概览

Amazon Redshift 的运行成本比任何其他数据仓库都要低。从小规模开始(每小时 0.25 USD),逐渐扩展到 PB 级数据和数千个并发用户。选择最符合您业务需求的数据仓库,能够在不过度预置计算容量的情况下扩展存储,以及在不增加存储成本的情况下灵活地扩展计算容量。

期望
首先,在下面的部分中了解有关节点类型的更多信息,选择最适合您需求的集群配置。您可以通过调用一次 API 或在 Amazon Redshift 控制台单击几下鼠标,快速扩展集群、暂停和恢复集群并在节点类型之间进行切换。在进行选择之前,您会看到按需定价,之后您可以选择购买预留节点以享受大幅折扣。

当您进行选择后,您可能希望使用弹性调整大小在几分钟内轻松调整预置计算容量,以进行稳态处理。使用调整大小计划程序,您可以每日或每周添加和删除节点,以优化成本和获得最佳性能。对于动态工作负载,您可以使用并发扩展在耗尽免费积分后自动预置其他计算容量,且只需按秒为您的使用量付费(请参阅并发扩展定价)。

Amazon Redshift 节点类型

Amazon Redshift 提供不同的节点类型来调整工作负载,我们建议根据所需的性能、数据大小及其增长选择 RA3 或 DC2。
 
使用具有托管存储的 RA3 节点,您可以通过分别扩展托管存储和计算容量并单独付费来优化数据仓库。使用 RA3,您可以根据性能要求选择节点数量,并只为您使用的托管存储支付费用。您应该根据您每日处理的数据量调整 RA3 集群大小。

Redshift 托管存储使用每个 RA3 节点中的大型高性能 SSD 来获得更快的本地存储,使用 Amazon S3 来实现时间更长的持久存储。如果节点中的数据超过大型本地 SSD 的大小,Redshift 托管存储会自动将数据分流到 Amazon S3。无论数据是存储在高性能 SSD 中还是 S3 中,Redshift 托管存储都采用相同的费率,而且费用较低。对于需要的存储不断增长的工作负载,托管存储使您能够在不增加额外节点和支付费用的情况下,自动扩展数据仓库的存储容量。

DC2 节点使您能够使用包含的本地 SSD 存储创建计算密集型数据仓库。您可以根据数据大小和性能需求选择所需的节点数量。DC2 节点将您的数据存储在本地,以获得高性能,并且随着数据大小增长,您可以添加更多计算节点来提高集群的存储容量。对于 1TB 以下的未压缩数据集,我们建议使用 DC2 节点类型,从而以最低的价格获得最佳的性能。如果您预计数据会增长,我们建议您使用 RA3 节点,以便您可以分别调整存储和计算大小,以实现最佳性价比。

使用 DS2 节点,您可以使用普通硬盘 (HDD) 创建大型数据仓库,我们建议您使用 RA3 节点替代之。如果您使用 DS2 节点,请参阅集群管理指南中的 RA3 节点类型概述了解升级指南。使用八个或以上 DS2.xlarge 节点或任意数量 DS2.8xlarge 节点的客户现在可以升级到 RA3,并且可以以相同的按需成本获得 2 倍的存储和更好的性能。

采用“按实际使用量付费”定价模型的 Redshift 功能

  • Amazon Redshift Spectrum 定价:让您能够直接对 S3 数据湖中的 EB 级数据运行 SQL 查询,只需按扫描的字节数付费。
  • 并发扩展定价:每个集群每天最多可获得 1 小时的并发扩展免费积分,这足以满足 97% 的客户的需求。这样,即使有数千个并发查询和用户,您也能提供始终如一的快速性能。您只需以每秒按需费率为超出免费积分的使用量付费。 
  • Redshift 托管存储定价:使您可以灵活地仅为存储在 RA3 集群中的数据付费,而不必考虑预置的计算节点的数量。您只需按小时为托管存储中的数据总量付费。

按需定价

Amazon Redshift 按需定价支持您按小时支付容量费用,无需签订合同或预付费用,只需基于集群中节点的类型和数量按小时费率付费。不满一小时的部分按秒计费,然后提供可计费的状态更改,例如创建、删除、暂停或恢复集群。暂停和恢复功能使您可以在集群暂停期间暂停按需计费。在集群暂停期间,您只需要为备份存储付费。这样可以避免规划和购买超出需求的数据仓库容量,使您能够针对开发或测试目的经济高效地管理环境。

最新一代

*托管存储中每个 RA3 节点的总可寻址存储容量。

上一代

计算按需实例每年每 TB 的有效价格

对于按需实例,每年每 TB 的有效价格为实例小时价格乘以一年内的小时数,再除以每个实例的 TB 数。对于 RA3,存储在托管存储中的数据将根据存储在 RA3 节点类型中的实际数据单独计费;仅针对计算节点成本计算每年每 TB 的有效价格。

Redshift Spectrum 定价

使用 Amazon Redshift Spectrum,您可以直接对 Amazon S3 中的数 EB 数据运行 SQL 查询。您需要按 Redshift Spectrum 扫描的字节数(四舍五入至下一个兆字节,每条查询至少 10MB)付费。无需为数据定义语言 (DDL) 语句(如 CREATE/ALTER/DROP TABLE)、管理分区的语句和失败的查询付费。

您可以用压缩并分区的列式数据格式存储数据,从而提高查询性能并降低成本。如果您使用 Redshift Spectrum 支持的格式之一来压缩数据,您的费用会降低,因为扫描的数据量较少。同样,如果您使用 Parquet 或 ORC 等列式格式存储数据,您的费用也会降低,因为 Redshift Spectrum 只会扫描查询所需的列。

额外费用

您需要为用于通过 Redshift Spectrum 查询数据的 Amazon Redshift 集群付费。Redshift Spectrum 直接在 Amazon S3 中查询数据。您需要按标准 S3 费率为存储在 S3 存储桶中的对象以及针对 S3 存储桶发出的请求付费。有关详细信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 费率。 

如果您将 AWS Glue Data Catalog 与 Amazon Redshift Spectrum 结合使用,则需要按照标准 AWS Glue Data Catalog 费率付费。有关详细信息,请参阅 AWS Glue 定价

使用 Amazon Redshift Spectrum 在 Amazon S3 中查询 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 加密数据时,您需要支付标准 AWS KMS 费率。有关详细信息,请参阅 AWS KMS 定价

Redshift Spectrum 定价示例,基于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)的价格

假设一个表中有 100 个大小相同的列,以未压缩文本文件的格式存储在 Amazon S3 中,总大小为 4TB。如果运行查询以从该表的一个列中获取数据,则 Redshift Spectrum 需要扫描整个文件,因为文本格式无法拆分。该查询将扫描 4TB 数据,费用为 20 USD(5 USD/TB * 4TB = 20 USD)。

如果您使用 GZIP 压缩文件,那么压缩比可能为 4:1。这样,您就会获得一个大小为 1TB 的压缩文件。Redshift Spectrum 必须扫描整个文件,但由于它的大小是原来的四分之一,因此您只需支付四分之一的费用,即 5 USD(5 USD/TB * 1TB = 5 USD)。

如果您压缩文件并将其转换为列式格式(如 Apache Parquet),那么压缩比可能为 4:1,您就会获得一个大小为 1TB 的压缩文件。使用上述查询,Redshift Spectrum 只需扫描 Parquet 文件的其中一列。该查询的费用为 0.05 USD(5 USD/TB * 1TB 文件大小 * 1/100 列,即 10GB 的总扫描量 = 0.05 USD)。

注意:以上定价示例仅用于说明目的。不同文件和列的压缩比可能会有所不同。

并发扩展定价

Amazon Redshift 可自动添加瞬态容量,以始终保持快速性能,即使存在数千个并发用户和查询也不受影响。您无需管理任何资源和预付任何费用,也无需为瞬态集群的启动或关闭时间付费。您可以在主集群运行时每 24 小时累积 1 小时的并发扩展集群积分。您只需在使用并发扩展集群享受查询服务期间,以每秒按需费率为超出免费积分的使用量付费,每次激活并发扩展集群时最低按 1 分钟收费。每秒按需费率基于 Amazon Redshift 集群中的节点类型和数量。

并发扩展积分

Amazon Redshift 集群每天最多可获得 1 小时的并发扩展免费积分。您的 AWS 账户中的每个活动集群按小时赚取积分,并且只有赚取积分后才能被同一集群使用。每个活动集群累计最多可获得 30 小时的免费并发扩展积分。只要您的集群不终止,积分就始终有效。

并发扩展定价示例

10 DC2.8XL 节点 Redshift 集群在美国东部的定价为 48 USD/小时。试想,两个瞬态集群均超出免费并发扩展积分使用 5 分钟。并发扩展的每秒按需费率为:48 USD * 1/3600 = 0.013 USD/秒。在本示例中,并发扩展的额外成本为:0.013 USD/秒 * 300 秒 * 2 个瞬态集群 = 8 USD。因此,在本示例中,Amazon Redshift 集群和两个瞬态集群的总成本为 56 USD。

Redshift 托管存储定价

您需要按固定的 GB 月费率为存储在您所在区域的托管存储中的数据付费。托管存储专用于 RA3 节点类型,无论数据大小如何,您都要按相同的低费率为 Redshift 托管存储付费。托管存储的使用量根据托管存储中的总数据每小时计算一次(请参阅下面的示例,了解如何将 GB 小时使用量转换为 GB 月费用)。您可以通过 Amazon CloudWatch 或 AWS 管理控制台监控 RA3 集群中的数据量。您无需支付 RA3 节点与托管存储之间的任何数据传输费用。托管存储费用不包括由于自动和手动快照而产生的备份存储费用(请参阅备份存储)。集群终止后,您需要继续为保留手动备份而付费。

托管存储定价示例

假设您在 4 月的前 15 天使用 RA3 节点类型在托管存储中存储了 100GB 数据,在 4 月的后 15 天存储了 100TB 数据。
首先,我们计算一下上述场景的 GB 小时使用量。对于前 15 天,GB 小时使用量如下: 100GB x 15 天 x( 24 小时/天)= 36000GB 小时使用量。
对于后 15 天,GB 小时使用量如下: 100TB x 1024GB/TB x 15 天 x( 24 小时/天)= 36864000GB 小时使用量

到 4 月底,所有 GB 小时使用量总计为:36000GB 小时使用量 + 36864000GB 小时使用量 = 36900000GB 小时使用量
将该值转换为 GB 月使用量:36900000GB 小时使用量 / 4 月整月 720 小时 = 51250GB 月使用量。

如果此数据存储在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域,则托管存储的月费率为 0.024 USD/GB。51250GB 月使用量的月存储费用为:51250GB 月使用量 x 0.024 USD/GB 月使用量 = 1230 USD
4 月的总托管存储费用 = 1230 USD

预留实例定价

预留实例适合状态稳定的生产工作负载,提供比按需定价更大的折扣。运行试验和概念验证对生产配置进行验证后,客户一般会购买预留实例。

通过承诺使用 Amazon Redshift 1 年或 3 年,您节省的费用将比采用按需费率更多。预留实例定价取决于购买的节点类型,在预留期结束之前始终有效。价格包括数据的两个额外副本,一个在群集节点中,另一个在 Amazon S3 中。我们将为您处理备份、持久性、可用性、安全性、监控和维护工作。

有三种预留实例定价可供选择:

无预付费用 – 您无需预付任何费用,只需在一年内支付每月费用。

预付部分费用 – 您预付部分预留实例费用,剩余费用在一或三年期间内支付。

预付全费 – 您通过一次性预付全费支付整个预留实例期限(一年或三年)内的费用。

预留实例是一种计费理念,不能用于创建数据仓库集群。购买时,即使您目前尚未运行集群或现有集群处于暂停状态,也需要支付相关的预付费用和每月费用。要购买预留实例,请访问控制台中的“预留节点”选项卡。

我们可以随时终止预留实例定价计划。除了受预留实例定价约束之外,预留实例还需遵守 AWS 客户协议或与我们就您使用我们的服务达成的其他协议项下适用的所有数据传输和其他费用。 

*下面的月度费率通过实际每小时费率乘以每月平均小时数得出。

**以下有效小时费率是整个期限内实例的摊销小时成本,包括所有预付费用。

最新一代

上一代

计算预留实例每年每 TB 的有效价格

对于预留实例,将小时费率乘以该期限中的小时数,结果与预付费用相加,然后除以该期限中的年份数和每个节点的 TB 数。对于 RA3,存储在托管存储中的数据将根据存储在 RA3 节点类型中的实际数据单独计费;仅针对计算节点成本计算每年每 TB 的有效价格。

最新一代

上一代

定价计算器

备份存储

备份存储是与快照(为数据仓库创建)相关的存储。延长备份保留期或增加快照数量,将增加数据仓库所占用的备份存储。Redshift 会对您使用控制台、API 或 CLI 获取手动快照收费。Redshift 自动快照是通过 Redshift 的快照计划功能创建的,不收费。存储在 RA3 集群中的数据是 Redshift 托管存储 (RMS) 的一部分,按 RMS 费率计费,但为 RA3 集群创建的手动快照作为备份存储按标准 Amazon S3 费率计费,已在本页有所概述。例如,如果您的 RA3 集群有 10TB 数据和 30TB 手动快照,则将向您收取 10TB 的 RMS 费用和 30TB 的备份存储费用。对于密集计算 (DC) 集群和密集存储 (DS) 集群,存储包含在集群中,无需单独付费,但备份存储在外部的 S3 中。超出密集计算和密集存储集群上预置存储大小的备份存储将作为备份存储按标准 Amazon S3 费率计费。快照在到期或删除(包括暂停或删除集群的情况)之前都会计费。

数据传输

您无需为同一 AWS 区域中 Amazon Redshift 和 Amazon S3 之间因备份、还原、加载和卸载操作而进行的数据传输付费。对于传入和传出 Amazon Redshift 的所有其他数据,您将按标准 AWS 数据传输费率付费。 具体而言,如果您在 Amazon VPC 中运行 Amazon Redshift 集群,AWS 将按照标准 AWS 数据传输费率对通过 JDBC/ODBC 传输到 Amazon Redshift 集群终端节点的数据收费。此外,在您使用增强型 VPC 路由并将数据上传至其他区域中的 Amazon S3 时,将按照标准 AWS 数据传输费率付费。有关 AWS 数据传输费率的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 定价页面。

其他定价资源

AWS 定价计算器

轻松计算 AWS 的月度费用

经济资源中心

用于切换到 AWS 的其他资源

发现更多 Amazon Redshift 资源

访问资源页面
准备好开始构建?
Amazon Redshift 入门
还有更多问题?
联系我们

Overview

Amazon Redshift costs less to operate than any other data warehouse. Start small at $0.25 per hour and scale up to petabytes of data and thousands of concurrent users. Choose what is right for your business needs, with the ability to grow storage without over-provisioning compute, and the flexibility to grow compute capacity without increasing storage costs.

What to expect
First, choose the best cluster configuration for your needs by learning more about the node types in the following section. You can quickly scale your cluster, pause and resume the cluster, and switch between node types with a single API call or a few clicks in the Amazon Redshift console. You’ll see on-demand pricing before making your selection, and later you may choose to purchase reserved nodes for significant discounts.

Once you make your selection, you may wish to use elastic resize to easily adjust the amount of provisioned compute capacity within minutes for steady-state processing. With resize scheduler, you can add and remove nodes on a daily or weekly basis to optimize cost and get the best performance. For dynamic workloads, you can use Concurrency Scaling to automatically provision additional compute capacity and only pay for what you use on a per-second basis after exhausting the free credits (see Concurrency Scaling pricing).

Amazon Redshift node types

Amazon Redshift offers different node types to accommodate your workloads, and we recommend choosing RA3 or DC2 depending on the required performance, data size and its growth.
 
RA3 nodes with managed storage allow you to optimize your data warehouse by scaling and paying for compute and managed storage independently. With RA3, you choose the number of nodes based on your performance requirements and only pay for the managed storage that you use. You should size your RA3 cluster based on the amount of data you process daily.

Redshift managed storage uses large, high-performance SSDs in each RA3 node for fast local storage and Amazon S3 for longer-term durable storage. If the data in a node grows beyond the size of the large local SSDs, Redshift managed storage automatically offloads that data to Amazon S3. You pay the same low rate for Redshift managed storage regardless of whether the data sits in high-performance SSDs or S3. For workloads that require ever-growing storage, managed storage lets you automatically scale your data warehouse storage capacity without adding and paying for additional nodes.

DC2 nodes allow you to have compute-intensive data warehouses with local SSD storage included. You choose the number of nodes you need based on data size and performance requirements. DC2 nodes store your data locally for high performance, and as the data size grows, you can add more compute nodes to increase the storage capacity of the cluster. For datasets under 1TB uncompressed, we recommend DC2 node types for the best performance at the lowest price. If you expect your data to grow, we recommend using RA3 nodes so you can size compute and storage independently to achieve the best price and performance.

DS2 nodes enable you to create large data warehouses using hard disk drives (HDDs), and we recommend using RA3 nodes instead. If you are using DS2 nodes, see Overview of RA3 Node Types in the Cluster Management Guide for upgrade guidelines. Customers using eight or more nodes of DS2.xlarge, or any number of DS2.8xlarge nodes, can now upgrade to RA3 and get 2x more storage and better performance for the same on-demand cost.

Redshift capabilities with pay-as-you-go pricing

  • Amazon Redshift Spectrum pricing: enables you to run SQL queries directly against the data in your S3 data lake, out to exabytes - you simply pay for the number of bytes scanned.
  • Concurrency Scaling pricing: each cluster earns up to one hour of free concurrency scaling credits per day, which is sufficient for 97% of customers. This enables you to provide consistently fast performance, even with thousands of concurrent queries and users. You simply pay a per-second on-demand rate for usage that exceeds the free credits. 
  • Redshift managed storage pricing: gives you the flexibility to pay only for the data that you store in RA3 clusters independent of number of compute nodes provisioned. You simply pay hourly for the total amount of data in managed storage.

On-demand pricing

Amazon Redshift on-demand pricing allows you to pay for capacity by the hour with no commitments and no upfront costs, you simply pay an hourly rate based on the type and number of nodes in your cluster. Partial hours are billed in one-second increments following a billable status change such as creating, deleting, pausing or resuming the cluster. The pause and resume feature allows you to suspend on-demand billing during the time the cluster is paused. During the time that a cluster is paused you only pay for backup storage. This frees you from planning and purchasing data warehouse capacity ahead of your needs, and enables you to cost-effectively manage environments for development or test purposes.

Current generation

*Total addressable storage capacity in the managed storage with each RA3 node.

Previous generation

Calculating your effective price per TB per year for on-demand

For On-Demand, the effective price per TB per year is the hourly price for the instance, times the number of hours in a year, divided by the number of TB per instance. For RA3, data stored in managed storage is billed separately based on actual data stored in the RA3 node types; effective price per TB per year is calculated for only the compute node costs.

Redshift Spectrum pricing

Amazon Redshift Spectrum allows you to directly run SQL queries against exabytes of data in Amazon S3. You are charged for the number of bytes scanned by Redshift Spectrum, rounded up to the next megabyte, with a 10MB minimum per query. There are no charges for Data Definition Language (DDL) statements like CREATE/ALTER/DROP TABLE statements for managing partitions, and failed queries.

You can improve query performance and reduce costs by storing data in a compressed, partitioned, columnar data format. If you compress data using one of Redshift Spectrum’s supported formats, your costs will go down because less data is scanned. Similarly, if you store data in a columnar format, such as Parquet or ORC, your charges will also go down because Redshift Spectrum only scans columns needed by the query.

Additional costs

You are charged for the Amazon Redshift cluster used to query data with Redshift Spectrum. Redshift Spectrum queries data directly in Amazon S3. You are charged standard S3 rates for storing objects in your S3 buckets, and for requests made against your S3 buckets. For details, refer to Amazon S3 rates

If you use the AWS Glue Data Catalog with Amazon Redshift Spectrum, you are charged standard AWS Glue Data Catalog rates. For details, refer to AWS Glue pricing.

When using Amazon Redshift Spectrum to query AWS Key Management Service (KMS) encrypted data in Amazon S3, you are charged standard AWS KMS rates. For details, refer to AWS KMS pricing.

Redshift Spectrum pricing examples based on US East (N.Virginia) price

Consider a table with 100 equally sized columns stored in Amazon S3 as an uncompressed text file with a total size of 4 terabytes. Running a query to get data from a single column of the table requires Redshift Spectrum to scan the entire file, because text formats cannot be split. This query would scan 4 terabytes and cost $20. ($5/TB * 4TB = $20)

If you compress your file using GZIP, you may see a 4:1 compression ratio. In this case, you would have a compressed file size of 1 terabyte. Redshift Spectrum has to scan the entire file, but since it is one-fourth the size, you pay one-fourth the cost, or $5. ($5/TB * 1TB = $5)

If you compress your file and convert it to a columnar format like Apache Parquet, you may see a 4:1 compression ratio and have a compressed file size of 1 terabyte. Using the same query as above, Redshift Spectrum needs to scan only one column in the Parquet file. The cost of this query would be $0.05. ($5/TB * 1TB file size * 1/100 columns, or a total of 10 gigabytes scanned = $0.05).

Note: The above pricing examples are for illustration purposes only. The compression ratio of different files and columns may vary.

Concurrency Scaling pricing

Amazon Redshift automatically adds transient capacity to provide consistently fast performance, even with thousands of concurrent users and queries. There are no resources to manage, no upfront costs, and you are not charged for the startup or shutdown time of the transient clusters. You can accumulate one hour of concurrency scaling cluster credits every 24 hours while your main cluster is running. You are charged the per-second on-demand rate for a concurrency scaling cluster used in excess of the free credits - only when it's serving your queries - with a one-minute minimum charge each time a concurrency scaling cluster is activated. The per-second on-demand rate is based on the type and number of nodes in your Amazon Redshift cluster.

Concurrency Scaling credits

Amazon Redshift clusters earn up to one hour of free Concurrency Scaling credits per day. Credits are earned on an hourly basis for each active cluster in your AWS account, and can be consumed by the same cluster only after credits are earned. You can accumulate up to 30 hours of free Concurrency Scaling credits for each active cluster. Credits do not expire as long as your cluster is not terminated.

Pricing example for Concurrency Scaling

A 10 DC2.8XL node Redshift cluster in the US-East costs $48 per hour. Consider a scenario where two transient clusters are utilized for five minutes beyond the free Concurrency Scaling credits. The per-second on-demand rate for Concurrency Scaling is $48 * 1/3600 = $0.013 per second. The additional cost for Concurrency Scaling in this case is $0.013 per second * 300 seconds * 2 transient clusters = $8. Therefore, the total cost of the Amazon Redshift cluster and the two transient clusters in this case is $56.

Redshift managed storage pricing

You pay for data stored in managed storage at a fixed GB-month rate for your region. Managed storage comes exclusively with RA3 node types and you pay the same low rate for Redshift managed storage regardless of data size. Usage of managed storage is calculated hourly based on the total data present in the managed storage (see example below converting usage in GB-Hours to charges in GB-Month). You can monitor the amount of data in your RA3 cluster via Amazon CloudWatch or the AWS Management Console. You do not pay for any data transfer charges between RA3 nodes and managed storage. Managed storage charges do not include back up storage charges due to automated and manual snapshots (see Backup Storage). Once the cluster is terminated, you continue to be charged for the retention of your manual backups.

Pricing example for managed storage pricing

Assume you store 100GB of data in managed storage, with RA3 node types, for 15 days in April, and 100TB of data for the final 15 days in April.
Let’s first calculate the usage in GB-Hours for the above scenario. For the first 15 days, you will have the following usage in GB-Hours: 100GB x 15 days x ( 24 hours/day) = 36,000 GB-Hours.
For the last 15 days, you will have the following usage in GB-Hours: 100TB X 1024 GB/TB X 15 days X ( 24 hours / day) = 36,864,000 GB-Hours

At the end of April, all usage in GB-Hours adds to: 36,000 GB-Hours + 36,864,000 GB-Hours = 36,900,000 GB-Hours
Let's convert this to GB-Months: 36,900,000 GB-Hours / 720 hours per month in April = 51,250 GB-Month.

If this data was stored in the US East (Northern Virginia) Region, managed storage will be charged at $0.024/GB-Month. Monthly storage charges for 51,250 GB-Month will be: 51,250 GB-Month x $0.024 per GB-month = $1,230
Total Managed Storage Fee for April = $1,230

Reserved Instance pricing

Reserved Instances are appropriate for steady-state production workloads, and offer significant discounts over On-Demand pricing. Customers typically purchase Reserved Instances after running experiments and proof-of-concepts to validate production configurations.

You can benefit from significant savings over On-Demand rates by committing to use Amazon Redshift for a 1- or 3-year term. Reserved Instance pricing is specific to the node type purchased, and remains in effect until the reservation term ends. Prices include two additional copies of data - one on the cluster nodes and one in Amazon S3. We take care of backup, durability, availability, security, monitoring, and maintenance for you.

There are three options for Reserved Instance pricing:

No Upfront – You pay nothing upfront, and commit to pay monthly over the course of one year.

Partial Upfront – You pay a portion of the Reserved Instance upfront, and the remainder over a one- or three-year term.

All Upfront – You pay for the entire Reserved Instance term (one or three years) with one upfront payment.

Reserved Instances are a billing concept and are not used to create data warehouse clusters. When you make a purchase, you will be charged the associated upfront and monthly fees even if you are not currently running a cluster, or if an existing cluster is paused. To purchase Reserved Instances, visit the Reserved Nodes tab in our Console.

We may terminate the Reserved Instance pricing program at any time. In addition to being subject to Reserved Instance pricing, Reserved Instances are subject to all data transfer and other fees applicable under the AWS Customer Agreement or other agreement with us governing your use of our services. 

* The Monthly rate below is the actual hourly rate multiplied by the average number of hours per month.

** The Effective Hourly rate below is the amortized hourly cost of the instance over the entire term, including any upfront payment.

Current generation

Previous generation

Calculating your effective price per TB per year for Reserved Instances

For Reserved Instances, add the upfront payment to the hourly rate times the number of hours in the term, and divide by the number of years in the term and number of TB per node. For RA3, data stored in managed storage is billed separately based on actual data stored in the RA3 node types; effective price per TB per year is calculated for only the compute node costs.

Current generation

Previous generation

Pricing calculator

Backup storage

Backup storage is the storage associated with the snapshots taken for your data warehouse. Increasing your backup retention period or taking additional snapshots increases the backup storage consumed by your data warehouse. Redshift charges for manual snapshots you take using the console, API or CLI. Redshift Automated snapshots, which get created using Redshift's snapshot scheduling feature, are not charged for. Data stored on RA3 clusters is part of Redshift Managed Storage (RMS) and is billed at RMS rates, but manual snapshots taken for RA3 clusters are billed as backup storage at standard Amazon S3 rates outlined on this page. For example, if your RA3 cluster has 10 TB of data and 30 TB of manual snapshots, you would be billed for 10 TB of RMS and 30 TB of backup storage. With dense compute (DC) and dense storage (DS) clusters, storage is included on the cluster and is not billed for separately, but backups are stored externally in S3. Backup storage beyond the provisioned storage size on DC and DS clusters is billed as backup storage at standard Amazon S3 rates. Snapshots are billed until they expire or are deleted, including when the cluster is paused or deleted.

Data transfer

There is no charge for data transferred between Amazon Redshift and Amazon S3 within the same AWS Region for backup, restore, load, and unload operations. For all other data transfers into and out of Amazon Redshift, you will be billed at standard AWS data transfer rates. In particular, if you run your Amazon Redshift cluster in Amazon VPC, you will see standard AWS data transfer charges for data transfers over JDBC/ODBC to your Amazon Redshift cluster endpoint. In addition, when you use Enhanced VPC Routing and unload data to Amazon S3 in a different region, you will incur standard AWS data transfer charges. For more information about AWS data transfer rates, see the Amazon EC2 pricing page.

Additional pricing resources

AWS Pricing Calculator

Easily calculate your monthly costs with AWS

Economics Resource Center

Additional resources for switching to AWS

Discover more Amazon Redshift resources

Visit the resources page
Ready to build?
Get started with Amazon Redshift
Have more questions?
Contact us