directive-games_Customer-Reference_Logo

Directive Games 案例研究

2018 年

Directive Games 是一家成立于 2014 年的手游初创公司,总部位于中国香港,另外在上海和冰岛雷克雅未克设有办事处。它主要从事硬核手游开发,并为硬核手游开发人员提供后端服务。中国香港总部和上海办事处负责游戏研发,雷克雅未克办事处负责开发后端工具。

Directive Games 专门从事 VR/AR 游戏制作,已经发布了多款 VR/AR 游戏,包括《超级怪兽》和《战争机器》。作为 Directive Games 的第一款 VR 游戏,《超级怪兽》上线不久即登陆了 Steam、Oculus 和 PSVR,在竞争对手中脱颖而出,在国内 VR 市场引起了巨大轰动。

开始 python 教程
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

作为一家以用户为中心的初创公司,我们致力于开发能为用户提供强大功能以及更好体验的 VR/AR 游戏,同时希望以最少的 IT 人员实现跨区域运营。借助 AWS 云平台,只需要一个小型的 IT 团队就能轻松管理和维护多个任务。我们有幸在一开始就选择了 AWS。”

Andreas Axelsson
Directive Games 技术总监

挑战

《Gauntlet》是 Directive Games 最新开发的一款 VR 游戏,这款游戏根据著名的奥斯卡金像奖得主史蒂文·斯皮尔伯格执导的科幻冒险电影《头号玩家》制作而成。HTC Vive Studios 是《头号玩家:绿洲测试版》的制作商、发行商和所有者,它是一款基于同一 IP 的大型多人在线模拟游戏,其中包括由 Directives Games 等多家 AR/VR 游戏公司开发的多个游戏模块。作为主要的开发商之一,除了构建可扩展的虚拟世界“绿洲”,Directive Games 还负责创建了其中一个游戏内容《Gauntlet 》,“绿洲”就像电影中的虚拟游戏世界,包含上百甚至上千个游戏场景,为玩家带来无穷乐趣。

《头号玩家:绿洲测试版》讲述了在 2045 年,现实世界衰退破败,人们沉迷于 VR(虚拟现实)游戏“绿洲 (OASIS)”的虚幻世界中寻求慰藉。由马克·里朗斯饰演的“绿洲”创建者在临终前宣布,第一个找到他隐藏的彩蛋的游戏玩家将继承他数十亿美元的财富,史上最大规模的寻宝行动就此展开。由泰伊·谢里丹饰演的男主角韦德·沃兹(在“绿洲”中名为 Parzival)和数十亿竞争对手一起踏上了奇妙而又危机重重的旅途。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

Directive Games 是一家主要从事 VR/AR 手游开发的初创公司。Kaleo 是 Directive Games 的 SaaS 游戏开发平台,让游戏开发人员能够快速创建跨平台的多人 AR/VR 游戏。该平台已经解决了各种跨平台问题,因此,使用不同系统(例如 PS4 和 Steam)的游戏玩家能够彼此无缝交互。正因为这一点,在为游戏选择云服务提供商时,Direct Games 将服务兼容性、可用性、安全性和稳定性放在首位,同时还考虑到了开发成本和全球业务发展。

目前,Directive Games 使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 作为游戏逻辑服务器,并使用 Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) 和 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 作为辅助服务。ELB 可以根据不断变化的流量负载自动分配流量,从而提高系统可用性。Amazon VPC 可以在 AWS 云上创建多个安全的虚拟私有网络,从而实现不同的业务逻辑并增强系统安全性。此外,Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 作为游戏媒体文件、道具、日志和其他对象数据的存储介质,可以确保数据的持久性、可用性和安全性。

更高的开发效率

AWS CloudFormation 是一种用来描述和预配置云环境中所有服务资源的通用语言。它可以快速创建游戏开发或生产环境,并且具备优秀的建模和自动化部署能力。例如,Directives Games 可以使用 AWS CloudFormation 在其合作开发商的 AWS 账户下快速构建完全相同但隔离的开发或生产环境,不需要再执行手动操作或编写自定义脚本,从而大幅提升开发效率。

无服务器管理和灵活的配置更改

借助 AWS Lambda,无需配置或管理服务器就能运行代码,而且 AWS Lambda 使用按请求量付费的定价模式(如果代码未运行,则不产生费用)。Directive Games 使用 Lambda 快速更新其配置文件。开发人员更改任何配置文件都会触发 Amazon S3 存储事件,进而触发 Lambda,将更改的文件保存在 Redis 中,然后 Directive Games 的 Kaleo SaaS 系统会自动从 Redis 获取该文件进行更新。

强大的数据分析

Directive Games 使用 Amazon CloudWatch 通过 Lambda 将游戏信息存储在 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 和 Amazon Redshift 中;Amazon ES 主要用于分析运营数据,而 Amazon Redshift 则用于分析玩家统计信息等游戏数据。

由 AWS 全球基础设施实现的广泛覆盖面也是 Directive Games 选择 AWS 的原因之一。截至 2018 年 4 月,AWS 在 18 个地理区域以及 1 个本地区域拥有 54 个可用区,为 190 个国家/地区提供服务。

以下信息图显示了 Directive Games 基于 AWS 构建的 SaaS 平台,使用的 AWS 服务包括:Amazon EC2、Amazon CloudWatch、Elastic Load Balancing、Amazon S3、Amazon VPC、AWS Lambda、AWS CloudFormation、Amazon Redshift、Amazon Elasticsearch Service、Amazon CloudFrontAmazon Route 53Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)Amazon ElastiCacheAmazon KinesisAWS Identity and Access Management (IAM)AWS Certificate Manager (ACM)AWS CloudTrailAWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS)Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 等。

优势

Directive Games 的技术总监 Andreas Axelsson 说:“使用 AWS 服务构建 PaaS 游戏开发平台最大的好处是,我们能够以最少的开发人员实现游戏的快速开发、部署、升级、运营和维护,进而满足我们的业务需求,这在以前是很难实现的。”

此外,Directive Games 还降低了成本,保证了安全性。

Directive Games 使用 Lambda 自动更新配置文件,无需在后台运行 Amazon EC2 实例或支付额外的服务费。Amazon VPC 提供的安全功能(例如安全组合网络访问控制)支持在实例或子网级别对入站和出站流量进行筛选,并且能够在 Amazon S3 中实现数据存储和访问控制,只允许从托管在 Amazon VPC 网络上的实例访问数据。此外,还可以在专用设备上启动专用实例来提高隔离级别,从而大幅提高安全性。“安全性一直是我们在选择云服务提供商时优先考虑的因素,而 AWS 的安全功能让我们感到非常满意,”Axelsson 强调。

Directive Games 还认可了 AWS 服务的稳定性。“2017 年秋天,新玩家数量猛增,但是我们的系统却很稳定,很好地应对了流量增加这一挑战,而且没有出现任何问题。”Axelsson 补充道。


关于 Directive Games

Directive Games 是一家成立于 2014 年的手游初创公司,总部位于中国香港,另外在上海和冰岛雷克雅未克设有办事处。它主要从事硬核手游开发,并为硬核手游开发人员提供后端服务。中国香港总部和上海办事处负责游戏研发,雷克雅未克办事处负责开发后端工具

基于 AWS 的 SaaS 平台

Directive Games-arch-diagram

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 >>

Elastic Load Balancing

Amazon EMR 是业界领先的原生云大数据平台,支持团队快速且经济高效地大规模处理海量数据。

了解更多 »

Amazon VPC

借助 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),您可以在 AWS 云中预置一个逻辑隔离的部分,从而在自己定义的虚拟网络中启动 AWS 资源。

了解更多 >>

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

As a user-centered start-up, we endeavor to develop VR/AR games delivering powerful features and better experiences to users with a minimum number of IT staff in our cross-regional operation. AWS cloud platform allows easy management and maintenance of multiple tasks by a small IT team. We are lucky to have chosen AWS at the very beginning.
Andreas Axelsson Technical Director of Directive Games

Directive Games, a mobile game start-up established in 2014, is headquartered in Hong Kong and has offices at Shanghai and Reykjavík, Iceland. It mainly engages in the development of hardcore mobile games and back-end services for developers of these games, with Hong Kong and Shanghai offices responsible for game R&D and Reykjavic office developing back-end tools.

Directive Games specializes in VR/AR games, and has released several VR/AR titles including Super Kaiju and The Machines. Super Kaiju, which marked its entry into the VR market, was launched on Steam, Oculus, and PSVR shortly after going live, outshining the competition and creating a sensation in China’s VR market.

Gauntlet is the latest VR game from Directive Games based on the science fiction adventure film Ready Player One, which was directed by the renowned Academy Awards winner Steven Spielberg. HTC Vive Studios is the producer, publisher, and owner of Ready Player One: OASIS Beta, a Massively Multiplayer Online Simulation Game based on the same IP, which consists of several game modules developed by a number of AR/VR game companies including Directives Games. As one of the main developers, Directive Games was responsible for creating an add-on titled Gauntlet in addition to building the expandable virtual world “OASIS,” which is envisaged to contain hundreds or even thousands of game scenarios to entertain players – just like the virtual game universe in the movie.

Ready Player One: OASIS Beta imagines the year 2045 as a wasteland where people escape the perils of real life by indulging in a VR (virtual reality) playground called the OASIS. The OASIS creator played by Mark Rylance announces before his death that the first to find his hidden Easter egg will inherit his fortune of billions of dollars, thus begins the largest ever treasure hunt. The protagonist Wade Watts (known in OASIS as Parzival), played by Tye Sheridan, is joined by billions of competitors on this curious yet dangerous journey.

Directive Games is a start-up mainly engaged in the development of mobile VR/AR games. Its SaaS game development platform, Kaleo, allows game developers to quickly create multiplayer cross-platform AR/VR games. This platform has solved various cross-platform issues, so that players on different systems such as PS4 and Steam can interact seamlessly with each other. Because of this feature, when selecting a cloud service provider for its games, Direct Games placed top priority on service compatibility, availability, security and stability, while development cost and global business development were also considered.

At present, Directive Games uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) as its game logic server, assisted by Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) and Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). ELB improves system availability by automatically distributing traffic according to the changing traffic load, while Amazon VPC can create multiple secure private virtual networks on the AWS cloud which enable different business logics and enhance system security. In addition, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), as the storage medium for game media files, props, logs and other object data, ensures data persistence, availability and security.

Higher Development Efficiency

AWS CloudFormation is a common language used to describe and pre-configure all service resources in the cloud environment. It can rapidly create game development or production environment and has leading modeling and automated deployment capabilities. For instance, Directives Games can use AWS CloudFormation to immediately build an identical and isolated development or production environment under the AWS account of its co-developer, significantly increasing development efficiency by eliminating the need to perform manual operations or write a custom script.

Server-less Management and Flexible Configuration Changes

AWS Lambda makes it possible to run codes without configuring or managing a server and uses a “per-request” pricing structure (no cost will be incurred if no code is running). Directive Games uses Lambda to quickly update its configuration files. Once a developer changes any configuration file, an Amazon S3 storage event will be triggered which in turn triggers Lambda to save this file in Redis, then the Kaleo SaaS system of Directive Games will automatically retrieve the file from Redis for update.

Powerful Data Analysis

Directive Games uses Amazon CloudWatch to store game information in Amazon Elasticsearch Service and Amazon Redshift through Lambda; Amazon ES mainly analyzes operational data, while Amazon Redshift analyzes game data such as player statistics.

AWS’ wide coverage provided by its global infrastructure also appeals to Directive Games. As of April 2018, AWS boasted 54 Availability Zones in 18 geographical regions and 1 local region, providing services in 190 countries.

Figure 1 shows Directive Games’ SaaS platform, achieved on AWS using Amazon EC2, Amazon CloudWatch, Elastic Load Balancing, Amazon S3, Amazon VPC, AWS Lambda, AWS CloudFormation, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Elasticsearch Service, Amazon CloudFront, Amazon Route 53, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Kinesis, AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM), AWS Certificate Manager (ACM), AWS CloudTrail, AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS), Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), and Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), among others.

Directive Games-arch-diagram

Figure 1 SaaS platform on AWS

Andreas Axelsson, Technical Director of Directive Games, says: “The greatest benefit of using AWS service to build PaaS game development platform is that we can rapidly develop, deploy, upgrade, operate, and maintain games with fewer developers to meet our business needs, which was hard to accomplish previously.”

At the same time, Directive Games also enjoys lower cost and guaranteed security.

Directive Games uses Lambda to update configuration files automatically, without having to run Amazon EC2 instances in the background or pay extra service fees. Advanced security features from Amazon VPC such as security groups and network access control permit inbound and outbound traffic filtering at the instance or subnet level, and enable data storage and access control in Amazon S3, only allowing data access from instances hosted on Amazon VPC networks. Moreover, dedicated instances can be started on dedicated devices to achieve increased level of isolation and hence significantly improved security. “Since security has always been our priority in choosing a cloud service provider, we are very satisfied with the security features of AWS,” emphasizes Axelsson.

Directive Games also lauds the stability of AWS services. “We had a large influx of new players in the autumn of 2017, but our system remained stable and handled the additional traffic without issues,” adds Axelsson.

For more information about how to use AWS cloud to develop games in a fast way and attract global players, please visit our Game Development page.