FedRAMP

概览

FedRAMPLogoSmall

美国联邦政府致力于以最具创新性、最安全且最经济高效的方式向美国人民提供服务。云计算是助力联邦政府实现运营效率并按需创新以推进全国事务的关键因素。正因如此,现今许多联邦机构在使用 AWS 云服务来处理、存储和传输联邦政府数据。

  • 什么是 FedRAMP?

    联邦风险与授权管理计划 (FedRAMP) 是一项美国政府层面的计划,它提供一种标准方法来对云产品和云服务进行安全性评估、授权以及持续监控。FedRAMP 的理事机构包括:行政管理和预算局 (OMB)、美国总务署 (GSA)、美国国土安全部 (DHS)、美国国防部 (DoD)、国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 以及联邦首席信息官 (CIO) 理事会。

    想要向美国政府提供云服务产品 (CSO) 的云服务提供商 (CSP) 必须证明自己符合 FedRAMP 的规定。FedRAMP 使用 NIST 特别刊物 800 系列,要求云服务提供商完成由第三方评估机构 (3PAO) 执行的独立安全评估,以确保授权符合联邦信息安全管理法案 (FISMA)。有关更多信息,请参阅 FedRAMP 网站。

  • FedRAMP 为何十分重要?

    为了响应云优先政策(现为云智能战略),行政管理和预算局 (OMB) 颁布了 FedRAMP 政策备忘录(现为联邦政府云计算战略),以针对《联邦信息安全现代化法案》(FISMA) 制定首个政府层面的安全授权计划。所有美国联邦机构和所有云服务均须落实 FedRAMP。FedRAMP 之所以重要,是因为它可以:

    • 通过美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 和 FISMA 定义的标准提高云解决方案安全性方面的一致性,并增强用户对安全性的信心
    • 提高美国政府与云提供商之间的透明度
    • 实现自动化和近乎实时的持续监控
    • 通过反复评估和授权提高安全云解决方案的采用率
  • FedRAMP 合规性有哪些要求?

    云优先政策要求所有联邦机构均使用 FedRAMP 流程对云服务进行安全评估、授权和持续监控。FedRAMP 计划管理办公室 (PMO) 规定了以下 FedRAMP 合规性要求:

    1. 云服务提供商 (CSP) 已获得美国联邦机构授予的机构操作授权 (ATO),或者已获得联合授权委员会 (JAB) 授予的临时操作授权 (P-ATO)。
    2. CSP 符合美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 800-53 修订版 4《中高影响级别的安全控制基准》中规定的 FedRAMP 安全控制要求。
    3. 所有系统安全包必须使用规定的 FedRAMP 模板。
    4. CSP 必须通过经批准的第三方评估机构 (3PAO) 的评估。
    5. 已完成的安全评估包必须发布到 FedRAMP 安全存储库中。
  • FedRAMP 合规性有哪些类型?

    云服务提供商 (CSP) 可以通过两种途径来实现 FedRAMP 合规:

    • 联合授权委员会 (JAB) 授权:要获得 FedRAMP 联合授权委员会 (JAB) 授予的临时操作授权 (P-ATO),CSP 需要由经 FedRAMP 认可的 3PAO 评估并通过 FedRAMP 计划管理办公室审查 (PMO),然后才可以获得 JAB 授予的 P-ATO。JAB 由来自国防部 (DoD)、国土安全部 (DHS) 和总务管理局 (GSA) 的首席信息官 (CIO) 组成。
    • 机构授权:要获得 FedRAMP 机构操作授权 (ATO),CSP 需要通过客户机构 CIO 或指定授权官员的审核,才能获得符合 FedRAMP 规定的 ATO,该 ATO 经过 FedRAMP 计划管理办公室 (PMO) 的验证。
  • 机构如何使用 AWS FedRAMP 授权?

    联邦机构或美国国防部 (DoD) 组织可以将 AWS 云服务产品 (CSO) 用作在云中托管的解决方案的构建数据块。每个 AWS CSO 都拥有 FedRAMP 和 DISA 的授权,可以为联邦机构和国防部所用,并且针对它们的授权记录在临时操作授权 (P-ATO) 中。CSP 不会因其 CSO 而获得操作授权 (ATO),而是会获得 P-ATO。PATO 是一种预先采购批准,供联邦机构或 DoD 组织使用 CSO 所用。联邦机构或 DoD 组织可以使用 AWS FedRAMP 安全包来审查支持文档,以在其中加入责任共担详情并基于风险做出授予 ATO 的决定。如果您有其他问题或需要了解更多信息,请联系您的 AWS 销售客户经理。

    机构授权官员 (AO) 可以利用任何 AWS FedRAMP 安全包来查看支持文档,以在其中加入责任共担详情并根据风险自行决定是否向 AWS 授予机构操作授权 (ATO)。这些机构不但要负责向 AWS 颁发自己的 ATO,还要负责系统组件的整体授权。如果您有问题或需要了解更多信息,请联系您的 AWS 销售客户经理或 AWS ATO 团队

  • AWS 是否有机构操作授权 (ATO)?

    AWS 是一家提供云服务产品 (CSO) 的云服务提供商 (CSP)。身为 CSP,AWS 遵守 FedRAMP 流程以确保其 CSO 获得为联邦机构或 DoD 所用的授权。FedRAMP 流程不会向 CSP 授予操作授权 (ATO),而是授予临时操作授权 (PATO)。PATO 是一预先采购批准,供联邦机构或 DoD 组织使用 CSO 所用。当联邦机构或 DoD 遵循风险管理框架 (RMF) 流程来获得自己的 ATO 时,他们使用 PATO 和与 PATO 相关联的继承控制。请注意,由于 FedRAMP 流程不会向 CSP 授予 ATO,因此 AWS PATO 不会升级为 ATO。ATO 仅作为 RMF 流程的一部分授予,且由联邦机构或 DoD 授权官 (AO) 授予。可以访问 FedRAMP 网站了解有关 FedRAMP 的更多信息。

  • FedRAMP 与风险管理框架 (RMF) 的区别是什么?

    FedRAMP 是云服务提供商需要遵循的一个流程,以使其云服务产品获得批准以供联邦机构或 DoD 将这些产品用作托管在云中的系统的构建数据块。风险管理框架 (RMF) 是联邦机构或 DoD 遵循以使其 IT 系统获得操作授权的流程。FedRAMP 流程仅由 CSP 使用,CSP 无需遵循 RMF 流程。联邦机构或 DoD 仅在开发云服务(例如 MilCloud)时才遵循 FedRAMP 流程。

  • AWS 是否对 FedRAMP 以外的服务支持机构操作授权 (ATO)?

    我们鼓励机构客户利用现有 FedRAMP JAB ATO 和授权包来颁发自己的操作授权。

  • Amazon Web Services 是否符合 FedRAMP 的规定?

    符合。AWS 提供以下符合 FedRAMP 要求的服务,这些服务均已获得授权、满足 FedRAMP 的安全控制要求(根据 NIST SP 800-53)、使用 FedRAMP 安全存储库中发布的安全包所需的 FedRAMP 模板,并且经过权威的独立第三方评估机构 (3PAO) 的评估,同时还符合 FedRAMP 的持续监控要求:

  • FedRAMP 合规性是否会增加我支付的 AWS 服务费用?

    不会,任何区域的服务费用都不会因 AWS 的 FedRAMP 合规性而增加。

  • 涵盖哪些 AWS 区域?

    已颁发两个单独的 FedRAMP P-ATO;一个覆盖 AWS GovCloud(美国)区域,另一个覆盖 AWS 美国东部/西部区域。

  • 美国政府机构现在是否在使用 AWS?

    是的,2000 多个政府机构以及向政府机构提供系统集成与其他产品和服务的其他实体如今都在使用各种各样的 AWS 服务。您可以访问 AWS 客户成功案例网页查看使用 AWS 的美国政府实体。要详细了解 AWS 如何满足政府部门的高安全要求,请参阅适用于政府的 AWS 页面

  • 涵盖哪些服务以及我们如何验证 FedRAMP 合规性?

    AWS 按合规性计划提供的范围内服务中,可找到所提供的已处于 FedRAMP 和 DoD SRG 边界范围内的 AWS 服务。单击 FedRAMP 或 DoD SRG 选项卡时,带有“✓”的服务表示 FedRAMP JAB 已将该服务授权为充分满足 AWS 美国东部-西部的 FedRAMP 中等安全基准要求(下文称为 DoD SRG IL2)和/或 AWS GovCloud(美国)的 FedRAMP 高等安全基准要求(下文称为 DoD SRG IL2、IL4 和 IL5)。这些服务将发布在 FedRAMP Marketplace 上的 AWS 服务描述下。如果该服务标记为“3PAO 评估”或“评估中”,由于这些服务仍在评估中,AWS 并不主张实施或维护 FedRAMP 控制。如果该服务标记为“JAB 审查”或“DISA 审查”,则表示该服务已经完成了 3PAO 评估且目前正处于我们的监管机构队列中。对于这些服务,AWS 已实施这些服务,并且已根据环境对其相关 FedRAMP 控制措施进行评估,但这些服务尚未获得 JAB 的授权。如果您想要详细了解如何使用这些服务,且/或对其他服务感兴趣,请联系 AWS 销售和业务发展团队

  • 是否可以使用其他 AWS 服务?

    可以,客户可以评估其工作负载以确定是否适合使用其他 AWS 服务。如需详细讨论有关安全控制和风险承受注意事项,请联系 AWS 销售和业务拓展团队

  • 高影响级别的系统可否在 AWS 上运营?

    可以,客户可以评估其高影响的工作负载以确定是否适合 AWS。当前,客户可将其高影响工作负载放置到 AWS GovCloud(美国)上,其已获得一项由联合授权委员会授予的针对高影响级别的临时操作授权 (JAB P-ATO)。

  • 可以在哪里找到 AWS FedRAMP 安全包?

    美国政府机构员工和承包商可向 FedRAMP PMO 申请访问 AWS FedRAMP 安全包,具体方法是:填写安全包访问权限申请表并提交至 info@fedramp.gov

    商业客户和合作伙伴可请求访问 AWS FedRAMP 合作伙伴资源包,以获取有关基于 AWS 产品进行构建的指导和在 AWS 上构建符合 FedRAMP/DoD 要求的架构的协助。您可以通过 AWS Artifact 在您的 AWS 账户中获得合作伙伴资源包,或 AWS 客户经理请求来获得。

  • 出于参考目的,什么是 FedRAMP ID?

    对于 AWS 美国东部和西部区域,FedRAMP ID 为 AGENCYAMAZONEW。对于 AWS GovCloud(美国)区域,FedRAMP ID 为 F1603047866。

  • FedRAMP 授权如何处理持续监控?

    在 FedRAMP 运营概念 (CONOPS) 中,授予某个权限后,就会根据评估和授权流程监控 CSP 的安全状况。要每年重新获取 FedRAMP 授权机构的授权,CSP 必须监控其安全控制情况、定期对其进行评估,并证实其服务产品的安全状况一直处于可接受的范围内。利用 FedRAMP 持续监控计划的联邦机构、授权官员 (AO) 及其指定团队负责审核 AWS 的持续合规性。AO 及其指定团队会持续审查 FedRAMP 控制措施范围之外的、特定于机构的所需控制措施的实施情况,还会持续审查通过 AWS FedRAMP 持续监控流程获得的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅您的机构的信息系统安全计划或策略。

  • 美国联邦机构是否需要与 AWS 签订《互连安全协议》(ISA)?

    不需要,根据 FedRAMP 每周提示和线索 – 2016 年 8 月 10 日,CSP 和联邦机构之间不需要签订 ISA。

  • 如果我需要与 AWS 探讨自己的组织中与 FedRAMP 相关的 AWS 工作负载或架构,应该怎么办?

    客户可以使用 AWS Artifact 来获取 AWS FedRAMP 安全包。AWS Artifact 是一个用于按需访问 AWS 合规性报告的自助服务门户。您可以登录 AWS 管理控制台中的 AWS ArtifactAWS Artifact 入门,了解更多信息。

    如果您对 FedRAMP 或 DoD 合规性有具体的问题,请联系您的 AWS 客户经理或提交 AWS 合规性联系表以便联系 FedRAMP 合规性团队。

  • FedRAMP 与其他联邦合规性计划(FISMA、DFARS、DoD SRG、NIST SP 800-171、FIPS 140-2)之间有什么关系?

    联邦政府机构由其总监察长办公室 (OIG) 在内部根据美国国土安全部 (DHS) 提供的指标进行评估。FISMA OIG 和 CIO 适用的标准是 NIST SP 特别刊物 800 系列,且重点遵循 NIST SP 800-53。为使这些机构依赖 CSP 的安全性,FedRAMP 作为一项建立在 NIST SP 800-53 控制措施基准之上的合规性计划,以符合云中的 FISMA 要求。

    DoD 使用 FedRAMP 合规性计划来满足国防部云计算安全要求指南 (DoD CC SRG)影响等级的要求,该合规性计划和指南均要求某些加密控制措施符合 FIPS 140-2 的规定。《国防部联邦采购补充条例 (DFARS)》要求处理、存储或传输受控非机密信息 (CUI) 的 DoD 承包商满足一些安全标准,其中包括 NIST SP 800-171 要求。NIST SP 800-171 为机构提供了针对保护受控非机密信息 (CUI) 的保密性的建议安全要求。

compliance-contactus-icon
有问题? 联系 AWS 业务代表
想要提供合规性服务?
立即申请 »
想要了解 AWS 合规性动态?
在 Twitter 上关注我们 »

FedRAMP

Overview

FedRAMPLogoSmall

The US Federal Government is dedicated to delivering its services to the American people in the most innovative, secure, and cost-efficient fashion. Cloud computing plays a key part in how the federal government can achieve operational efficiencies and innovate on demand to advance their mission across the nation. That is why many federal agencies today are using AWS cloud services to process, store, and transmit federal government data.

  • What is FedRAMP?

    The Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP) is a US government-wide program that delivers a standard approach to the security assessment, authorization, and continuous monitoring for cloud products and services. The governing bodies of FedRAMP include the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), US General Services Administration (GSA), US Department of Homeland Security (DHS), US Department of Defense (DoD), National Institutes of Standards & Technology (NIST), and the Federal Chief Information Officers (CIO) Council.

    Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) who want to offer their Cloud Service Offerings (CSOs) to the US government must demonstrate FedRAMP compliance. FedRAMP uses the NIST Special Publication 800 series and requires cloud service providers to complete an independent security assessment conducted by a third-party assessment organization (3PAO) to ensure that authorizations are compliant with the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA). For more information, see the FedRAMP website.

  • Why is FedRAMP important?

    In response to the Cloud First Policy (now Cloud Smart Strategy), the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) issued the FedRAMP Policy Memo (now Federal Cloud Computing Strategy) to establish the first government-wide security authorization program for Federal Information Security Modernization Act (FISMA). FedRAMP is mandatory for all US federal agencies and all cloud services. FedRAMP is important because it increases:

    • Consistency and confidence in the security of cloud solutions using National Institutes of Standards & Technology (NIST) and FISMA defined standards
    • Transparency between US government and cloud providers
    • Automation and near real time continuous monitoring
    • Adoption of secure cloud solutions through reuse of assessments and authorizations
  • What are the requirements for FedRAMP compliance?

    The Cloud First Policy requires all federal agencies to use the FedRAMP process to conduct security assessments, authorizations, and continuous monitoring of cloud services. The FedRAMP Program Management Office (PMO) has outlined the following requirements for FedRAMP compliance:

    1. The cloud service provider (CSP) has been granted an Agency Authority to Operate (ATO) by a US federal agency, or a Provisional Authority to Operate (P-ATO) by the Joint Authorization Board (JAB).
    2. The CSP meets the FedRAMP security control requirements as described in the National Institutes of Standards & Technology (NIST) 800-53, Rev. 4 security control baseline for moderate or high impact levels.
    3. All system security packages must use the required FedRAMP templates.
    4. The CSP must be assessed by an approved third-party assessment organization (3PAO).
    5. The completed security assessment package must be posted in the FedRAMP secure repository.
  • What are the types of FedRAMP compliance?

    There are two paths for Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) to be FedRAMP compliant:

    • Joint Authorization Board (JAB) Authorization: To receive FedRAMP JAB Provisional Authority to Operate (P-ATO), a CSP is assessed by a FedRAMP-accredited 3PAO, reviewed by the FedRAMP Program Management Office (PMO), and receives a P-ATO from the JAB. The JAB is made up of the Chief Information Officers (CIOs) from the Department of Defense (DoD), the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), and the General Services Administration (GSA).
    • Agency Authorization: To receive FedRAMP Agency Authority to Operate (ATO), a CSP is reviewed by a customer Agency CIO or Delegated Authorizing Official(s) to achieve a FedRAMP-compliant ATO that is verified by the FedRAMP Program Management Office (PMO).
  • How does an agency leverage the AWS FedRAMP authorization?

    A Federal Agency or Department of Defense (DoD) organization can leverage AWS Cloud Service Offerings (CSOs) as building blocks for solutions hosted in the cloud. Each AWS CSOs is authorized for Federal and DoD use by FedRAMP and DISA, and their authorization is documented in a Provisional Authority to Operate (P-ATO). CSPs do not get an Authority to Operate (ATO) for their CSOs, instead they receive P-ATOs. A PATO is a pre-procurement approval for Federal or DoD organizations to use CSOs. Federal Agencies or DoD organizations can leverage the AWS FedRAMP Security Packages to review supporting documentation, to include shared responsibility details, and make their own risk-based decision to grant an ATO. If you have more questions or need more information, please contact your AWS Sales Account Manager.

    An agency Authorizing Official (AO) can leverage any of the AWS FedRAMP Security Packages to review supporting documentation, to include shared responsibility details, and make his or her own risk-based decision to grant an Agency Authority to Operate (ATO) to AWS. Agencies are responsible for issuing their own ATO on AWS and are also responsible for the overall authorization of their system components. If you have questions or need more information, please contact your AWS Sales Account Manager or the ATO on AWS team.

  • Does AWS have an Authority to Operate (ATO)?

    AWS is a Cloud Service Provider (CSP) that offers Cloud Service Offerings (CSOs). As a CSP, AWS follows the FedRAMP process to get its CSOs authorized for Federal or DoD use. The FedRAMP process does not issue an Authority to Operate (ATO) to CSPs, instead, the FedRAMP process issues Provisional Authority to Operate (PATO). The PATO is a pre-procurement approval for Federal Agencies or the DoD to use CSOs. Federal Agencies or the DoD use the PATO and the inherited controls associated with the PATO when they follow the Risk Management Framework (RMF) process to get their own ATO. Note the AWS PATO will not be upgraded to an ATO because the FedRAMP process does not issue ATOs to CSPs. ATOs are only issued as part of the RMF process and they are issued by Federal Agency or DoD Authorizing Officers (AOs). More information on FedRAMP can be found at on the FedRAMP website.

  • How is FedRAMP different from the Risk Management Framework (RMF)?

    FedRAMP is the process that Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) follow to get their Cloud Service Offerings (CSOs) approved for Federal agencies or the DoD to use a building blocks for systems hosted in the cloud. The Risk Management Framework (RMF) is the process that Federal Agencies or the DoD follow to get their IT system authorized to operate. Only CSPs use the FedRAMP process and CSPs do not follow the RMF process. Federal Agencies or the DoD would only follow the FedRAMP process if they were creating cloud services (for example MilCloud).

  • Does AWS support agency authorizations to operate (ATO) for services outside of FedRAMP?

    We encourage agency customers to leverage the existing FedRAMP JAB ATO and authorization package to issue their own Authorization to Operate.

  • Is Amazon Web Services FedRAMP compliant?

    Yes, AWS offers the following FedRAMP compliant services that have been granted authorizations, have addressed the FedRAMP security controls (based on NIST SP 800-53), used the required FedRAMP templates for the security packages posted in the secure FedRAMP Repository, has been assessed by an accredited independent third party assessor (3PAO) and maintains continuous monitoring requirements of FedRAMP:

    • AWS GovCloud (US East-West), has been granted a Joint Authorization Board Provisional Authority-To- Operate (JAB P-ATO) and multiple Agency Authorizations (A-ATO) for high impact level. The services in scope of the AWS GovCloud (US) JAB P-ATO boundary at high baseline security categorization can be found within AWS Services in Scope by Compliance Program.
    • AWS US East-West (Northern Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Northern California) has been granted a Joint Authorization Board Provisional Authority-To- Operate (JAB P-ATO) and multiple Agency Authorizations (A-ATO) for moderate impact level. The services in scope of the AWS US East-West JAB P-ATO boundary at Moderate baseline security categorization can be found within AWS Services in Scope by Compliance Program.  
  • Will compliance with FedRAMP increase my AWS service costs?

    No, there is no increase in service costs for any region as a result of AWS’ FedRAMP compliance.

  • What AWS Regions are covered?

    Two separate FedRAMP P-ATOs have been issued; one encompassing AWS GovCloud (US), and the other covering the AWS US East/West regions.

  • Are there US Government entities using AWS now?

    Yes, over 2,000 government agencies and other entities that provide systems integration and other products and services to governmental agencies are using the wide-range of AWS services today. You can review case studies about US government entities using AWS through the AWS Customer Success webpage. For more information about how AWS meets the high security requirements of governments, see the AWS for Government webpage.

  • What services are covered and how can we validate FedRAMP compliance?

    The covered AWS services that are already in scope of the FedRAMP and DoD SRG boundary can be found within AWS Services in Scope by Compliance Program. Upon clicking on either the FedRAMP or DoD SRG tab, services with a '“✓” indicates that the FedRAMP JAB has authorized the service as sufficiently meeting FedRAMP moderate baseline requirements (subsequently DoD SRG IL2) for AWS US East-West and/or FedRAMP High baseline requirements (subsequently DoD SRG IL2, IL4, and IL5) for AWS GovCloud (US). These services are posted under the service description for AWS on FedRAMP Marketplace. If the services are marked as "3PAO Assessment" or "Under Assessment", AWS does not assert implementation or maintenance of FedRAMP controls because those services are still under evaluation. If the service is marked as "JAB Review" or "DISA Review", the service has completed the 3PAO assessment and is currently in our regulator's queue. For these services, AWS has implemented and have been assessed for the relevant FedRAMP controls based on the environment, yet it has not been authorized by the JAB. If you would like to learn more about using these services and/or have interest in other services please contact AWS Sales and Business Development.

  • Can other AWS Services be used?

    Yes, customers can evaluate their workloads for suitability with other AWS services. Contact AWS Sales and Business Development for a detailed discussion of security controls and risk acceptance considerations.

  • Can high impact level systems be placed on AWS?

    Yes, customers can evaluate their high-impact workloads for suitability with AWS. Currently, customers can place their high-impact workloads on AWS GovCloud (US), which has been granted a Joint Authorization Board Provisional Authority-To- Operate (JAB P-ATO) for high impact level.

  • Where can I access the AWS FedRAMP Security Package?

    U.S. Government employees and contractors can request access to the AWS FedRAMP Security Package from the FedRAMP PMO by completing a Package Access Request Form and submitting it to info@fedramp.gov.

    Commercial customers and partners may request access to the AWS FedRAMP Partner Package for guidance related to building on top of AWS offerings and assistance in architecting FedRAMP/DoD compliant services on AWS. The Partner Package may be found in your AWS account via AWS Artifact or by request through your AWS account manager.

  • What is the FedRAMP ID for reference purposes?

    For AWS US East-West Regions, the FedRAMP ID is AGENCYAMAZONEW. For AWS GovCloud (US) Region, the FedRAMP ID is F1603047866.

  • How is continuous monitoring handled with FedRAMP authorizations?

    Within the FedRAMP Concept of Operations (CONOPS), after an authorization has been granted, the CSP’s security posture is monitored according to the assessment and authorization process. To receive re-authorization of a FedRAMP authorization from year to year, CSPs must monitor their security controls, assess them on a regular basis, and demonstrate that the security posture of their service offering is continuously acceptable. Federal agencies leveraging the FedRAMP continuous monitoring program, and the Authorizing Officials (AO) and their designated teams, are responsible for reviewing the ongoing compliance of AWS. On a continuous, ongoing basis, AOs and their designated teams review artifacts provided through the AWS FedRAMP continuous monitoring process, in addition to evidence of the implementation of any agency-specific controls required beyond the FedRAMP controls. For additional information, see your agency’s information system security program or policy.

  • As a US federal agency, do I need an interconnection security agreement (ISA) with AWS?

    No. The FedRAMP PMO states that ISAs are not required for use between a CSP and a federal agency.

  • What if I need to discuss my organization’s FedRAMP-specific AWS workloads or architectures with AWS?

    The AWS FedRAMP Security Package is available to customers by using AWS Artifact, a self-service portal for on-demand access to AWS compliance reports. Sign in to AWS Artifact in the AWS Management Console, or learn more at Getting Started with AWS Artifact.

    If you have specific questions regarding FedRAMP or DoD compliance, please contact your AWS account manager or submit the AWS Compliance Contact Us Form to be connected with our FedRAMP compliance team.

  • What are the relationships between FedRAMP and other federal compliance programs (FISMA, DFARS, DoD SRG, NIST SP 800-171, FIPS 140-2)?

    Federal government agencies are assessed by their Office of Inspector General (OIG) and internally based on metrics provided by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Criteria for FISMA OIG and CIO metrics are NIST SP 800 special publications, with emphasis on NIST SP 800-53. For these agencies to rely upon the security of the CSP, FedRAMP is a compliance program that is built on a baseline of NIST SP 800-53 controls to comply with FISMA requirements within the cloud.

    The FedRAMP compliance program is leveraged by the DoD to meet Department of Defense Cloud Computing Security Requirements Guide (DoD CC SRG) Impact Levels, both of which require compliance with FIPS 140-2 for certain encryption controls. The Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) requires DoD contractors that process, store or transmit Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), to meet a certain set of security standards, which includes NIST SP 800-171 requirements. NIST SP 800-171 provides agencies with recommended security requirements for protecting the confidentiality of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

compliance-contactus-icon
Have Questions? Connect with an AWS Business Representative
Exploring compliance roles?
Apply today »
Want AWS Compliance updates?
Follow us on Twitter »