600X400_WeRide_logo

AWS案例研究: 文远知行WeRide

2020

文远知行WeRide (以下简称“文远知行”)成立于2017年,是一家由人工智能驱动、以无人驾驶技术为核心的智能出行公司,旨在打造面向中国市场的 Level 4 全自动驾驶系统,为大众提供便捷可靠的新出行服务。

文远知行总部位于广州,在北京、上海、安庆和美国硅谷分别设有运营和研发分部,全球员工达300人,其中70%为研发工程师。2019年,A轮融资由雷诺日产三菱联盟战略领投,是中国率先获得全球汽车制造商领投的L4级自动驾驶初创企业。目前,文远知行拥有超100辆规模的无人驾驶车队,截至2020年7月,自动驾驶总里程超过260万公里,创造了全国首例暴雨路测、无GPS信号下穿越1.5公里隧道、首次全对外开放运营Robotaxi等纪录。文远知行的目标是打造稳定可靠的无人驾驶系统,在未来三年,逐步实现全无人驾驶试运营,并不断扩大Robotaxi的运营范围。 

面临的挑战

作为国内知名的L4级自动驾驶出行公司,文远知行拥有业界先进的全栈式软硬件解决方案,包括高精度地图及定位、感知、规划与控制、仿真、数据以及自有的L4级自动驾驶汽车,其研发和运营每天收集大量的路测数据用于自动驾驶模型训练和仿真。最初文远知行采用自建服务器方式构建IT系统,随着研发和运营的快速发展,自动驾驶车辆的数量、行驶里程迅速增加,积累的路测数据越来越多,系统每天处理TB量级的感知数据,需要更加灵活扩展的存储和算力来完成模型训练,并支撑大数据平台。

业务的快速发展对文远知行的IT系统提出了更高的要求,主要体现在三个方面:其一是需要大幅度提升系统的可扩展性,能够随着研发规模和运营体量的增长快速部署足量的机器、提供充足的存储空间和算力,实现业务的快速部署;其二是在系统规模不断扩大的情况下如何确保系统的稳定性、可靠性和安全性;其三是如何在保证系统正常运行的情况下降低运维成本。

“文远知行是一家创业公司,人员及IT资源有限,我们希望把人力、物力都尽可能投入到核心技术的研发上。”文远知行数据团队总监霍达说。为了应对这些挑战,推动持续的业务创新,文远知行决定采用AWS云服务来部署数据处理平台及AI平台,借助AWS丰富的功能和服务,建立起可快速扩展、安全可靠、易管理的后端处理系统。

 

start a python tutorial
kr_quotemark

AWS丰富的功能、专业的企业支持服务帮助我们快速构建起业界先进的自动驾驶训练系统,将通常需要花费1-2周的模型训练时间缩短至12小时。” 

霍达
文远知行 WeRide 数据团队总监

为什么选择AWS?

在众多云服务商中,AWS在行业内的口碑及全球卓越的运营经验、广泛的云服务技术栈、专业丰富的企业服务经验是文远知行选择AWS的主要原因。

AWS云服务提供了丰富的功能,可以充分满足文远知行的技术需求。例如,作为自动驾驶领域的创新者,文远知行需要解决的关键问题是必须采集大量的实际路测数据并利用人工智能机器学习技术对这些数据进行存储、处理、分析和训练,这需要大量的存储和算力。Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)、Amazon S3 Glacier提供了强大的存储能力,可以随时扩展并可依据业务需求构建海量数据分级存储系统。而Amazon EC2 P3则提供了云中的高性能计算能力,它可支持高达8个NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPU,为机器学习应用提供高达100Gbps的网络吞吐量,可以实现最高1 Petaflop的混合精度性能,显著加快机器学习工作负载的处理速度,从而使数据科学家和机器学习工程师能够更快地进行迭代、训练更多模型并提高准确性。

“过去我们自己搭建高性能的机器学习系统,不仅需要投入大量的人力,也较难实现灵活扩展,满足业务快速发展的需求;利用Amazon EC2 P3,我们可以快速构建分布式的机器学习集群,获得充足的算力,大幅度缩短自动驾驶模型训练的时间。目前业界完成一个训练模型大约需要1-2周,而我们在AWS平台上只需要12小时就能完成。”霍达说。此外,当需要将TB级的海量数据传送到AWS云上时,AWS Snowball可以很方便地完成这一任务,而当进行仿真展示需要使用大量算力时,又可以调用Amazon EC2 Spot实例,在满足系统需求的同时节省成本。

另一方面,AWS技术支持团队拥有专业丰富的企业服务经验,客户可以根据实际需求在不同阶段采用不同级别的技术支持服务。“虽然我们的技术团队成员对AWS云服务有相当的了解和经验,但AWS企业支持服务对我们的帮助仍然是巨大的。”霍达说。AWS企业支持不仅为文远知行提供全天候的技术支持服务,及时解决应用中遇到的问题,而且还在架构设计、机器学习集群搭建、成本控制等方面为文远知行提供帮助,分享AWS在自动驾驶领域的客户最佳实践经验。

获得的成效

2019年初,文远知行开始在AWS云上部署数据处理和机器学习平台。在具体实施中,利用Amazon EC2 P3快速构建其分布式的机器学习集群;路测产生的TB量级数据通过AWS Snowball传输到AWS云,用于进行模型训练;Amazon EMRAmazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)、Amazon DynamoDBAmazon Aurora等服务用于构建数据湖,完成各种数据分析、处理任务;Amazon CloudWatchAWS CloudTrail等服务用于系统运维管理,成功构建起安全、稳定、可灵活扩展的机器学习系统。目前文远知行所使用的AWS云服务主要包括Amazon EC2、Amazon S3、AWS Snowball、Amazon Elastic Container Registry (ECR)、Amazon EMR、Amazon RDS、Amazon DynamoDB、Amazon Aurora、Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS)、Amazon CloudWatch、AWS CloudTrail、AWS Direct Connect、AWS企业支持服务等。

使用AWS云服务给文远知行带来了多方面的好处,主要体现在三个方面:其一是极大地提升了文远知行业务系统的部署效率,新业务部署的时间和响应时间缩短至以周为单位,可以更快地满足技术开发团队的计算需求和存储需求;其二是降低了IT资源使用成本和运维成本,系统的总拥有成本(TCO)节省了1/3、运维效率提升了50%;其三是提升了系统的整体安全性和可靠性,AWS云服务本身的多区域和多可用区部署保证了系统的整体可用性和数据持久性,而AWS云服务丰富的安全管理功能使文远知行可以方便地构建完善的安全管理体系。

目前,文远知行在AWS云上部署的机器学习系统已经处于业界卓越水平,通常需要花费1-2周才能完成的模型训练在文远知行的新系统上只需12个小时就能实现。在未来,文远知行计划采用更多的AWS云服务来构建新的业务系统,“我们追求效率,选择AWS云服务使我们既能快速完成系统的部署,又能保证系统的稳定性、可靠性和安全性。”霍达说。

文远知行 WeRide 客户视频

文远知行WeRide利用AWS构建起用于汽车自动驾驶的数据处理和机器学习平台(03:55)

关于文远知行 WeRide

文远知行WeRide成立于2017年,是一家由人工智能驱动、以无人驾驶技术为核心的智能出行公司,旨在打造面向中国市场的 Level 4 全自动驾驶系统,为大众提供便捷可靠的新出行服务。

 

为什么使用AWS

  • 卓越的自动驾驶最佳实践
  • 广泛的云服务技术栈
  • 专业且丰富的企业服务经验

使用的AWS服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多》

Amazon EC2 P3实例

Amazon EC2 P3 实例可在云中提供高性能计算,可支持高达 8 个 NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPU,并可为机器学习和 HPC 应用提供高达 100Gbps 的网络吞吐量。

了解更多》

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多》

Amazon EC2 Spot实例

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例让您可以利用 AWS 云中未使用的 EC2 容量。与按需实例的价格相比,使用 Spot 实例最高可以享受 90% 的折扣。

了解更多》


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

600X400_WeRide_logo

WeRide Speeds Autonomous Driving Machine Learning Model Training from Weeks to 12 Hours on AWS

2020

WeRide, founded in 2017, is an intelligent mobility company driven by artificial intelligence and centered on driverless technology, aiming to build a Level 4 (L4) fully autonomous driving system for the Chinese market and provide convenient and reliable new mobility services for the public.

With headquarters established in Guangzhou and operating with R&D departments located in Beijing, Shanghai, Anqing, and Silicon Valley respectively, WeRide globally employs 300 people, of which R&D engineers account for 70 percent. Ever since the alliance of Renault, Nissan, and Mitsubishi became the strategic lead investors at the Series A funding round in 2019, WeRide has had a head start in competing for the investment of worldwide carmakers among startup companies engaging in L4 autonomous driving. At present, WeRide has a driverless fleet with over 100 vehicles. Additionally, the total autonomous driving mileage has exceeded 2.6 million kilometers as of July 2020, followed by other remarkable records in China, including the first instance of road test under deluge, successful travel through a 1.5-kilometer tunnel without GPS signals, as well as the full open operation of Robotaxi. Driven by its goal of building a stable and reliable driverless system, WeRide is committed to gradually realizing pilot operation of the fully autonomous driving in the next 3 years, and increasingly broadening the operation of Robotaxi. 

start a python tutorial
kr_quotemark

The abundant functions and professional enterprise support services of AWS help us quickly build the industry-leading automatic driving training system, and shorten the model training time from 1-2 weeks to 12 hours."

Eric Huo
Data Team Director, WeRide

Challenges

As a company with a renowned brand in travel with an L4 autonomous driving system, WeRide has full-stack software and hardware solutions that lead the industry, including a high-precision maps and locating system, sensors, planning and control functions, simulation capabilities, data, and the unique L4 autonomous driving vehicles. Staff in the R&D and Operation departments of WeRide are busy collecting a tidal wave of road test data for training and simulation of autonomous driving models every day. With the rapid expansion of the R&D and Operation departments, the spike in the numbers and mileage of autonomous vehicles, and the growing accumulation of test data, the daily processing of terabytes of sensing data requires more flexible and extensible storage capacity and computing power to complete model training and manage the data lake.

Rapid growth puts high demands on WeRide's IT system, which is primarily manifested in three ways. First, substantial scalability of the system is required in a bid to achieve accelerated deployment of server capacity and furnish adequate storage space and computing power, in order to support swift product deployment. Second, the stability, reliability, and safety of the system must be maintained as the system scales. Third, WeRide must lower the baseline O&M expense of running the system.

"Since WeRide is a startup company limited in staff and IT resources, we hope to devote the human and material resources into the research and development of core technologies as much as possible," said Eric Huo, data team director at WeRide. To cope with these challenges and promote continuous business innovation, WeRide decided to use Amazon Web Services (AWS) to deploy a data processing platform and AI platform and build a safe, reliable, and manageable back-end processing system that can be rapidly expanded with the abundant functions and services of AWS.

Why AWS?

Among many cloud service providers, the main reasons WeRide selected AWS include its strong reputation in the industry, excellent global operation experience, extensive cloud service technology stack, and professional and abundant enterprise service experience. 

AWS solutions have comprehensive, fully-featured services that can meet the technical needs of WeRide. For example, as an innovator in autonomous driving sector, WeRide collects data from millions of kilometers of drive tests and uses AI/ML to process, analyze, and label the data, which requires significant computational power and vast amounts of storage. Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and Amazon S3 Glacier provide virtually unlimited storage capacity, which can be expanded at any time as required by the business. Amazon EC2 P3 instances provide high-performance computing power in the cloud, support up to eight NVIDIA V100 Tensor Core GPUs with up to 100 Gbps network throughput for machine learning applications. P3 instances achieve mixed precision performance of up to 1 Petaflop, which significantly accelerates the processing speed of ML training, thus enabling data scientists and machine learning engineers to iterate faster, train more models, and improve autonomous driving accuracy.

"We used to build a high-performance machine learning system by ourselves before, which not only required a lot of staff but also made it difficult to achieve the scalability and flexibility needed to meet the requirement of rapid business development. With Amazon EC2 P3 instances, we can quickly build a distributed machine learning cluster to gain sufficient computing power and greatly shorten the training time of automatic driving model. It takes 1-2 weeks on average for the industry to complete a training model at present, while we only need 12 hours on AWS," says Huo. In addition, when the team needs to upload terabytes of data to the AWS Cloud, AWS Snowball can complete the task, and, when more computing power is required for simulation and demonstration, the team can leverage Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to meet the system requirements while saving on cost.

In addition, the AWS Enterprise Support team has abundant experience in enterprise service, and different levels of technical support services at different stages are available for customers according to their specific requirements. "Although members in our technical team have considerable knowledge and experience in the AWS Cloud, services from AWS Enterprise Support still help us greatly," says Huo. AWS Enterprise Support not only provides WeRide with technical support services to timely solve the problems encountered in the application but also helps WeRide with architecture design, machine learning cluster building, and cost control. It also shares AWS best practices from its experience in the field of autonomous driving.

Benefits

In early 2019, WeRide began to deploy data processing and machine learning platforms on AWS. Specifically, Amazon EC2 P3 instances are used to quickly build a distributed machine learning cluster, with terabytes of data captured by sensor-laden vehicles transmitted to the AWS Cloud through AWS Snowball for model training; Amazon EMR, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Aurora, and other services were used to build a data lake and complete various data analysis and processing tasks; Amazon CloudWatch, AWS CloudTrail, and other services are used for system operation and maintenance management. All in all, a safe, stable and flexible machine learning system has been successfully built. At present, the AWS services used by WeRide mainly include Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, AWS Snowball , Amazon Elastic Container Registry (ECR), Amazon EMR, Amazon RDS, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS), Amazon CloudWatch, AWS CloudTrail, AWS Direct Connect, and AWS Enterprise Support services.

Building on AWS has benefited WeRide mainly in three aspects. First, the deployment efficiency of the WeRide business system has been greatly improved, and the time for new business deployment and response has been shortened to weeks, so that the demands for computing and storage from technical development team can be met more quickly. Second, the use cost and O&M cost of IT resources have been reduced, and the total cost of ownership (TCO) of the system was reduced by one-third, with the O&M efficiency improved by 50 percent. Third, the overall security and reliability of the system has improved. The deployment of AWS across numerous Regions and Availability Zones ensures the overall availability and data persistence of the system. Finally, the abundant security management functions of AWS enable WeRide to conveniently build its security management system.

At present, the machine learning system deployed by WeRide on AWS is already equal to the highest level of excellence in the industry, and model training which usually takes 1-2 weeks can be completed in only 12 hours on WeRide's new system. In the future, WeRide plans to deploy more AWS solutions to support additional business-related computing tasks. "We pursue efficiency. Choosing AWS enables us not only to quickly complete the system deployment, but also to ensure the stability, reliability, and security of the system," says Huo.

Learn more about AWS for Automotive: aws.amazon.com/automotive

WeRide’s Autonomous Driving on AWS

WeRide's Autonomous Driving Technology on AWS (3:55)

About WeRide

WeRide, founded in 2017, is an intelligent travel company driven by artificial intelligence and centered on driverless technology, aiming to build a Level 4 fully autonomous driving system for the Chinese market and provide convenient and reliable new travel services for the public.

Benefits of AWS

  • Increased deployment efficiency
  • Reduced TCO by one-third, O&M efficiency improved by 50 percent
  • Improvements in overall security and reliability
  • Reduced machine learning model training time from 1-2 weeks to 12 hours

AWS Services Used

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that provides industry-leading scalability, data availability, security and performance.

Learn more

Amazon EC2 P3 Instances

Amazon EC2 P3 Instances can offer high-performance computing in the cloud, support up to eight NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPUs, and provide network throughput of up to 100 Gbps for machine learning and HPC applications.

Learn more

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) enables you to easily set up, operate and extend relational databases in the cloud.

Learn more

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances allow you to take advantage of unused EC2 capacity in the AWS Cloud.

Learn more


Get started

Companies of all sizes in all sectors and industries are using AWS to transform their routine businesses. Contact our experts and embark your journey to AWS Cloud immediately.