凭借其稳定可靠的技术、全面的安全管理功能和丰富的生态系统,AWS 让我们能够专注于核心业务,实现快速的产品发布和迭代,并为我们的客户提供稳定、可靠和个性化的在线学习服务。
胡哲人 流利说联合创始人兼首席技术官

流利说是一家人工智能驱动的教育科技公司,主打“人工智能 + 教育”的概念。流利说由国家“千人计划”特聘专家王翌、胡哲人和林晖博士于 2012 年 9 月共同创立,公司拥有一支优秀的人工智能团队,该团队自主开发了人工智能英语老师,基于深度学习为每一位用户提供个性化、自适应的课程,从而大大提高学习效率。

经过多年积累,流利说建立了大型“中国人英语语音数据库”,在此基础上开发了领先的英语口语评测、英语写作打分引擎和深度自适应学习系统,从听、说、读、写等维度全面提升用户的英语水平,为用户提供全面系统的英语学习解决方案。

截至 2018 年 7 月,公司的旗舰应用程序“英语流利说”注册用户超过 7000 万,其中付费用户超过 100 万,覆盖全球 175 个国家/地区,包括中国的 379 个城市。“英语流利说”是国内广受欢迎的英语学习应用程序和活跃的语言学习社区,被苹果公司评为“App Store 精华”和“年度精选应用程序”。

流利说是国内最早实现可观盈利的在线教育公司之一。2017 年 7 月,流利说完成了近亿美元的 C 轮融资。经过几轮投资,流利说获得了 IDG、挚信资本、GGV、华人文化产业投资基金 (CMC)、心元资本、双湖资本和赫斯特资本等知名风投公司的投资。

早期,流利说采用本地部署与公有云平台相结合的方式,在 2013 年 2 月 14 日推出了第一款产品,即“英语流利说”应用程序。该产品集成了语音识别、打分引擎和自适应学习等多种核心技术,不仅具有情景对话、配音秀、发音课程和其他丰富的内容,还可以提供人工智能英语老师和游戏化的学习,例如角色扮演、打分和闯关等,为用户带来充满乐趣的体验。这款有趣又有效的产品很快获得了用户的认可,用户数当年就突破了百万,随后很快实现了从百万到千万的跨越。

随着业务的快速发展,流利说的现有 IT 框架开始面临新的挑战。首先,突飞猛进的发展使得数据流量呈指数增长。而且,每天不同时段流量变化很大,高峰时段的流量比非高峰时段高 4 到 5 倍,这就需要 IT 架构能够提供足够的可扩展性。第二,业务迅速发展,产品组合和功能越来越多,使得复杂度不断增加。特别是在 2016 年开始商业化运营之后,付费用户数量猛增,对访问性能和稳定性提出了更高的要求。第三,大数据分析给系统性能和容量带来了挑战。随着业务的发展,流利说的“中国人英语语音数据库”容量不断增长,系统每天需要处理的用户行为分析和反馈也日益复杂。在这种情况下,如何快速合理地分配资源和提高分析效率对于公司来说至关重要。“应对这些挑战的关键是要选择一个稳定、安全并且功能强大的云平台。基于之前对 AWS 的了解,我们在 2014 年决定将整个现有系统迁移到 AWS。事实证明我们的选择是正确的。”流利说联合创始人兼首席技术官胡哲人说。

流利说的旗舰 App“英语流利说”基于大数据和人工智能构建,是一款面向成人的英语学习产品。安全性、稳定性和可扩展性是流利说在选择云平台时重点考虑的因素。AWS 凭借稳定可靠的技术、全面的安全管理功能和丰富的生态系统,成为流利说的最终选择。

稳定可靠的技术

AWS 的稳定性和可靠性是由其各种功能产品的稳定性和整体技术架构决定的。流利说使用的 AWS 产品主要涉及计算、存储和数据分析功能。在计算方面,AWS 提供了一系列可以相互配合的功能,包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)Amazon Elastic Container Registry (Amazon ECR)AWS LambdaAWS Auto ScalingElastic Load Balancing。这些功能相互配合,不仅可以提供大小可调的计算容量,让用户能够控制需要的计算机资源并根据计算需求的变化扩展或缩减计算容量,还可以自动检测运行状况不佳的实例并将流量重新路由到运行状况良好的实例,直到运行状况不佳的实例恢复正常运行。这样可以提高应用程序的容错能力。在存储方面,Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 以冗余方式将数据存储在多个设施和一个设施中的多个设备上,从而为用户提供 99.999999999% 的数据持久性。另外,Amazon GlacierAWS Storage Gateway 让用户不仅能够安全、无缝地将本地存储与 AWS 存储集成,还能够以更低的成本安全可靠地存储海量数据。“AWS 全方位的稳定性让我们的开发团队能够专注于产品研发,不必担心基础架构会出现任何问题。”胡哲人说。

全面的安全管理功能

流利说拥有庞大的“中国人英语语音数据库”,这是它的核心资产。随着数据量不断增长,AWS 的安全数据管理的重要性日益凸显。随着业务快速发展,以及产品组合不断增多,流利说需要在优化资源的同时进行集群隔离和划分不同业务。“Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC)AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 和其他安全管理功能为我们提供了多种便捷的方式来实现安全管理目标。”胡哲人说。Amazon VPC 让用户能够在 AWS 中预先配置多个虚拟网络环境,并将不同的业务置于不同的虚拟网络中。例如,借助 Amazon VPC,可以在前端为用户访问的应用程序系统创建公有子网,而将数据库和应用程序服务器等后端系统置于不能访问 Internet 的私有子网中,并且利用 IAM 来创建和管理 AWS 用户和组,以便通过安全组和访问控制列表等多个安全层来实现对整个系统的安全管控。

丰富的生态系统

“作为一家初创公司,流利说必须专注于核心业务。所以,如果有开源工具可以满足我们的需求,那么我们肯定首选开源工具。不管是开源产品还是闭源产品,一涉及到与公有云平台集成,自然就会选择 AWS,无论我们身在何处。丰富的生态系统让我们能够根据具体需求轻松选择应用程序系统,降低人工成本。例如,我们使用开源工具 Terraform 来管理资源,而它支持的云平台就包括 AWS。”胡哲人说。除了技术丰富的生态系统之外,AWS 还提供各种线上和线下培训以及用户和开发人员活动,将全球顶尖的开发人员和行业用户聚集在一起,让他们有机会分享自己的成功经验。

2014年9月,流利说将整个系统迁移到 AWS,包括流利说的官方网站、数据分析平台、支付流程和业务应用程序等系统,并在整个过程中保持安全稳定的运行。目前,流利说使用的 AWS 服务包括 Amazon EC2、Amazon S3、Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)Amazon ElastiCacheAWS SupportAmazon Elastic Block StoreAmazon CloudWatch、AWS Data Transfer、Amazon EMRAmazon DynamoDBAWS Config、AWS Storage Gateway、Amazon Route 53AWS CloudTrailAmazon Simple Queue ServiceAmazon Simple Notification Service。图 1 显示了流利说基于 AWS 的系统架构。

liulishuo-arch-diag

图 1 流利说基于 AWS 的系统架构

部署 AWS 为流利说带来了两方面好处:第一,系统的整体稳定性显著提高,应用程序的可用性达到 99.9%。流利说的业务发展有两个特点:用户数快速增长:用户数在 4 年间就从 100 万增长到 7000 万;每天 24 小时用户流量分布不均匀:在中午和下午 6 点后的高峰时段,用户流量激增,是非高峰时段的 10 倍。AWS 的自动运维功能让流利说的整个系统能够轻松应对流量的变化,从而为用户提供稳定可靠的访问服务和更好的用户体验。第二,节省了资源成本和人力成本。在资源分配方面,AWS Auto Scaling 和 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例等 AWS 提供的功能使得资源占用成本大幅降低。特别是部署 Amazon EMR 之后,数据处理速度和处理量大幅提高,而在夜间采用低成本的实例来处理数据也有效地降低了成本。在人工成本方面,AWS 的自动管理功能降低了对系统运维的需求,节省了雇用专职运维人员的成本。
为了发展成为一家更好的人工智能驱动的教育科技公司,流利说计划在未来采用更多 AWS 产品(包括 Amazon Machine Learning 和 GPU 实例集群)来提高数据分析速度,加快模型训练迭代,为用户提供更好的个性化学习体验。

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助教育领域客户,请访问适用于教育领域的云计算页面。

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足大数据需求,请访问我们的大数据详细信息页面。

With its stable and reliable technology, comprehensive security management functions and a rich ecosystem, AWS allows us to focus on our core businesses, achieve rapid product launch and iteration, and offer our customers stable, reliable and personalized online learning services.
Ben Hu Liulishuo’s co-founder and CTO

Liulishuo is an AI-driven education technology company that promotes “AI + education”. Established in September 2012 by the “The Recruitment Program of Global Experts” experts Yi Wang, Ben Hu and Lin Hui, Liulishuo boasts a superior AI team that has independently developed the AI English Teacher to provide each user with personalized and adaptive courses based on deep learning, thus significantly boosting learning efficiency.

Based on a large-scale “English pronunciation database of Chinese learners” built over the years, Liulishuo has developed cutting-edge English speaking assessment, English writing scoring engine and deep self-adaptive learning systems to help users improve their English proficiency in all aspects including listening, speaking, reading and writing, providng them comprehensive and systematic solutions for English learning.

By July 2018, the Company’s flagship app “English Liulishuo” had more than 70 million registered users including over one million paid users from 175 countries, including 379 cities in China. As a widely popular English learning app and a vibrant language learning community in China, it is rated by Apple as one of the “App Store Essentials” and “Best Apps of the Year”.

Liulishuo is among the first online education companies in China that achieved significant profits. In July 2017, Liulishuo completed the Series C financing of approximately 100 million US dollars. In its various financing series, the Company has been invested by: IDG, Trustbridge Partners, GGV, China Media Capital (CMC), Cherubic Ventures, Wu Capital, Hearst Ventures, among other well-known VCs.

At the early stage, Liulishuo employed a combination of On-Premise and public cloud platform to launch its first product “English Liulishuo” app on February 14, 2013. This product features integrated core technologies such as voice recognition, scoring engine and self-adaptive learning. In addition to situational dialogues, dubbing show, pronunciation courses and other diverse contents, it also features AI English Teachers and gamified learning like role-playing, scoring and stage clearing to inject an element of fun into user experience. Gaining instant recognition from users, this fun and effective product hit the million-user mark within the year, and managed to multiply the number by ten shortly after.

Rapid business expansion brought new challenges to Liulishuo’s existing IT architecture. First of all, explosive growth translated into exponential increase in data traffic. Meanwhile, traffic varies greatly throughout the day, with peak-hour traffic being 4 to 5 times higher than that of the off-peak period, which requires IT architecture to provide sufficient scalability. Second, business expansion and growing product portfolio and functions increased complexity. The start of commercial operation in 2016, in particular, was followed by a steep increase in paid users, posing higher requirements on access performance and stability. Third, big data analysis brought challenges to system performance and capacity. Business expansion led to a continuous expansion of Liulishuo’s “English pronunciation database of Chinese learners” and increasing complexity of user behavior analysis and feedback to be processed by the system on a daily basis. In this context, how to swiftly and rationally allocate resources and enhance analytical efficiency became vitally important for the company. “The key to addressing these challenges is to select a stable and secure cloud platform with powerful functions. Based on our prior knowledge of AWS, we decided to migrate the entire existing system to AWS in 2014. The result shows that we did the right thing”, said Ben Hu, Liulishuo’s co-founder and CTO

Based on big data and artificial intelligence, Liulishuo’s flagship app “English Liulishuo” is an English learning product for adults. Security, stability and scalability were Liulishuo’s main considerations in selecting the cloud platform. With its stable and reliable technology, comprehensive security management functions and a rich ecosystem for tech development, AWS became the ultimate choice for Liulishuo.

Stable and reliable technology

Stability and reliability of AWS are determined by the stability of its various functional products and its overall technical architecture. AWS products used by Liulishuo mainly involves computing, storage and data analysis functions. Regarding computing, AWS provides a series of coordinated functions, including Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Elastic Container Registry (Amazon ECR), AWS Lambda, AWS Auto Scaling and Elastic Load Balancing. In coordination, these functions not only provide adjustable computing capacity that allows users to control required computer resources, expand or reduce computing capacity when computing requirements change, but also automatically detect unhealthy instances and reroute traffic to healthy ones until the unhealthy instances have been restored. This will provide greater application tolerance. Regarding storage, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) stores data in multiple facilities and multiple devices within the same facility with redundancy, so as to provide users with 99.999999999% data persistence. In addition, Amazon Glacier and AWS Storage Gateway allow users to safely and seamlessly integrate local storage with AWS storage, and safely and reliably store mass data at lower cost. “With its all-round stability, AWS allows our development team to focus on product R&D without worrying about any problems of basic architecture”, said Ben Hu.

Comprehensive security management functions

Liulishuo boasts a massive “English pronunciation database of Chinese learners” as its core asset. With growing data volume, the importance of AWS secure data management stood out. With rapid business expansion and growing product portfolio, Liulishuo needs to conduct cluster isolation and divide different businesses while optimising resources. “Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) and other security management functions provide us with convenient ways to achieve security management objectives”, said Ben Hu. Amazon VPC allows users to preconfigure multiple virtual network environments in AWS and place different businesses under different virtual networks. For instance, with Amazon VPC, it is possible to create a public subnet for an application system accessed by users at the front end, while placing back-end systems such as database and application server in a private subnet that cannot access the Internet, and use IAM to create and manage AWS users and groups to achieve secure management of the entire system through various security layers such as security group and access control list.

Rich ecosystem

“As a start-up, Liulishuo must focus on its core businesses. If there are open-source tools that can address our needs, open source will definitely be our first choice. For open-source or closed-source products, when it comes to integration with public cloud platform, AWS is a natural choice wherever we are in the world. The rich ecosystem makes it easy for us to select application system based on specific needs and cut down on labor cost. For instance, we use open-source tool Terraform to manage resources, and the cloud platforms it supports includes AWS”, said Ben Hu. Apart from a technically rich ecosystem, AWS also has varied online and off-line trainings and user and developer activities, which gather the best developers and industry users around the world and provide opportunities for them to share their success stories.

In September 2014, Liulishuo migrated its entire system to AWS, including Liulishuo’s official website, data analysis platform, payment process, business applications, among other systems, maintaining secure and stable operation throughout the process. Currently, AWS services employed by Liulishuo include Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon ElastiCache, AWS Support, Amazon Elastic Block Store, Amazon CloudWatch, AWS Data Transfer, Amazon EMR, Amazon DynamoDB, AWS Config, AWS Storage Gateway, Amazon Route 53, AWS CloudTrail, Amazon Simple Queue Service and Amazon Simple Notification Service. Figure 1 shows Liulishuo’s system architecture based on AWS.

liulishuo-arch-diag

Figure 1  Liulishuo’s system architecture based on AWS

AWS deployment has benefited Liulishuo in two aspects: First, it has led to a remarkable improvement in overall system stability, with the availability of applications reaching 99.9%. Liulishuo’s business development exhibits two features: Rapid growth in the number of users: it took only four years for its users to increase from one million to 70 million; Uneven distribution of user traffic over 24 hours each day: the peak-hour surge in traffic at noon and after six p.m. is 10 times higher than during off-peak hours. AWS automatic O&M function allows Liulishuo’s entire system to cope with changes in traffic with ease, so as to provide users with stable and reliable access services and better user experience. Secondly, it saves both resources and manpower. In terms of resource allocation, AWS-provided functions such as AWS Auto Scaling and Amazon EC2 Spot instance have substantially reduced resource occupation cost. After Amazon EMR’s deployment, in particular, data processing speed and volume have substantially increased while low-cost instances for data processing at night effectively reduced cost. In terms of labor cost, AWS automatic management function has reduced the demand for system O&M, saving the cost of full-time O&M personnel.
Striving to improve itself as an AI-driven education technology company, Liulishuo plans to adopt more AWS products in the future, including Amazon Machine Learning and GPU instance cluster to increase data analysis speed and accelerate model training iteration that deliver better personalized learning experience to its users.

To learn more about how AWS can help education customers, visit Cloud Computing for Education page.

To learn more about how AWS can help you meet big data needs, visit our Big Data details page.