SPEKE:Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange API

什么是 SPEKE?

SPEKE 是 Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange 的首字母缩写,它是一种免版税的开源 API 规范,定义了直播和点播流媒体视频的视频编码器、转码器、源服务器和数字版权管理 (DRM) 系统密钥服务器之间的加密通信标准。

SPEKE 通过增加 CPIX 未包括的规范(如密钥服务器和加密器之间的身份验证和通信方法),基于由 DASH 行业论坛 (DASH-IF) 开发的内容保护信息交换 (CPIX) 规范而构建。

Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange API 目标:简化多个复杂过程。简而言之,SPEKE 通过以下方式实现此目的:

  • SPEKE 使用单个开放、基于标准的 API 替换多 DRM 供应商密钥服务器和加密器之间的数百种专有 API 集成组合,简化了内容加密。
  • SPEKE 为媒体和娱乐视频运营商提供了更大的灵活性和更多供应商选择。
  • SPEKE 支持多 DRM 架构,以及适用于不同类型的查看设备的多种打包格式。

SPEKE – 视频工作流民主化

内容提供商

(MVPDS 和内容分销商)

  • 减少采用 DRM 解决方案提供商的障碍
  • 借助更快的集成创造更多节省成本的机会
  • 能够扩展受众/设备覆盖范围

加密器

(编码器、代码转换器和打包程序)

  • 强大的轻应用程序
  • 节省自定义 DRM API 集成的时间、精力和成本(4 周)
  • 节省测试时间和精力(测试工作量减少约 17%)
  • 更加关注核心功能
  • 能够使用参考服务器测试 DRM 工作流

DRM 解决方案提供商

  • 减少采用的障碍
  • 节省自定义集成成本和时间
  • 能够建立经过验证的工作流

SPEKE 具有哪些优势?

SPEKE 优势要点:

  • 适用于视频编码器、代码转换器、打包程序和密钥服务器的单一 API
  • 基于标准
  • 支持多 DRM
  • 简化集成
  • 减少供应商版本测试
  • 可针对云、混合或本地工作流部署
  • 加速客户部署

更深入地了解 SPEKE 如何提供帮助:

SPEKE 提供单个通用接口,用于将任意视频转码器或任意源服务器与任意密钥服务器集成,简化了复杂的“握手”挑战,无论是在数据中心本地运行还是作为云服务运行都是如此。SPEKE 设计用于使用静态密钥(最适合 VOD)或轮换密钥的点播视频 (VOD)直播流媒体工作流

SPEKE 利用内容保护信息交换格式 (CPIX) 将用于加密和保护视频内容的密钥和 DRM 信息的传输方法标准化,并在 CPIX 基础上添加了身份验证和其他重要行为的规范。CPIX 由 DASH 行业论坛推动,旨在提高运营效率,同时降低 OTT 视频服务的成本,并缩短上市时间。

此外,SPEKE 还集成了 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色,可以分配灵活而安全的权限策略,这些策略可以委托给用户、应用程序或服务,从而安全地实现多 DRM 供应商和视频转码/打包供应商之间的密钥交换。无论密钥服务器和加密器是在 AWS 上运行,在运营商的前端或数据中心的硬件上运行,还是在两者的组合上运行,甚至密钥服务器和加密器在不同云基础设施上运行,视频运营商都可以使用 IAM 角色。

尽管 DASH 行业论坛最初开发 CPIX 是针对 MPEG-DASH 内容,但是 CPIX 现在还支持 HLS 内容。凭借其全面的功能集,SPEKE 可以充当单一格式用于 MPEG-DASH、HLS、Microsoft Smooth Streaming 和未来的打包技术,以及用于多 DRM(包括 Microsoft PlayReady、Google Widevine、Apple FairPlay Streaming、AES-128 和专有 DRM 解决方案)。SPEKE 支持 Apple HLS 传输流,分段 MP4 和 CMAF。SPEKE 还支持静态密钥和密钥轮换。

SPEKE 消除了媒体客户和技术供应商等面临的复杂性。它组合了单个通用 API(用于任何转码器、打包程序和密钥服务器)、CPIX(用于 MPEG-DASH 和 HLS)以及身份验证机制。这种组合可显著减少集成时间,大大缩短测试周期,扩展集成式转码器、打包程序和多 DRM 解决方案组成的生态系统,同时还可实现运营跟踪以解决问题。

这个丰富的生态系统为客户提供了数十种预集成的解决方案,更快的上市时间,以及更灵活地选择视频处理和多 DRM 解决方案的组合,从而满足他们的需求。它还支持云、混合和本地架构。

SPEKE 为视频供应商、提供商和客户提供哪些好处?

技术碎片化的复杂性是保护视频内容的障碍,它给视频编码、转码、视频打包和多 DRM 供应商等带来了巨大的技术挑战和资源负担。解决技术碎片化的挑战是 SPEKE 的亮点。

媒体客户可以从无缝混合和匹配 SPEKE 支持的编码、转码、打包和多 DRM 供应商产品的任何组合的功能受益。客户还可以利用基于角色的安全最佳实践和安全的相互身份验证,以及围绕用于 MPEG-DASH 和 HLS 的 CPIX 设计的基于标准的实现。由于这些集成可与任何预先集成的视频转码器、源服务器或密钥服务器配合使用,因此媒体客户可以更加灵活地运行视频工作流,包括完全在云中、完全在数据中心本地或者作为混合工作流运行。这使客户能够分阶段将安全媒体工作流迁移到云,从而将云的成本节省,可扩展性和全局可用性最大化,同时维持与具有 SPEKE 集成的供应商的关系。其结果是上市时间更快,采用新 DRM 系统的障碍更少,意味着潜在的受众范围更大。

多 DRM 供应商通过将其密钥服务器与 SPEKE 集成一次并通过此单一集成获得访问视频处理合作伙伴组成的广泛生态系统的权限而受益。此外,SPEKE 提供单一密钥交换协议,并减少了跨多个供应商测试多个产品集成的资源影响。

转码和源供应商通过将转码器和源服务器与 SPEKE 集成一次并获得访问所有预集成密钥服务器供应商和多 DRM 解决方案的权限而受益。这样就避免了与数十家多 DRM 供应商的专有 API 单独集成。还显著缩短了与 DRM 供应商集成的开发和测试时间,使这些公司能够专注于改进核心功能,并使其系统功能更丰富。

有关云或本地应用程序的具体信息,请参阅 AWS 服务和产品中的 SPEKE 支持

SPEKE 网络广播

Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange (SPEKE) 是一种开放、可扩展的 API 规范,开发用于简化数字权限管理 (DRM) 与视频编码器、转码器和源服务器(加密器)的集成。

AWS SPEKE 网络广播 (30:30)

开始使用

我们可以帮助您从咨询销售人员和架构设计组织入手,或者您也可以立即开始自己的试点部署。

SPEKE: Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange API

What is SPEKE?

SPEKE is the acronym for Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange (SPEKE), which is a royalty-free open source API specification that defines the standard for encrypted communication between video encoders, transcoders, origin servers, and digital rights management (DRM) system key servers for live and on-demand streaming video.

SPEKE builds on the Content Protection Information Exchange (CPIX) specification developed by the DASH Industry Forum (DASH-IF) by adding specifications not included in CPIX, such as methods for authenticating and communicating between key servers and encryptors.

The Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange API has one purpose: the simplification of multiple complex processes. In a nutshell, SPEKE does this in the following ways:

  • SPEKE simplifies content encryption by replacing hundreds of combinations of proprietary API integrations between multi-DRM vendor key servers and encryptors with a single open, standards-based API.
  • SPEKE provides media and entertainment video operators greater flexibility and choice of vendors.
  • SPEKE supports multiple DRM schema, as well as multiple packaging formats for different types of viewing devices.

SPEKE – Democratization of the Video Workflow

Content Providers

(MVPDS and Content Distributors)

  • Lowers barrier of DRM solution provider adoption
  • Opportunity cost savings with quicker integration
  • Ability to expand audience/device coverage

Encryptors

(Encoders, Transcoders, and Packagers)

  • Robust and light application
  • Saves time, effort and cost of custom DRM API integration (4 weeks)
  • Savings in testing time and effort (~17% reduction in testing effort)
  • Increased focus on core functionality
  • Ability to test DRM workflow with reference servers

DRM Solution Providers

  • Lowers barrier to adoption
  • Custom integration cost and time savings
  • Ability to establish proven workflows

What Advantages Does SPEKE Provide?

The short list of SPEKE advantages:

  • Single API for video encoders, transcoders, packagers, and key servers
  • Standards-based
  • Supports multiple DRMs
  • Simplifies integration
  • Reduces vendor version testing
  • Deployable for cloud, hybrid, or on-premises workflows
  • Accelerates customer deployment

A deeper overview of how SPEKE helps:

SPEKE simplifies complex “handshake” challenges by providing a single common interface for integrating any video transcoder or any origin server with any key server, whether running on-premises in a data center or as cloud services. SPEKE is designed for both Video-on-Demand (VOD) and live streaming workflows using either a static (best for VOD) or rotating key.

SPEKE utilizes the Content Protection Information Exchange Format (CPIX) to standardize the method for carrying key and DRM information for encrypting and protecting video content, and adds specifications for authentication and other important behaviors on top of CPIX. Driven by the DASH Industry Forum, CPIX is designed to create operational efficiencies while reducing costs and time-to-market for OTT video services.

Additionally, SPEKE incorporates AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) roles to allocate flexible yet secure permission policies which may be delegated to users, applications, or services to securely enable key exchange between a multi-DRM vendor and a video transcoding or packaging vendor. Video operators may use IAM roles whether the key server and encryptor are running on AWS, on hardware in the operator’s headend or data center, a combination of the two, and even where the key server and encryptor are running on different cloud infrastructure.

While the DASH Industry Forum originally developed CPIX for MPEG-DASH content, CPIX now also supports HLS content. With its comprehensive feature set, SPEKE can function as a single format for MPEG-DASH, HLS, Microsoft Smooth Streaming, and future packaging technologies, and for multiple DRMs including Microsoft PlayReady, Google Widevine, Apple FairPlay Streaming, AES-128, and proprietary DRM solutions. SPEKE supports Apple HLS transport stream, fragmented MP4, and CMAF. SPEKE also supports static keys and key rotation.

SPEKE eliminates complexity for media customers and technology vendors alike. It combines a single common API for any transcoder, packager, and key server; CPIX for MPEG-DASH and HLS; and authentication mechanisms. This combination delivers significantly faster integration time, greatly reduced test cycles, and an expanded ecosystem of integrated transcoders, packagers, and multi-DRM solutions, while also enabling operational tracing to troubleshoot issues.

This rich ecosystem provides customers dozens of pre-integrated solutions, faster time to market, and greater flexibility to select combinations of video processing and multi-DRM solutions to meet their requirements. It also supports cloud, hybrid, and on-premises architectures.

What Benefits Does SPEKE Offer Video Vendors, Providers, and Customers?

The barrier to protecting video content is the complexity of technology fragmentation, which imposes tremendous technical challenges and resource burdens for video encoding, transcoding, video packaging, and multi-DRM vendors alike. Solving the challenges of technology fragmentation is where SPEKE shines.

Media customers benefit from the ability to seamlessly mix and match any combination of SPEKE-enabled encoding, transcoding, packaging, and multi-DRM vendor products. Customers can also take advantage of role-based security best practices and secure mutual authentication, along with standards-based implementation designed around CPIX for MPEG-DASH and HLS. Since these integrations work with any pre-integrated video transcoder, origin server, or key server, media customers gain the added flexibility of operating video workflows entirely in the cloud, entirely on-premises in data centers, or as hybrid workflows. This allows customers to migrate secure media workflows to the cloud in stages in order to maximize the cost savings, scalability, and global availability of the cloud while maintaining their relationships with vendors that have SPEKE integrations. The result is a much faster time-to-market and lower barriers to adopting new DRM systems, which means a bigger potential audience reach.

Multi-DRM vendors benefit by integrating their key server once with SPEKE and obtaining access to a wide ecosystem of video processing partners through that single integration. In addition, SPEKE provides a single key exchange protocol and reduces the resource impact of testing multiple product integrations across multiple vendors.

Transcoding and origin vendors benefit from integrating transcoders and origin servers once with SPEKE and gaining access to all pre-integrated key server vendors and multi-DRM solutions. This eliminates the need for separate integrations with proprietary APIs across dozens of multi-DRM vendors. This also greatly reduces development and testing time to integrate with DRM vendors, allowing these companies to focus instead on improving core functionality and making their systems more feature rich.

For specific information regarding cloud or on-premises applications, see SPEKE Support in AWS Services and Products.

SPEKE Webcast

The Secure Packager and Encoder Key Exchange (SPEKE) is an open, extensible API specification developed to streamline integration of Digital Rights Management (DRM) with video encoders, transcoders, and origin servers (encryptors).

AWS SPEKE Webcast (30:30)

Get started

We can help you get started with a consultation from our sales and architecture organization, or you can begin your own pilot today.