使用安全、可调整大小的计算容量在云中大规模运行多人游戏,并利用 AWS 全球基础设施在全球提供低延迟的玩家体验。

Amazon GameLift 和游戏服务器指南

在这本专注于 AWS 上的 Amazon GameLift 和游戏服务器的电子书中,您将找到示例参考架构和使用案例,以了解如何 1:提供可靠、低延迟的玩家体验;2:在保持低成本的同时为玩家保持高可用性;3:扩展以满足全球玩家的需求。

为您的玩家提供可靠的多人游戏体验

低延迟玩家体验
托管玩家所在的游戏服务器。AWS 全球基础设施跨越 26 个区域,具有 84 个可用区和 17 个本地区域,支持低延迟游戏服务器托管。而且这种基础设施正在不断扩展到新站点。
随玩家流量扩展
即使在高峰时段也能够提供优异的玩家体验,弹性计算解决方案能够让您在游戏高峰时段增加工作负载,并在流量下降时减少工作负载。并且只需在需要时为您需要的确切计算资源付费。
最大程度地减少操作
利用 Amazon GameLift,它是一种专用的游戏服务器托管解决方案,可以为多人游戏部署、运营和扩展云服务器。从多个托管选项和完全托管式可自定义匹配解决方案 Amazon GameLift FlexMatch 中选择您需要的组件。
内置弹性
无论您是将游戏服务器托管在 Amazon GameLift 上、Amazon EC2 上的虚拟机上,还是 Amazon ECS 或 Amazon EKS 上的容器上,这些服务都内置了弹性。您可以自动替换任何故障主机,跨可用区和 AWS 区域进行部署以实现高可用性和容错能力,并通过弹性伸缩响应快速变化的需求。

定制游戏服务器解决方案

Amazon GameLift Hosting

完全托管式游戏服务器托管解决方案,可以为多人游戏部署、运营和扩展云服务器。

了解详情 »
Amazon GameLift FlexMatch

完全托管式可扩展匹配服务,可让您根据需要自定义匹配过程。支持任何游戏服务器托管解决方案。

了解详情 »
Amazon GameLift FleetIQ

一种轻量级游戏服务器托管解决方案,让您可以完全控制基础设施,同时为游戏会话管理提供必要的 API。 

了解详情 »

AWS 服务

最广泛、最深入的计算平台,可选择处理器、存储、联网、操作系统和购买模式来满足您的游戏服务器托管需求。

了解详情 »

在最安全、可靠和可扩展的环境中运行您的容器化游戏服务器从最广泛的服务中选择以运行您的容器。

了解详情 »

使用 AWS 原生可观测性解决方案或我们基于热门开源可观测性软件的服务来监控游戏服务器的各个方面。

了解详情 »

客户成功案例

看看我们的一些开发游戏的朋友和客户对在 AWS 上托管游戏服务器的看法。

Ubisoft

Ubisoft 准备在 AWS 上全球发布游戏

利用包括 Amazon GameLift、Amazon DynamoDB 和 Amazon ElastiCache 在内的服务,Ubisoft 的 Roller Champions 开发团队正在将其重点从持续的运营管理转移到最重要的事务上:为玩家创建线上功能和游戏玩法。

观看视频 »
Ubisoft 准备使用 AWS 在全球范围内发布游戏
WB Games New York 在 AWS 上构建平台以连接数百万玩家
WB Games New York

WB Games New York 在 AWS 上构建平台以连接数百万玩家

Warner Bros.Games New York 构建了所有 Warner Bros. 使用的集中式线上平台。游戏工作室使用 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon GameLift 线上连接数百万玩家。

观看视频 »

Behavior Interactive 推出使用 AWS 的跨平台游戏
Behaviour Interactive

Behavior Interactive 推出使用 AWS 的跨平台游戏

使用 Amazon GameLift 是在 Dead by Daylight(黎明杀机)中启用跨平台游戏的关键。其专用服务器可确保全球站点的高可用性和高性能。

阅读博客 »

Riot Games 使用 AWS 改善游戏体验
Riot Games

Riot Games 使用 AWS 改善游戏体验

使用 AWS Outposts,Riot 可以快速部署游戏服务器并将延迟减少 10-20 毫秒,最大限度地减少窥视者的优势,并为 Valorant 中的所有玩家创造一个公平的竞争环境。

观看主题演讲 »

Epic Games 借助 AWS 将 Fortnite 提供给 2 亿多名玩家
Epic Games

Epic Games 借助 AWS 将 Fortnite 提供给 2 亿多名玩家

Fortnite 是全球最受欢迎的视频游戏之一,几乎完全在 AWS 上运行,拥有遍布全球的游戏服务器组、后端服务、数据库、网站,以及分析管道和处理系统。

观看主题演讲 »

从广泛的计算选项中选择

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 提供最广泛、最深入的计算平台,拥有超过 500 个实例,可选择最新的处理器、存储和联网,以满足您特定的游戏服务器托管需求。

AWS Graviton

AWS Graviton

AWS 设计的 AWS Graviton 处理器为 Amazon EC2 中运行的云工作负载提供最佳性价比。

了解有关 AWS Graviton 的详情 »
AMD

AMD on AWS

AWS 和 AMD 合作为客户提供更多选择和价值,最近在 Amazon EC2 M6a 实例中使用了第三代 AMD EPYC。

了解有关 AMD on AWS 的详情 »
英特尔

Intel on AWS

英特尔® 处理器为部署在 AWS 上的多种云计算服务提供基础。由英特尔® 至强® 可扩展处理器提供支持的 EC2 实例在 AWS 中具有最大的全球覆盖范围和可用性。

了解有关 Intel on AWS 的详情 »
gt-partner-logo-_0009_NVIDIA-Logo-H-ForScreen-ForLightBG

NVIDIA on AWS

通过 AWS 和 NVIDIA 实现云在游戏开发方面的潜力。随着您的需求变化调整您的资源,并在全球范围内构建开发管道。借助采用 NVIDIA RTX 技术的 AWS 上的虚拟工作站推动业务发展并扩展您的创造力。

了解有关 NVIDIA on AWS 的详情 »

多人游戏开发入门

AWS 提供完全托管式选项,用于从客户端会话请求到全球游戏服务器托管,端到端托管多人游戏。您可以从广泛的服务组合中选择所需的组件,以完全控制您运行后端的方式。

选择您的游戏服务器托管解决方案

第一步是选择游戏服务器托管解决方案。AWS 通过 Amazon GameLift Hosting 提供完全托管式全球游戏服务器托管。这是大多数游戏服务器托管需求的绝佳选择。如果您需要对虚拟机进行更多控制和访问,Amazon GameLift FleetIQ 提供了用于游戏服务器托管的基本 API,同时允许您微调细节。

如果您希望在 Kubernetes 上托管您的游戏服务器,AWS 提供了 Elastic Kubernetes Service(最值得信赖的启动、运行和扩展 Kubernetes 的方式)。另一方面,Amazon Elastic Container 服务是一种完全托管式 AWS 原生容器编排服务,用于托管您的游戏服务器。

除此之外,您始终可以直接在 Amazon EC2 上的虚拟机上托管游戏服务器,并利用 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 来满足游戏服务器的需求。

根据您的团队的技能、您的运营能力以及您的构建和部署工作流程和任何特殊要求来选择托管解决方案。无论您的游戏服务器托管要求是什么,AWS 都能提供您需要的服务。

Amazon GameLift
Containers on AWS
Amazon EC2

设计您的匹配和会话分配

大多数多人游戏都需要匹配解决方案。Amazon GameLift FlexMatch 是完全托管式、完全可配置的匹配的绝佳选择。它与 Amazon GameLift Hosting 以原生方式集成,通过 FlexMatch Standalone,您可以将其集成到您选择的任何游戏服务器托管解决方案。

对于一些更简单的会话创建需求,例如为一组玩家创建私人游戏会话,或者将两个玩家随机匹配在一起,您可以将逻辑直接实施到在 AWS 上运行的游戏后端。

最后,您始终可以与任何现有的匹配解决方案集成,或使用广泛的 AWS 服务构建您自己的解决方案。

Amazon GameLift FlexMatch

选择您的后端服务解决方案

后端服务是您在 AWS 上的游戏的入口点。您的客户端通常通过 REST API 或 WebSocket 连接到您的后端,以管理身份和玩家数据等内容,并请求匹配。

如果希望最大程度地减少操作并专注于功能,您可以使用 AWS 的无服务器产品来实施后端。您可以使用 Amazon Cognito 来管理您的用户身份,并与第三方身份提供商集成。您可以使用 Amazon API Gateway 和无服务器计算平台 AWS Lambda 来实施无服务器 API,并且可以利用 Amazon DynamoDB 提供快速、灵活的 NoSQL 数据库服务,以在任意规模下实现个位数的毫秒级性能。

如果您已经熟悉构建后端服务的容器化方法,还可以利用 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service 或 Amazon Elastic Container Service 将后端托管为容器化微服务。

Serverless on AWS
Microservices on AWS
解决方案:Serverless with Amazon GameLift

实施负载测试和可观测性

当您运行游戏服务器为全球玩家托管基于会话的游戏时,请务必尽可能多地了解这些游戏服务器进程的动态。其中包括实时收集指标和日志,以及获得对此数据的洞察以调查问题和寻找性能改进机会的功能。

AWS 为可观测性提供了完整的服务组合。您可以利用 AWS 原生工具(例如 Amazon CloudWatch)来收集详细的指标和日志,并为其生成控制面板。您可以使用 Amazon OpenSearch ServiceAmazon Managed Service for PrometheusAmazon Managed Service for Grafana 等服务扩展监控功能。您还可以使用 Amazon Athena CloudWatch 连接器通过 Amazon Athena 从您的指标中查询洞察,然后使用 Amazon QuickSight 进一步可视化该数据。借助 AWS 合作伙伴提供的各种其他第三方解决方案,无论您选择何种可观测性工具,AWS 都能满足您的需求。

博客文章:Observability with Amazon GameLift and Amazon CloudWatch 

Observability on AWS

正如您看到的,AWS 可让您灵活选择符合您确切需求的组件,范围从会话请求和匹配开始,一直到全球可扩展游戏服务器托管。选择权在您手中,很大程度上取决于您是在寻找完全托管式解决方案,还是在寻找更多控制以微调细节。

Game Servers

Run multiplayer games in the cloud at scale with secure, resizable compute capacity, while leveraging the AWS global infrastructure to provide a low latency player experience globally.

A Guide to Amazon GameLift & Game Servers

In this eBook focusing on Amazon GameLift and game servers on AWS, you will find example reference architectures and use cases to learn how to 1: deliver a reliable, low latency player experience, 2: maintain high availability for your players while keeping costs low, and 3: scale to meet player demand across the globe.

Provide your players with a reliable multiplayer experience

Low latency player experience
Host game servers where your players are. AWS global infrastructure spans across 26 Regions with 84 Availability Zones and 17 Local Zones enabling low-latency game server hosting. And this infrastructure is continuously expanding to new locations.
Scale with player traffic
Deliver a great player experience, even during peak hours, with elastic compute solutions that enable you to ramp up when player usage is high and ramp down when traffic has tailed away. And only pay for the exact compute resources you need, when you need them.
Minimize operations
Leverage Amazon GameLift, a dedicated game server hosting solution that deploys, operates, and scales cloud servers for multiplayer games. Select the components you need from multiple hosting options, and a fully managed customizable matchmaking solution Amazon GameLift FlexMatch.
Resilience built in
Whether you're hosting your game servers on Amazon GameLift, on virtual machines on Amazon EC2, or containers on Amazon ECS or Amazon EKS, the resiliency is built-in across these services. You can automatically replace any failed hosts, deploy across Availability Zones and AWS Regions for high availability and fault tolerance, and respond to quickly changing demand with automatic scaling.

Custom-built game server solutions

Amazon GameLift Hosting

Fully managed game server hosting solution that deploys, operates, and scales cloud servers for multiplayer games.

Learn more »
Amazon GameLift FlexMatch

Fully managed scalable matchmaking service, that allows you to customize the matchmaking process to your needs. Supports any game server hosting solution.

Learn more »
Amazon GameLift FleetIQ

A lightweight game server hosting solution that gives you full control on the infrastructure, while providing the essential APIs for game session management. 

Learn more »

AWS services

The broadest and deepest compute platform with choice of processor, storage, networking, operating system, and purchase model to match your game server hosting needs.

Learn more »

Run your containerized game servers in the most secure, reliable and scalable environment. Select from the broadest choice of services to run your containers.

Learn more »

Use AWS-native observability solutions, or our services based on popular open source observability software, to monitor all aspects of your game servers.

Learn more »

Customer Success Stories

See what some of our game development friends and customers have to say about hosting game servers on AWS.

Ubisoft

Ubisoft Prepares for Global Game Launch on AWS

Leveraging services including Amazon GameLift, Amazon DynamoDB, and Amazon ElastiCache, the Roller Champions development team at Ubisoft is shifting its focus away from ongoing operational management to what matters most: creating online features and gameplay for its players.

Watch the video »
Ubisoft Prepares for a Game Launch at Global Scale with AWS
WB Games New York Builds Platform on AWS to Connect Millions of Players
WB Games New York

WB Games New York Builds Platform on AWS to Connect Millions of Players

Warner Bros. Games New York builds the centralized online platform used by all Warner Bros. Games studios to connect millions of players online using Amazon EC2 and Amazon GameLift.

Watch the video »

Behaviour Interactive Introduces Cross-platform Play using AWS
Behaviour Interactive

Behaviour Interactive Introduces Cross-platform Play using AWS

Using Amazon GameLift was key to enabling cross-platform play in Dead by Daylight. Its dedicated servers ensure high availability and high performance with locations all over the world.

Read the blog »

Riot Games Uses AWS to Improve Game Experience
Riot Games

Riot Games Uses AWS to Improve Game Experience

Using AWS Outposts, Riot was able to rapidly deploy game servers and reduce latency by 10-20ms, minimizing peeker’s advantage and creating a level playing field for all players in Valorant.

Watch the keynote »

Epic Games Uses AWS to Deliver Fortnite to 200 Million Players
Epic Games

Epic Games Uses AWS to Deliver Fortnite to 200 Million Players

Fortnite, one of the world’s most popular video games, runs nearly entirely on AWS, including its worldwide game-server fleet, backend services, databases, websites, and analytics pipeline and processing systems.

Watch the keynote »

Select from a broad variety of compute options

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) offers the broadest and deepest compute platform, with over 500 instances and choice of the latest processor, storage and networking to match your specific game server hosting needs.

AWS Graviton

AWS Graviton

AWS Graviton processors are designed by AWS to deliver the best price performance for your cloud workloads running in Amazon EC2.

Learn more about AWS Graviton »
AMD

AMD on AWS

AWS and AMD collaborate to give customers more choice and value, most recently with third generation AMD EPYC in the Amazon EC2 M6a instances.

Learn more about AMD on AWS »
Intel

Intel on AWS

Intel® processors provide the foundation of many cloud computing services deployed on AWS. EC2 instances powered by Intel® Xeon® Scalable processors have the largest global reach and availability across AWS.

Learn more about Intel on AWS »

NVIDIA on AWS

Realize the potential of the cloud for game development with AWS and NVIDIA. Adapt your resources as your demands shift and build development pipelines from across the globe. Advance your business with virtual workstations on AWS powered by NVIDIA RTX technology and scale your creativity.

Learn more about NVIDIA on AWS »

Getting started with multiplayer game development

AWS offers fully managed options for hosting multiplayer games end to end from client session request to global game server hosting. You can select the components you need from a wide portfolio of services for full control on how you run your backend.

Select your game server hosting solution

The first step is to select a game server hosting solution. AWS offers fully managed global game server hosting with Amazon GameLift Hosting. This is a great choice for most game server hosting needs. If you need more control and access to the virtual machines, Amazon GameLift FleetIQ provides the essential APIs for game server hosting, while allowing you to fine tune the details.

If you're looking to host your game servers on Kubernetes, AWS offers Elastic Kubernetes Service, the most trusted way to start, run, and scale Kubernetes. Amazon Elastic Container service on the other hand is a fully managed AWS native container orchestration service for hosting your game servers.

On top of this, you can always host game servers directly on virtual machines on Amazon EC2, and leverage Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling to match the game servers with demand.

Select your hosting solution based on your team's skills, your capabilities to do operations, as well as your build and deployment workflow and any special requirements. Whatever your game server hosting requirements are, AWS has the services you need.

Amazon GameLift
Containers on AWS
Amazon EC2

Design your matchmaking and session allocation

Most multiplayer games require a matchmaking solution. Amazon GameLift FlexMatch is a great choice for fully managed, fully configurable matchmaking. It integrates natively with Amazon GameLift Hosting, and with FlexMatch Standalone, you can integrate it to any game server hosting solution of your choice.

For some more simple session creation needs, such as creating private game sessions for a group of players, or randomly matching two players together, you can implement the logic directly to your game backend running on AWS.

And lastly, you can always integrate with any existing matchmaking solution, or build your own with the breadth of AWS services.

Amazon GameLift FlexMatch

Select your backend services solution

A backend service is the entry point to your game on AWS. Your client typically connects with a REST API or WebSockets to your backend to manage things like identity and player data, and to request matchmaking.

If you're looking to minimize your operations and focus on the functionality, you can implement your backend with the serverless offering of AWS. You can use Amazon Cognito to manage your user identities, and to integrate with 3rd party identity providers. You can use Amazon API Gateway and the serverless compute platform AWS Lambda to implement serverless APIs, and you can leverage Amazon DynamoDB for a fast, flexible NoSQL database service for single-digit millisecond performance at any scale.

If you are already familiar with a containerized approach to building backend services, you can also leverage either Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service or Amazon Elastic Container Service to host your backend as containerized microservices.

Serverless on AWS
Microservices on AWS
Solution: Serverless with Amazon GameLift

Implement load testing and observability

When you’re running game servers to host session-based games for your players globally, it’s important to have as much visibility as possible on what’s happening within those game server processes. This includes collecting metrics and logs in realtime, and capabilities to get insights on this data to investigate issues and find opportunities for performance improvement.

AWS provides a whole portfolio of services for observability. you can leverate AWS native tools such as Amazon CloudWatch to collect detailed metrics and logs, and to generate dashboards for them. You can extend your monitoring capabilities with services such Amazon OpenSearch Service, Amazon Managed Service for Prometheus, and Amazon Managed Service for Grafana. You can also use the Amazon Athena CloudWatch Connector to query insights from your metrics with Amazon Athena, and then further visualize that data with Amazon QuickSight. And with a wide range of additional 3rd party solutions from AWS Partners, whatever your observability tooling of choice is, AWS has got you covered.

Blog post: Observability with Amazon GameLift and Amazon CloudWatch 

Observability on AWS

As you've learned, AWS provides the flexibility to select the components that match your exact needs, starting from the session request and matchmaking, all the way to global scalable game server hosting. The choice is yours and depends a lot whether you're looking for a fully managed solution, or more control to fine tune the details.