use the AWS Management Console or the Amazon RDS APIs to subscribe to over 40 different DB events associated with your Amazon RDS deployments.
  • Automatic Software Patching – Amazon RDS will make sure that the PostgreSQL software powering your deployment stays up-to-date with the latest patches. You can exert optional control over when and if your DB Instance is patched via DB Engine Version Management.

Fast, predictable storage

  • General Purpose (SSD) – Amazon RDS General Purpose (SSD) storage delivers a consistent baseline of 3 IOPS per provisioned GB and provides the ability to burst up to 3,000 IOPS.

You can convert from Magnetic Storage to General Purpose (SSD) storage; you will encounter a short availability impact when doing so.

To learn more and get started with Amazon RDS General Purpose (SSD) Storage, please refer to the General Purpose (SSD) Storage section of the Amazon RDS User Guide.

  • Provisioned IOPS (SSD) – You can provision up to 16 TB storage and 40,000 IOPS per database instance. Your actual realized IOPS may vary from the amount you provisioned based on your database workload, instance type, and database engine choice. Refer to the Factors That Affect Realized IOPS section of the Amazon RDS User Guide.

You can convert from standard storage to Provisioned IOPS storage and get consistent throughput and low I/O latencies. You will encounter a short availability impact when doing so. You can independently scale IOPS (in increments of 1000) and storage on-the-fly with zero downtime. You can scale the IOPS up or down depending on factors such as seasonal variability of traffic to your applications.

To learn more and get started with Amazon RDS Provisioned IOPS, please refer to the Provisioned IOPS Storage section of the Amazon RDS User Guide.

Backup and recovery

  • Automated Backups – Turned on by default, the automated backup feature of Amazon RDS enables point-in-time recovery for your DB Instance. Amazon RDS will backup your database and transaction logs and store both for a user-specified retention period. This allows you to restore your DB Instance to any second during your retention period, up to the last five minutes. Your automatic backup retention period can be configured to up to thirty five days.
  • DB Snapshots – DB Snapshots are user-initiated backups of your DB Instance. These full database backups will be stored by Amazon RDS until you explicitly delete them. You can create a new DB Instance from a DB Snapshot whenever you desire. You can also copy DB Snapshots across AWS Regions for geographical migration or disaster recovery use cases.

Push-button scaling

  • DB Instance Class – Using the Amazon RDS APIs or a few clicks of the AWS Management Console, you can scale the compute and memory resources powering your deployment up or down. Scaling operations typically complete within a handful of minutes.
  • Storage and IOPS – As your storage requirements grow you can provision additional storage on-the-fly with zero downtime. If you are using RDS Provisioned IOPS, you can also scale the throughput of your DB Instance by specifying the IOPS rate from 1,000 IOPS to 40,000 IOPS in 1,000 IOPS increments and storage from 100 GB and 16 TB.

Replication

  • Multi-AZ Deployments – This deployment option for your production DB Instances enhances database availability while protecting your latest database updates against unplanned outages. When you create or modify your DB Instance to run as a Multi-AZ deployment, Amazon RDS will automatically provision and manage a “standby” replica in a different Availability Zone (independent infrastructure in a physically separate location). Database updates are made concurrently on the primary and standby resources to prevent replication lag. In the event of planned database maintenance, DB Instance failure, or an Availability Zone failure, Amazon RDS will automatically failover to the up-to-date standby so that database operations can resume quickly without administrative intervention. Prior to failover you cannot directly access the standby, and it cannot be used to serve read traffic. Learn more »
  • Read Replicas – This replication feature makes it easy to elastically scale out beyond the capacity constraints of a single DB Instance for read-heavy database workloads. You can create one or more replicas of a given source DB Instance within an AWS Region and serve high-volume application read traffic from multiple copies of your data, thereby increasing aggregate read throughput. Amazon RDS uses PostgreSQL’s native replication to propagate changes made to a source DB Instance to any associated Read Replicas. Note that since Read Replicas leverage standard PostgreSQL replication, they may fall behind their source database instances. Learn more »

Isolation and Security

Amazon RDS allows you to encrypt your PostgreSQL databases using keys you manage through AWS Key Management Service (KMS) On a database instance running with Amazon RDS encryption, data stored at rest in the underlying storage is encrypted, as are its automated backups, read replicas, and snapshots.

Using Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), you can isolate your DB Instances in your own virtual network, and connect to your existing IT infrastructure using industry-standard encrypted IPSec VPN. To learn more about Amazon RDS in VPC, refer to the Amazon RDS User Guide. In addition, using Amazon RDS, you can configure firewall settings and control network access to your DB Instances.

Supported PostgreSQL features

  • PostGIS – PostGIS is a spatial database extender for PostgreSQL object-relational database. It adds support for geographic objects allowing you to run location queries to be run in SQL.Language Extensions – PostgreSQL allows procedural languages to be loaded into the database through extensions. Four language extensions are included with PostgreSQL to support Perl, pgSQL, Tcl, and JavaScript (via the V8 JavaScript engine).
  • Full Text Search Dictionaries – PostgreSQL supports Full Text Searching that provides the capability to identify natural-language documents that satisfy a query, and optionally to sort them by relevance to the query. Dictionaries, besides improving search quality, normalization and removal of stop words also improve performance of queries.
  • HStore, JSON Data Types – PostgreSQL includes support for ‘JSON’ data type and two JSON functions. These allow return of JSON directly from the database server. PostgreSQL has an extension that implements the ‘hstore’ data type for storing sets of key/value pairs within a single PostgreSQL value.
  • pg_stat_statements – The pg_stat_statements extension lets you track execution statistics for all SQL statements executed on the instance, such as userid, exact queries executed, and total time consumed.
  • Foreign data wrappers – The postgres_fdw extension lets you access and modify data stored in other PostgreSQL servers as if they were tables within the Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL DB Instance.
  • Core PostgreSQL engine features – For a detailed list of PostgreSQL core engine features, please refer here.

Working with Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL

Amazon RDS allows you to use the AWS Management Console or a simple set of web services APIs to create, delete and modify relational database instances (DB Instances). You can also control access and security for your instance(s) and manage your database backups and snapshots. For a full list of the available Amazon RDS APIs, please see the Amazon RDS API Guide. Some of the most commonly used APIs and their functionality are listed below:

  • CreateDBInstance — Provision a new DB Instance, specifying DB Engine as PostgreSQL, DB Instance class, storage capacity, DB Engine version (optional), the backup retention policy you wish to use, and whether you want to run the DB Instance as a Multi-AZ deployment. This one API call is all that’s needed to give you access to a running PostgreSQL database, with the software pre-installed and the available resource capacity you request.
  • ModifyDBInstance — Modify settings for a running DB Instance. This lets you use a single API call to scale the resources available to your DB Instance in response to the load on your database, or change how it is automatically backed up and maintained on your behalf, or convert your DB Instance to or from a Multi-AZ deployment. You can also use this API to gain optional control over PostgreSQL Version upgrades for your DB Instance – maintain compatibility with specific PostgreSQL versions, test new versions with your application before deploying in production, and perform version upgrades on your own terms and timelines.
  • DeleteDBInstance — Delete a running DB Instance. With Amazon RDS, you can terminate your DB Instance at any time and pay only for the resources you used.
  • CreateDBSnapshot — Generate a snapshot of your DB Instance. You can restore your DB Instance to these user-created snapshots at any point, even to reinstate a previously deleted DB Instance.
  • RestoreDBInstanceToPointInTime — Create a new DB Instance from a point-in-time backup. You can restore to any point within the retention period you specified, usually up to the last five minutes of your database’s usage.
  • CreateDBInstanceReadReplica — Create a DB Instance that acts as a read replica of a source DB instance.

Migrating to Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL

If your application already relies on a PostgreSQL database, importing data to Amazon RDS is simple. In general, to migrate your data to Amazon RDS you simply:

  • Create a DB Instance with the compute, storage capacity and access controls required.
  • Create a dump of the data to be imported using pg_dump.
  • Use psql to create a database on the DB Instance and load the dump.
  • Update the database connection string in your application config file.

Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL DB Instances running PostgreSQL 9.3.5 and later support the session replication role. You can also import data into your Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL DB Instance with minimal downtime by leveraging this role and using open-source trigger-based replication tools such as Londiste.

For more information on importing data into Amazon RDS, see the Amazon RDS documentation's Importing Data into PostgreSQL section.

DB Instance Classes

Instance Type vCPU Memory (GiB) PIOPS-Optimized 
Network Performance
Standard - Latest Generation
db.m4.large 2
8
Yes
Moderate
db.m4.xlarge 4
16
Yes High
db.m4.2xlarge 8
32
Yes High
db.m4.4xlarge 16
64
Yes High
db.m4.10xlarge 40
160
Yes 10 Gigabit
Standard - Previous Generation
db.m3.medium 1 3.75 - Moderate
db.m3.large 2 7.5 - Moderate
db.m3.xlarge 4 15 Yes High
db.m3.2xlarge 8 30 Yes High
Memory Optimized - Current Generation
db.r3.large 2 15 - Moderate
db.r3.xlarge 4 30.5 Yes Moderate
db.r3.2xlarge 8 61 Yes High
db.r3.4xlarge 16 122 Yes High
db.r3.8xlarge 32 244 -
10 Gigabit
Micro instances        
db.t2.micro 1 1 - Low
db.t2.small 1 2 - Low
db.t2.medium 2 4 - Moderate
db.t2.large 2 8 - Moderate

Looking for T1, M1, M2, or CR1 DB Instances? See the Previous Generation Instances page.

Paying for What You Use

You will be charged at the end of each month for the Amazon RDS resources you actually consume. Once a DB Instance you have created is available for connection, you will be charged for each hour your DB Instance is running. Each DB Instance will run until termination, which occurs when you issue an API call to delete the DB Instance, or in the event of an instance failure. Partial DB Instance hours consumed are billed as full hours. In addition to DB Instance hours, you are also billed for your monthly storage, I/O requests, and backups. If you scale your storage capacity within the billing period, your bill will be pro-rated accordingly.

For details, see the Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL pricing page.

Intended Usage and Restrictions

Your use of this service is subject to the Amazon Web Services Customer Agreement.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
Learn more about product pricing

Amazon RDS is free to try. Pay only for what you use. There is no minimum fee.  

Learn more 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Start building in the console

Get started with Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL in the AWS Console.

Sign in