一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS DataSync?

答:AWS DataSync 是一项在线数据传输服务,它可简化、自动化和加速通过互联网或 AWS Direct Connect 在存储系统和 AWS 存储服务(例如 Amazon S3 和 Amazon EFS)之间的大量数据的复制。

问:我为什么应该使用 AWS DataSync?

答:AWS DataSync 使您能够移动、复制和同步包含数百万文件的大型数据集,而无需使用开源工具构建自定义解决方案,也无需许可和管理价格高昂的商业网络加速软件。您可以使用 DataSync 实现活动数据的一次性迁移、数据处理工作流的定期分配或业务连续性的持续复制。

问:DataSync 可以为我解决什么问题?

答:DataSync 可降低在线数据传输的复杂性和成本,从而简化本地存储系统和 Amazon S3 或 Amazon Elastic File System (EFS) 之间的数据集传输。DataSync 通过标准存储协议 (NFS) 连接到现有存储系统和数据源,并使用专门构建的网络协议和扩展架构来加速与 AWS 之间的传输。DataSync 可自动扩展和处理移动数据、监控传输进度、加密和验证数据传输以及通知客户发生任何故障所涉及的所有任务。使用 DataSync 时,您只需为复制的数据量付费,无需最低消费承诺或预付费用。

问:我可以从哪里传入和传出数据?

答:DataSync 可以在 NFS 服务器、Amazon S3 存储桶 和 Amazon EFS 文件系统之间复制数据。

设置

问:如何开始使用 DataSync?

答:您可以在 AWS 管理控制台中单击几下或通过 AWS 命令行界面 (CLI),使用 DataSync 传输数据。首先,请部署 DataSync 代理,配置源和目标存储位置,然后开始复制。

问:如何部署 DataSync 代理?

答:请将 DataSync 代理部署到 VMware ESXi 管理程序或 Amazon EC2 中。要将数据复制到 NFS 服务器或从中复制数据,请从 AWS 控制台下载 OVA,并将其部署到本地 VMware ESXi 管理程序中。要将数据复制到云中的 NFS 服务器或从中复制数据,您可以通过提供的 AMI 创建 Amazon EC2 实例。在这两种情况下,都必须部署代理,以便其可以访问您的 NFS 服务器。

问:DataSync 代理的资源要求是什么?

答:您可以在此处查找运行代理所需的最低资源。

使用量

问:如何使用 DataSync?

答:要使用 DataSync,请执行以下 3 个步骤:

1.部署代理 – 部署 DataSync 代理,并通过管理控制台或 API 将其关联到您的 AWS 账户。代理将用于访问您的 NFS 服务器,以从中读取数据或向其写入数据。

2.创建数据传输任务 – 通过指定您的数据源位置和目标位置以及您要用于配置传输的任何选项(如复制文件元数据)来创建任务。

3.开始传输 – 启动任务并在控制台中或使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控数据移动。

问:我如何启动 DataSync 任务?

答:当您通过 AWS 管理控制台AWS Command Line Interface (CLI) 启动任务时,DataSync 将复制数据。每次任务运行时,它都将扫描源是否存在更改,并复制源与目标之间的任何差异。​您可以配置源的哪些特性用于确定更改的内容,定义要包括和排除特定文件或文件夹的筛选条件,以及控制是否应从目标中删除在源中找不到的文件或对象。

问:DataSync 如何执行数据完整性验证?

答:DataSync 在传输期间和传输结束时执行数据完整性验证(源文件和目标文件之间的校验和比较,以及文件元数据比较)。

问:如何监控 DataSync 正在传输的数据的状态?

答:您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台或 CLI 来监控正在传输的数据的状态。利用 Amazon CloudWatch 指标,您可以查看已复制的文件数和数据量。Amazon CloudWatch Logs 可用于获取详细的错误信息。此外,在任务处于传输状态时将触发 CloudWatch Events,从而实现从属工作流的自动化。您可以在 AWS 管理控制台或 CLI 中找到其他信息(如传输进度)。

问:从 Amazon S3 传入或传出文件时,DataSync 如何在文件和对象之间映射?

问:将文件复制到对象时,在文件和对象之间存在一对一关系。文件系统元数据存储在 S3 用户元数据中。当包含文件系统元数据的对象被复制回文件时,将还原元数据。

问:在传输数据时,DataSync 将保留哪些元数据?

答:DataSync 将保留 POSIX 元数据(如用户 ID、组 ID 和权限),从而确保可将文件还原至相应的原始位置,而不会丢失此元数据。此外,为 S3 中的对象存储文件中的 POSIX 元数据时,元数据可与文件网关互操作。

问:是否可以通过 DataSync 使用版本控制、生命周期、跨区域复制和 S3 事件通知?

答:可以。您的版本控制、生命周期管理、跨区域复制和 S3 事件通知的存储桶策略可直接应用于通过 DataSync 传输到您的存储桶中的对象。

使用版本控制时,请注意,对对象元数据的更改将创建对象的新版本。

您可以使用 S3 生命周期策略来更改对象的存储层,或者删除旧对象或对象版本。

问:如果 DataSync 任务中断,会发生什么情况?

答:如果任务中断(例如,如果网络连接断开或 DataSync 代理重新启动),则将在下次运行任务时传输缺失的文件,并且数据将在此运行结束时保持完整和一致性。每次启动任务时,它都将执行增量复制,仅向目标传输源中所做的更改。

问:我能否将 DataSync 与 AWS Direct Connect 结合使用?

答:可以。您可以将 DataSync 与 Direct Connect 链接结合使用,访问公有互联网终端节点,而无需进行任何特殊配置。

问:DataSync 在传输文件时是否保留源目录结构?

答:是的,在传输文件时,DataSync 在目标位置创建与源位置中的结构类似的目录结构。

性能

问:DataSync 将我的文件系统复制到 AWS 有多快?

答:DataSync 复制给定数据集的速率需综合考虑数据量、源和目标存储可达到的 I/O 带宽、可用的网络带宽,以及网络条件。单个 DataSync 代理可占用 10Gbps 的网络链接。

问:我能否控制 DataSync 任务使用的网络带宽量?

答:能。通过配置内置带宽限制,您可以控制 DataSync 将使用的网络带宽量。这有助于最大限度地降低对依赖于同一网络连接的其他用户或应用程序的影响。

问:DataSync 是否会影响我的源文件系统的性能?

答:根据您的本地文件存储的功能,以及要传输文件的数量和大小,DataSync 可能会在访问同一源数据存储时,影响其他客户端的响应时间,因为代理将从该存储系统读取或写入数据。为任务配置带宽限制会减少此影响,因为它限制存储系统的 I/O。

安全性与合规性

问:我的数据在传输和存储过程中是否加密?

答:是的。在源和目标之间传输的所有数据都通过传输层安全性(TLS,它替代了安全套接字层 (SSL))加密。数据从来不保留在 DataSync 中。该服务支持使用 S3 存储桶的默认加密静态数据的 Amazon EFS 文件系统加密

问:DataSync 如何访问我的 EFS 文件系统?

答:DataSync 使用您部署到 IT 环境或 Amazon EC2 的代理,通过 NFS 协议访问您的文件系统。这些代理连接到 AWS 中的 DataSync 服务终端节点,一旦激活,就可以从 AWS 管理控制台或 CLI 安全地进行管理。将数据复制到本地或从中复制数据时,无需设置 VPN/隧道或允许入站连接,且可将代理配置为使用标准网络端口穿过防火墙。

问:DataSync 如何访问我的 Amazon S3 存储桶?

答:DataSync 使用您配置的 IAM 角色访问您的 Amazon S3 存储桶。

问:DataSync 如何访问我的 Amazon EFS 文件系统?

答:DataSync 使用 NFS 协议访问您的 Amazon EFS 文件系统。它通过 DataSync 服务托管的弹性网络接口 (ENI) 在 VPC 中挂载您的文件系统,实现此操作。DataSync 代表您完全管理这些 ENI 的创建、使用和删除。

问:DataSync 支持哪些合规性计划?

答:AWS 在云中拥有运行时间最长的合规性计划,并致力于帮助客户满足其要求。已对 DataSync 进行了评估,以满足全球和行业安全标准。除了符合 HIPAA 要求以外,它还符合 PCI DSS、ISO 90012700127017 27018,以及 SOC 1、2 和 3。这使您能够更轻松地验证我们的安全性,并履行您自己的义务。有关更多信息和资源,请访问我们的合规性页面。您也可以转到按合规性计划划分的服务范围页面,查看服务和认证的完整列表。

问:DataSync PCI 是否合规?

答:是。DataSync 符合 PCI-DSS,这意味着您可以使用它来传输付款信息。您可以在 AWS Artifact 中下载 PCI 合规性文件包,以详细了解如何针对 AWS 实现 PCI 合规性。

问:DataSync 是否符合 HIPAA 要求?

答:是。DataSync 符合 HIPAA 要求,这意味着如果您有适用于 AWS 的 HIPAA BAA,则可以使用 DataSync 来传输受保护的健康信息 (PHI)。

何时选择 AWS DataSync

问:DataSync 与使用 rsync 或 S3 sync 等命令行工具有何不同?

答:与围绕命令行工具构建的 DIY 解决方案相比,DataSync 提供自动化、完全托管的数据传输。它使用专用网络协议和扩展架构,以高达 10 倍的速度传输数据。

具体来说,DataSync 实现了数据传输的完全自动化。它具有内置的重试和网络弹性机制,通过 DataSync API 和控制台进行监控;利用 CloudWatch 指标、事件和日志,您可以准确了解传输过程。DataSync 在传输期间和传输结束时都执行数据完整性验证。该服务还支持灵活配置以满足您的特定需求,包括带宽限制、复制源权限和元数据等。

DataSync 提供端到端安全性:源和目标之间传输的所有数据都通过 TLS 加密,并通过内置的 AWS 安全机制(如 IAM 角色)启用对 AWS 存储的访问。

问:如何在 AWS DataSync 和 AWS Snowball Edge 之间进行取舍?

答:AWS Snowball Edge 适合不需要立即使用 AWS 中的数据、受带宽限制或从偏远、断开连接或严峻的环境中传输数据的客户。对于需要在线迁移活动数据集、及时传输持续生成的数据,或复制用以实现业务连续性的客户,DataSync 是理想之选。

问:如何在 AWS DataSync 和 AWS Storage Gateway 之间进行选择?

答:如果您希望在本地和 AWS 存储(如 S3 或 EFS)之间传输数据,请使用 DataSync。DataSync 通常用于存储迁移,或从本地设备(如摄像头和仪器)及时重复传输数据,以便在 AWS 中进行处理。如果您希望从本地以低延迟访问 AWS 中的数据,则使用 AWS Storage Gateway。Storage Gateway 通常用于备份、混合工作负载、对延迟敏感的本地应用程序、跨办公室的内容分发,以及对 S3 中对象基于文件的访问。

结合使用 DataSync 和 Storage Gateway 的文件网关配置,您可以快速将本地存储移动到 AWS,同时保留对延迟敏感的应用程序的本地访问。

问:如何在 AWS DataSync 和 Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration 之间进行取舍?

答:如果您的应用程序已经与 Amazon S3 API 集成,并且您在向 S3 传输大型文件时需要更高的吞吐量,则可以使用 S3 Transfer Acceleration。如果您想要从现有存储系统(例如网络附带的存储)或从无法更改的仪器(例如 DNA 顺序分析仪、摄像机)传输数据,或者如果您想要使用多个目标位置,则可以使用 DataSync。此外,通过提供内置重试和网络弹性机制、数据完整性验证与灵活配置等额外功能,满足您的特定需求,包括带宽限制、复制源权限和元数据等,DataSync 还可以自动化并简化数据传输。

问:如何在 AWS DataSync 和 AWS Transfer for SFTP 之间进行取舍?

答:如果您当前使用 SFTP 与第三方交换数据,则 Transfer for SFTP 提供可直接传入和传出 Amazon S3 的完全托管 SFTP 传输,同时减少您的运营负担。

如果您希望在 NFS、Amazon S3 和 Amazon EFS 之间进行加速的自动化数据传输,则可以使用 DataSync。对于需要在线迁移活动数据集、及时传输持续生成的数据,或复制用以实现业务连续性的客户,DataSync 是理想之选。 

使用 DataSync 进行迁移

问:如何使用 DataSync 进行迁移?

答:您可以使用 DataSync 从本地存储迁移到 Amazon S3、Amazon EFS 和 WorkDocs。您可以在此处了解有关建议迁移流程的更多信息。

问:如何使用 DataSync 迁移到 WorkDocs?

答:DataSync 属于 WorkDocs 迁移服务。DataSync 使主目录和部门共享迁移到 WorkDocs 变得更加容易和快捷。

详细了解 DataSync 定价
了解有关定价的更多信息

AWS DataSync 具有简单、可预测且基于使用量的定价;只对您所复制的数据量付费。 

了解更多 
注册 AWS 账户
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
开始在控制台中使用 DataSync
开始在控制台中移动数据

在 AWS 控制台中开始使用 AWS DataSync 进行构建。

登录

General

Q: What is AWS DataSync?

A: AWS DataSync is an online data transfer service that simplifies, automates, and accelerates copying large amounts of data between storage systems and AWS storage services such as Amazon S3 and Amazon EFS, over the Internet or AWS Direct Connect.

Q: Why should I use AWS DataSync?

A: AWS DataSync allows you to move, copy, and synchronize large datasets with millions of files, without having to build custom solutions with open source tools, or license and manage expensive commercial network acceleration software. You can use DataSync for one-time migration of active data, periodic distribution for data processing workflows, or ongoing replication for business continuity.

Q: What problem does AWS DataSync solve for me?

A: DataSync reduces the complexity and cost of online data transfer, making it simple to transfer datasets between on-premises storage systems and Amazon S3 or Amazon Elastic File System (EFS). DataSync connects to existing storage systems and data sources with standard storage protocols (NFS or SMB), and uses a purpose-built network protocol and scale-out architecture to accelerate transfer to and from AWS. DataSync automatically scales and handles all of the tasks involved in moving data, monitoring the progress of transfers, encryption and validation of data transfers, and notifying customer of any failures. With DataSync you pay only for the amount of data copied, with no minimum commitments or upfront fees.

Q: Where can I transfer data to and from?

A: DataSync can copy data between NFS servers, SMB file shares, Amazon S3 buckets, and Amazon EFS file systems.

Q:  Can I use AWS DataSync to migrate data to AWS?

A: Yes. You can use DataSync to migrate from on-premises data to Amazon S3, Amazon EFS, and Amazon WorkDocs. Read the storage blog, "Migrating storage with AWS DataSync," to learn more about migration best practices and tips.

Setup

Q: How do I get started with AWS DataSync?

A: You can transfer data using DataSync with a few clicks in the AWS Management Console or through the AWS Command Line Interface (CLI). To get started, you deploy a DataSync agent, configure the source and destination storage locations, and initiate the copy.

Q: How do I deploy an AWS DataSync agent?

A: You deploy a DataSync agent to your VMware ESXi hypervisor or in Amazon EC2. To copy data to or from an on-premises file server, you download the agent virtual machine image (an OVA file) from the AWS Console and deploy to your on-premises VMware ESXi hypervisor. To copy data to or from an in-cloud file server, you create an Amazon EC2 instance from the agent AMI provided in the AWS console. In both cases the agent must be deployed so that it can access your file server using either the NFS or SMB protocol.

Q: What are the resource requirements for the AWS DataSync agent?

A: You can find the minimum required resources to run the agent here.

Usage

Q: How do I use AWS DataSync?

A: To use DataSync follow these 3 steps:

1. Deploy an agent - Deploy a DataSync agent and associate it to your AWS account via the Management Console or API. The agent will be used to access your NFS server or SMB file share to read data from it or write data to it.

2. Create a data transfer task - Create a task by specifying the location of your data source and destination, and any options you want to use for to configure the transfer, such as copying file metadata.

3. Start the transfer - Start the task and monitor data movement in the console or with Amazon CloudWatch.

Q: How can I start an AWS DataSync task?

A: DataSync copies data when you initiate a task via the AWS Management Console or AWS Command Line Interface (CLI). Each time a task runs, it scans the source for changes, and performs a copy of any differences between the source to destination. You can configure which characteristics of the source are used to determine what changed, define filters to include and exclude specific files or folders, and control if files or objects in the destination should be deleted when not found in the source.

Q: How does AWS DataSync ensure my data is copied correctly? How does AWS DataSync conduct data validation?

A: As DataSync transfers and stores data, it performs integrity checks to ensure the data written to the destination matches the data read from the source. Additionally, an optional validation step can be performed after all transfer is complete to ensure the destination is an exact copy of the source by calculating and comparing full-file checksums for all files, irrespective of which files DataSync may have transferred.

Q: How can I monitor the status of data being transferred by AWS DataSync?

A: You can use the AWS Management Console or CLI to monitor the status of data being transferred. Using Amazon CloudWatch Metrics, you can see the number of files and amount of data which has been copied. Amazon CloudWatch Logs are available for detailed error information. In addition, CloudWatch Events are triggered as your tasks transition state, enabling automation of dependent workflows. You can find additional information such transfer progress in the AWS Management Console or CLI.

Q: How does AWS DataSync convert files and folders to or from objects in Amazon S3?

A: When files or folders are copied to Amazon S3, there is a one-to-one relationship between a file or folder and an object. File and folder metadata timestamps and POSIX permissions, including user ID, group ID, and permissions, are stored in S3 user metadata. File metadata stored in S3 user metadata is interoperable with File Gateway, providing on-premises file-based access to data stored in Amazon S3 by DataSync.

When DataSync copies from an NFS server, the POSIX permissions from the files and folders on the source are stored in the S3 user metadata. When copying from an SMB file share, default POSIX permissions are stored in S3 user metadata.

When DataSync copies objects that contain this user metadata back to an NFS server, the file metadata is restored. When copying back to an SMB file share, ownership is set based on the user that was configured in DataSync to access that file share, and default permissions are assigned.

Learn more about how DataSync stores files and metadata in our documentation.

Q: Can I use versioning, lifecycle, cross-region replication, and S3 event notification with AWS DataSync?

A: Yes. Your bucket policies for versioning, lifecycle management, cross-region replication, and S3 event notification apply directly to objects transferred to your bucket through DataSync.

When using versioning, note that changes to object metadata will create a new version of the object.

You can use S3 lifecycle policies to change an object's storage tier or delete old objects or object versions.

Q: What happens if a AWS DataSync task is interrupted?

A: If a task is interrupted (for instance, if the network connection goes down or the DataSync agent is restarted), the next run of the task will transfer missing files, and the data will be complete and consistent at the end of this run. Each time a task is started it performs an incremental copy, transferring only the changes from the source to the destination.

Q: Can I use AWS DataSync with AWS Direct Connect?

A: Yes. You can use DataSync with your Direct Connect link to access public service endpoints or private VPC endpoints using AWS PrivateLink.

Q: Does AWS DataSync support VPC endpoints or AWS PrivateLink?

A: Yes. You can use VPC endpoints to ensure data transferred between your DataSync agent, either deployed on-premises or in-cloud, doesn't traverse the public internet or need public IP addresses. Using VPC endpoints increases the security of your data by keeping network traffic within your Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). VPC endpoints for DataSync are powered by AWS PrivateLink, a highly available, scalable technology that enables you to privately connect your VPC to supported AWS services.

Q: How do I configure AWS DataSync to use VPC endpoints?

A: To use VPC endpoints with DataSync, you create an AWS PrivateLink interface VPC endpoint for the DataSync service in your chosen VPC, and then choose this endpoint elastic network interface (ENI) when creating your DataSync agent. Your agent will connect to this ENI to activate, and subsequently all data transferred by the agent will remain within your configured VPC. You can use either the AWS DataSync Console, AWS Command Line Interface (CLI), or AWS SDK, to configure VPC endpoints. To learn more, see Using AWS DataSync in a Virtual Private Cloud.

Q: Does AWS DataSync preserve the source directory stricture when transferring files?

A: Yes. When transferring files, DataSync creates a directory strcuture on the destination that is similar to the source location's structure.

Performance

Q:  How fast can AWS DataSync copy my file system to AWS?

A: The rate at which DataSync can copy a given dataset is a function of amount of data, I/O bandwidth achievable from the source and destination storage, network bandwidth available, and network conditions. A single DataSync agent is capable of saturating a 10 Gbps network link.

Q:  Can I control the amount of network bandwidth that an AWS DataSync task uses?

A: Yes. You can control the amount of network bandwidth that DataSync will use by configuring the built-in bandwidth throttle. This can help to minimize impact on other users or applications who rely on the same network connection.

Q:  Will AWS DataSync affect the performance of my source file system?

A: Depending on the capacity of your on-premises file store, and the quantity and size of files to be transferred, DataSync may affect the response time of other clients when accessing the same source data store, because the agent reads or writes data from that storage system. Configuring a bandwidth limit for a task will reduce this impact by limiting the I/O against your storage system.

Security and compliance

Q: Is my data encrypted while being transferred and stored?

A: Yes. All data transferred between the source and destination is encrypted via Transport Layer Security (TLS, which replaced Secure Sockets Layer, SSL). Data is never persisted in DataSync itself. The service supports using default encryption for S3 buckets and Amazon EFS file system encryption of data at rest.

Q: How does AWS DataSync access my NFS server or SMB file share?

A: DataSync uses an agent that you deploy into your IT environment or into Amazon EC2 to access your files through the NFS or SMB protocol. These agents connect to DataSync service endpoints within AWS, and once activated are securely managed from the AWS Management Console or CLI. When copying data to or from your premises there is no need to setup a VPN/tunnel or allow inbound connections, and the agents can be configured to route through a firewall using standard network ports.

Q: How do my AWS DataSync agents connect to AWS?

A: Your DataSync agents connect to service endpoints within your chosen AWS Region. When creating an agent you can choose to have the agent connect to public Internet facing endpoints, Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) validated endpoints, or endpoints within one of your VPCs. To learn more, see Choose a Service Endpoint.

Q: How does AWS DataSync access my Amazon S3 bucket?

A: DataSync accesses your Amazon S3 bucket using the IAM role you configure.

Q: How does AWS DataSync access my Amazon EFS file system?

A: DataSync accesses your Amazon EFS file system using the NFS protocol. It does so by mounting your file system from within your VPC from Elastic Network Interfaces (ENIs) managed by the DataSync service. DataSync fully manages the creation, use, and deletion of these ENIs on your behalf.

Q:  Which compliance programs does AWS DataSync support?

A: AWS has the longest-running compliance program in the cloud and are committed to helping customers navigate their requirements. DataSync has been assessed to meet global and industry security standards. It complies with PCI DSS, ISO 9001, 27001, 27017, and 27018; SOC 1, 2, and 3; in addition to being HIPAA eligible. That makes it easier for you to verify our security and meet your own obligations. For more information and resources, visit our compliance pages. You can also go to the Services in Scope by Compliance Program page to see a full list of services and certifications.

Q:  Is AWS DataSync PCI compliant?

A: Yes. DataSync is PCI-DSS compliant, which means you can use it to transfer payment information. You can download the PCI Compliance Package in AWS Artifact to learn more about how to achieve PCI Compliance on AWS.

Q:  Is AWS DataSync HIPAA eligible?

A: Yes. DataSync is HIPAA eligible, which means if you have a HIPAA BAA in place with AWS, you can use DataSync to tranfer protected health information (PHI).

When to choose AWS DataSync

Q:  How is AWS DataSync different from using command line tools such as rsync or S3 sync?

A: Compared to DIY solutions built around command line tools, DataSync provides automated, fully managed data transfers. It uses a purpose-built network protocol and scale-out architecture to transfer data at up to 10 times the speed.

Specifically, DataSync fully automates the data transfer. It comes with built-in retry and network resiliency mechanisms, monitoring via the DataSync API and console, and CloudWatch metrics, events and logs that provide granular visibility into the transfer process. DataSync performs data integrity verification both during the transfer and at the end of the transfer. The service also supports flexible configuration to suit your specific needs, including bandwidth throttling, copying source permissions and metadata etc.

DataSync provides end to end security: all data transferred between the source and destination is encrypted via TLS, and access to your AWS storage is enabled via built-in AWS security mechanisms such as IAM roles.

Q:  How do I choose between AWS DataSync and AWS Snowball Edge?

A: AWS Snowball Edge is suitable for customers who don’t need their data in AWS immediately, are bandwidth constrained, or transferring data from remote, disconnected or austere environments. DataSync is ideal for customers who need online migrations for active data sets, timely transfers for continuously generated data, or replication for business continuity.

Q:  How do I choose between AWS DataSync and AWS Storage Gateway?

A: If you are looking to transfer data between on-premises and AWS storage such as S3 or EFS, you use DataSync. DataSync is commonly used for storage migration or for timely recurring transfers of data from on-premises devices such as cameras and instruments for processing in AWS. If you are looking for low-latency access from on-premises to data in AWS, you use AWS Storage Gateway. Storage Gateway is commonly used for backup, hybrid workloads, latency-sensitive on-premises applications, content distribution across offices, and for file based access to objects in S3.

With the combination of DataSync and the File Gateway configuration of Storage Gateway, you can rapidly move your on-premises storage to AWS, while retaining on-premises access for latency-sensitive applications.

Q: How do I choose between AWS DataSync and Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration?

A:If your applications are already integrated with the Amazon S3 API, and you want higher throughput for transferring large files to S3, you can use S3 Transfer Acceleration. If you want to transfer data from existing storage systems (e.g. Network Attached Storage), or from instruments that can’t be changed (e.g. DNA sequencers, video cameras), or if you want multiple destinations, you use DataSync. DataSync also automates and simplifies the data transfer, by providing additional functionality such as built-in retry and network resiliency mechanisms, data integrity verification and flexible configuration to suit your specific needs, including bandwidth throttling, copying source permissions and metadata etc.

Q: How do I choose between AWS DataSync and AWS Transfer for SFTP?

A: If you currently use SFTP to exchange data with third parties, Transfer for SFTP provides a fully managed SFTP transfer directly into and out of Amazon S3, while reducing your operational burden.

If you want an accelerated and automated data transfer between a NFS server, SMB file share, Amazon S3, and Amazon EFS, you can use DataSync. DataSync is ideal for customers who need online migrations for active data sets, timely transfers for continuously generated data, or replication for business continuity. 

Q:  Does AWS DataSync enable me to migrate to WorkDocs?

A: Yes. DataSync is part of the WorkDocs Migration Service. DataSync makes it easier and faster to migrate home directors and department shares to WorkDocs.

Learn more about DataSync pricing
Learn more about pricing

AWS DataSync has simple, predictable, usage-based pricing; you pay only for the amount of data that you copy.  

Learn more 
Sign up for an AWS account
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Get started with DataSync in the console
Start moving data in the console

Get started building with AWS DataSync in the AWS Console.

Sign in