问:什么是 Amazon Elastic File System?

Amazon EFS 是一项完全托管的服务,可以让您轻松地在 Amazon 云中设置和扩展文件存储。只需在 AWS 管理控制台中单击几次,您就可以创建文件系统,供 Amazon EC2 实例通过文件系统界面(使用标准操作系统文件 I/O API)访问,且支持完整文件系统访问语义(例如强一致性和文件锁定)。

Amazon EFS 文件系统可以自动将数据容量从 GB 级扩展到 PB 级,无需预置存储。数十、数百甚至数千个 Amazon EC2 实例可以同时访问一个 Amazon EFS 文件系统,且 Amazon EFS 可以为每个 Amazon EC2 实例提供稳定的性能。Amazon EFS 具有极高的持久性和可用性。Amazon EFS 没有最低费用和设置成本,您只需为使用的存储量付费。

 

问:Amazon EFS 用于哪些使用案例?

Amazon EFS 旨在提升各种工作负载和应用程序的性能,例如大数据及分析、媒体处理工作流程、内容管理、Web 服务和主目录。

 

问:应该分别在什么情况下使用 Amazon EFS、Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) 和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS)?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) 提供多种云存储服务来支持各种存储工作负载。

Amazon EFS 是一项可与 Amazon EC2 配合使用的文件存储服务。Amazon EFS 可以提供文件系统界面、文件系统访问语义(例如强一致性和文件锁定)以及可供多达数千个 Amazon EC2 实例同时访问的存储。

Amazon EBS 是一项与 Amazon EC2 配合使用的数据块级存储服务。对于需要从单个 EC2 实例低延迟访问数据的工作负载,Amazon EBS 可为其提供高性能服务。

Amazon S3 是一项对象存储服务。Amazon S3 通过可以在任何地方访问的 Internet API 来提供数据访问。

 

问:我的数据存储在哪里?

请参见区域性产品和服务,了解 Amazon EFS 服务在不同区域的具体提供情况。

 

问:如何开始使用 Amazon EFS?

要使用 Amazon EFS,您必须拥有 Amazon Web Services 账户。如果您还没有 AWS 账户,可以在 Amazon EFS 详细信息页面单击“试用免费套餐”按钮,创建一个 AWS 账户。

创建 AWS 账户之后,请阅读 Amazon EFS 入门指南,开始使用 Amazon EFS。您可以通过 AWS 管理控制台、AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 和 Amazon EFS API(以及各种语言的软件开发工具包)来创建文件系统。

 

问:如何从 Amazon EC2 实例访问文件系统?

要访问您的文件系统,您需要使用标准 Linux 挂载命令和文件系统的 DNS 名称将文件系统挂载到基于 Linux 的 Amazon EC2 实例上。挂载完成后,您就可以像使用本地文件系统一样,使用您的文件系统中的文件和目录。

Amazon EFS 使用 NFSv4.1 协议。请参见 Amazon EFS 入门指南中的分步式示例,了解如何从 Amazon EC2 实例访问文件系统。

 

问:Amazon EFS 支持哪些类型的 Amazon EC2 实例和 AMI?

Amazon EFS 与适用于 Amazon EC2 的所有基于 Linux 的 AMI 兼容。您可以将不同类型的实例关联到一个文件系统。请参见 Amazon EFS 入门指南中的分步式示例,了解如何从 Amazon EC2 实例访问文件系统。

 

问:如何管理文件系统?

Amazon EFS 是一项完全托管的服务,可为您管理所有文件存储基础设施。使用 Amazon EFS,您不需要部署和维护复杂的文件系统基础设施。Amazon EFS 文件系统可以随着您增减文件的操作自动进行扩展和收缩,因此您不需要进行存储的采购和预配置工作。

您可以通过 AWS 管理控制台、AWS 命令行界面 (CLI) 或 Amazon EFS API(以及各种语言的软件开发工具包)来管理文件系统。通过控制台、API 和软件开发工具包,您可以创建和删除文件系统、配置文件系统的访问方式、创建和编辑文件系统标签,以及显示文件系统的详细信息。

 

问:如何将数据加载到文件系统?

有许多方法可将现有文件系统数据加载到 Amazon EFS,无论您的现有文件系统数据是在 AWS 中还是在您的本地服务器上。

Amazon EFS 文件系统可以挂载在 Amazon EC2 实例上,因此,您也可以从 Amazon EFS 读取和写入 Amazon EC2 实例能够访问的所有数据。要加载当前未存储在 AWS 中的文件数据,您可以使用 EFS 文件同步将数据直接复制到 Amazon EFS。

对于本地文件系统,EFS 文件同步提供一种快速而简单的方法,可将现有文件系统安全地同步到 Amazon EFS 中。EFS 文件同步适用于任何网络连接,包括 AWS Direct Connect。AWS Direct Connect 提供高带宽和低延迟的专用网络连接,您可以通过它安装 EFS 文件系统。您也可以使用标准 Linux 复制工具将数据文件移至 Amazon EFS。

有关从本地服务器访问文件系统的更多信息,请参阅此常见问题的本地访问部分。

有关将数据传输到 Amazon 云的更多信息,请参见云数据迁移页面。


问:Amazon EFS 如何实现高度的持久性和可用性?

每个文件系统对象(即目录、文件和链接)均会在多个可用区中进行冗余存储。此外,文件系统还可以从其所在区域中的各个可用区同时访问,这意味着您在构建应用程序时,可以使其从区域中的一个可用区故障转移到其他可用区,从而确保应用程序的高可用性。挂载目标本身即具有高可用性。

问:如何备份文件系统?

Amazon EFS 具有极高的持久性。如果您希望能够通过将文件恢复到之前的版本来撤消更改,您可以使用标准的第三方备份软件。

您也可以使用 AWS Data Pipeline 按照设定的计划定期自动创建文件系统的副本。要了解更多信息并获取 Amazon EFS 提供的 AWS Data Pipeline 模板,请参阅 Amazon EFS Walkthrough: Back Up an EFS File System

 

问:如何从 VPC 外访问文件系统?

您 VPC 内的 Amazon EC2 实例可以直接访问您的文件系统,而 VPC 外的 Amazon EC2 Classic 实例可以通过 ClassicLink 挂载文件系统。本地服务器可以通过 AWS Direct Connect 连接将您的文件系统挂载到您的 VPC。


问:我可以存储多少数据?

Amazon EFS 文件系统可以存储 PB 级数据。Amazon EFS 文件系统具有弹性,可以随着您增减文件的操作自动进行扩展和收缩。您不需要预置文件系统的大小,也不需要提前指定大小,只需为使用的存储量付费即可。

 

问:一个文件系统可以连接多少个 Amazon EC2 实例?

Amazon EFS 支持一个到数千个 Amazon EC2 实例同时连接一个文件系统。

 

问:可以创建多少个文件系统?

默认情况下,每个 AWS 账户最多可以在每个区域创建 10 个文件系统。您可以访问 AWS 产品限制页面,按照其中的说明申请提高文件系统的数量限制。

 

问:与其他存储解决方案相比,Amazon EFS 的性能如何?

Amazon EFS 文件系统分布在任意数量的存储服务器上,使文件系统可以弹性扩展到 PB 级,并支持从多个 Amazon EC2 实例大规模并行访问数据。Amazon EFS 的分布式设计可以避免传统文件服务器固有的瓶颈和限制。

该分布式数据存储设计意味着,多线程应用程序和从多个 Amazon EC2 实例同时访问数据的应用程序可以推动实现极高的总吞吐量和 IOPS。这些应用程序可以是大数据及分析工作负载、媒体处理工作流程、内容管理以及 Web 服务。

下表简要对比了 Amazon 文件和数据块云存储产品的性能和存储特性。

 

Amazon EFS

Amazon EBS
PIOPS

每次操作延迟

低且稳定

最低且稳定

吞吐量级别

每秒多 GB

每秒单 GB

Amazon EFS 的分布式特性可以实现高水平的可用性、持久性和可扩展性。这种分布式架构使得每次文件操作的延迟开销都较低。由于每次操作的延迟都较低并且延迟开销会分摊到更多的数据上,因此总吞吐量通常会随着平均 I/O 大小的增加而提高。Amazon EFS 支持高度并行化的工作负载(即从多个线程和多个 EC2 实例执行一致操作),因而可实现非常高的总吞吐量和 IOPS。

问:“一般用途”和“最大 I/O”这两种性能模式有什么区别?我应该使用哪一种?

“一般用途”性能模式适用于大多数文件系统,是您创建文件系统时默认选择的模式。“最大 I/O”性能模式适用于数十、数百或数千个 EC2 实例访问文件系统的情况,系统的总吞吐量和每秒操作次数都会增加,但文件操作延迟会稍微提高。要了解更多信息,请参见有关文件系统性能的文档。

 

问:文件系统支持多高的吞吐量?

文件系统的吞吐量随着文件系统规模的扩大而增加。由于基于文件的工作负载通常会在短时间内突增,在特定时段内需要较高的吞吐量,在其余时间则需要较低的吞吐量,因此 Amazon EFS 设计具有突增能力,可在特定时段内提高吞吐量水平。所有文件系统的稳定基准性能为每 TB 存储 50MB/s,所有文件系统(无论大小)均可以突增至 100MB/s,而大于 1TB 的文件系统均可以突增至每 TB 存储 100MB/s。当您向文件系统中添加数据时,文件系统的最大吞吐量会随着存储量自动线性扩展。

连接到一个文件系统的所有 Amazon EC2 实例可以共享文件系统的吞吐量。例如,一个吞吐量能够突增至 100MB/s 的 1TB 文件系统支持一个 Amazon EC2 实例使用 100MB/s 的吞吐量,或者 10 个 Amazon EC2 实例共同使用 100MB/s 的吞吐量。要了解更多信息,请参见有关文件系统性能的文档。


问:如何控制哪个 Amazon EC2 实例可以访问我的文件系统?

创建文件系统时,您在您的 VPC 中创建了名为“挂载目标”的终端节点。从 EC2 实例挂载时,您在挂载命令中提供的文件系统的 DNS 名称会解析为挂载目标的 IP 地址。只有能够访问挂载目标的资源才可以访问文件系统。您可以使用 VPC 安全组来控制进出文件系统挂载目标的网络流量。

 

问:如何控制谁可以访问我的文件系统?

您可以使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来控制谁可以管理您的文件系统。您可以通过设置符合 POSIX 标准的用户和用户组权限来控制对文件和目录的访问。


问:什么是 Amazon EFS 加密?

Amazon EFS 可无缝提供 EFS 文件系统的加密。数据在写入时以透明的方式加密,在读取时以透明的方式解密,因此您无需修改应用程序。加密密钥由 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 托管,无需构建和维护安全的密钥管理基础设施。

 

问:什么是 AWS Key Management Service (KMS)?

AWS KMS 是一项托管服务,可让您轻松创建和控制加密您的数据所用的加密密钥。AWS Key Management Service 可与 AWS 产品集成 (包括 Amazon EFS、Amazon EBS 和 Amazon S3),让您可以使用您管理的加密密钥轻松加密数据。AWS Key Management Service 还能与 AWS CloudTrail 集成,为您提供所有密钥的使用日志,帮助您满足法规和合规要求。要了解 KMS 的更多信息,请访问 AWS Key Management Service 产品页面。

 

问:如何为 Amazon EFS 文件系统启用加密?

您可以在 EFS 控制台中为您的 EFS 文件系统启用加密,或者使用 AWS CLI 或开发工具包启用加密。在 EFS 控制台中创建新的文件系统时,单击“Create File System”,然后单击相应的复选框启用加密。有关更多详细信息,请参阅关于加密的用户文档。

 

问:加密是否会影响 Amazon EFS 的性能?

加密数据对 I/O 延迟和吞吐量的影响微乎其微。


问:如何在本地数据中心中从服务器访问 EFS 文件系统?

要从本地访问 EFS 文件系统,您必须在您的本地数据中心和 Amazon VPC 之间建立 AWS Direct Connect 连接。AWS Direct Connect 会在您的本地数据中心和 AWS 之间建立一个专用网络连接。如果尚未建立 AWS Direct Connect 连接,您可以按照《AWS Direct Connect 用户指南》中的以下说明来创建一个连接。

您可以使用标准 Linux 挂载命令将 EFS 文件系统挂载到您的本地 Linux 服务器,该命令通过 NFSv4.1 协议挂载文件系统。

有关通过 AWS Direct Connect 从本地服务器访问 EFS 文件系统的更多信息,请参阅文档

 

问:如果能够从本地服务器访问 EFS 文件系统,我可以做些什么?

您可以将您的 Amazon EFS 文件系统挂载到您的本地服务器,并可以使用标准 Linux 工具和脚本将文件数据移入和移出 Amazon EFS。将文件数据移入和移出 Amazon EFS 文件系统的功能支持以下三种使用案例。

第一种,您可以将数据从本地数据中心迁移到 Amazon EFS 文件系统,并且永久驻留其中。

第二种,您可以支持云突增工作负载,以将您的应用程序处理分流到云中。您可以将数据从您的本地服务器移动到 EFS 文件系统,然后在 Amazon VPC 中 EC2 实例的一个集群上对其进行分析,并将结果永久存储在您的 EFS 文件系统中或将结果迁移回您的本地服务器。

第三种,您可以定期将您的本地文件数据复制到 EFS,以支持备份和灾难恢复情况。

 

问:是否可以使用 AWS VPN 从本地访问 EFS 文件系统?

不可以,Amazon EFS 不支持通过 AWS VPN 进行访问。

 

问:是否可以同时从本地数据中心服务器和 Amazon EC2 实例访问 Amazon EFS 文件系统?

可以,您可以同时从您的本地数据中心服务器和 Amazon VPC 中的 Amazon EC2 实例访问 Amazon EFS 文件系统。在访问文件系统的所有 EC2 实例和本地服务器之间,Amazon EFS 提供相同的文件系统访问语义,比如数据强一致性和文件锁定。

 

问:通过 AWS Direct Connect 将文件数据移入和移出本地服务器时,有哪些建议的最佳实践?

由于远距离传输数据存在传播延迟,因此您的本地数据中心和 Amazon VPC 之间的 Direct Connect 连接可能存在几十毫秒的网络延迟。如果您的文件操作已经实现了序列化,则 Direct Connect 连接的延迟将直接影响您的读取和写入吞吐量;实际上,您在一段时间内可以读取或写入的数据量受限于完成每次读取和写入操作所需的时间。要最大限度地提高吞吐量,您可以并行执行文件操作,以便 EFS 可以同时处理多个读取和写入操作。您可以借助 GNU Parallel 等标准工具并行执行文件数据的复制操作。有关更多信息,请参阅在线文档

 

问:如何将现有数据从本地文件存储复制到 Amazon EFS?

有许多方法可将现有本地数据复制到 Amazon EFS 中。EFS 文件同步提供一种快速而简单的方法,可将现有文件系统安全地同步到 Amazon EFS,并适用于任何网络,包括 AWS Direct Connect

AWS Direct Connect 提供高带宽和低延迟的专用网络连接,您可以通过它安装 Amazon EFS 文件系统。完成安装后,您可以使用 EFS 文件同步将数据复制到 Amazon EFS,速度比标准 Linux 复制工具快 5 倍。

有关 EFS 文件同步的更多信息,请参阅此常见问题中的 EFS 文件同步部分


问:什么是 EFS 文件同步?

EFS 文件同步提供一种快速而简单的方法,可将数据从现有的本地或云中文件系统安全地移至 Amazon EFS 文件系统。通过在 AWS 控制台中进行简单的设置和管理,EFS 文件同步可以比标准 Linux 复制工具快 5 倍的速度将文件和目录复制到 Amazon EFS。将本地或云中文件系统同步到 Amazon EFS 时,EFS 文件同步可实现快速的并行数据传输,加密动态数据,并确保所复制数据的完整性。

请访问我们的 EFS 文件同步文档站点,了解技术详情然后开始使用。

 

问:如何开始使用 EFS 文件同步?

要使用 EFS 文件同步,请访问 Amazon EFS 控制台,下载文件同步代理并将它部署到您的 IT 环境中。配置源文件系统和目标文件系统,启动同步任务,并通过控制台或使用 AWS CloudWatch 监控进度。有关入门的更多信息,请阅读文档部分

 

问:使用 EFS 文件同步时,我的数据得到怎样的保护?

使用 EFS 文件同步从源文件系统传输到 Amazon EFS 目标文件系统的所有数据均通过 SSL/TLS 进行加密。 

 

问:EFS 文件同步是否支持在 AWS 地区之间复制数据?

是的。您可以在一个 AWS 地区中部署 EFS 文件同步代理,并同步到另一个 AWS 地区中的 EFS 文件系统。您的源文件系统可以是 EFS 文件系统,也可以是从 EC2 实例共享的文件系统。有关如何设置 EFS 文件同步的更多信息,请阅读文档部分

 

问:在哪些地区可以使用 EFS 文件同步?

EFS 文件同步在美国东部 (弗吉尼亚北部)、美国东部 (俄亥俄州)、美国西部 (俄勒冈) 和欧洲 (爱尔兰) 地区可用,2017 年 12 月,也将在欧洲 (法兰克福) 和亚太地区 (悉尼) 可用。

 


问:现有 AWS 服务与 Amazon EFS 的互操作性和兼容性如何?

Amazon EFS 集成了多项其他 AWS 服务,其中包括 Amazon CloudWatch、AWS CloudFormation、AWS CloudTrail、AWS IAM 和 AWS 标记服务。

借助 Amazon CloudWatch,您可以通过指标来监控文件系统活动。借助 AWS CloudFormation,您可以使用模板来创建和管理文件系统。

借助 AWS CloudTrail,您可以在日志文件中记录所有 Amazon EFS API 调用。

借助 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM),您可以控制谁可以管理您的文件系统。借助 AWS 标记服务,您可以使用自己定义的元数据对文件系统进行标记。

 

问:Amazon EFS 支持哪种类型的锁定?

Amazon EFS 中的锁定遵循适用于建议锁定的 NFSv4.1 协议,您的应用程序可以使用整个文件锁定和字节范围锁定。

 

问:文件系统的名称是否像 Amazon S3 存储桶名称一样,属于全局性名称?

每个文件系统都有一个自动生成的、在全局范围内唯一的 ID 编号。您可以用名称来标记您的文件系统,这些名称不需要是唯一名称。


问:Amazon EFS 如何收费?

使用 Amazon EFS,您只需为每月实际使用的文件系统存储量(以 GB 为单位)付费,没有最低费用和设置成本,也没有带宽费用或请求费用。有关 Amazon EFS 的定价信息,请访问 Amazon EFS 定价页面中的定价部分。

 

问:Amazon EFS 文件同步如何收费?

使用 Amazon EFS 文件同步,您需为复制到 Amazon EFS 的数据付费 (以 GB 为单位)。有关 EFS 文件同步的定价信息,请访问 Amazon EFS 文件同步定价页面

 

问:价格是否含税?

除非另行说明,否则我们的价格不包括适用的税费和关税 (包括增值税和适用销售税)。使用日本账单地址的客户若要使用 AWS,则需缴纳日本消费税。了解更多

Q. What is Amazon Elastic File System?

Amazon EFS is a fully-managed service that makes it easy to set up and scale file storage in the Amazon cloud. With a few clicks in the AWS Management Console, you can create file systems that are accessible to Amazon EC2 instances via a file system interface (using standard operating system file I/O APIs) and that support full file system access semantics (such as strong consistency and file locking).

Amazon EFS file systems can automatically scale from gigabytes to petabytes of data without needing to provision storage. Tens, hundreds, or even thousands of Amazon EC2 instances can access an Amazon EFS file system at the same time, and Amazon EFS provides consistent performance to each Amazon EC2 instance. Amazon EFS is designed to be highly durable and highly available. With Amazon EFS, there is no minimum fee or setup costs, and you pay only for the storage you use.

 

Q. What use cases is Amazon EFS intended for?

Amazon EFS is designed to provide performance for a broad spectrum of workloads and applications, including Big Data and analytics, media processing workflows, content management, web serving, and home directories.

 

Q. When should I use Amazon EFS vs. Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) vs. Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS)?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) offers cloud storage services to support a wide range of storage workloads.

Amazon EFS is a file storage service for use with Amazon EC2. Amazon EFS provides a file system interface, file system access semantics (such as strong consistency and file locking), and concurrently-accessible storage for up to thousands of Amazon EC2 instances.

Amazon EBS is a block level storage service for use with Amazon EC2. Amazon EBS can deliver performance for workloads that require the lowest-latency access to data from a single EC2 instance.

Amazon S3 is an object storage service. Amazon S3 makes data available through an Internet API that can be accessed anywhere.

 

Q. Where is my data stored?

Please refer to Regional Products and Services for details of Amazon EFS service availability by region.

 

Q. How do I get started using Amazon EFS?

To use Amazon EFS, you must have an Amazon Web Services account. If you do not already have an AWS account, you can create one by clicking the “Try the Free Tier” button on the Amazon EFS detail page.

Once you have created an AWS account, please refer to the Amazon EFS Getting Started guide to begin using Amazon EFS. You can create a file system via the AWS Management Console, the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI), and Amazon EFS API (and various language-specific SDKs).

 

Q. How do I access a file system from an Amazon EC2 instance?

To access your file system, you mount the file system on an Amazon EC2 Linux-based instance using the standard Linux mount command and the file system’s DNS name. Once you’ve mounted, you can work with the files and directories in your file system just like you would with a local file system.

Amazon EFS uses the NFSv4.1 protocol. For a step-by-step example of how to access a file system from an Amazon EC2 instance, please see the Amazon EFS Getting Started guide.

 

Q. What Amazon EC2 instance types and AMIs work with Amazon EFS?

Amazon EFS is compatible with all Linux-based AMIs for Amazon EC2. You can mix and match the instance types connected to a single file system. For a step-by-step example of how to access a file system from an Amazon EC2 instance, please see the Amazon EFS Getting Started guide.

 

Q. How do I manage a file system?

Amazon EFS is a fully-managed service, so all of the file storage infrastructure is managed for you. When you use Amazon EFS, you avoid the complexity of deploying and maintaining complex file system infrastructure. An Amazon EFS file system grows and shrinks automatically as you add and remove files, so you do not need to manage storage procurement or provisioning.

You can administer a file system via the AWS Management Console, the AWS command-line interface (CLI), or the Amazon EFS API (and various language-specific SDKs). The Console, API, and SDK provide the ability to create and delete file systems, configure how file systems are accessed, create and edit file system tags, and display detailed information about file systems.

 

Q. How do I load data into a file system?

You can load data into an Amazon EFS file system from your Amazon EC2 instances or from your on-premises datacenter servers.

Amazon EFS file systems can be mounted on an Amazon EC2 instance, so any data that is accessible to an Amazon EC2 instance can also be read and written to Amazon EFS. To load data that is not currently stored on the Amazon cloud, you can use the same methods you use to transfer files to Amazon EC2 today, such as Secure Copy (SCP).

Amazon EFS file systems can also be mounted on an on-premises server, so any data that is accessible to an on-premises server can be read and written to Amazon EFS using standard Linux tools. For more information about accessing a file system from an on-premises server, please see the On-premises Access section of this FAQ.

For more information about moving data to the Amazon cloud, please see the Cloud Data Migration page.


Q. How is Amazon EFS designed to provide high durability and availability?

Every file system object (i.e. directory, file, and link) is redundantly stored across multiple Availability Zones. In addition, a file system can be accessed concurrently from all Availability Zones in the region where it is located, which means that you can architect your application to failover from one AZ to other AZs in the region in order to ensure the highest level of application availability. Mount targets themselves are designed to be highly available.

Q. How do I back up a file system?

Amazon EFS is designed to be highly durable. If you want to be able to revert to earlier versions of files to undo changes, you can use standard 3rd party backup software.

You can also use AWS Data Pipeline to create regular, automated copies of your file system based on a schedule that you define. For more information and to access an AWS Data Pipeline template provided by Amazon EFS, please see the Amazon EFS Walkthrough: Back Up an EFS File System.

 

Q. How do I access my file system from outside my VPC?

Amazon EC2 instances within your VPC can access your file system directly, and Amazon EC2 Classic instances outside your VPC can mount a file system via ClassicLink. On-premises servers can mount your file systems via an AWS Direct Connect connection to your VPC.


Q. How much data can I store?

Amazon EFS file systems can store petabytes of data. Amazon EFS file systems are elastic, and automatically grow and shrink as you add and remove files. You do not provision file system size or specify a size up front and you pay only for the storage you use.

 

Q. How many Amazon EC2 instances can connect to a file system?

Amazon EFS supports one to thousands of Amazon EC2 instances connecting to a file system concurrently.

 

Q. How many file systems can I create?

By default, you can create up to 10 file systems per AWS account per region. You can request to increase your file system limit by visiting AWS Service Limits.

 

Q. How does Amazon EFS performance compare to that of other storage solutions?

Amazon EFS file systems are distributed across an unconstrained number of storage servers, enabling file systems to grow elastically to petabyte-scale and allowing massively parallel access from Amazon EC2 instances to your data. Amazon EFS’s distributed design avoids the bottlenecks and constraints inherent to traditional file servers.

This distributed data storage design means that multi-threaded applications and applications that concurrently access data from multiple Amazon EC2 instances can drive substantial levels of aggregate throughput and IOPS. Big Data and analytics workloads, media processing workflows, content management and web serving are examples of these applications.

The table below compares high-level performance and storage characteristics for Amazon’s file and block cloud storage offerings.

 

Amazon EFS

Amazon EBS
PIOPS

Per-operation latency

Low, consistent

Lowest, consistent

Throughput scale

Multiple GBs per second

Single GB per second

Amazon EFS’s distributed nature enables high levels of availability, durability, and scalability. This distributed architecture results in a small latency overhead for each file operation. Due to this per-operation latency, overall throughput generally increases as the average I/O size increases, since the overhead is amortized over a larger amount of data. Amazon EFS's support for highly parallelized workloads (i.e. with consistent operations from multiple threads and multiple EC2 instances) enables high levels of aggregate throughput and IOPS.

Q. What’s the difference between “General Purpose” and “Max I/O” performance modes? Which one should I choose?

“General Purpose” performance mode is appropriate for most file systems, and is the mode selected by default when you create a file system. “Max I/O” performance mode is optimized for applications where tens, hundreds, or thousands of EC2 instances are accessing the file system — it scales to higher levels of aggregate throughput and operations per second with a tradeoff of slightly higher latencies for file operations. For more information, please see the documentation on File System Performance.

 

Q. How much throughput can a file system support?

The throughput available to a file system scales as a file system grows. Because file-based workloads are typically spiky – requiring high levels of throughput for periods of time and lower levels of throughput the rest of the time – Amazon EFS is designed to burst to allow high throughput levels for periods of time. All file systems deliver a consistent baseline performance of 50 MB/s per TB of storage, all file systems (regardless of size) can burst to 100 MB/s, and file systems larger than 1TB can burst to 100 MB/s per TB of storage. As you add data to your file system, the maximum throughput available to the file system scales linearly and automatically with your storage.

File system throughput is shared across all Amazon EC2 instances connected to a file system. For example, a 1TB file system that can burst to 100MB/s of throughput can drive 100MB/s from a single Amazon EC2 instance, or 10 Amazon EC2 instances can collectively drive 100MB/s. For more information, please see the documentation on File System Performance.


Q. How do I control which Amazon EC2 instances can access my file system?

When you create a file system, you create endpoints in your VPC called “mount targets.” When mounting from an EC2 instance, your file system’s DNS name, which you provide in your mount command, resolves to a mount target’s IP address. Only resources that can access a mount target can access your file system. You can control the network traffic to and from your file system mount targets using VPC security groups.

 

Q. How do I control who can access my file system?

You can control who can administer your file system using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM). You can control access to files and directories with POSIX-compliant user and group-level permissions.


Q: What is Amazon EFS Encryption?

Amazon EFS seamlessly offers encryption of EFS file systems. Data is transparently encrypted while being written, and transparently decrypted while being read, so you don’t have to modify your applications. Encryption keys are managed by the AWS Key Management Service (KMS), eliminating the need to build and maintain a secure key management infrastructure.

 

Q: What is the AWS Key Management Service (KMS)?

AWS KMS is a managed service that makes it easy for you to create and control the encryption keys used to encrypt your data. AWS Key Management Service is integrated with AWS services including Amazon EFS, Amazon EBS, and Amazon S3, to make it simple to encrypt your data with encryption keys that you manage. AWS Key Management Service is also integrated with AWS CloudTrail to provide you with logs of all key usage to help meet your regulatory and compliance needs. To learn more about KMS, visit the AWS Key Management Service product page.

 

Q: How do I enable encryption for my Amazon EFS file system?

You can enable encryption for your EFS file system in the EFS console, or by using the AWS CLI or SDKs. When creating a new file system in the EFS console, click “Create File System” and click the checkbox to enable encryption. For more details, see the user documentation on Encryption.

 

Q: Does encryption impact Amazon EFS performance?

Encrypting your data has a minimal effect on I/O latency and throughput.


Q. How do I access an EFS file system from servers in my on-premises datacenter?

To access EFS file systems from on-premises, you must have an AWS Direct Connect connection between your on-premises datacenter and your Amazon VPC. AWS Direct Connect establishes a private network connection between your on-premises datacenter and AWS. If you do not already have an AWS Direct Connect connection, you can create one by following the instructions in the AWS Direct Connect user guide.

You mount an EFS file system on your on-premises Linux server using the standard Linux mount command for mounting a file system via the NFSv4.1 protocol.

For more information about accessing EFS file systems from on-premises servers via AWS Direct Connect, please see the documentation.

 

Q. What can I do by enabling access to my EFS file systems from my on-premises servers?

You can mount your Amazon EFS file systems on your on-premises servers, and move file data to and from Amazon EFS using standard Linux tools and scripts. The ability to move file data to and from Amazon EFS file systems enables three use cases.

First, you can migrate data from on-premises datacenters to permanently reside in Amazon EFS file systems.

Second, you can support cloud bursting workloads to offload your application processing to the cloud. You can move data from your on-premises servers into your EFS file systems, analyze it on a cluster of EC2 instances in your Amazon VPC, and store the results permanently in your EFS file systems or move the results back to your on-premises servers.

Third, you can periodically copy your on-premises file data to EFS to support backup and disaster recovery scenarios.

 

Q. Can I use an AWS VPN to access an EFS file system from on-premises?

No, Amazon EFS does not support access over AWS VPN.

 

Q. Can I access my Amazon EFS file system concurrently from my on-premises datacenter servers as well as Amazon EC2 instances?

Yes, you can access your Amazon EFS file system concurrently from servers in your on-premises datacenter as well as Amazon EC2 instances in your Amazon VPC. Amazon EFS provides the same file system access semantics, such as strong data consistency and file locking, across all EC2 instances and on-premises servers accessing a file system.

 

Q. What is the recommended best practice when moving file data to and from on-premises servers via AWS Direct Connect?

Because of the propagation delay tied to data traveling over long distances, the network latency of a Direct Connect connection between your on-premises datacenter and your Amazon VPC can be tens of milliseconds. If your file operations are serialized, the latency of the Direct Connect connection directly impacts your read and write throughput; in essence, the volume of data you can read or write during a period of time is bounded by the amount of time it takes for each read and write operation to complete. To maximize your throughput, parallelize your file operations so that multiple reads and writes are processed by EFS concurrently. Standard tools like GNU parallel enable you to parallelize the copying of file data. For more information, see the online documentation.


Q. What interoperability and compatibility is there between existing AWS services and Amazon EFS?

Amazon EFS is integrated with a number of other AWS services, including Amazon CloudWatch, AWS CloudFormation, AWS CloudTrail, AWS IAM, and AWS Tagging services.

Amazon CloudWatch allows you to monitor file system activity using metrics. AWS CloudFormation allows you to create and manage file systems using templates.

AWS CloudTrail allows you to record all Amazon EFS API calls in log files.

AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) allows you to control who can administer your file system. AWS Tagging services allows you to label your file systems with metadata that you define.

 

Q. What type of locking does Amazon EFS support?

Locking in Amazon EFS follows the NFSv4.1 protocol for advisory locking, and enables your applications to use both whole file and byte range locks.

 

Q. Are file system names global (like Amazon S3 bucket names)?

Every file system has an automatically generated ID number that is globally unique. You can tag your file system with a name, and these names do not need to be unique.


Q. How much does Amazon EFS cost?

With Amazon EFS, you pay only for the amount of file system storage you use per month in GB. There is no minimum fee and no set-up costs. There are no additional costs for bandwidth or requests. For Amazon EFS pricing information, please visit the pricing section on the Amazon EFS Pricing page.

Q. Do your prices include taxes?

Except as otherwise noted, our prices are exclusive of applicable taxes and duties, including VAT and applicable sales tax. For customers with a Japanese billing address, use of AWS services is subject to Japanese Consumption Tax. Learn more.