将业务从本地 IDC 服务器迁移到 AWS 云平台后,我们开始真正体会到云的高度可靠性和安全性。AWS 使我们的生活更加轻松,并帮助我们降低了成本,加快了业务创新。现在,我们的所有业务都部署在 AWS 上,因为我们对这项服务充满长期信心 
Wu Ruiying PatSnap IT 经理

智慧芽信息技术(苏州)有限公司(“PatSnap”)成立于 2007 年,是专利搜索、分析和管理的全球一站式平台。它利用大数据提供了许多功能强大且易于使用的专利工具,包括全球专利数据库、Insights 分析系统和 3D 专利态势图,使全球客户能够理解并有效使用专利、跟踪技术进步、实时分析竞争对手、发现创新趋势,以及推动技术和业务创新。

鉴于所拥有的海外客户的数量,PatSnap 的首要任务是确保其业务具有全球影响力,并可以进行集中管理;第二是保持数据库的安全性和机密性,以及运营的稳定性和可靠性;第三是实现业务产品的快速迭代,以跟上客户不断增长的创新需求。

覆盖范围全球化

基于客户的地理分布,PatSnap 已在美国、欧盟、亚太地区和中国(北京)区域(后者由北京光环新网科技有限公司运营)设立了 AWS 办事处。借助 AWS 的全球覆盖范围,PatSnap 可以在不同地区使用相同的 Web 服务和网站架构,从而能够实现技术统一并快速准确地隔离本地问题。此外,AWS CloudFormation 还进一步减少了 PatSnap 的维护工作量,支持它通过模板管理整个 AWS 平台上的资源。这意味着该公司可以精确配置或订购同一组资源,并且可以在特定情况下按需复制其数据中心架构和子组件。

高度安全

专利数据是 PatSnap 资产的核心。AWS 提倡安全责任共担,即 AWS 负责管理基础设施安全,并为其安全功能提供实践指南和服务;同时希望客户将这些功能与第三方工具结合使用,以确保其应用程序的顶级安全性。PatSnap 牢记 AWS 发布的最佳实践,并采用了各种安全措施,包括使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) AWS WAF(Web 应用程序防火墙)。通过将专利数据库存储在 Amazon VPC 上,PatSnap 可以严格控制端口访问,使每个设备只能连接到有权访问的数据库。另一方面,AWS WAF 可以帮助 PatSnap 过滤掉恶意网络流量。

此外,PatSnap还开启了 AWS Trusted Advisor 提供的所有功能,可以更轻松修补平台漏洞、改进安全配置,并以智能方式预置资源来控制成本。

强大的数据管理工具

之前,PatSnap 想在 AWS 平台上创建 MongoDB 数据库,但后来发现直接在 Amazon DynamoDB 上托管数据库更容易、更快捷。现在,这些数据库拥有 1.3 亿个与专利相关的条目,并且能够根据需求调整其吞吐量,从而支持 PatSnap 及其客户随时根据需要插入、导出和恢复数据。

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 为不同的用例提供了多个存储类。例如,Amazon S3 标准专为频繁访问的数据而设计,而较为经济实惠的 Amazon Glacier 则用于长期数据存档。存储策略到位后,Amazon S3 会自动将数据移动到最合适的存储类,而无需对应用程序进行任何更改。现在,PatSnap 在 Amazon S3 上托管静态文件和静态网站,并为面向 Amazon Glacier 的常规数据剪切和迁移设置了生命周期归档策略。

最后,PatSnap 还使用 AWS Data Pipeline 轻松地在不同 AWS 区域之间转移大量专利数据。

“一次火灾袭击了我们当地的 IDC 服务器,数据丢失的代价是高昂的,对我们的业务造成了破坏。这次事件促使我们开始寻求基于云的解决方案。之所以选择 AWS,是因为它能提供世界一流的技术和服务;使用它让我们真正体会到了云的可靠性,而且为业务创新带来了意想不到的好处。现在,我们所有的业务都部署在 AWS 上,因为我们对这项服务有着长期的信心。”PatSnap 的 IT 经理 Wu Ruiying 说。

图 1 展示了支持 PatSnap 所有业务的系统架构。除了已经提到的服务之外,PatSnap 还使用了 AWS LambdaAmazon EMRAmazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS)Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS)Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)Amazon Simple Email Service (SES)

Patsnap-arch-diag.final1220

图1:AWS 上的 PatSnap 系统架构

AWS 为 PatSnap 带来了两项主要优势:成本降低 50%,产品迭代速度提高 100%。

节省成本来自两个方面:一次性降低预付成本,以及持续节省后续运营和维护成本。与构建自己的服务器机房相比,通过迁移到 AWS,PatSnap 节省了 20% 的初始设置成本,以及 50% 的年度运营和维护成本。PatSnap 的 IT 团队快速掌​​握 AWS 产品并完成业务架构的构建,不再需要像研究如何创建 IT 环境那样花费大量时间,因此训练成本也随之降低。由于手动维护工作以及与构建和调试底层系统服务相关的工作减少,运维团队更为精简,所需的维护时间也更少,这使该公司能够更好地控制其总体拥有成本。

AWS 还帮助 PatSnap 加速其产品迭代周期,因为 AWS 的平台工具、专业技术支持和内在稳定性意味着 PatSnap 可以更专注于产品开发。事实上,它可以将产品的上市时间从一个月缩短到仅仅两周,缩短了 50%。

PatSnap 在 2016 年,也就是迁移到 AWS 平台的当年,就将其销售额翻了一番。2017 年,凭借其稳定的服务和更快的产品迭代周期,PatSnap 有望获得更大的市场份额并将其销售额再增加 60%。

AWS 为 PatSnap 的业务提供了强有力的支持。展望未来,PatSnap 计划探索云平台的其他潜力,以便为其专利咨询服务带来进一步的改进和创新。

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足数据处理和存储需求,请访问我们的“Big Data on AWS”页面,网址为 https://aws.amazon.com/big-data/

After migrating our business from local IDC servers to the AWS cloud platform, we begin to truly appreciate the high reliability and security of the cloud. Using AWS has made our lives much easier and helped us cut down costs and accelerate business innovation. All our business is now deployed on AWS as we have long-term confidence in the service 
Wu Ruiying PatSnap IT Manager

Founded in 2007, Zhihuiya Information Technology (Suzhou) Co., Ltd. (“PatSnap”) is a global one-stop platform for patent search, analysis, and management. It draws on big data to provide a number of powerful yet easy-to-use patent tools, including global patent database, Insights analytics system and 3D Patent Landscape Map, enabling global customers to understand and effectively use patents, track technological advances, analyze competitors in real-time, and identify innovation trends, driving both technical and business innovation.

Due to the number of its overseas customers, PatSnap’s first priority is ensuring its business has global reach and centralized management; the second is keeping its database secure and confidential and its operations stable and reliable; and the third is enabling the rapid iteration of its business offerings to keep pace with customers’ growing needs for innovation.

Global coverage

On account of the geographical distribution of its customers, PatSnap has set up AWS for the US, EU, Asia Pacific, and China (Beijing) Regions (the latter is operated by Beijing Sinnet Technology Co., Ltd.). AWS’ global coverage allows PatSnap to use the same web services and website architecture across different regions, enabling technical uniformity and fast, precise isolation of local issues. Further reduction in maintenance workload comes from AWS CloudFormation, which allows PatSnap to manage the resources on the entire AWS platform through templates, meaning the company can precisely configure or order the same set of resources and, under special circumstances, replicate its data center architecture and sub-components on-demand.

Highly secure

Patent data are the very core of PatSnap’s assets. AWS advocates shared security responsibilities, whereby AWS manages infrastructure security and provides practices guidelines and services for its security features; and customers are expected to combine these features with third-party tools to ensure the top-level security of their applications. PatSnap took the best practices published by AWS to heart and adopted a variety of security measures including the use of Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) and AWS WAF (Web Application Firewall). By storing its patent databases on Amazon VPC, PatSnap can strictly control port access such that each device can only connect to the databases it has authorization to. AWS WAF, on the other hand, helps PatSnap to filter out malicious web traffic.

PatSnap has also turned on all the features offered by AWS Trusted Advisor to make it easier to patch platform vulnerabilities, improve security configurations, and intelligently provision resources to control costs.

Powerful data management tools

Formerly, PatSnap would create MongoDB databases on the AWS platform, but later found it easier and faster to host databases on Amazon DynamoDB instead. These databases now hold 130 million patent-related entries, and are able to adjust their throughput according to demand, allowing PatSnap and its customers to insert, export, and recover data at any time they desire.

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) offers several storage classes for different use cases. For example, Amazon S3 Standard is designed for frequently accessed data, and the more economical Amazon Glacier is for long-term data archiving. Once storage policies are put in place, Amazon S3 will automatically move data to the most appropriate storage class, without requiring any change from applications. PatSnap is now hosting static files and static websites on Amazon S3, and has set up lifecycle archival policies for regular data pruning and migration to Amazon Glacier.

Lastly, PatSnap uses AWS Data Pipeline to easily shift large volume of patent data among different AWS Regions.

“A fire struck our local IDC servers once and the resulting data loss was very costly and disruptive to our business. This incident prompted us to seek a cloud-based solution. We chose AWS because it offers world-class technologies and services; and using it has made us truly appreciate the reliability of the cloud and brought unexpected benefits to business innovation. Now all our business is deployed on AWS as we have long-term confidence in the service,” says Wu Ruiying, IT Manager at PatSnap.

Figure 1 shows the system architecture that supports all of PatSnap’s businesses. Aside from the services already mentioned, PatSnap also uses AWS Lambda, Amazon EMR, Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS), Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), and Amazon Simple Email Service (SES).


Figure 1: PatSnap System Architecture on AWS

AWS has brought two main benefits to PatSnap: 50% reduction in costs, and 100% increase in product iteration speed.

Cost savings come from two areas: one-off reduction of upfront costs and continual saving of subsequent operation and maintenance costs. By moving to AWS, PatSnap saved 20% in initial setup cost compared with building its own server rooms, as well as 50% in annual O&M costs. Training cost also fell as the IT team at PatSnap can quickly grasp AWS’ offerings and complete building the business architecture, no longer needing to spend the time as they did on researching how to create IT environments. This reduction in manual maintenance works, and in efforts associated with building and debugging underlying system services, translates into a leaner O&M team and shorter maintenance time, allowing the company to better control its total cost of ownership.

AWS also helped PatSnap accelerate its product iteration cycle as AWS’ platform tools, professional technical support, and inherent stability mean that PatSnap can be more focused on product development. In fact, it is able to reduce products’ time-to-market by 50%, from one month to a mere two weeks.

PatSnap saw its sales double in 2016, the year it migrated to the AWS platform. In 2017, on the back of its stable services and faster product iteration cycle, PatSnap expects to gain greater market share and increase its sales by another 60%.

AWS has provided vigorous support to PatSnap’s business. Going forward, PatSnap plans to explore other potentials of the cloud platform to introduce further improvements and innovations to its patent consultancy service.

To learn more about how AWS can help you meet your data processing and storage needs, visit our “Big Data on AWS” page at