Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例

云端的高性能和更低成本机器学习推理

各个行业的企业都在逐渐转向采用机器学习技术来解决各种使用案例,例如提供个性化的购物建议、改善在线内容审核,以及通过情景感知 Chatbot 改善客户互动。但是,随着机器学习模型的功能越来越强大,它们也变得越来越复杂。这推动了计算需求,从而增加了成本。在许多情况下,开发和运行机器学习应用程序的基础设施支出中有高达 90% 是推理相关支出,因此对高性能、经济高效的机器学习推断基础设施的需求显得尤为重要。

与 Amazon EC2 G4 实例相比,Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例的吞吐量提高了 30%,单次推理的成本降低了 45%,而 Amazon EC2 G4 实例先前一直是云端机器学习推理成本最低的实例。Inf1 实例的构建目的就是用于支持机器学习推理应用程序。这些实例具有多达 16 个 AWS Inferentia 芯片,这是由 AWS 设计和打造的高性能机器学习推理芯片。另外,Inf1 实例包含最新的第二代 Intel® Xeon® 可扩展处理器以及高达 100Gbps 的网络,可实现高吞吐量推理。借助 Inf1 实例,客户可以在云中以最低的成本运行大规模机器学习推理应用程序,例如搜索建议、计算机视觉、语音识别、自然语言处理、个性化和欺诈检测。

开发人员可以使用 AWS Neuron 开发工具包将其机器学习模型部署到 Inf1 实例,该开发工具包集成了 TensorFlow、PyTorch 和 MXNet 等受欢迎的机器学习框架。它包含一个编译器、一个运行时和各种分析工具,可优化 AWS Inferentia 的推理性能。开始使用 Inf1 实例的最简单和最快速的方法是通过 Amazon SageMaker,这是一个完全托管的服务,使开发人员能够快速构建、训练和部署机器学习模型。希望自行管理机器学习应用程序开发平台的开发人员可以通过包括 Neuron 开发工具包的 AWS Deep Learning AMI 启动 Inf1 实例开始使用,也可以通过适用于容器化机器学习应用程序的 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (EKS) 或 Amazon Elastic Container Service (ECS) 来使用 Inf1 实例。

SiteMerch-EC2-Instances_accelerated-trial_2up

免费试用:最高 10000 USD 的 AWS 服务抵扣金,适用于 EC2 硬件加速实例,适合机器学习、高性能计算和图形应用程序。

单击此处申请 
基于 AWS Inferentia 的 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例 (2:51)

优势

每次推理的成本降低多达 45%

Inf1 实例的高吞吐量实现了最低的每次云端推理成本,每次推理的成本比 Amazon EC2 G4 实例降低了 45%,而 Amazon EC2 G4 实例先前一直是云端机器学习推理成本最低的实例。机器学习推理最多占运行机器学习工作负载的总体运营成本的 90%,因此可节省大量成本。

吞吐量提高多达 30%

Inf1 实例可为批量推理应用程序提供高吞吐量,其吞吐量较 Amazon EC2 G4 实例最多提高 30%。批量推理应用程序(例如照片标记)对推理吞吐量或每秒可以处理的推理量很敏感。Inf1 实例经过优化,可为小批量推理提供高性能,这对于具有严格响应时间要求的应用程序至关重要。每个 Inf1 实例具有 1 到 16 个 AWS Inferentia 芯片,可以将性能扩展到每秒多达 2000 万亿次运算 (TOPS)。

超低延迟

Inf1 实例为实时应用程序提供了低延迟。诸如语音生成和搜索之类的实时推理应用程序需要根据用户的输入快速做出推理,并且对推理延迟很敏感。Inf1 实例中使用的 AWS Inferentia 芯片拥有较大的芯片上内存容量,允许直接在芯片上缓存机器学习模型。这消除了在推理期间访问外部内存资源的需求,从而实现了低延迟,而不会影响带宽。

机器学习推理适用于广泛的使用案例

开发人员可以利用 Inf1 实例的高性能、低延迟和低成本推理,适用于各种垂直业务领域的广泛机器学习应用程序,包括图像和视频分析、对话聊天代理、欺诈检测、财务预测、医疗保健自动化、推荐引擎、文本分析和转录。

易用性和代码可移植性

由于 Neurone 开发工具包与 TensorFlow 和 PyTorch 等通用机器学习框架集成,因此开发人员可以将其现有模型部署到 EC2 Inf1 实例中,而只需最少的代码更改。于是,开发人员可以继续自由选择使用机器学习框架,选用最能满足其性价比要求的计算平台,并利用最新技术,而不必与供应商特定的软件库相关联。

支持不同机器学习模型和数据类型

使用 AWS Neuron,Inf1 实例支持许多常用机器学习模型,例如用于图像识别/分类的单发检测器 (SSD) 和 ResNet,以及用于自然语言处理和翻译的 Transformer 和 BERT。支持使用混合精度的多种数据类型,包括 INT8、BF16 和 FP16,以满足各种模型和性能需求。

功能

由 AWS Inferentia 提供支持

AWS Inferentia 是一种机器学习芯片,由 AWS 自定义设计和打造,旨在以低成本提供高性能推理。每个 AWS Inferentia 芯片提供高达 128TOPS(每秒数万亿次运行)的性能,并且支持 FP16、BF16 和 INT8 数据类型。AWS Inferentia 芯片还具有大量的芯片上内存,可用于缓存大型模型,这对于需要频繁访问内存的模型尤为有利。

AWS Neuron 软件开发工具包 (SDK) 由编译器、运行时和分析工具组成。它支持使用 Inf1 实例执行在常用框架(例如 TensorFlow、PyTorch 和 MXNet)中创建和训练的复杂神经网络模型。AWS Neuron 还支持使用高速物理芯片间互联将大型模型进行拆分,以便在多个 Inferentia 芯片上执行,从而提供高推理吞吐量和更低的推理成本。

高性能联网和存储

对于需要访问高速网络的应用程序,Inf1 实例可提供高达 100Gbps 的联网吞吐量。新一代 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 和 NVM Express (NVMe) 技术为 Inf1 实例提供了高吞吐量、低延迟的联网接口和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)。

依托 AWS Nitro 系统构建

AWS Nitro 系统是丰富的构建块集合,可将许多传统虚拟化功能卸载到专用硬件和软件中,以提供高性能、高可用性和高安全性,同时还可降低虚拟化开销。

工作原理

如何使用 Inf1 和 AWS Inferentia

客户评价

SkyWatch
“我们将机器学习 (ML) 融入 Snapchat 的很多方面,在此领域探索创新是重中之重。我们一听说 Inferentia 就开始与 AWS 合作采用 Inf1/Inferentia 实例来帮助我们进行 ML 部署,包括性能和成本方面。我们用自己的推荐模型开始,并期待未来将更多模型用于 Inf1 实例。”

Nima Khajehnouri,Snap Inc. 的工程副总裁

Anthem
Anthem 是美国领先的医疗福利公司之一,他们提供的服务能满足数十个州 4000 多万会员的医疗保健需求。“数字健康平台市场正以惊人的速度增长。由于庞大的客户意见数据及其非结构化性质,在这个市场上收集情报是一项具有挑战性的任务。我们的应用程序通过深度学习的自然语言模型 (Transformers) 自动生成来自客户意见的可操作见解。我们的应用程序属于计算密集型,需要以高性能的方式进行部署。我们无缝地将深度学习推理工作负载部署到由 AWS Inferentia 处理器支持的 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例。新的 Inf1 实例可为基于 GPU 的实例提供 2 倍吞吐量,使我们能够简化推理工作负载。”

Numan Laanait 博士(首席 AI /数据科学家)和 Miro Mihaylov 博士(首席 AI/数据科学家)

Anthem
“Autodesk 正在通过使用 Inferentia 来推进我们的人工智能虚拟助手——Autodesk 虚拟代理 (AVA) 的认知技术。AVA 通过应用自然语言理解 (NLU) 和深度学习技术来提取查询背后的上下文、意图和意义,每月解答超过 10 万个客户问题。试用 Inferentia 后,对于 NLU 模型,我们能够获得比 G4dn 高 4.9 倍的吞吐量,并期望在基于 Inferentia 的 Inf1 实例上运行更多的工作负载。”

Binghui Ouyang,Autodesk 高级数据科学家

Condé Nast
“Condé Nast 的全球投资组合涵盖了 20 多个领先的媒体品牌,包括《连线》、Vogue 和 Vanity Fair 等。在几周内,我们的团队就能将我们的推荐引擎与 AWS Inferentia 芯片集成。这种联合可以在 SageMaker 的 Inf1 实例上对最先进的自然语言模型进行多种运行时优化。结果,我们发现,与之前部署的 GPU 实例相比,成本降低 72%。”

Paul Fryzel,人工智能基础设施首席工程师

Asahi Shimbun
“Asahi Shimbun 是日本最受欢迎的日报之一。Media Lab 作为我们公司的部门之一,肩负研究最新技术(特别是人工智能 (AI))以及为新业务联系尖端技术的使命。随着基于 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例的 AWS Inferentia 在东京发布,我们在这些实例上测试了基于 PyTorch 的文本摘要人工智能 (AI) 应用程序。该应用程序处理了大量文本,并生成了在过去 30 年文章上进行训练的头条新闻和摘要句子。使用 Inferentia,我们降低了成本,削减了一个数量级的基于 CPU 的实例。成本的大幅下降让我们可以大规模地部署最复杂的模型,而之前从经济角度考虑,我们认为这是不可行的”

Asahi Shimbun Company,Media Lab,高级管理员 Hideaki Tamori 博士

CS Disco
“CS Disco 是由律师为律师开发的电子取证人工智能 (AI) 解决方案的领先供应商提供商,正在重塑法律技术。Disco 人工智能利用复杂的自然语言处理模型,来更快地梳理 TB 级数、加快审核速度和提高审核准确率,这些模型的计算成本高昂,不划算。Disco 发现,与现在的 GPU 实例相比,基于 AWS Inferentia 的 Inf1 实例将 Disco 人工智能的推理成本至少降低了 35%。基于在 Inf1 实例方面的愉快体验,CS Disco 将探索向 Inferentia 迁移的机会。”

Alan Lockett,CS Disco 研究总监

Talroo
“在 Talroo,我们为客户提供数据驱动平台,让客户吸引独特的工作候选人,以便他们完成招聘。我们不断探索新技术,以确保为客户提供最好的产品和服务。使用 Inferentia,我们从大量文本数据中提取见解,以提升人工智能 (AI) 支持的搜索匹配技术。Talroo 利用 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例以 SageMaker 创建高吞吐量自然语言理解模型。Talroo 的初始测试表明,Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例使推理延迟降低了 40%,与 G4dn 基于 GPU 的实例相比,吞吐量提高了两倍。基于这些结果,Talroo 希望在其 AWS 基础设施中使用 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例。”

Talroo 软件工程师 Janet Hu

数字媒体专业公司 (DMP)
数字媒体专业公司 (DMP) 通过基于人工智能 (AI) 的实时 ZIA 平台对未来进行可视化。DMP 高效的计算机视觉分类技术可用于构建对大量实时图像数据的洞察,如状态观察、犯罪预防和事故预防。我们正在积极对 Inf1 实例作替代方案评估,因为我们相信 Inferentia 将为我们提供大规模部署 AI 应用程序所需的性能和成本结构。” 

Hiroyuki Umeda - 数字媒体专业公司 (DMP) 销售与营销部总监兼总经理

Hotpot.ai
Hotpot.ai 可帮助非设计师创建具有吸引力的图形,还可帮助专业设计师自动执行重复的任务。“机器学习是我们策略的核心,我们很乐于尝试基于 AWS Inferentia 的 Inf1 实例。我们发现 Inf1 实例可以很容易地集成到我们的研发管道中。最重要的是,与基于 G4dn GPU 的实例相比,我们体验到了令人印象深刻的性能提升。在我们的第一个模型中,Inf1 实例的吞吐量提高了 45%,每次推理的成本降低了近 50%。我们打算与 AWS 团队密切合作,移植其他模型,并将大部分 ML 推理基础设施转移到 AWS Inferentia。”

Clarence Hu,Hotpot.ai 创始人

INGA
“INGA 的使命是创建基于人工智能和深度学习技术的高级文本汇总解决方案,这些解决方案可以轻松集成到当前的业务管道中。我们认为,文本汇总对于帮助企业从数据中获取有意义的见解至关重要。我们快速增加了基于 AWS Inferentia 的 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例,并将其集成到我们的开发管道中。这一影响是直接且意义重大的。Inf1 实例提供了高性能,使我们能够提高推理模型管道的效率和有效性。开箱即用,与之前基于 GPU 的管道相比,我们的吞吐量提高了 4 倍,整体管道成本降低了 30%。”

Yaroslav Shakula,INGA Technologies 首席业务开发官

SkyWatch
“SkyWatch 每天处理从太空捕获的数千亿像素地球观测数据。采用基于 AWS Inferentia 的全新 Inf1 实例,使用 Amazon SageMaker 进行实时云检测和图像质量评分非常迅速且轻松。这一切的关键点在于在部署配置中切换实例类型。通过将实例类型转换为基于 Inferentia 的 Inf1,我们将性能提高了 40%,并将总成本降低了 23%。我们取得了巨大胜利。它使我们能够降低整体运营成本,同时继续以最低的工程开销向客户提供高质量的卫星影像。我们期待着将所有推理终端节点和批处理机器学习流程转移到使用 Inf1 实例,以进一步提高数据可靠性和客户体验。”

Adler Santos,SkyWatch 工程经理

Amazon 服务使用 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例

Amazon Alexa

逾 1 亿台 Alexa 设备销往全球各地,客户还为 Amazon 上的 Echo 设备留下了超过 40 万条 5 星好评。Amazon Alexa 高级副总裁 Tom Taylor 表示:“Amazon Alexa 的 AI 和基于 ML 的智能技术由 Amazon Web Services 提供支持,目前已在 1 亿多台设备上提供。我们向客户承诺,Alexa 将始终致力于变得更智能、更对话化、更主动、更令人满意。实现这一承诺需要持续改进响应时间和机器学习基础设施成本,因此我们很高兴使用 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例来降低 Alexa 文本到语音转换的推理延迟和每次推理成本。借助 Amazon EC2 Inf1 实例,我们将能够为每月使用 Alexa 的数千万客户提供更好的服务。”

Amazon Alexa
“Amazon Rekognition 是一种简单的图像和视频分析应用程序,可帮助客户识别物体、人、文本和活动。Amazon Rekognition 需要高性能的深度学习基础设施,以便可以每天为客户分析数十亿图像和视频。使用基于 AWS Inferentia 的 Inf1 实例运行对象分类之类的 Rekognition 模型,与在 GPU 上运行这些模型相比,可将延迟降低 8 倍,将吞吐量提高 2 倍。根据这些结果,我们将 Rekognition 移动到 Inf1,从而使我们的客户能够更快地获取准确结果。”
 
Rajneesh Singh,Rekognition and Video 的软件工程总监

定价

* 所示价格适用于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)AWS 区域。一年期和三年期预留实例的价格适用于“部分预付费用”付款方式或“无预付费用”(针对没有“部分预付费用”选项的实例)。

Amazon EC2 Inf1 以按需实例、预留实例或 Spot 实例的形式在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)和美国西部(俄勒冈)AWS 区域推出。

开始使用

使用 Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker 使您能够轻松在生产环境中编译您训练好的机器学习模型并将其部署到 Amazon Inf1 实例上,以便开始以低延迟生成实时预测。AWS Neuron 是 AWS Inferentia 的编译器,它与 Amazon SageMaker Neo 集成,使您能够编译经过训练的机器学习模型,以便在 Inf1 实例上以最佳方式运行。借助 Amazon SageMaker,您可以轻松在跨多个可用区的 Inf1 实例的 auto-scaling 集群上运行您的模型,以交付高性能和高可用性实时推理。通过 Github 上的示例了解如何使用 Amazon SageMaker 部署到 Inf1。

使用 AWS Deep Learning AMI

AWS Deep Learning AMI (DLAMI) 可以为机器学习从业人员和研究人员提供基础设施和各种工具,从而加快在云中进行任意规模的深度学习的速度。AWS Neuron 开发工具包预安装在 AWS Deep Learning AMI 中,可在 Inf1 实例上以最佳方式编译和运行您的机器学习模型。为了帮助指导您完成入门流程,请访问 AMI 选择指南和更多深度学习资源。请参阅 AWS DLAMI 入门指南,了解如何将 DLAMI 与 Neuron 配合使用。

使用 Deep Learning Containers

现在,开发人员可以在 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service(EKS,完全托管的 Kubernetes 服务)以及 Amazon Elastic Container Service(ECS,Amazon 的完全托管容器编排服务)中部署 Inf1 实例。阅读本博客,详细了解如何在 Amazon EKS 上开始使用 Inf1。有关在 Inf1 实例上运行容器的更多详细信息,请参阅 Neuron 容器工具教程页面。即将推出 AWS DL 容器的 Inf1 支持。

Amazon EC2 Inf1 Instances

High performance and the lowest cost machine learning inference in the cloud

Businesses across a diverse set of industries are turning to machine learning to address use cases such as providing personalized shopping recommendations, improving online content moderation, and enhancing customer engagement with context aware chatbots. However, as machine learning models become more capable, they are also becoming more complex. This drives up the need for compute which leads to increased costs. In many cases, up to 90% of the infrastructure spend for developing and running a ML application is on inference, making the need for high-performance, cost-effective ML inference infrastructure critical.

Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances deliver up to 30% higher throughput and up to 45% lower cost per inference than Amazon EC2 G4 instances, which were already the lowest cost instance for machine learning inference in the cloud. Inf1 instances are built from the ground up to support machine learning inference applications. These instances feature up to 16 AWS Inferentia chips, high-performance machine learning inference chips designed and built by AWS. Additionally, Inf1 instances include the latest 2nd generation Intel® Xeon® Scalable processors and up to 100 Gbps networking to enable high throughput inference. Using Inf1 instances, customers can run large scale machine learning inference applications such as search recommendation, computer vision, speech recognition, natural language processing, personalization, and fraud detection, at the lowest cost in the cloud.

Developers can deploy their machine learning models to Inf1 instances using the AWS Neuron SDK, which is integrated with popular machine learning frameworks such as TensorFlow, PyTorch, and MXNet. It consists of a compiler, a run-time, and profiling tools to optimize the inference performance on AWS Inferentia. The easiest and quickest way to get started with Inf1 instances is via Amazon SageMaker, a fully managed service that enables developers to build, train, and deploy machine learning models quickly. Developers who prefer to manage their own machine learning application development platforms, can get started by either launching Inf1 instances with AWS Deep Learning AMIs, which include the Neuron SDK, or use Inf1 instances via Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (EKS) or Amazon Elastic Container Service (ECS) for containerized ML applications.

SiteMerch-EC2-Instances_accelerated-trial_2up

Free trial: Up to $10,000 in AWS credits for EC2 Hardware Accelerated Instances, ideal for ML, HPC, & Graphics applications.

Click here to apply 
Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances based on AWS Inferentia (2:51)

Benefits

Up to 45% lower cost per inference

The high throughput of Inf1 instances enables the lowest cost per inference in the cloud, up to 45% lower cost-per-inference than Amazon EC2 G4 instances, which were already the lowest cost instances for machine learning inference in the cloud. With machine learning inference representing up to 90% of overall operational costs for running machine learning workloads, this results in significant cost savings.

Up to 30% higher throughput

Inf1 instances deliver high throughput for batch inference applications, up to 30% higher throughput than Amazon EC2 G4 instances. Batch inference applications, such as photo tagging, are sensitive to inference throughput or how many inferences can be processed per second. Inf1 instances are optimized to provide high performance for small batches, which is critical for applications that have strict response time requirements. With 1 to 16 AWS Inferentia chips per instance, Inf1 instances can scale in performance to up to 2000 Tera Operations per Second (TOPS).

Extremely low latency

Inf1 instances deliver low latency for real-time applications. Real-time inference applications, such as speech generation and search, need to make inferences in response to a user’s input quickly and are sensitive to inference latency. The large on-chip memory on AWS Inferentia chips used in Inf1 instances allows caching of machine learning models directly on the chip. This eliminates the need to access outside memory resources during inference, enabling low latency without impacting bandwidth.

Machine learning inference for a broad range of use cases

Developers can leverage high performance, low latency, and low cost inference with Inf1 instances for a broad range of machine learning applications applicable across diverse business verticals including image and video analysis, conversational agents, fraud detection, financial forecasting, healthcare automation, recommendation engines, text analytics, and transcription.

Ease of use and code portability

Since the Neuron SDK is integrated with common machine learning frameworks such as TensorFlow and PyTorch, developers can deploy their existing models to EC2 Inf1 instances with minimal code changes. This gives them the freedom to continue to use ML framework of their choice, to choose the compute platform that best meets their price performance requirements, and to take advantage of latest technologies without being tied to vendor-specific software libraries.

Support for different machine learning models and data types

Using AWS Neuron, Inf1 instances support many commonly used machine learning models such as single shot detector (SSD) and ResNet for image recognition/classification as well as Transformer and BERT for natural language processing and translation. Multiple data types including INT8, BF16, and FP16 with mixed precision are also supported for wide range of models and performance needs.

Features

Powered By AWS Inferentia

AWS Inferentia is a machine learning chip custom built by AWS to deliver high performance inference at low cost. Each AWS Inferentia chip provides up to 128 TOPS (trillions of operations per second) of performance, and support for FP16, BF16, and INT8 data types. AWS Inferentia chips also feature a large amount of on-chip memory which can be used for caching large models, which is especially beneficial for models that require frequent memory access.

The AWS Neuron software development kit (SDK) consists of a compiler, run-time, and profiling tools. It enables complex neural net models, created and trained in popular frameworks such as TensorFlow, PyTorch, and MXNet, to be executed using Inf1 instances. AWS Neuron also supports the ability to split large models for execution across multiple Inferentia chips using a high-speed physical chip-to-chip interconnect, delivering high inference throughput and lower inference costs.

High performance networking and storage

Inf1 instances offer up to 100 Gbps of networking throughput for applications that require access to high speed networking. Next generation Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) and NVM Express (NVMe) technology provide Inf1 instances with high throughput, low latency interfaces for networking and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS).

Built on AWS Nitro System

The AWS Nitro System is a rich collection of building blocks that offloads many of the traditional virtualization functions to dedicated hardware and software to deliver high performance, high availability, and high security while also reducing virtualization overhead.

How it works

How to use Inf1 and AWS Inferentia

Customer Testimonials

SkyWatch
"We incorporate machine learning (ML) into many aspects of Snapchat, and exploring innovation in this field is a key priority. Once we heard about Inferentia we started collaborating with AWS to adopt Inf1/Inferentia instances to help us with ML deployment, including around performance and cost. We started with our recommendation models, and look forward to adopting more models with the Inf1 instances in the future.”

Nima Khajehnouri, VP Engineering, Snap Inc.

Anthem
Anthem is one of the nation's leading health benefits companies, serving the health care needs of 40+ million members across dozens of states. "The market of digital health platforms is growing at a remarkable rate. Gathering intelligence on this market is a challenging task due to the vast amounts of customer opinions data and its unstructured nature. Our application automates the generation of actionable insights from customer opinions via deep learning natural language models (Transformers). Our application is computationally intensive and needs to be deployed in a highly performant manner. We seamlessly deployed our deep learning inferencing workload onto Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances powered by the AWS Inferentia processor. The new Inf1 instances provide 2X higher throughput to GPU-based instances and allowed us to streamline our inference workloads.”

Numan Laanait, PhD, Principal AI/Data Scientist & Miro Mihaylov, PhD, Principal AI/Data Scientist

Anthem
"Autodesk is advancing the cognitive technology of our AI-powered virtual assistant, Autodesk Virtual Agent (AVA) by using Inferentia. AVA answers over 100,000 customer questions per month by applying natural language understanding (NLU) and deep learning techniques to extract the context, intent, and meaning behind inquiries. Piloting Inferentia, we are able to obtain a 4.9x higher throughput over G4dn for our NLU models, and look forward to running more workloads on the Inferentia-based Inf1 instances.”

Binghui Ouyang, Sr Data Scientist, Autodesk

Condé Nast
"Condé Nast's global portfolio encompasses over 20 leading media brands, including Wired, Vogue, and Vanity Fair. Within a few weeks, our team was able to integrate our recommendation engine with AWS Inferentia chips. This union enables multiple runtime optimizations for state-of-the-art natural language models on SageMaker's Inf1 instances. As a result, we observed a 72% reduction in cost than the previously deployed GPU instances."

Paul Fryzel, Principal Engineer, AI Infrastructure

Asahi Shimbun
“The Asahi Shimbun is one of the most popular daily newspapers in Japan. Media Lab, established as one of our company's departments, has the missions to research the latest technology, especially AI, and connect the cutting-edge technologies for new businesses. With the launch of AWS Inferentia based Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances in Tokyo, we tested our PyTorch based text summarization AI application on these instances. This application processes a large amount of text and generates headlines and summary sentences trained on articles from the last 30 years. Using Inferentia, we lowered costs by an order of magnitude over CPU-based instances. This dramatic reduction in costs will enable us to deploy our most complex models at scale, which we previously believed was not economically feasible”

Hideaki Tamori, PhD, Senior Administrator, Media Lab, The Asahi Shimbun Company

CS Disco
“CS Disco is reinventing legal technology as a leading provider of AI solutions for e-discovery developed by lawyers for lawyers. Disco AI accelerates the thankless task of combing through terabytes of data, speeding up review times and improving review accuracy by leveraging complex Natural Language Processing models, which are computationally expensive and cost-prohibitive. Disco has found that AWS Inferentia-based Inf1 instances reduce the cost of inference in Disco AI by at least 35% as compared with today's GPU instances. Based on this positive experience with Inf1 instances CS Disco will explore opportunies for migration into Inferentia.”

Alan Lockett, Sr. Director of Research at CS Disco

Talroo
“At Talroo, we provide our customers with a data-driven platform that enables them to attract unique job candidates, so they can make hires. We are constantly exploring new technologies to ensure we offer the best products and services to our customers. Using Inferentia we extract insights from a corpus of text data to enhance our AI-powered search-and-match technology. Talroo leverages Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances to create high throughput Natural Language Understanding models with SageMaker. Talroo’s initial testing shows that the Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances deliver 40% lower inference latency and 2X higher throughput compared to G4dn GPU-based instances. Based on these results, Talroo looks forward to using Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances as part of its AWS infrastructure.”

Janet Hu, Software Engineer, Talroo

Digital Media Professionals (DMP)
Digital Media Professionals (DMP) visualizes the future with a real-time ZIA platform based on AI (Artificial Intelligence). DMP’s efficient computer vision classification technologies are used to build insight on large amount of real-time image data, such as condition observation, crime prevention, and accident prevention. We are actively evaluating Inf1 instances over alternative options, as we believe Inferentia will give us the performance and cost structure we need to deploy our AI applications at scale.” 

Hiroyuki Umeda - Director & General Manager, Sales & Marketing Group, Digital Media Professionals

Hotpot.ai
Hotpot.ai empowers non-designers to create attractive graphics and helps professional designers to automate rote tasks. "Since machine learning is core to our strategy, we were excited to try AWS Inferentia-based Inf1 instances. We found the Inf1 instances easy to integrate into our research and development pipeline. Most importantly, we observed impressive performance gains compared to the G4dn GPU-based instances. With our first model, the Inf1 instances yielded about 45% higher throughput and decreased cost per inference by almost 50%. We intend to work closely with the AWS team to port other models and shift most of our ML inference infrastructure to AWS Inferentia."

Clarence Hu, Founder, Hotpot.ai

INGA
"INGA’s mission is to create advanced text summarizing solutions based on artificial intelligence and deep learning technologies which can be easily integrated into current business pipelines. We believe that text summarization will be critical in helping businesses derive meaningful insights from data. We quickly ramped up on AWS Inferentia based Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances and integrated them in our development pipeline. The impact was immediate and significant. The Inf1 instances provide high performance, which enables us to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of our inference model pipelines. Out of the box, we have experienced 4X higher throughput, and 30% lower overall pipeline costs compared to our previous GPU-based pipeline."

Yaroslav Shakula, Chief Business Development Officer, INGA Technologies

SkyWatch
"SkyWatch processes hundreds of trillions of pixels of Earth observation data, captured from space everyday. Adopting the new AWS Inferentia-based Inf1 instances using Amazon SageMaker for real-time cloud detection and image quality scoring was quick and easy. It was all a matter of switching the instance type in our deployment configuration. By switching instance types to Inferentia-based Inf1, we improved performance by 40% and decreased overall costs by 23%. This is a big win. It has enabled us to lower our overall operational costs while continuing to deliver high quality satellite imagery to our customers, with minimal engineering overhead. We are looking forward to transitioning all of our inference endpoints and batch ML processes to use Inf1 instances to further improve our data reliability and customer experience."

Adler Santos, Engineering Manager, SkyWatch

Amazon Services Using Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances

Amazon Alexa

Over 100 million Alexa devices have been sold globally, and customers have also left over 400,000 5-star reviews for Echo devices on Amazon. “Amazon Alexa’s AI and ML-based intelligence, powered by Amazon Web Services, is available on more than 100 million devices today – and our promise to customers is that Alexa is always becoming smarter, more conversational, more proactive, and even more delightful,” said Tom Taylor, Senior Vice President, Amazon Alexa. “Delivering on that promise requires continuous improvements in response times and machine learning infrastructure costs, which is why we are excited to use Amazon EC2 Inf1 to lower inference latency and cost-per-inference on Alexa text-to-speech. With Amazon EC2 Inf1, we’ll be able to make the service even better for the tens of millions of customers who use Alexa each month.”

Amazon Alexa
“Amazon Rekognition is a simple and easy image and video analysis application that helps customer identify objects, people, text, and activities. Amazon Rekognition needs high-performance deep learning infrastructure that can analyze billions of images and videos daily for our customers. With AWS Inferentia-based Inf1 instances, running Rekognition models such as object classification, resulted in 8X lower latency, and 2X the throughput compared to running these models on GPUs. Based on these results we are moving Rekognition to Inf1, enabling our customers to get accurate results, faster.”
 
Rajneesh Singh, Director, SW Engineering, Rekognition and Video

Pricing

* Prices shown are for US East (Northern Virginia) AWS Region. Prices for 1-year and 3-year reserved instances are for "Partial Upfront" payment options or "No Upfront" for instances without the Partial Upfront option.

Amazon EC2 Inf1 instances are available in the US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon) AWS Regions as On-Demand, Reserved, or Spot Instances.

Getting Started

Using Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker makes it easy to compile and deploy your trained machine learning model in production on Amazon Inf1 instances so that you can start generating real-time predictions with low latency. AWS Neuron, the compiler for AWS Inferentia, is integrated with Amazon SageMaker Neo enabling you to compile your trained machine learning models to run optimally on Inf1 instances. With Amazon SageMaker you can easily run your models on auto-scaling clusters of Inf1 instances that are spread across multiple availability zones to deliver both high performance and highly available real-time inference. Learn how to deploy to Inf1 using Amazon SageMaker with examples on Github.

Using AWS Deep Learning AMI

The AWS Deep Learning AMIs (DLAMI) provide machine learning practitioners and researchers with the infrastructure and tools to accelerate deep learning in the cloud, at any scale. The AWS Neuron SDK comes pre-installed in AWS Deep Learning AMIs to compile and run your machine learning models optimally on Inf1 instances. To help guide you through the getting started process, visit the AMI selection guide and more deep learning resources. Refer to the AWS DLAMI Getting Started guide to learn how to use the DLAMI with Neuron.

Using Deep Learning Containers

Developers can now deploy Inf1 instances in Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (EKS), which is a fully managed Kubernetes service, as well as in Amazon Elastic Container Service (ECS), which is a fully managed container orchestration service from Amazon. Learn more about getting started with Inf1 on Amazon EKS in this blog. More details about running containers on Inf1 instances are available on the Neuron container tools tutorial page. Inf1 support for AWS DL Containers is coming soon.