什么是 PostgreSQL?

稳健、可靠的开源关系数据库

PostgreSQL 是一款高级的企业级开源关系数据库,支持 SQL(关系型)和 JSON(非关系型)查询。它是一个高度稳定的数据库管理系统,依托 20 多年的社区发展,造就了其高水平的故障恢复能力、完整性和正确性。PostgreSQL 可用作很多 Web、移动、地理空间和分析应用程序的主要数据存储或数据仓库。最新主要版本为 PostgreSQL 11

PostgreSQL 在支持高级数据类型方面战绩颇丰,并且支持一定水平的性能优化(常见于 Oracle 和 SQL Server 等对手型商业数据库)。AWS 通过 Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 的完全托管数据库服务为 PostgreSQL 提供支持,并且使用 PostgreSQL 构建了兼容 PostgreSQL 的 Amazon Aurora

PostgreSQL large elephant 540x557

使用 PostgreSQL 的优势

丰富的功能和扩展

PostgreSQL 拥有强劲的功能集,其中包括多版本并发控制 (MVCC)、时点恢复、细粒度访问控制、表空间、异步复制、嵌套事务、联机/热备份、完善的查询规划器/优化器以及预写式日志。它支持国际字符集、多字节字符编码和 Unicode,并且在排序、区分大小写和格式设置等方面具备区域感知功能。PostgreSQL 在可管理的数据量和可容纳的并发用户量方面均能够高度扩展。

可靠性和标准合规性

PostgreSQL 的预写式日志功能使其成为具备高容错能力的数据库。其庞大的开源贡献者群为其提供了内置社区支持网络。PostgreSQL 可与 ACID 兼容,并且对外键、连接、视图、触发器和存储的程序提供多种语言的全套支持。它包括大多数 SQL:2008 数据类型,包括 INTEGER、NUMERIC、BOOLEAN、CHAR、VARCHAR、DATE、INTERVAL 和 TIMESTAMP。此外,它还支持存储二进制大对象,包括图片、语音或视频。

开源许可

PostgreSQL 源代码可通过开源许可证获取,这让您能够根据需要自由使用、修改和实施它,同时无任何费用。PostgreSQL 不会产生许可费用,这消除了过度部署的风险。PostgreSQL 专属的贡献者和爱好者社区会定期查找错误并修复,致力于确保数据库系统的整体安全性。

PostgreSQL 的发展历程

1986 年,PostgreSQL 项目在美国加州大学伯克利分校教授 Michael Stonebreaker 指导下开始启动。该项目最初名为“POSTGRES”,参考了同样在伯克利开发的旧 Ingres 数据库。POSTGRES 旨在添加最少的功能来为多个数据库类型提供完全支持。1996 年,为了体现该项目对 SQL 查询语言的支持,它被更名为“PostgreSQL”(但 PostgreSQL 通常仍被简称为“Postgres”)。此免费开源数据库项目有一个专属的多元化贡献者社区 (PostgreSQL Global Development Group) 持续定期执行它的主要和次要版本发布。

通用型 OLTP 数据库

初创公司和大型企业等使用 PostgreSQL 作为主数据存储来支持其 Internet 规模的应用程序、解决方案和产品。

地理空间数据库

与 PostGIS 扩展结合使用时,PostgreSQL 支持地理对象,可用作基于位置的服务和地理信息系统 (GIS) 的地理空间数据存储。

联合中心数据库

PostgreSQL 的外部数据封装器和 JSON 支持允许它与其他数据存储(包括 NoSQL 类型)关联,并用作混合数据库系统的联合中心。

LAPP 开源堆栈

PostgreSQL 可将动态网络和应用程序作为 LAMP 堆栈(LAPP 代表“Linux、Apache、PostgreSQL、PHP、Python 和 Perl)的一个主要替代品的一部分运行。

语言支持

PostgreSQL 支持大多数领先的编程语言和协议,包括:

Python

Java

Perl

.Net

Go

Ruby

C/C++

Tcl

ODBC

AWS 上完全托管的 PostgreSQL

Amazon 提供完全托管的关系数据库服务 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL,您可使用 AWS 免费套餐免费试用。Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、运行和扩展 PostgreSQL 部署。借助 Amazon RDS,您可以在几分钟内完成 Internet 规模的 PostgreSQL 部署,不仅经济实惠,而且可以调整硬件容量。
Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 入门很简单:
Step 1 - Sign up for an AWS account

注册 Amazon RDS

icon2

通过简单教程进行学习

icon3

开始使用 Amazon RDS 进行构建

Amazon RDS 上的 PostgreSQL 用户指南的帮助下开始构建

What is PostgreSQL?

Robust, reliable open source relational database

PostgreSQL is an advanced, enterprise class open source relational database that supports both SQL (relational) and JSON (non-relational) querying. It is a highly stable database management system, backed by more than 20 years of community development which has contributed to its high levels of resilience, integrity, and correctness. PostgreSQL is used as the primary data store or data warehouse for many web, mobile, geospatial, and analytics applications.

PostgreSQL has a rich history for support of advanced data types, and supports a level of performance optimization that is common across its commercial database counterparts, like Oracle and SQL Server. AWS supports PostgreSQL through a fully managed database service with Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS). Amazon Aurora with PostgreSQL compatibility is also built using PostgreSQL.

PostgreSQL large elephant 540x557

Benefits of using PostgreSQL

Rich features and extensions

PostgreSQL possesses robust feature sets including Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC), point in time recovery, granular access controls, tablespaces, asynchronous replication, nested transactions, online/hot backups, a refined query planner/optimizer, and write ahead logging. It supports international character sets, multi-byte character encodings, Unicode, and it is locale-aware for sorting, case-sensitivity, and formatting. PostgreSQL is highly scalable both in the quantity of data it can manage and in the number of concurrent users it can accommodate.

Reliability and standards compliance

PostgreSQL’s write ahead logging makes it a highly fault tolerant database. Its large base of open source contributors lends it a built-in community support network. PostgreSQL is ACID compliant, and has full support for foreign keys, joins, views, triggers, and stored procedures, in many different languages. It includes most SQL:2008 data types, including INTEGER, NUMERIC, BOOLEAN, CHAR, VARCHAR, DATE, INTERVAL, and TIMESTAMP. It also supports storage of binary large objects, including pictures, sounds, or video.

Open source license

PostgreSQL source code is available under an open source license, granting you the freedom to use, modify, and implement it as you see fit, at no charge. PostgreSQL carries no licensing cost, which eliminates the risk for over-deployment. PostgreSQL's dedicated community of contributors and enthusiasts regularly find bugs and fixes, contributing to the overall security of the database system.

History of PostgreSQL

The PostgreSQL project started in 1986 under the direction of Professor Michael Stonebreaker at the University of California, Berkeley. The project was originally named POSTGRES, in reference to the older Ingres database, also developed at Berkeley. POSTGRES aimed to add the fewest features needed to completely support multiple data types. In 1996, the project was renamed to PostgreSQL to illustrate its support for the SQL querying language (although PostgreSQL is still commonly abbreviated as Postgres). A dedicated and diverse community of contributors – the PostgreSQL Global Development Group – continues to make regular major and minor releases of the free and open source database project.

General purpose OLTP database

Startups and large enterprises alike use PostgreSQL as the primary data store to support their internet-scale applications, solutions, and products.

Geospatial database

When used with the PostGIS extension, PostgreSQL supports geographic objects, and can be used as a geospatial data store for location based services and geographic information systems (GIS).

Federated hub database

PostgreSQL's Foreign Data Wrappers and JSON support allow it to link with other data stores - including NoSQL types - and act as a federated hub for polyglot database systems.

LAPP open source stack

PostgreSQL can run dynamic websites and apps as part of a robust alternative to the LAMP stack (LAPP stands for Linux, Apache, PostgreSQL, and PHP, Python, and Perl).

Language support

PostgreSQL supports most leading programming languages and protocols, including:

Python

Java

Perl

.Net

Go

Ruby

C/C++

Tcl

ODBC

Fully managed PostgreSQL on AWS

Amazon offers a fully managed relational database service, Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL, available for trial at no cost with the AWS Free Tier. Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale PostgreSQL deployments in the cloud. With Amazon RDS, you can deploy internet-scale PostgreSQL deployments in minutes, with cost-efficient and resizable hardware capacity.
Getting started with Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL is simple:
icon1

Sign up for Amazon RDS

Get access to the Amazon RDS Free Tier.
icon2

Learn with Simple Tutorials

icon3

Start building with Amazon RDS

Begin building with help from the PostgreSQL on Amazon RDS user guide.