一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Glue?

AWS Glue 是一项完全托管且按需付费的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 服务,可自动执行分析所需的耗时数据准备步骤。AWS Glue 通过 AWS Glue 数据目录自动发现并绘制您的数据,推荐并生成 ETL 代码,以将源数据转换成目标架构,并在完全托管的横向扩展 Apache Spark 环境中运行 ETL 作业,将数据加载到其目标中。它还使您能够设置、编排和监控复杂的数据流。

问:如何开始使用 AWS Glue?

要开始使用 AWS Glue,只需登录 AWS 管理控制台,然后导航到“分析”分类下的“AWS Glue”即可。您可以按照我们的其中一个指导教程进行操作,它将向您介绍 AWS Glue 的示例使用案例。您还可以在 AWS 实验室下的 GitHub 存储库中找到示例 ETL 代码。

问:AWS Glue 的主要组件是什么?

AWS Glue 由数据目录(一个中央元数据存储库)、ETL 引擎(可自动生成 Scala 或 Python 代码)和灵活的计划程序(可处理依赖关系解析、作业监控和重试)构成。这些组件结合在一起,自动执行与发现、分类、清理、丰富和移动数据相关的许多无差别的繁重任务,因此您可以将更多时间用在数据分析上。

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?

您应该使用 AWS Glue 来发现您所拥有的数据的属性、对其进行转换并准备好进行分析。AWS Glue 可以自动发现存储在 Amazon S3 数据湖、Amazon Redshift 数据仓库以及在 AWS 上运行的各种数据库中的结构化和半结构化数据。它通过 AWS Glue 数据目录提供统一的数据视图,该数据目录可用于 ETL 以及使用 Amazon AthenaAmazon EMRAmazon Redshift Spectrum 等服务进行查询和报告。AWS Glue 会自动为您的 ETL 作业生成 Scala 或 Python 代码,您可以使用熟悉的工具对这些代码进一步进行自定义。AWS Glue 属于无服务器服务,因此无需配置和管理计算资源。

问:AWS Glue 支持哪些数据源?

AWS Glue 为以下位置存储的数据提供原生支持:Amazon AuroraAmazon RDS for MySQLAmazon RDS for OracleAmazon RDS for PostgreSQLAmazon RDS for SQL ServerAmazon DynamoDBAmazon RedshiftAmazon S3,以及 Amazon EC2 上运行的 Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中的 MySQL、Oracle、Microsoft SQL Server 和 PostgreSQL 数据库。您可以从 Amazon AthenaAmazon EMRAmazon Redshift Spectrum 轻松访问存储在 AWS Glue 数据目录中的元数据。您还可以编写自定义 Scala 或 Python 代码,并在 AWS Glue ETL 作业中导入自定义库和 Jar 文件,以访问 AWS Glue 原生不支持的数据源。有关导入自定义库的更多详细信息,请参阅我们的文档

AWS Glue 数据目录

问:什么是 AWS Glue 数据目录?

AWS Glue 数据目录是一个中央存储库,用于存储所有数据资产的结构和操作元数据。对于给定的数据集,您可以存储其表定义和物理位置、添加业务相关属性以及跟踪此数据如何随着时间发生变化。

AWS Glue 数据目录与 Apache Hive 元数据库兼容,可以替代用于 Amazon EMR 上运行的大数据应用程序的 Apache Hive 元数据库。有关设置 EMR 集群以将 AWS Glue 数据目录用作 Apache Hive 元数据库的更多信息,请点击此处

AWS Glue 数据目录还实现了与 Amazon AthenaAmazon EMRAmazon Redshift Spectrum 之间的开箱即用集成。当您将表定义添加到 AWS Glue 数据目录后,它们即可用于 ETL,并且还可以在 Amazon Athena、Amazon EMR 和 Amazon Redshift Spectrum 中轻松查询,以便您能够对这些服务之间的数据有一个通用视图。

问:如何将元数据导入 AWS Glue 数据目录?

AWS Glue 提供了多种将元数据填充到 AWS Glue 数据目录中的方法。AWS Glue 抓取程序会扫描您拥有的各种数据存储,以自动推断出架构和分区结构,并使用相应的表定义和统计信息来填充 AWS Glue 数据目录。您还可以安排抓取程序定期运行,以便您的元数据始终处于最新状态并与底层数据保持同步。或者,您可以通过使用 AWS Glue 控制台或调用 API 来手动添加和更新表详细信息。您还可以通过 Amazon Athena 控制台或 Amazon EMR 集群上的 Hive 客户端来运行 Hive DDL 语句。最后,如果您已经拥有了永久 Apache Hive 元数据库,则可以使用我们的导入脚本将这些元数据批量导入到 AWS Glue 数据目录中。

问:什么是 AWS Glue 抓取程序?

AWS Glue 抓取程序可连接到数据存储,使用分类器的优先级列表来提取数据和其他统计数据的架构,然后使用该元数据填充 AWS Glue 数据目录。抓取程序可定期运行,以检测新数据的可用性以及现有数据的更改,包括表定义的更改。抓取程序会自动将新表、新分区以及新版本的表定义添加到现有表。您可以自定义 AWS Glue 抓取程序以对自己的文件类型进行分类。

问:如何将数据从现有的 Apache Hive 元数据库导入到 AWS Glue 数据目录中?

您只需运行 ETL 作业即可,该作业将从 Apache Hive 元数据库读取数据,并将数据以中间格式导出到 Amazon S3 中,然后再将该数据导入 AWS Glue 数据目录中。

问:如果将元数据存储在 AWS Glue 数据目录中,那么是否还需要保留 Apache Hive 元数据库?

不需要。AWS Glue 数据目录与 Apache Hive 元数据库兼容。您可以指向 AWS Glue 数据目录终端节点,并使用它来替换 Apache Hive 元数据库。有关如何配置集群以将 AWS Glue 数据目录用作 Apache Hive 元数据库的更多信息,请访问此处阅读我们的文档。

问:如果已经在使用 Amazon Athena 或 Amazon Redshift Spectrum,并且也已经在 Amazon Athena 的内部数据目录中存储了表,那么应该如何开始使用 AWS Glue 数据目录作为通用元数据存储库?

您必须先将 Amazon Athena 数据目录升级到 AWS Glue 数据目录,然后才能开始使用 AWS Glue 数据目录作为 Amazon AthenaAmazon Redshift Spectrum 和 AWS Glue 之间的通用元数据存储库。此处详细介绍了升级所需的步骤。

提取、转换、加载 (ETL)

问:我可以使用哪种编程语言为 AWS Glue 编写 ETL 代码?

您可以使用 Scala 或 Python。

问:如何自定义 AWS Glue 生成的 ETL 代码?

AWS Glue 的 ETL 脚本推荐系统生成 Scala 或 Python 代码。它利用 AWS Glue 的自定义 ETL 库来简化对数据源的访问以及管理作业执行情况。有关库的更多详细信息,请参阅我们的文档。您可以使用 AWS Glue 的自定义库来编写 ETL 代码,或者也可以使用 Scala 或 Python 语言编写任意代码,方法是通过 AWS Glue 控制台的脚本编辑器使用内联编辑,下载自动生成的代码,然后在自己的 IDE 中进行编辑。您也可以一开始使用我们的 Github 存储库中托管的许多示例代码之一,然后自定义此代码。

问:是否可以导入自定义库作为 ETL 脚本的一部分?

支持。您可以将自定义 Python 库和 Jar 文件导入 AWS Glue ETL 作业。有关更多详细信息,请在此处参阅我们的文档。

问:是否可以使用自己的代码?

支持。您可以使用 AWS Glue 的 ETL 库自己编写代码,或者自己编写 Scala 或 Python 代码,然后将其上传到 AWS Glue ETL 作业。有关更多详细信息,请在此处参阅我们的文档。

问:如何使用自己的 IDE 开发 ETL 代码?

您可以创建开发终端节点并进行连接,从而获得连接到笔记本和 IDE 的方法。

问:如何使用 AWS Glue 中的多个作业构建端到端的 ETL 工作流?

除了 ETL 库和代码生成,AWS Glue 还提供一套强大的编排功能,可让您管理多个作业之间的依赖关系,以构建端到端的 ETL 工作流。AWS Glue ETL 作业可以按计划或按作业完成事件进行触发。可并行触发多个作业,也可以按作业完成事件依次触发作业。您还可以从外部来源触发一个或多个 AWS Glue 作业,例如 AWS Lambda 函数。

问:AWS Glue 如何监控依赖关系?

AWS Glue 可使用触发器管理两个或多个作业之间的依赖关系或外部事件上的依赖关系。触发器可以监控以及调用一个或多个作业。您可以使用计划触发器来定期调用作业,也可以使用按需触发器或作业完成触发器来调用作业。

问:AWS Glue 如何处理错误?

AWS Glue 可监控作业事件指标和错误,并会将所有通知推送到 Amazon CloudWatch。您可以借助 Amazon CloudWatch 配置大量可基于 AWS Glue 特定通知触发的操作。例如,如果您从 AWS Glue 获得错误或成功通知,则可以触发 AWS Lambda 函数。AWS Glue 还提供默认重试行为,会在发送错误通知之前,重试三次所有失败的操作。

问:是否可以使用 AWS Glue 运行现有的 ETL 作业?

支持。您可以在 AWS Glue 上运行现有的 Scala 或 Python 代码。仅需将代码上传到 Amazon S3,然后创建一个或多个使用此代码的作业即可。您可以将多个作业指向 Amazon S3 上的同一代码位置,从而可以跨这些作业重复使用同一代码。

问:如何使用 AWS Glue 来对流数据执行 ETL 操作?

AWS Glue ETL 面向的是批量操作,您可以至少以 5 分钟为时间间隔来安排 ETL 作业。虽然它可以处理微批量,但它不能处理流数据。如果您的使用案例要求您以流方式处理数据的同时对其执行 ETL 操作,则可以使用 Amazon Kinesis Data FirehoseAmazon Kinesis Data Analytics 执行 ETL 的第一阶段,然后将数据存储到 Amazon S3Amazon Redshift 中,并触发 AWS Glue ETL 作业,以提取数据集,然后继续对数据执行转换。

问:是否必须同时使用 AWS Glue 数据目录和 AWS Glue ETL 才能使用该服务?

不是。虽然我们确信同时使用 AWS Glue 数据目录和 ETL 可提供端到端的 ETL 体验,但您也可以单独使用其中任意一个。

AWS 产品集成

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?何时应使用 AWS Data Pipeline?

AWS Glue 可提供在无服务器 Apache Spark 环境中运行的托管 ETL 服务。这使您能够专注于 ETL 作业,不用担心配置和管理底层计算资源。AWS Glue 采用数据第一的方式,可让您专注于数据属性和数据操作,以将数据转换为您可以获取业务见解的形式。它可提供集成的数据目录,以便对元数据执行 ETL 操作,以及可通过 Amazon AthenaAmazon Redshift Spectrum 进行查询。

AWS Data Pipeline 可提供托管编排服务,为您在执行环境、访问和控制运行代码的计算资源以及本身执行数据处理的代码方面提供更大的灵活性。AWS Data Pipeline 可在您的账户中启动计算资源,从而使您能够直接访问 Amazon EC2 实例或 Amazon EMR 集群。

此外,AWS Glue ETL 作业均使用 Scala 或 Python 语言。如果您的使用案例要求您使用 Apache Spark 以外的引擎,或者您想运行在各种引擎(如 Hive、Pig 等)上运行的异构作业集,那么 AWS Data Pipeline 将是一个更好的选择。

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?何时应使用 Amazon EMR?

AWS Glue 基于 Apache Spark 环境运行,为数据转换作业提供横向扩展的执行环境。AWS Glue 可推断、拓展和监控 ETL 作业,大大简化了作业的创建和维护过程。Amazon EMR 可让您直接访问 Hadoop 环境,为您在使用 Spark 以外的工具时提供较低级的访问权限和更高的灵活性。

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?何时应使用 AWS Database Migration Service?

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) 可帮助您轻松并安全地将数据库迁移至 AWS。如果需要将数据库从本地迁移至 AWS 或需要本地源与 AWS 上的源之间进行数据库复制,我们建议您使用 AWS DMS。一旦数据位于 AWS 中,您就可以使用 AWS Glue 将数据源中的数据移动到另一个数据库或数据仓库(比如 Amazon Redshift)中并进行转换。

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?何时应使用 AWS Batch?

AWS Batch 使您能够轻松有效地在 AWS 上运行任何批量计算作业,而无需考虑作业的性质。AWS Batch 可在您的 AWS 账户中创建和管理计算资源,使您能够全面控制和了解所使用的资源。AWS Glue 是一项完全托管的 ETL 服务,可提供无服务器的 Apache Spark 环境来运行 ETL 作业。对于 ETL 使用案例,我们建议您探索使用 AWS Glue。对于其他面向批量操作的使用案例,其中包括一些 ETL 使用案例,AWS Batch 可能是更合适的选择。

问:何时应使用 AWS Glue?何时应使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics?

Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics 允许您对传入数据流运行标准 SQL 查询。您可以指定像 Amazon S3 这样的目标源来编写结果。一旦数据在目标数据源中可用,您就可以启动 AWS Glue ETL 作业来进一步转换数据,并准备数据以进行其他分析和报告。

定价与计费

问:AWS Glue 如何收费?

除了 AWS Glue 数据目录免费套餐,您需要针对 AWS Glue 数据目录中的元数据存储和访问支付简单月度费用。此外,您还需要针对 ETL 作业和抓取程序的运行按小时费率付费(按秒计),每次最少 10 分钟。如果您选择使用开发终端节点以交互式方法开发您的 ETL 代码,那么您需要针对预置开发终端节点的时间按小时费率付费(按秒计),最少 10 分钟。有关更多详细信息,请参阅我们的定价页面。

问:AWS Glue 作业的计费何时开始,何时结束?

计费在作业安排执行后立即开始,并持续至整个作业完成。使用 AWS Glue 时,您只需针对作业运行的时间付费,而无需为环境预置或关闭时间付费。

安全和可用性

问:AWS Glue 如何确保数据安全?

我们为静态数据提供服务器端加密,为动态数据提供 SSL。

问:AWS Glue 有哪些服务限制?

有关服务限制的更多信息,请参阅我们的文档

问:哪些地区提供 AWS Glue?

请参阅 AWS 地区表,了解 AWS Glue 服务在不同地区的具体提供情况。

问:为开发终端节点分配了多少 DPU(数据处理单元)?

一个开发终端节点默认预置 5 个 DPU。您可以为开发终端节点最少配置 2 个 DPU,最多配置 5 个 DPU。

问:如何扩展 AWS Glue ETL 作业的规模和性能?

您仅需指定想分配给 ETL 作业的 DPU(数据处理单元)数量即可。一个 AWS Glue ETL 作业至少需要 2 个 DPU。默认情况下,AWS Glue 会为每个 ETL 作业分配 10 个 DPU。

问:如何监控 AWS Glue 作业的执行情况?

AWS Glue 会提供每个作业的状态,并将所有通知推送到 Amazon CloudWatch。您可以通过 CloudWatch 操作设置 SNS 通知,以接收作业失败或完成通知。

了解有关 AWS Glue 定价的更多信息

访问定价页面
准备好开始构建了吗?
开始使用 AWS Glue
还有更多问题?
联系我们

Q: What is AWS Glue?

AWS Glue is a fully-managed, pay-as-you-go, extract, transform, and load (ETL) service that automates the time-consuming steps of data preparation for analytics. AWS Glue automatically discovers and profiles your data via the Glue Data Catalog, recommends and generates ETL code to transform your source data into target schemas, and runs the ETL jobs on a fully managed, scale-out Apache Spark environment to load your data into its destination. It also allows you to setup, orchestrate, and monitor complex data flows.

Q: How do I get started with AWS Glue?

To start using AWS Glue, simply sign into the AWS Management Console and navigate to “Glue” under the “Analytics” category. You can follow one of our guided tutorials that will walk you through an example use case for AWS Glue. You can also find sample ETL code in our GitHub repository under AWS Labs.

Q. What are the main components of AWS Glue?

AWS Glue consists of a Data Catalog which is a central metadata repository, an ETL engine that can automatically generate Python code, and a flexible scheduler that handles dependency resolution, job monitoring, and retries. Together, these automate much of the undifferentiated heavy lifting involved with discovering, categorizing, cleaning, enriching, and moving data, so you can spend more time analyzing your data.

Q: When should I use AWS Glue?

You should use AWS Glue to discover properties of the data you own, transform it, and prepare it for analytics. Glue can automatically discover both structured and semi-structured data stored in your data lake on Amazon S3, data warehouse in Amazon Redshift, and various databases running on AWS. It provides a unified view of your data via the Glue Data Catalog that is available for ETL, querying and reporting using services like Amazon Athena, Amazon EMR, and Amazon Redshift Spectrum. Glue automatically generates Python code for your ETL jobs that you can further customize using tools you are already familiar with. AWS Glue is serverless, so there are no compute resources to configure and manage.

Q: What data sources does AWS Glue support?

AWS Glue natively supports data stored in Amazon Aurora, Amazon RDS for MySQL, Amazon RDS for Oracle, Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL, Amazon RDS for SQL Server, Amazon Redshift, and Amazon S3, as well as MySQL, Oracle, Microsoft SQL Server, and PostgreSQL databases in your Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) running on Amazon EC2. The metadata stored in the AWS Glue Data Catalog can be readily accessed from Amazon Athena, Amazon EMR, and Amazon Redshift Spectrum. You can also write custom PySpark code and import custom libraries in your Glue ETL jobs to access data sources not natively supported by AWS Glue. For more details on importing custom libraries, refer to our documentation.

Back to top »


Q: What is the AWS Glue Data Catalog?

The AWS Glue Data Catalog is a central repository to store structural and operational metadata for all your data assets. For a given data set, you can store its table definition, physical location, add business relevant attributes, as well as track how this data has changed over time.

The AWS Glue Data Catalog is Apache Hive Metastore compatible and is a drop-in replacement for the Apache Hive Metastore for Big Data applications running on Amazon EMR. For more information on setting up your EMR cluster to use AWS Glue Data Catalog as an Apache Hive Metastore, click here.

The AWS Glue Data Catalog also provides out-of-box integration with Amazon Athena, Amazon EMR, and Amazon Redshift Spectrum. Once you add your table definitions to the Glue Data Catalog, they are available for ETL and also readily available for querying in Amazon Athena, Amazon EMR, and Amazon Redshift Spectrum so that you can have a common view of your data between these services.

Q: How do I get my metadata into the AWS Glue Data Catalog?

AWS Glue provides a number of ways to populate metadata into the AWS Glue Data Catalog. Glue crawlers scan various data stores you own to automatically infer schemas and partition structure and populate the Glue Data Catalog with corresponding table definitions and statistics. You can also schedule crawlers to run periodically so that your metadata is always up-to-date and in-sync with the underlying data. Alternately, you can add and update table details manually by using the AWS Glue Console or by calling the API. You can also run Hive DDL statements via the Amazon Athena Console or a Hive client on an Amazon EMR cluster. Finally, if you already have a persistent Apache Hive Metastore, you can perform a bulk import of that metadata into the AWS Glue Data Catalog by using our import script.

Q: What are AWS Glue crawlers?

An AWS Glue crawler connects to a data store, progresses through a prioritized list of classifiers to extract the schema of your data and other statistics, and then populates the Glue Data Catalog with this metadata. Crawlers can run periodically to detect the availability of new data as well as changes to existing data, including table definition changes. Crawlers automatically add new tables, new partitions to existing table, and new versions of table definitions. You can customize Glue crawlers to classify your own file types.

Q: How do I import data from my existing Apache Hive Metastore to the AWS Glue Data Catalog?

You simply run an ETL job that reads from your Apache Hive Metastore, exports the data to an intermediate format in Amazon S3, and then imports that data into the AWS Glue Data Catalog.

Q: Do I need to maintain my Apache Hive Metastore if I am storing my metadata in the AWS Glue Data Catalog?

No. AWS Glue Data Catalog is Apache Hive Metastore compatible. You can point to the Glue Data Catalog endpoint and use it as an Apache Hive Metastore replacement. For more information on how to configure your cluster to use AWS Glue Data Catalog as an Apache Hive Metastore, please read our documentation here.

Q. If I am already using Amazon Athena or Amazon Redshift Spectrum and have tables in Amazon Athena’s internal data catalog, how can I start using the AWS Glue Data Catalog as my common metadata repository?

Before you can start using AWS Glue Data Catalog as a common metadata repository between Amazon Athena, Amazon Redshift Spectrum, and AWS Glue, you must upgrade your Amazon Athena data catalog to AWS Glue Data Catalog. The steps required for the upgrade are detailed here.

Back to top »


Q: How can I customize the ETL code generated by AWS Glue?

AWS Glue’s ETL script recommendation system generates PySpark code. It leverages Glue’s custom ETL library to simplify access to data sources as well as manage job execution. You can find more details about the library in our documentation. You can write ETL code using AWS Glue’s custom library or write arbitrary Spark code in Python (PySpark code) by using inline editing via the AWS Glue Console script editor, downloading the auto-generated code, and editing it in your own IDE. You can also start with one of the many samples hosted in our Github repository and customize that code.

Q: Can I import custom libraries as part of my ETL script?

Yes. You can import custom PySpark libraries into your AWS Glue ETL job. For more details, please check our documentation here.

Q: Can I bring my own code?

Yes. You can write your own code using AWS Glue’s ETL library, or write your own PySpark code and upload it to a Glue ETL job. For more details, please check our documentation here.

Q: How can I develop my ETL code using my own IDE?

You can create and connect to development endpoints that offer ways to connect your notebooks and IDEs.

Q: How can I build end-to-end ETL workflow using multiple jobs in AWS Glue?

In addition to the ETL library and code generation, AWS Glue provides a robust set of orchestration features that allow you to manage dependencies between multiple jobs to build end-to-end ETL workflows. AWS Glue ETL jobs can either be triggered on a schedule or on a job completion event. Multiple jobs can be triggered in parallel or sequentially by triggering them on a job completion event. You can also trigger one or more Glue jobs from an external source such as an AWS Lambda function.

Q: How does AWS Glue monitor dependencies?

AWS Glue manages dependencies between two or more jobs or dependencies on external events using triggers. Triggers can watch one or more jobs as well as invoke one or more jobs. You can either have a scheduled trigger that invokes jobs periodically, an on-demand trigger, or a job completion trigger.

Q: How does AWS Glue handle errors?

AWS Glue monitors job event metrics and errors, and pushes all notifications to Amazon CloudWatch. With Amazon CloudWatch, you can configure a host of actions that can be triggered based on specific notifications from AWS Glue. For example, if you get an error or a success notification from Glue, you can trigger an AWS Lambda function. Glue also provides default retry behavior that will retry all failures three times before sending out an error notification.

Q: Can I run my existing ETL jobs with AWS Glue?

Yes. You can run your existing PySpark code on AWS Glue. Simply upload the code to Amazon S3 and create one or more jobs that use that code. You can reuse the same code across multiple jobs by pointing them to the same code location on Amazon S3.

Q: How can I use AWS Glue to ETL streaming data?

AWS Glue ETL is batch oriented, and you can schedule your ETL jobs at a minimum of 5 min intervals. While it can process micro-batches, it does not handle streaming data. If your use case requires you to ETL data while you stream it in, you can perform the first leg of your ETL using Amazon Kinesis, Amazon Kinesis Firehose or Amazon Kinesis Analytics, and then store data to either Amazon S3 or Amazon Redshift and trigger a Glue ETL job to pick up that dataset and continue applying additional transformations to that data.

Q: Do I have to use both AWS Glue Data Catalog and Glue ETL to use the service?

No. While we do believe that using both the AWS Glue Data Catalog and ETL provides an end-to-end ETL experience, you can use either one of them independently without using the other.

Back to top »


Q: When should I use AWS Glue vs. AWS Data Pipeline?

AWS Glue provides a managed ETL service that runs on a serverless Apache Spark environment. This allows you to focus on your ETL job and not worry about configuring and managing the underlying compute resources. AWS Glue takes a data first approach and allows you to focus on the data properties and data manipulation to transform the data to a form where you can derive business insights. It provides an integrated data catalog that makes metadata available for ETL as well as querying via Amazon Athena and Amazon Redshift Spectrum.

AWS Data Pipeline provides a managed orchestration service that gives you greater flexibility in terms of the execution environment, access and control over the compute resources that run your code, as well as the code itself that does data processing. AWS Data Pipeline launches compute resources in your account allowing you direct access to the Amazon EC2 instances or Amazon EMR clusters.

Furthermore, AWS Glue ETL jobs are PySpark based. If your use case requires you to use an engine other than Apache Spark or if you want to run a heterogeneous set of jobs that run on a variety of engines like Hive, Pig, etc., then AWS Data Pipeline would be a better choice.

Q: When should I use AWS Glue vs. Amazon EMR?

AWS Glue works on top of the Apache Spark environment to provide a scale-out execution environment for your data transformation jobs. AWS Glue infers, evolves, and monitors your ETL jobs to greatly simplify the process of creating and maintaining jobs. Amazon EMR provides you with direct access to your Hadoop environment, affording you lower-level access and greater flexibility in using tools beyond Spark.

Q: When should I use AWS Glue vs AWS Database Migration Service?

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) helps you migrate databases to AWS easily and securely. For use cases which require a database migration from on-premises to AWS or database replication between on-premises sources and sources on AWS, we recommend you use AWS DMS. Once your data is in AWS, you can use AWS Glue to move and transform data from your data source into another database or data warehouse, such as Amazon Redshift.

Q: When should I use AWS Glue vs AWS Batch?

AWS Batch enables you to easily and efficiently run any batch computing job on AWS regardless of the nature of the job. AWS Batch creates and manages the compute resources in your AWS account, giving you full control and visibility into the resources being used. AWS Glue is a fully-managed ETL service that provides a serverless Apache Spark environment to run your ETL jobs. For your ETL use cases, we recommend you explore using AWS Glue. For other batch oriented use cases, including some ETL use cases, AWS Batch might be a better fit.

Q: When should I use AWS Glue vs Amazon Kinesis Analytics?

Amazon Kinesis Analytics allows you to run standard SQL queries on your incoming data stream. You can specify a destination like Amazon S3 to write your results. Once your data is available in your target data source, you can kick off an AWS Glue ETL job to do further transform your data and prepare it for additional analytics and reporting.

Back to top »


Q: How am I charged for AWS Glue?

You will pay a simple monthly fee, above the AWS Glue Data Catalog free tier, for storing and accessing the metadata in the AWS Glue Data Catalog. Additionally, you will pay an hourly rate, billed per second, for the ETL job and crawler run, with a 10-minute minimum for each. If you choose to use a development endpoint to interactively develop your ETL code, you will pay an hourly rate, billed per second, for the time your development endpoint is provisioned, with a 10-minute minimum. For more details, please refer our pricing page.

Q: When does billing for my AWS Glue jobs begin and end?

Billing commences as soon as the job is scheduled for execution and continues until the entire job completes. With AWS Glue, you only pay for the time for which your job runs and not for the environment provisioning or shutdown time.

Back to top »


Q: How does AWS Glue keep my data secure?

We provide server side encryption for data at rest and SSL for data in motion.

Q: What are the service limits associated with AWS Glue?

Please refer our documentation to learn more about service limits.

Q: What regions is AWS Glue in?

AWS Glue is currently available in the US East (N. Virginia), US East (Ohio), and US West (Oregon) regions, and will expand to additional regions in the coming months. Please refer to our pricing page for details.

Q: How many DPUs (Data Processing Units) are allocated to the development endpoint?

A development endpoint is provisioned with 5 DPUs by default. You can configure a development endpoint with a minimum of 2 DPUs and a maximun of 5 DPUs.

Q: How do I scale the size and performance of my AWS Glue ETL jobs?

You can simply specify the number of DPUs (Data Processing Units) you want to allocate to your ETL job. A Glue ETL job requires a minimum of 2 DPUs. By default, AWS Glue allocates 10 DPUs to each ETL job.

Q: How do I monitor the execution of my AWS Glue jobs?

The AWS Glue provides status of each job and pushes all notifications to Amazon CloudWatch events. You can setup SNS notifications via CloudWatch actions to be informed of job failures or completions.

Back to top »