开始使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams »

参阅有关 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 的最新资讯 »

请求为您的概念验证或评估提供支持 »

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 是一种可大规模扩展、高度持久的数据提取和处理服务,针对流数据进行了优化。您可以配置数以万计的数据创建器,连续不断地将数据传输到 Kinesis 数据流。数据将在几毫秒内传输到您的 Amazon Kinesis 应用程序,这些应用程序将按生成顺序接收数据记录。

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 与多项 AWS 服务集成,其中包括以近乎实时的方式转换流数据并将其传输到 Amazon S3 等数据湖的 Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose、用于托管流处理的 Kinesis Data Analytics、用于事件或记录处理的 AWS Lambda、用于私有连接的 AWS PrivateLink、用于指标和日志处理的 Amazon Cloudwatch 以及用于服务器端加密的 AWS KMS

在下面的架构图表中,Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 被用作大数据解决方案的网关。不同来源中的数据被传输到 Amazon Kinesis 流中,然后流中的数据再被不同的 Amazon Kinesis 应用程序使用。在此示例中,一个应用程序(显示为黄色)正在对流数据运行实时控制面板。另一个应用程序(显示为红色)执行简单的聚合并将处理后的数据发给 Amazon S3。Amazon S3 中的数据将获得进一步处理并储存在 Amazon Redshift 中,以便进行复杂分析。第三个应用程序(显示为绿色)将原始数据传送到 Amazon S3,之后这些数据还会存档到 Amazon Glacier,以实现低成本的长期存储。请注意,全部三条数据处理管道是同时并行工作的。

kinesis-architecture-crop

重要概念

数据创建器

数据创建器是一种应用程序,它通常会将生成的数据记录传送到 Kinesis 数据流。数据创建器可以为记录分配分区键。分区键最终决定哪个分区为数据流提取数据记录。

数据使用器

数据使用器是一种分布式 Kinesis 应用程序或 AWS 服务,它从流中所有分区检索生成的数据。大多数数据使用器会检索分区中的最新数据,以支持实时分析或数据处理。

数据流

数据流是分区的逻辑分组。数据流中的分区数量没有限制(如果需要更多分区,您可以请求提高限制)。数据流可以将数据保留 24 小时,启用延长保留时,最多可以保留 7 天。

分区

分区是 Amazon Kinesis 数据流的基本吞吐量单位。

  • 分区是一种仅附加日志和流功能的单位。分区包含按到达时间排序的有序记录序列。
  • 一个分区每秒可以提取多达 1000 个数据记录,或每秒可以提取 1MB 数据。添加更多分区可以提高提取能力。
  • 使用 AWS 控制台、UpdateShardCount API,在数据吞吐量发生变化时动态添加或删除流中的分区。通过 AWS Lambda 或使用自动扩展实用工具触发自动扩展。
  • 当使用器使用增强型扇出时,一个分区可以为每个注册使用增强型扇出的数据使用器提供每秒 1MB 的数据输入和每秒 2MB 的数据输出。
  • 当使用器不使用增强型扇出时,分区提供每秒 1MB 的输入和每秒 2MB 的数据输出,并且这些使用器将与不使用增强型扇出的任何使用器共享此输出。
  • 创建流时,您需要指定所需的分区数量,您可以随时更改该数量。例如,您可以创建具有两个分区的流。如果您有 5 个使用增强型扇出的数据使用器,此流可提供每秒高达 20MB 的总数据输出(2 个分区 x 2MB/秒 x 5 个数据使用器)。如果数据使用器没有使用增强型扇出,此流的吞吐量为每秒 2MB 的数据输入和每秒 4MB 的数据输出。在所有情况下,此流允许每秒最多 2000 个 PUT 记录或每秒 2MB 的数据摄入(以先达到的限制为准)。
  • 您可以监控 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 中的分区级指标。

数据记录

记录是存储在 Amazon Kinesis 流中的数据单元。记录由序列号、分区键和数据块组成。数据块是您的数据创建器添加到流中的重要数据。数据块的最大大小(Base64 解码后的数据有效载荷)是 1 兆字节 (MB)。

分区键

分区键通常是有意义的标识符,例如用户 ID 或时间戳。它由数据创建器在将数据传输到 Amazon Kinesis 数据流时指定,它对使用器很有用,因为使用器可以使用分区键重播或构建与分区键关联的历史记录。分区键还可以用于隔离数据记录并将其路由到不同的流分区。例如,假定您的 Amazon Kinesis 数据流具有两个分区(分区 1 和分区 2)。您可以将数据创建器配置为使用两个分区键(键 A 和键 B),以将所有带键 A 的数据记录添加到分区 1,同时将所有带键 B 的数据记录添加到分区 2。

序列号

序列号是每个数据记录的唯一标识符。当数据创建器调用 PutRecordPutRecords API 以向 Amazon Kinesis 数据流添加数据时,Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 会分配序列号。同一分区键的序列号通常会随时间变化增加;PutRecord 或 PutRecords 请求之间的时间段越长,序列号则越大。

使用 Kinesis Data Streams

注册 Amazon Web Services 后,可按以下步骤使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams:

将数据传输到流中

数据创建器可通过 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams API、Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL)Amazon Kinesis Agent 将数据传输到 Amazon Kinesis 数据流。

Amazon Kinesis Data Generator

使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Generator 将示例数据传输到 Kinesis 数据流或 Kinesis 数据消防站。

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams API

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 提供了两个将数据传输到 Amazon Kinesis 流的 API:PutRecordPutRecords。PutRecord 支持 API 调用中的一条数据记录,PutRecords 支持 API 调用中的多条数据记录。

Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL)

Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL) 是易于使用且高度可配置的库,可以帮助您把数据传输到 Amazon Kinesis 数据流中。Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL) 具有一个简单可靠的异步界面,使您能够快速使用最少客户资源实现较高的创建器吞吐量。

Amazon Kinesis Agent

Amazon Kinesis Agent 是一款预构建的 Java 应用程序,可提供简单的方法来收集数据并将其发送到 Amazon Kinesis 流。您可以在基于 Linux 的服务器环境(如 Web 服务器、日志服务器和数据库服务器)上安装此代理。此代理监控特定文件并持续将数据发送到流。

运行完全托管的流处理应用程序或自行构建流处理应用程序

使用 AWS 服务运行完全托管的流处理应用程序或自行构建流处理应用程序。

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 是将流数据可靠地转换和加载到数据存储和分析工具中的最简单方法。您可以使用 Kinesis 数据流作为 Kinesis 数据消防站的来源。

Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics

通过 Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics,您能够使用 SQL 查询流数据或构建整个流式处理应用程序,以便获取可行的见解并及时响应您的业务和客户需求。您可以将 Kinesis 数据流用作 Kinesis 数据分析应用程序的来源和目标。

AWS Lambda

您可以订阅 Lambda 函数以自动读取 Kinesis 数据流中的记录。AWS Lambda 通常用于逐个记录(也称为基于事件的)流处理。

Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL)

Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL) 是一个预构建的库,可帮助您轻松构建 Amazon Kinesis 应用程序,用以读取和处理来自 Amazon Kinesis 数据流的数据。KCL 可以处理各种复杂的问题,如适应流量的变化、均衡流数据负载、协调分布式服务以及以容错方式处理数据。KCL 可让您在构建 Amazon Kinesis 应用程序时专注于业务逻辑。 从 KCL 2.0 开始,您可以利用低延迟 HTTP/2 流 API 和增强的扇出功能来从流中检索数据。

Amazon Kinesis Connector Library

Amazon Kinesis Connector Library 是一个预构建库,可帮助您轻松完成 Amazon Kinesis 与其他 AWS 服务和第三方工具的集成。使用 Amazon Kinesis 连接器库需要 Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL)。该库的最新版本为 Amazon DynamoDBAmazon RedshiftAmazon S3Amazon Elasticsearch Service 提供了连接器。该库还包含各种类型的示例连接器,并有 Apache Ant 用来构建运行示例的文件。

Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout

Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout 是一个预建库,可帮助您轻松将 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 与 Apache Storm 集成。最新版本的 Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout 从 Kinesis 数据流获取数据,再作为元组发出。您将此 Spout 添加到 Storm 拓扑中,以将 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 用作一种可靠、可扩展、流捕获、存储和重播服务。

管理功能

从 Amazon VPC 对 Kinesis Data Streams API 进行私有访问

您可以通过创建 VPC 终端节点来实现从 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 对 Kinesis Data Streams API 进行私有访问。借助 VPC 终端节点,VPC 和 Kinesis Data Streams 之间的路由可由 AWS 网络处理,而无需使用互联网网关、NAT 网关或 VPN 连接。Kinesis Data Streams 使用的最新一代 VPC 终端节点由 AWS PrivateLink 提供支持。AWS PrivateLink 是一种通过使用 VPC 中带有私有 IP 的弹性网络接口 (ENI) 来支持各 AWS 服务之间的私有连接的技术。有关 PrivateLink 的更多信息,请参阅 AWS PrivateLink 文档

在不牺牲性能的情况下扇出 Kinesis Data Streams 数据

增强型扇出让客户能够增加并行地从流中读取数据的使用器数量,同时保持高性能。您可以使用增强型扇出和 HTTP/2 数据检索 API 将数据扇出到多个应用程序,通常在到达后 70 毫秒内。

加密 Kinesis Data Streams 数据

您可采用服务器端加密或客户端加密来对传输到 Kinesis Data Streams 的数据进行加密。服务器端加密是一项完全托管的功能,可在您向数据流传输数据和从中提取数据时自动对数据进行加密和解密。或者,您也可以先在客户端加密数据,再将其传输到数据流。如需了解更多信息,请参阅 Kinesis Data Streams 常见问题的安全部分。

与 Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 和 Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics 的集成

使用数据流作为 Kinesis Data Firehose 的来源,以在将数据传输到 S3、Redshift、Elasticsearch 和 Splunk 时动态转换数据。附加 Kinesis Data Analytics 应用程序,使用标准 SQL 实时处理流数据,而无需学习新的编程语言或处理框架。

与 Amazon CloudWatch 集成

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 与 Amazon CloudWatch 集成,以便您可以轻松为 Amazon Kinesis 数据流以及其中的分区收集、查看和分析 CloudWatch 指标。有关 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 指标的更多信息,请参阅利用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 Amazon Kinesis

与 AWS IAM 集成

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 与 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服务集成,后者让您能够安全控制对 AWS 服务和用户资源的访问。例如,您可以创建仅允许特定用户或组将数据传输到 Amazon Kinesis 数据流的策略。有关 Amazon Kinesis 数据流的访问管理和控制的更多信息,请参阅使用 IAM 控制对 Amazon Kinesis 资源的访问

与 AWS CloudTrail 的集成

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 与 AWS CloudTrail 服务集成,后者可记录您账户的 AWS API 调用并向您提供日志文件。有关 API 调用日志记录和支持的 Amazon Kinesis API 列表的更多信息,请参阅使用 AWS CloudTrail 记录 Amazon Kinesis API 调用

标记支持

您可以标记 Amazon Kinesis 数据流,从而更加轻松地管理资源和成本。标签是以键值对表示的用户定义的标记,有助于组织 AWS 资源。例如,您可以使用成本中心标记 Amazon Kinesis 数据流,从而基于成本中心对 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 成本进行分类和跟踪。有关更多信息,请参阅为您在 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 中的流加标签

教程

使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 分析股票数据

本教程将带您一步步学习如何创建 Amazon Kinesis 数据流、向流中发送模拟股票交易数据以及编写应用程序以处理数据流中的数据。  

使用 Amazon Kinesis 实时分析流数据 (ABD301)

Amazon Kinesis 使您可以轻松收集、处理和分析实时流数据,以便您及时获得见解并对新信息快速做出响应。在本次研讨会中,我们通过用于进行数据摄取的 Kinesis Streams、用于实时处理的 Kinesis Analytics 和用于实现持久性的 Kinesis Firehose 来展示端到端的流数据解决方案。我们将详细了解一下如何使用流数据编写 SQL 查询,并讨论用于优化和监控 Kinesis Analytics 应用程序的最佳实践。最后,我们将讨论如何预估整个系统的成本。

观看研讨会录像 | 下载演示文稿

研讨会:在 AWS 上构建您的首款大数据应用程序 (ABD317)

想要增加您关于 AWS 大数据 Web 服务的知识并在云上启动您的首款大数据应用程序? 我们将带您了解如何将大数据处理简化为数据总线形式 (包含摄取、存储、处理和虚拟化)。您可以使用 Amazon Athena、Amazon Kinesis、Amazon DynamoDB 和 Amazon S3 等 AWS 托管服务构建大数据应用程序。同时,我们将了解大数据应用程序的架构设计模式,并授予您访问课后练习用实验的权限,以便您可以自己重建和自定义应用程序。您应该带上自己的笔记本电脑,并熟悉 AWS 产品,以充分利用本次研讨会。

下载演示文稿

研讨会:不要等到明天:如何使用流数据实时洞察您的业务 (ABD321)

在最近几年,连接设备和实时数据源的数量呈爆炸式增长。因此,数据不断地生成,而且生成速度也在加快。企业无需再等数小时或数天才能使用该数据。要获取最有价值的见解,他们必须立即使用该数据,以便对新信息做出迅速响应。在本次研讨会中,您将了解如何利用流数据源以近乎实时的方式进行分析和做出响应。您会看到真实流数据场景的几个要求,并负责制定能够通过 Amazon Kinesis、AWS Lambda 和 Amazon SNS 等服务成功满足要求的解决方案。

下载演示文稿

Amazon Flex 如何使用实时分析按时交付软件包 (ABD217)

对于所有使用批处理数据分析工具探索流分析优势的企业和客户来说,缩短通过数据获取可行性见解所需的时间至关重要。了解最佳实践,将您的架构从数据仓库和数据库扩展到实时解决方案。了解如何使用 Amazon Kinesis 获取实时数据见解并将其与 Amazon Aurora、Amazon RDS、Amazon Redshift 和 Amazon S3 集成。Amazon Flex 团队描述了他们如何在 Amazon Flex 移动应用程序中使用流分析,Amazon Delivery Driver 使用该应用程序每月按时交付数百万个软件包。他们讨论了能够克服将现有批处理数据迁移到流处理数据所面临的挑战并进而实现从批处理系统向实时系统迁移的架构,还讨论了如何从实时分析中获益。

观看研讨会录像 | 下载演示文稿

AWS 上的实时流处理应用程序:使用案例和模式 (ABD203)

要在市场中获胜并提供独特的客户体验,企业必须能够实时使用实时数据来促使快速制定出决策。在本次研讨会中,您将了解常见的流数据处理使用案例和架构。首先,我们将概述流数据和 AWS 流数据功能。接下来,我们来了解几个客户示例以及他们的实时流应用程序。最后,我们将了解一下常见的架构和首要流数据使用案例的设计模式。

观看研讨会录像 | 下载演示文稿

开始使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

请参阅开发人员指南
准备好开始使用了吗?
注册
还有更多问题?
联系我们

Get started with Amazon Kinesis Data Streams »

See What's New with Amazon Kinesis Data Streams »

Request support for your proof-of-concept or evaluation »

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams is a massively scalable, highly durable data ingestion and processing service optimized for streaming data. You can configure hundreds of thousands of data producers to continuously put data into a Kinesis data stream. Data will be available within milliseconds to your Amazon Kinesis applications, and those applications will receive data records in the order they were generated.

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams is integrated with a number of AWS services, including Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose for near real-time transformation and delivery of streaming data into an AWS data lake like Amazon S3, Kinesis Data Analytics for managed stream processing, AWS Lambda for event or record processing, AWS PrivateLink for private connectivity, Amazon Cloudwatch for metrics and log processing, and AWS KMS for server-side encryption.

In the following architectural diagram, Amazon Kinesis Data Streams is used as the gateway of a big data solution. Data from various sources is put into an Amazon Kinesis stream and then the data from the stream is consumed by different Amazon Kinesis applications. In this example, one application (in yellow) is running a real-time dashboard against the streaming data. Another application (in red) performs simple aggregation and emits processed data into Amazon S3. The data in S3 is further processed and stored in Amazon Redshift for complex analytics. The third application (in green) emits raw data into Amazon S3, which is then archived to Amazon Glacier for lower cost long-term storage. Notice all three of these data processing pipelines are happening simultaneously and in parallel.

kinesis-architecture-crop

Key concepts

Data Producer

A data producer is an application that typically emits data records as they are generated to a Kinesis data stream. Data producers assign partition keys to records. Partition keys ultimately determine which shard ingests the data record for a data stream.

Data Consumer

A data consumer is a distributed Kinesis application or AWS service retrieving data from all shards in a stream as it is generated. Most data consumers are retrieving the most recent data in a shard, enabling real-time analytics or handling of data.

Data Stream

A data stream is a logical grouping of shards. There are no bounds on the number of shards within a data stream (request a limit increase if you need more). A data stream will retain data for 24 hours, or up to 7 days when extended retention is enabled.

Shard

A shard is the base throughput unit of an Amazon Kinesis data stream.

  • A shard is an append-only log and a unit of streaming capability. A shard contains an ordered sequence of records ordered by arrival time.
  • One shard can ingest up to 1000 data records per second, or 1MB/sec. Add more shards to increase your ingestion capability.
  • Add or remove shards from your stream dynamically as your data throughput changes using the AWS console, UpdateShardCount API, trigger automatic scaling via AWS Lambda, or using an auto scaling utility.
  • When consumers use enhanced fan-out, one shard provides 1MB/sec data input and 2MB/sec data output for each data consumer registered to use enhanced fan-out.
  • When consumers do not use enhanced fan-out, a shard provides 1MB/sec of input and 2MB/sec of data output, and this output is shared with any consumer not using enhanced fan-out.
  • You will specify the number of shards needed when you create a stream and can change the quantity at any time. For example, you can create a stream with two shards. If you have 5 data consumers using enhanced fan-out, this stream can provide up to 20 MB/sec of total data output (2 shards x 2MB/sec x 5 data consumers). When data consumer are not using enhanced fan-out this stream has a throughput of 2MB/sec data input and 4MB/sec data output. In all cases this stream allows up to 2000 PUT records per second, or 2MB/sec of ingress whichever limit is met first.
  • You can monitor shard-level metrics in Amazon Kinesis Data Streams.

Data Record

A record is the unit of data stored in an Amazon Kinesis stream. A record is composed of a sequence number, partition key, and data blob. A data blob is the data of interest your data producer adds to a stream. The maximum size of a data blob (the data payload after Base64-decoding) is 1 megabyte (MB).

Partition Key

A partition key is typically a meaningful identifier, such as a user ID or timestamp. It is specified by your data producer while putting data into an Amazon Kinesis data stream, and useful for consumers as they can use the partition key to replay or build a history associated with the partition key. The partition key is also used to segregate and route data records to different shards of a stream. For example, assuming you have an Amazon Kinesis data stream with two shards (Shard 1 and Shard 2). You can configure your data producer to use two partition keys (Key A and Key B) so that all data records with Key A are added to Shard 1 and all data records with Key B are added to Shard 2.

Sequence Number

A sequence number is a unique identifier for each data record. Sequence number is assigned by Amazon Kinesis Data Streams when a data producer calls PutRecord or PutRecords API to add data to an Amazon Kinesis data stream. Sequence numbers for the same partition key generally increase over time; the longer the time period between PutRecord or PutRecords requests, the larger the sequence numbers become.

Use Kinesis Data Streams

After you sign up for Amazon Web Services, you can start using Amazon Kinesis Data Streams by:

  • Creating an Amazon Kinesis data stream through either Amazon Kinesis Management Console or Amazon Kinesis CreateStream API.
  • Configuring your data producers to continuously put data into your Amazon Kinesis data stream.
  • Building your Amazon Kinesis applications to read and process data from your Amazon Kinesis data stream.

Put data into streams

Data producers can put data into Amazon Kinesis data streams using the Amazon Kinesis Data Streams APIs, Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL), or Amazon Kinesis Agent.

Amazon Kinesis Data Generator

Put sample data into a Kinesis data stream or Kinesis data firehose using the Amazon Kinesis Data Generator.

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams API

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams provides two APIs for putting data into an Amazon Kinesis stream: PutRecord and PutRecords. PutRecord allows a single data record within an API call and PutRecords allows multiple data records within an API call.

Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL)

Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL) is an easy to use and highly configurable library that helps you put data into an Amazon Kinesis data stream. Amazon Kinesis Producer Library (KPL) presents a simple, asynchronous, and reliable interface that enables you to quickly achieve high producer throughput with minimal client resources.

Amazon Kinesis Agent

Amazon Kinesis Agent is a pre-built Java application that offers an easy way to collect and send data to your Amazon Kinesis stream. You can install the agent on Linux-based server environments such as web servers, log servers, and database servers. The agent monitors certain files and continuously sends data to your stream.

Run Fully Managed Stream Processing Applications or Build Your Own

Run fully managed stream processing applications using AWS services or build your own.

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose is the easiest way to reliably transform and load streaming data into data stores and analytics tools. You can use a Kinesis data stream as a source for a Kinesis data firehose.

Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics

Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics enables you to query streaming data or build entire streaming applications using SQL, so that you can gain actionable insights and respond to your business and customer needs promptly. You can use a Kinesis data stream as a source and a destination for a Kinesis data analytics application.

AWS Lambda

You can subscribe Lambda functions to automatically read records off your Kinesis data stream. AWS Lambda is typically used for record-by-record (also known as event-based) stream processing.

Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL)

Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL) is a pre-built library that helps you easily build Amazon Kinesis applications for reading and processing data from an Amazon Kinesis data stream. KCL handles complex issues such as adapting to changes in stream volume, load-balancing streaming data, coordinating distributed services, and processing data with fault-tolerance. KCL enables you to focus on business logic while building Amazon Kinesis applications. Starting with KCL 2.0, you can utilize a low latency HTTP/2 streaming API and enhanced fan-out to retrieve data from a stream.

Amazon Kinesis Connector Library

Amazon Kinesis Connector Library is a pre-built library that helps you easily integrate Amazon Kinesis with other AWS services and third-party tools. Amazon Kinesis Client Library (KCL) is required for using Amazon Kinesis Connector Library. The current version of this library provides connectors to Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Redshift, Amazon S3, and Amazon Elasticsearch Service. The library also includes sample connectors of each type, plus Apache Ant build files for running the samples.

Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout

Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout is a pre-built library that helps you easily integrate Amazon Kinesis Data Streams with Apache Storm. The current version of Amazon Kinesis Storm Spout fetches data from a Kinesis data stream and emits it as tuples. You will add the spout to your Storm topology to leverage Amazon Kinesis Data Streams as a reliable, scalable, stream capture, storage, and replay service.

Management features

Accessing Kinesis Data Streams APIs Privately from Amazon VPC

You can privately access Kinesis Data Streams APIs from your Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) by creating VPC Endpoints. With VPC Endpoints, the routing between the VPC and Kinesis Data Streams is handled by the AWS network without the need for an Internet gateway, NAT gateway, or VPN connection. The latest generation of VPC Endpoints used by Kinesis Data Streams are powered by AWS PrivateLink, a technology that enables private connectivity between AWS services using Elastic Network Interfaces (ENI) with private IPs in your VPCs. For more information about PrivatLink, see the AWS PrivateLink documentation.

Fan-out Kinesis Data Streams Data Without Sacrificing Performance

Enhanced fan-out provides allows customers to scale the number of consumers reading from a stream in parallel while maintaining performance. You can use enhanced fan-out and an HTTP/2 data retrieval API to fan-out data to multiple applications, typically within 70 milliseconds of arrival.

Encrypting your Kinesis Data Streams Data

You can encrypt the data you put into Kinesis Data Streams using Server-side encryption or client-side encryption. Server-side encryption is a fully managed feature that automatically encrypts and decrypts data as you put and get it from a data stream. Alternatively, you can encrypt your data on the client-side before putting it into your data stream. To learn more, see the Security section of the Kinesis Data Streams FAQs.

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose and Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics Integration

Use a data stream as a source for a Kinesis Data Firehose to transform your data on the fly while delivering it to S3, Redshift, Elasticsearch, and Splunk. Attach a Kinesis Data Analytics application to process streaming data in real time with standard SQL without having to learn new programming languages or processing frameworks.

Amazon CloudWatch Integration

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams integrates with Amazon CloudWatch so that you can easily collect, view, and analyze CloudWatch metrics for your Amazon Kinesis data streams and the shards within those data streams. For more information about Amazon Kinesis Data Streams metrics, see Monitoring Amazon Kinesis with Amazon CloudWatch.

AWS IAM Integration

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams integrates with AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM), a service that enables you to securely control access to your AWS services and resources for your users. For example, you can create a policy that only allows a specific user or group to put data into your Amazon Kinesis data stream. For more information about access management and control of your Amazon Kinesis data stream, see Controlling Access to Amazon Kinesis Resources using IAM.

AWS CloudTrail Integration

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams integrates with AWS CloudTrail, a service that records AWS API calls for your account and delivers log files to you. For more information about API call logging and a list of supported Amazon Kinesis API, see Logging Amazon Kinesis API calls Using AWS CloudTrail.

Tagging Support

You can tag your Amazon Kinesis data streams for easier resource and cost management. A tag is a user-defined label expressed as a key-value pair that helps organize AWS resources. For example, you can tag your Amazon Kinesis data streams by cost centers so that you can categorize and track your Amazon Kinesis Data Streams costs based on cost centers. For more information about, see Tagging Your Amazon Kinesis Data Streams.

Tutorials

Analyze Stock Data with Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

This tutorial walks through the steps of creating an Amazon Kinesis data stream, sending simulated stock trading data in to the stream, and writing an application to process the data from the data stream.  

Analyzing Streaming Data in Real Time with Amazon Kinesis (ABD301)

Amazon Kinesis makes it easy to collect process and analyze real-time streaming data so you can get timely insights and react quickly to new information. In this session we present an end-to-end streaming data solution using Kinesis Streams for data ingestion Kinesis Analytics for real-time processing and Kinesis Firehose for persistence. We review in detail how to write SQL queries using streaming data and discuss best practices to optimize and monitor your Kinesis Analytics applications. Lastly we discuss how to estimate the cost of the entire system.

Watch session recording | Download presentation 

Workshop: Building Your First Big Data Application on AWS (ABD317)

Want to ramp up your knowledge of AWS big data web services and launch your first big data application on the cloud? We walk you through simplifying big data processing as a data bus comprising ingest, store, process, and visualize. You build a big data application using AWS managed services, including Amazon Athena, Amazon Kinesis, Amazon DynamoDB, and Amazon S3. Along the way, we review architecture design patterns for big data applications and give you access to a take-home lab so that you can rebuild and customize the application yourself. You should bring your own laptop and have some familiarity with AWS services to get the most from this session.

Download presentation 

Workshop: Don’t Wait Until Tomorrow How to Use Streaming Data to Gain Real-time Insights into Your Business (ABD321)

In recent years, there has been an explosive growth in the number of connected devices and real-time data sources. Because of this, data is being produced continuously and its production rate is accelerating. Businesses can no longer wait for hours or days to use this data. To gain the most valuable insights, they must use this data immediately so they can react quickly to new information. In this workshop, you learn how to take advantage of streaming data sources to analyze and react in near real-time. You are presented with several requirements for a real-world streaming data scenario and you're tasked with creating a solution that successfully satisfies the requirements using services such as Amazon Kinesis, AWS Lambda and Amazon SNS.

Download presentation

How Amazon Flex Uses Real-time Analytics to Deliver Packages on Time (ABD217)

Reducing the time to get actionable insights from data is important to all businesses and customers who employ batch data analytics tools are exploring the benefits of streaming analytics. Learn best practices to extend your architecture from data warehouses and databases to real-time solutions. Learn how to use Amazon Kinesis to get real-time data insights and integrate them with Amazon Aurora Amazon RDS Amazon Redshift and Amazon S3. The Amazon Flex team describes how they used streaming analytics in their Amazon Flex mobile app used by Amazon delivery drivers to deliver millions of packages each month on time. They discuss the architecture that enabled the move from a batch processing system to a real-time system overcoming the challenges of migrating existing batch data to streaming data and how to benefit from real-time analytics.

Watch session recording | Download presentation

Real-Time Streaming Applications on AWS: Use Cases and Patterns (ABD203)

To win in the marketplace and provide differentiated customer experiences, businesses need to be able to use live data in real time to facilitate fast decision making. In this session, you learn common streaming data processing use cases and architectures. First, we give an overview of streaming data and AWS streaming data capabilities. Next, we look at a few customer examples and their real-time streaming applications. Finally, we walk through common architectures and design patterns of top streaming data use cases.

Watch session recording | Download presentation

Get started with Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

See the developer guide
Ready to get started?
Sign up
Have more questions?
Contact us