AWS 提供了极高的稳定性、完善的安全机制和全球化的覆盖能力,使我们能够为全球用户提供稳定、可靠的区块链解决方案。
陈浩 维优元界 CTO

维优元界是一家专注于区块链技术的金融科技公司,集合了来自国内外具有区块链、金融、互联网及咨询背景的专家团队,致力于为金融、商业、艺术、医药及慈善等广泛领域的客户提供数字化解决方案。维优元界目前有两个主要业务线。其一是在中国创建名为元界 (Metaverse) 的公有区块链,它是集成了数字资产、数字身份 (Avatar) 和中介 (Oracle) 的服务框架,为区块链开发者和普通商业用户提供了一个独特的区块链基础平台。通过这个平台,用户只需简单几步就可以登记数字资产、创建数字身份和识别中介。其二是构建元界 BaaS(Blockchain as a Service,区块链即服务),企业或个人可以向区块链解决方案供应商定制基于元界的服务。

维优元界是一家快速发展的公司,自 2014 年成立以来一直潜心研究和开发区块链技术。虽然区块链应用是近两年才开始快速发展起来的,但作为率先推进公有区块链概念的公司之一,维优元界期望能够利用这项技术为用户提供基于数字资产、数字身份和中介的独立自治的公有区块链服务,建立起可以自由传播数字价值的开放生态系统,实现全球化的价值流通服务。

在公司快速起步的过程中,维优元界面临着两方面的挑战:其一是公司业务从无到有,需要应对快速增长的业务和迅速增加的数据需求;其二是随着业务的扩展,开发运维团队资源也显得愈发紧缺。要应对这两方面的挑战,维优元界必须选择合适的云服务来搭建公有区块链及其应用(即元界),并为客户提供完整的 BaaS 解决方案。另外,公有区块链技术的实现本身也对 IT 基础设施有一些特别的要求。“虽然区块链本身从技术上看并没有新东西,但在实现上会比较吃硬件,尤其是 DPoS 类的共识算法。而 PBFT 类的共识算法中会占用高流量,所以对稳定性要求很高。“陈浩说道,”而区块链的应用往往需要和经典的 Web 应用程序深度结合。高并发和公链服务相结合的情况下,我们需要选择高带宽、高稳定性的云平台。” 在尝试使用了多种主流的方案之后,维优元界最终选择了 AWS。

AWS 云拥有安全可靠的架构、极高的稳定性、完善的安全机制和全球化覆盖范围,这是维优元界选择 AWS 的主要原因。“由于维优元界的业务快速发展,我们希望把有限的人力资源都用在核心产品的开发上,AWS 提供了成熟、稳定、完整的解决方案,涵盖了计算、存储、数据库、安全、移动服务、网络和内容分发、分析、管理、机器学习等方方面面,这使我们的需求能够得到充分的满足。”陈浩说。

极高的稳定性

在维优元界的定义中,元界 BaaS 对用户来说不仅是技术层面的“区块链即服务”,同时还包括了商业内容,是商业概念的 BaaS。例如,一个教育行业的客户想利用区块链技术解决某个痛点,但他们对区块链并不了解。维优元界的工作人员与客户一道分析需求和应用场景、进行架构设计、给出解决方案,并最终搭建到 AWS 云上。在这一过程中,快速构建和部署可以使得客户更直观地感受产品原型,在产品上线以后,云平台的稳定性也直接影响客户 BaaS 应用的稳定性。与其他云平台相比,AWS 在稳定性方面优势明显,几乎不会出现性能抖动或 PaaS 故障的情况。

完善的安全机制

云平台的安全性不仅依赖强大的技术支撑,同时也需要制定严格的安全机制。AWS 云采用了严格的安全服务标准,尤其是在用户身份验证方面的标准。例如,用户在使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 时,如果因为忘记了公钥而无法登陆,就必须把磁盘挂到另外的实例上,而不是像其他云平台那样允许重置密码。“这种方式开始看起来不方便,但实际上不仅提升了运维的规范性,乃至整个系统的安全性,同时也加强了我们自己的安全意识。”陈浩说。在技术层面上,AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 通过智能、安全的设计,使用户能根据需求创建和管理 AWS 用户和群组,并配置权限来允许或拒绝对 AWS 资源的使用,从而确保整个系统的安全性。

覆盖范围全球化

维优元界的业务面向国内和海外企业用户,需要进行全球化的业务布局。截至 2018 年 10 月 11 日,AWS 云在全球 18 个地理区域和 1 个本地区域内运营着 55 个可用区,其用户可以使用在全球不同地点运行的相同 AWS 服务与技术轻松部署应用程序,以覆盖多个地理区域的最终用户。利用 AWS 云,维优元界在短时间内就可以在多个地方部署服务器,促进了其海外业务的扩展。

维优元界从 2017 年 3 月底开始使用 AWS 并将元界 BaaS 部署在 AWS 云上,经过一个月的测试部署,在 2017 年 5 月产品正式上线。目前,维优元界已将其主要业务的所有组件都部署在 AWS 云中,包括产品官网、区块链大数据分析、公有区块链种子节点、区块链浏览器、数字资产管理系统、运营 BI 系统等。它目前所用的 AWS 服务包括 Amazon EC2、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)Amazon CloudWatchAmazon DynamoDBAmazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)Amazon EMRAmazon RedShiftAmazon Kinesis, Amazon Kinesis Data FirehoseAmazon ElastiCacheAmazon Elastic Container Registry (Amazon ECR)Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC)、IAM 以及 AWS 开发人员支持。图 1 是通过元界构建混合型区块链应用的基本架构示意图。图 2 是元界 BaaS 部署在 AWS 上的架构示意图。

yuanjie-arch-diagram1

图1:通过元界构建混合型区块链应用的基本架构

yuanjie-arch-diagram2

图 2:元界 BaaS 部署在 AWS 上的架构

AWS 给维优元界带来了三方面的好处。首先是提升了系统的可靠性、稳定性和安全性。使用 AWS 后,维优元界没有发生过任何用户数据泄露的情况,系统的可用性保持在 99.95%,而且没有出现过延迟激增。其次是节省了成本,这体现在两个方面:一是节省了维护和产品部署时间,新产品上市的时间缩短了一个月;二是通过成本优化方式节省了很多云相关的费用。“AWS 技术人员会主动了解我们云花费结构的变化,并帮助我们通过架构优化来节省成本,同时满足业务发展需求。”陈浩说。第三个好处是,AWS 的全球化覆盖能力使维优元界可以轻松覆盖并服务于世界各地的用户,这对于元界 BaaS 的推广至关重要。目前,已经有众多需要利用区块链技术解决业务痛点的客户与维优元界建立了合作关系,借助元界 BaaS 来实现其业务目标。在未来,维优元界计划使用更多 AWS 服务,特别是与人工智能相关的服务,希望通过人工智能强化自己的区块链技术,为客户提供更好的区块链解决方案。 

要了解有关如何在 AWS 上部署区块链的更多信息,请访问我们的区块链页面了解详情:https://aws.amazon.com/blockchain/

With outstanding stability, complete security mechanism, and global coverage, AWS enables us to provide stable and dependable blockchain solutions to users worldwide.
Chen Hao CTO of ViewFin Metaverse

ViewFin Metaverse is a fintech company focusing on blockchain technologies. Boasting a team of domestic and international experts with backgrounds in blockchain, finance, the internet, and consulting, ViewFin Metaverse aims to provide digital solutions to customers from a similarly wide range of sectors such as finance, business, art, medical, and philanthropy. ViewFin Metaverse currently has two principal lines of business. The first is creating the public blockchain in China named Metaverse, a service framework that integrates digital assets, digital identities (Avatar), and intermediaries (Oracle) to form a unique blockchain foundation platform for blockchain developers and ordinary commercial users. Through this platform, a user can register digital assets, create a digital identity, and identify intermediaries through a few simple steps. The second business line is building the Metaverse BaaS, through which enterprises and individuals can order bespoke, Metaverse-based services from blockchain solution providers.

ViewFin Metaverse is a rapidly growing company that has been dedicated to the research and development of blockchain technologies since its founding in 2014. Even though blockchain applications only took off two years ago, ViewFin Metaverse, being one of the first to promote the concept of public blockchain, hopes to leverage the technology to provide users with independent, self-regulated public blockchain services that build on digital assets, digital identities, and intermediaries, thereby creating an open ecosystem that could freely disseminate digital values and enable global value transfer services.

During its meteoric rise, ViewFin Metaverse faces two challenges: First, building a company from the ground up, it needs to cope with its rapidly growing business and data needs; second, as its business expands, the shortage of development and maintenance staff becomes more apparent. To address these two challenges, ViewFin Metaverse must choose a suitable cloud service to power the public blockchain and its applications (i.e., Metaverse) as well as to provide customers with complete BaaS solutions. Additionally, the implementation of public blockchain technology imposes certain inherent, special requirements on the IT infrastructure. “Blockchain may look like something that can be readily achieved with existing technologies; but in reality, it is hardware-intensive, particularly for consensus algorithm like DPoS. Other consensus algorithms such as PBFT move a lot of data, therefore require high system stability,” explains Chen. “Blockchain applications often need to be deeply integrated with traditional web applications. And to run public blockchain services in a high-concurrency setting, we need a cloud platform that offers both high bandwidth and rock-solid stability.” After trying out several mainstream options, ViewFin Metaverse chose AWS.

AWS Cloud’s secure and reliable architecture, outstanding stability, complete security mechanism, and global coverage are the key reasons why ViewFin Metaverse chose AWS. “Due to the rapid growth of ViewFin Metaverse, we wish to commit our limited human resources to developing our core products. AWS provides us with a mature, stable, and complete solution that covers computing, storage, database, security, mobile service, network and content distribution, analysis, management, machine learning, and more. It offers everything we need,” says Chen.

Outstanding Stability

To ViewFin Metaverse, Metaverse BaaS is not a “blockchain-as-a-service” for users in merely the technical sense, but also creates commercial values – it is a business-oriented BaaS. For example, ViewFin Metaverse had a customer in the education sector who wanted to solve a thorny issue with blockchain, but was not conversant with the technology. ViewFin Metaverse staff worked with the customer to analyze its needs and usage scenarios, then designed the architecture, proposed a solution, and finally implemented it on the AWS Cloud. During this process, rapid building and deployment could give the customer a more direct feel of the product prototype; following product launch, the stability of the cloud platform would also directly translate into stability of the customer’s BaaS application. Compared with other cloud platforms, AWS has clear advantages in stability: performance fluctuations and PaaS faults are exceedingly rare.

Complete Security Mechanism

The security of cloud platform relies on not only robust technologies, but also strict security mechanism. AWS Cloud applies rigorous security service standards, particularly in user authentication. For example, when using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), if the user forgets the public key and cannot log in, he must attach the drive to another instance, instead of resetting the password as with other cloud platforms. “While it may look inconvenient, this not only promotes proper operation and maintenance practices, possibly harden the entire system, but also raises our own awareness for security,” noted Chen. From a technical perspective, the intelligent, security-conscious design of AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) enables users to create and manage AWS users and groups, as well as configure privileges to permit or deny access to AWS resources, according to their needs, thereby achieving full system protection.

Global Coverage

ViewFin Metaverse serves enterprise customers home and abroad, and therefore needs to run its business at a global level. The AWS Cloud spans 55 Availability Zones within 18 geographic Regions and 1 Local Region around the world (as of October 11, 2018), enabling users to easily deploy their applications – through the same services and technologies hosted at different locations around the world – to cover end users across multiple geographic regions. With AWS Cloud, ViewFin Metaverse was able to deploy servers in multiple locations in minimum time, which helped expand its overseas businesses.

ViewFin Metaverse started using AWS and deploying its Metaverse BaaS on the AWS Cloud in late March, 2017, and officially launched the product in May, 2017 following one month’s testing. At present, ViewFin Metaverse has deployed all components of its principal business on the AWS Cloud, including the official product website, blockchain big data analysis, seed nodes of the public blockchain, blockchain browser, digital asset management system, and operation BI system, among others. It currently uses Amazon EC2, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon EMR, Amazon RedShift, Amazon Kinesis, Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose, Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Elastic Container Registry (Amazon ECR), Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), IAM, and AWS Developer Support. Figure 1 shows the basic architecture of a hybrid blockchain application built with Metaverse; Figure 2 shows the architecture of Metaverse BaaS on AWS.

yuanjie-arch-diagram1

Figure 1: Basic Architecture of a Hybrid Blockchain Application Built with Metaverse

yuanjie-arch-diagram2

Figure 2 : Metaverse BaaS Architecture on AWS

AWS has brought three benefits to ViewFin Metaverse. The first comes in the form of improved system reliability, stability, and security. Since it started using AWS, ViewFin Metaverse has never suffered any breach of user data; availability remained at 99.95%, and there have been no latency spikes. Second benefit is cost saving, which comes from two areas: the time saved in maintenance and product deployment has shortened the time-to-market of new products by one month, and cloud-related cost has also seen drastic reduction through cost optimization. “AWS technicians would proactively learn about the changes to our cloud expense structure, to help us save costs through architecture optimization without hindering our business growth,” says Chen. The third benefit is that AWS’ global coverage enables ViewFin Metaverse to easily reach and serve users worldwide, which is essential for promoting Metaverse BaaS. Currently, ViewFin Metaverse has partnered with many customers who seek to solve business challenges through blockchain technologies and achieve their business goals through Metaverse BaaS. Going forward, ViewFin Metaverse plans to explore more services from AWS, particularly those related to AI, with the hope of enhancing its own technologies with AI to provide better blockchain solutions to customers. 

To learn more about how to deploy blockchain on AWS, visit our blockchain page for details: https://aws.amazon.com/blockchain/.